Season 3 Episode 9: Have NOT read the books/BEWARE SPOILERS MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Who actually planned the killings? Was it Frey and Bolton together or was it the Lannisters who got them on board? Do the Lannisters know that the Bolton's are handing over Jaime , I am not sure if they would have known that Bolton was willing to betray the Starks. So am wondering if the killings were a move by Bolton and Frey to prove loyalty to the King so as to ensure they are left alone.

The whole things reeks of Lainister. The past number of episodes people have been virtually screaming "why are the Lainisters not striking while Rob is distracted with the wedding business". Well there we have it. Looking back at the last episode too where the Boltons let Jamie go, how was it not obvious to us.

The way I see it, Tywin is a sneaky f*ck and with Frey being the only major Lord "yet to declare for anyone" (as Rob put it himself), beat Rob to the punch. Frey was more than happy to comply given Rob betrayed him. At that point I'd say the Boltons got the nod that the Starks are up sh*t creek without a paddle and are now basically sucking up to the new rulers of the kingdom by a) letting Jamie go and b) leading Rob right into Frey's trap.

Anyway, my jaw was wide open for a solid 10 minutes watching that last night. Don't think any show has ever shocked me so much. All the more impressive because GoT has a history of delivering shock twists. I think the brutality of the massacre made it all the more shocking.

I actually wonder is GoT getting a bit too heavy on the gore. It's always had it but lets just compare the season 1 shock, Ned's beheading. It was mostly off camera and we see the head rolling away. This season we saw a pregnant woman repeatedly stabbed in the stomach followed by her husband stabbed in the gut and two women have their throats slit (along with the throats of all the Stark men in the hall). The events were shocking enough I think without needing to go so graphic. I just think it's reached a point where they might want to reign it in a bit before it goes OTT and they risk losing viewers. My wife for instance loves GoT but increasingly this season has not enjoyed the gore and violence, which peaked last night to the point where she no longer has an interest in watching next weeks season finale.

Still though excellent episode. Lots more to it too than just those last 10 minutes. Bran's story finally went somewhere which was cool. Pity Jon didn't meet up with him. I assume he's gone to warn the other Crows. I enjoyed the 3 lads breaking into the slave city. They kicked ass :) I did find it quite funny when they returned all bloody, "the city is yours". Obviously no budget for a large scale battle :D

Next week I assume will focus on Kingslanding (the wedding & Jamies return) and the North (crows vs wildlings maybe? a return of the White Walkers? Samwell and the girls story seems like it has some wrapping up to do too). I'm not really expecting much of the fallout from this episode to be dealt with at all.

Once again, the game has changed massively, Gods only know where it will go from here. The stage is practically unrecognisable from that first episode barely 3 seasons ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭wayne040576

There was a joke doing the rounds on twitter yesterday: Why does George RR Martin not use twitter? Because he'd kill all 140 characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭fluke

Like many others I was shocked by that episode. Even if some book readers around me had prepared me for something big the viewing experience I had was pretty graphic. Even if Robb had dug his own grave I hadn’t expected such a downfall. It was ugly, quiet and discomforting. Talisa’s death was really horrible. The whole thing was so so downbeat.

Ned’s death was tragic, but it was an interesting way to explore the Stark family once the figurehead was gone. Now with Robb and Cat and the North’s side pretty much gone I’m not sure how I feel about big character deaths, especially seeing as the Starks are kind of the good guys.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Robb or Talisa but liked Catelyn enough. With all that being said the way I feel after that episode is exhausted. Whether they’re favourites or not is debatable – but I’ve watched these character from episode one (bar Talisa) so no matter what I’m gonna have some attachment to them. Sure they made bad decisions but that was what made them relatable – good people making dumbass decisions.

I’d like to think it’s a case of getting worse before it gets better but with GRRM I don’t even feel that that applies.

Given this is how I feel about these characters I’m not sure how far I want to go with the rest of the series or even if I want to read the books. Especially seeing as GRRM has a reputation for killing of fan favourites. I know that’s the point of the story – to be unpredictable but still that just felt so cold last night.

It’s all a bit raw (jeez…it’s only a show!) so maybe I’ll get over it.

It quite insane the reaction this is getting...

http://io9.com/the-100-best-tweets-about-last-nights-game-of-thrones-511003444?utm_source=recirculation&utm_medium=recirculation&utm_campaign=morning

Whatever about being shocked (it was shocking after all) and perhaps sad that a favourite character is dead, some people are way OTT giving out about RR Martin and being done with "this piece of sh*t show" etc. Morons I say. RR Martin created these characters, they are his, this is his story and in it, bad things happen.... quite regularly. I for one wish every show could make me care this much about the characters and plot... well maybe not every show, that'd be too emotionally draining :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Bacchus wrote: »
    It quite insane the reaction this is getting...

http://io9.com/the-100-best-tweets-about-last-nights-game-of-thrones-511003444?utm_source=recirculation&utm_medium=recirculation&utm_campaign=morning

Whatever about being shocked (it was shocking after all) and perhaps sad that a favourite character is dead, some people are way OTT giving out about RR Martin and being done with "this piece of sh*t show" etc. Morons I say. RR Martin created these characters, they are his, this is his story and in it, bad things happen.... quite regularly. I for one wish every show could make me care this much about the characters and plot... well maybe not every show, that'd be too emotionally draining :cool:

All the 'God, I'm so done with this show!' reactions are really strange. I thought it was effing brilliant! It was spectacularly handled and it manipulated the viewer perfectly. The lack of music at the titles just kept the hairs on the back of your neck standing up for ages after the final scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Just read a review there and some points that were brought up are quite interesting:

MOD EDIT : Do not post material from wiki in non readers thread please

Watched this yesterday morning and knew my facebook would explode come Sky Atlantic viewing time.

I was actually pretty stunned. I'm not bothered by violence and I don't get upset at characters in TV shows dying but I actually had to hit pause when Talisa got stabbed to gather myself before watching the rest.

I think the way the tension was built up with such cinematic skill, followed by the graphic belly stabbing must have just left my mind vulnerable to what followed as my jaw was stuck to the ground.

Was actually pretty stunned for 10 minutes afterwards, and I'm quite surprised at myself - only a small handful of very good movies have left me a bit speechless, never an episode of a TV show. The quality of the acting and the impressive manner with which the scene was put together is very rare.

I don't mind that the characters are dead, I liked them and enjoyed the war but I have faith that others will come (and go) that I will enjoy watching and the narrative and quality will maintain.

I am pretty damn interested to see what happens next week. Will it focus on the aftermath or will we see more developments! I loath to see any interaction between Joffrey and Sansa next week.

I don't mind that the characters are dead, I liked them and enjoyed the war but I have faith that others will come (and go) that I will enjoy watching and the narrative and quality will maintain.

This is the attitude people should have! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Well, that was violent even for Game Of Thrones. Was impressed with Catelyn's balls-out aggression; it takes some ferocity to react to the massacre of your family by grabbing your host's wife and threatening to cut her throat. No shock, no panic, just identify the best chance of survival and stick a knife to its neck. Maybe Winterfell would have done better if she'd taken charge, patriarchal aristocracy be damned.

That said, some of the storylines are beginning to drag. Bran's been on the road for bloody ever, and where are the damn White Walkers?

She started the bloody war by abducting Tyrion, while Ned was at Kings Landing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

I think people now refusing to watch the show after that scene is absolute madness!

Yeah it was shocking, gory and sad. But fcuk me it was amazing television at the same time!

There is so much going on in the grand scheme of things, the Red Wedding is only one small part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I'm surprised there isn't more discussion of the other major development (imo) in this episode which is Bran's discovery of his new abilities to 1) control animals and 2) to control humans.
    The latter is especially significant particularly if he can hone that skill.
    If he could then it would be pretty badass 'cos if he arrived at King's Landing then Joffrey's Kingsguard wouldn't be able to protect him as Bran could just make then slice Joffrey into salami slices. :pac:

Also potentially Bran would win in a fight with Dany as he could just take control of her dragons and wipe out her army of the UnSullied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I think people now refusing to watch the show after that scene is absolute madness!

People who are given up on the Game of Thrones series simply because of the tragic Red Wedding are sheltered, soft minded people who should stick to watching Disney.

Finally , after 3 seasons something happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Catelyn knew there was something up when the band started playing the rains of Castamere.The song dedicated to the lannisters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

And when the doors started to close

And when the soldier started stabbing Talisa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

Bacchus wrote: »
    And when the soldier started stabbing Talisa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

If you rewatch the series it's plain to see who arranged The RW. It was very cleverly done by the writers. I expect a reveal next episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Roose Bolton has come a long way from the streets of Dublin

Son0vagun wrote: »
    If you rewatch the series it's plain to see who arranged The RW. It was very cleverly done by the writers. I expect a reveal next episode.

If this is something from the TV show and not something you have picked up on because of the books then surely you are free to share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

was not expecting that great ep if you ask,shame there was no boobs tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

If this is something from the TV show and not something you have picked up on because of the books then surely you are free to share?
    Isn't it pretty obvious? Who's the most ruthless man in Westeros?

Where to start?

First up, 2013, not a good year for weddings! :p

I knew what was coming, so from a story point of view, it wasn't shocking. But from every other point of view that was about as gripping/disturbing/horrific a scene as you could expect to see - unless you are a fan of snuff movies... :D

Wow!

My stomach was in knots when I sat down to watch the show. The theme music didn't help. The start was fairly slow, almost deceptive, it looked to be another plot building, getting there, episode.

Moving bits around the maps, talk of war, more foul mouthed talk about women in general.

The whole Bran thing was interesting, in a something for the future type of way. Jon fighting the wildlings and fleeing, leaving his woman behind, was exciting enough for the casual viewer. It had the feel of a climactic end to a story that had been building all season. The young crow hadn't forgotten his vows, he was willing to leave ygritte for the sake of the Wall.

Dany's war was...well dull. It was exciting for the first bit, 3 men taking on ten. A joke about the gate being lightly guarded. Then 20 more soldiers arrive. Had all the makings of a trap. Then it was all over and we saw nothing. Considering her last fight, how exciting that was, this was almost pointless. What was with the big build up?

Then came the wedding. More talk. More setting of scene. More building to a future...Until that guard closed the hall door, the music started and what was to come was written in Cats eyes.

Its safe to say that it was gruesome. But I think it had to be. We, the audience, needed a clear picture of just how awful this betrayal was. How much it cost. How many people have been effected.

It could be the end of House Stark. It could be the end of "The North" as it is currently known.

In a single sweep the Lannisters have yet again proven that they are the major power in the land. That you may beat them in the smaller battles, but they always pay their debts/deaths. The Throne is theirs. All the Lords from the Tyrells, the Freys, to the Boltons, have fallen into place. Winterfell is no more.

Episode 9 has yet again lived up to the hype. Season 3, which has been criticised by many online, has shown its true intent.

Grim...

The show stealer though had to be Arya. Great scenes. From going toe to toe with the Hound, to watching her family been ripped away - again. Poor girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Roose Bolton has come a long way from the streets of Dublin

Paths to Freedom, one of the best things RTE ever produced

KerranJast wrote: »
    Isn't it pretty obvious? Who's the most ruthless man in Westeros?
    GRRM? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭wayne040576

Watch episode 4 again.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,418 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I just seen it now and..

HOLY ****

That can't be it!! There must be moaarr!! I can't wait til next week!!!

That was the most intense ending of an episode ever, when the soldier stuck the first knife into Talisa..oh my God(s)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭fluke

For what it's worth I'll be sticking with GoT even if it was exhausting. Movies like The Wicker Man and Planet of the Apes left me feeling like that, but are two of my favourites of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭FreeFallin94

On one hand, that was absolutely amazing. On the other hand I am seriously pissed off that they killed off Robb :/ He was one of my favourite characters! Also, poor Arya. She was so, so close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

People who are given up on the Game of Thrones series simply because of the tragic Red Wedding are sheltered, soft minded people who should stick to watching Disney.
    My thoughts exactly - preferably something that includes singing woodland critters.

Part of George R.R. Martin's success is that he has heavily drawn from history for his material, and while the World he creates is fictional and includes magic (thankfully only in small doses), it is created in the image of European medieval history.

And medieval society was hard and short and brutal and bad guys won more often than not - indeed, Machiavelli's 'The Prince' cites a simelar massacre to the Red Wedding, organized by Oliverotto Euffreducci and George R.R. Martin has said in interviews that he'd based it on two simelar events in Scottish history. Read a few books on the period and you'll find that the Red Wedding is tame by comparison.

As a result I found some of the reactions of those watching the scenes and swearing never to watch again to be hilarious; these are the same idiots who probably think Karma is a real thing.
    touts wrote: »
    "The Lannisters send their regards". That's a line that could well enter popular usage.
    It's a line that's been around for a long time. It was not unusual for an assassin in Italy to say to his victim "with the compliments of" whoever was the instigator of the assassination - it's a custom that's been around a long time, certainly since the middle ages, a final rubbing one's nose in it, so that they know you've been beaten and by whom, just before you die.
    royster999 wrote: »
    Interesting to see Baelish's position on this given his affection for Catylyn
    I think he effectively did that a few episodes ago:
    "Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, they cling to the realm or the gods or love. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is."