Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prime Time Special - Child Care in Ireland (No Downloads - Please Read Post #1)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,514 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

• Registered Users Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Lets hope parents recognised their kids and the 'minders' and report the incidents to the Gardai!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

It looks like it is on rte +1 if anyone missed it (as I did). I've set it to record anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭soap1978

a few of these workers would be better heading for the plane out of ireland after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Beanmonkey

Vego wrote: »
    The one in the links creche needs jail time for throwing those kids

The likelyhood of that happening in this country.... Slim to none.

Token layoff, retraining then more of the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

I have a 6 month and if someone did that to my child i would end their life

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Yes they are vetted but vetting means very little really. It just means that you haven't been convicted of anything. It doesn't mean that you're a suitable person to be working with children or vulnerable adults.

Sorry should have qualified.....surely there can be some sort of vetting? Well hope some of these women have something inserted in their records - they shouldn't be NEAR babies.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Summer2014

Parents should sue if they can its a disgrace words can't describe how awful it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

The one who was more or less assaulting the kids will have to go into hiding. You would recognise her if your child was there. Absolutely appalling. Should be jailed. Wouldn't be surprised if she is assaulted by an angry parent.

Practically a grand a month to have your child flipped like a mattress. Very distressing.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

denis160 wrote: »
    Distressing doesn't even describe half of what I feel watching this. Did that poor child that got shoved into his chair, hit his head off the table?
    Why are they so heavy handed with them? Absolutely terrible.

Spot on. Some of them have serious anger management issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mickac

Dirty bastards should be named and shamed.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I think the RTE reporter should have gone straight to the Gardai after witnessing that vile woman throwing small children around.

They could have been seriously injured or worse. That woman should not have been left in charge of the children while RTE continued filming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

soap1978 wrote: »
    a few of these workers would be better heading for the plane out of ireland after this.

I agree, there will be uproar tomorrow in the media.

A witchhunt will start to find out who these people are.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,447 ✭✭✭Heroditas

...I'm rolling around the floor pi**ing myself.

Some day you may very well be on the floor pi$$ing yourself and wearing a nappy in the distant future while some untrained carer mistreats you.
    Either that or you'll be left in a bed all day coverd in bed sores and malnourished while your children abandon you in some sort of care home.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭tellmesomethin

Society will be better when it realizes that our children need one parent at home not being brought up (or beaten up) by a girl who is paid 8 euro an hour and has a fuse as short as my little finger.

Another problem i see every single day is people having kids as a matter of course and not really thinking out having to mind them and end up resenting them a hell of a lot....

The Mammy Guilt will be palpable tomorrow at the creche doors....

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The woman throwing the babies should be investigated by the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭snipey

is rte +1 on sky and where is it please

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Oonagh Smith and her undercover reporters have done good work here, even though it made for very distressing viewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Can someone mention the location of that "links" creche?

I want to ring the local garda station.
    I intend to report the assault.
    Just to make sure that this is on their radar and investigate.

I encourage others to do the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Skid X wrote: »
    I think the RTE reporter should have gone straight to the Gardai after witnessing that vile woman throwing small children around.

They could have been seriously injured or worse. That woman should not have been left in charge of the children while RTE continued filming.

I totally agree

Program has said that after she left a complaint was made to HSE
    It was obvious HSE are not checking often enough that they are under resourced
    Rte should have gone to guards ASAP
    I'm afraid rte did not go to gaurds so they would have more time to film fur the program

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Username exists

The woman throwing the babies should be investigated by the Gardai.

Which branch of links childcare was she in? Surely she can be charged with assault

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

snipey wrote: »

No, it is on Saorview and most Digital Cable services but not on Sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭pedro552

HSE have a lot to answer for here too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

This is extended is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

Wow, Claire Byrne looks incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Wow, Claire Byrne looks incredible.
    It's the pregnancy glow, she looks great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

snipey wrote: »

I'm with UPC and it's the channel after RTE - not sure about Sky :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

EdCastle wrote: »
    Creches are a joke. Why would you leave your kids with a bunch of strangers?

Some creches and childcare workers are bad. Equally so are some parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

Which branch of links childcare was she in? Surely she can be charged with assault

Malahide

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭snipey

thanks skidx