Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Got ours knocked today. Very happy with crop and to my surprise the ground was good and dry in a few spots I was worried about. Bale tomorrow evening or Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Have you a few different pits delaval or is it all going in to one pit? You must be flat out putting on and taking off covers the last couple of weeks?
    We have a few pits but fill in stages so as to minimise stripping covers. You would be surprised how much 2 lads could do in an hour if you have a bit of room. Feck tyres on ground loader will take from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Nitrate level was 753 and sugar was 4

My guy told me if nitrate was around 800 it means fert is not all used up. Sugar levels are v good

Im no expert on these though just passing on what I was told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Mowers in this evening. The contractors first day out for 2013. All silage knocked for pit and 5 paddocks taken out for bales. Reseeded ground showing a great return. Disappointed with another small bit of old meadow for the pit, but you can't win 'em all. Should have some lovely bales from the grazing ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Got grass test results back from dairygold this evening but no explanation as to whether nitrates are high or low
    Nitrate level was 753 and sugar was 4 , if anyone could enlighten me it would be much appreciated

still a bit high, once down around 500 it would be okayish, around 200 and work away, on saying that I was feeding silage last winter at 4000ppm of nitrates. Considering the test was probably a good few days ago you should be good to go

I could see in the distance my contractor starting cutting at half past midnight, the field is sandwiched between a row of houses so my neighbors wont be happy bunnies. Should have being cut 10 days ago only for a landlord to hold up play:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

72 bales in the bank. Will be interested to see how they test this winter. Still need another 228 so I can rest easy, don't think I'll get to quota this summer.

What's the best time to buy straw i.e. when is it usually harvested? Feeding last 6 weeks pre-calving worked well for me last year.

just do it wrote: »
    What's the best time to buy straw i.e. when is it usually harvested? Feeding last 6 weeks pre-calving worked well for me last year.

when no one else wants it:), harvest will begin 15th of july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Order now.

Order now.
    Good idea

Some soft silage porn ;)
    20130607051745.jpg

Some soft silage porn ;)
    20130607051745.jpg
    Looking at how green the field is, an I right to think out wil respond quickly to fertiliser?

Oooooh yea!!
    What's this nonsence about small fields??

p6060338.jpg

p6060339.jpg[/URL]

p6060344.jpg

p6060345.jpg

delaval wrote: »
    Oooooh yea!!
    What's this nonsence about small fields??

It's a miniature tractor and baler ;):D

Muckit wrote: »
    p6060338.jpg

p6060339.jpg[/URL]

p6060344.jpg

p6060345.jpg

Jesus I'd say you need a cold shower!!!!

No wind all am, that is till we go to pull on the cover!!!!

It's a miniature tractor and baler ;):D

Quad boy is sound the way he came to help you. Don't give him that goat curry for dinner or he'll need another day on the bog!!!!

No wind all am, that is till we go to pull on the cover!!!!

Wives and girlfriends on the way, better keep them on different sides if the pit or there could be trouble!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

when no one else wants it:), harvest will begin 15th of july

whats the going rate for straw this year

Wives and girlfriends on the way, better keep them on different sides if the pit or there could be trouble!!!!

They're swopping handbags for sandbags today so ! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

mowing 66 acres today, very heavy, happy out as we had no grass a few weeks ago, another 30 acres for bales next week....

whelan1 wrote: »
    mowing 66 acres today, very heavy, happy out as we had no grass a few weeks ago, another 30 acres for bales next week....

60 when you are talking to the contractor :pac:

whelan1 wrote: »

Bales next week. You must be sneaking over to Grass measuring.

Bales are awkward in the winter, I suppose you didn't call the man with the sheep!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Bales next week. You must be sneaking over to Grass measuring.

Bales are awkward in the winter, I suppose you didn't call the man with the sheep!!!
    wil feed the bales to my fathers sucklers and my dry cows, fed pit silage to his cows all last winter as we had feck all bales, they where as fat as fools, they where only on silage and straw:mad: i do measure, most weeks....on agrinet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Tipperarymike

I hope this question is ok in this thread.

I only put out fertilizer on silage ground last week, it was locked off for a week before that. I had intended putting watery slurry out on it this week but got waylaid doing other jobs and was slow to put out anything while it was so warm On walking it there this evening , the grass is flying it , it got almost 2 bags of Urea to the acre last Friday, I intended topping up with P and K with the slurry.

Is it too late now to put out some slurry on it if we get a bit of rain towards the end of next week? Would it make a feck of the silage or make no difference to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

All baled up after 24 hour wilt.
    More bales than expected. And the contractor said it was by far the best crop he'd seen so far.
    Draw them in tomorrow and fert was delivered before baler left so that'll go out tomorrow for second cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Looks a bit light will be baled tomorrow,am going for second cut so will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sami23

How soon after 1st cut wud ye recommend putting out fertiliser for 2nd cut. I don't usually do a 2nd cut so no experience of it.
    I was thinking of leaving it 1-2 weeks to green up a bit as didn't think it wud be great to spread on bare ground ?