Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

are you getting cranky? how is telling us that you dislike our club contributing anything "rangers fan in celt hate shocker"

Not really, maybe it's just that you're normally a little wittier than that. I hate disappointment.

As for my part in it, I had left the conversation ages ago, but poor lennonist needed to have a wee dig. I was simply obliging his needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Eirebear wrote: »
    Not really, maybe it's just that you're normally a little wittier than that. I hate disappointment.

As for my part in it, I had left the conversation ages ago, but poor lennonist needed to have a wee dig. I was simply obliging his needs.

Ah here Eirebear, you're in a cranky mood. This film will sort ya out.....

Ashotatgloryposter.jpg

Watch Ally McCoist pretend to be ex-Celtic player playing against Rangers. Ya never know, you might crack a smile....:pac:

C'mon, credit me with some taste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

now THAT... looks like a sh1te film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

What about any of that makes me bitter?
    Should I be falling over myself to go and watch an unmade film about a football club that I dislike? Seems a bit odd that attitude.

Eh no, what I said was no-one was forcing you to watch it.
    Is it because I pointed out that there are teams all over the world, throughout footballing history, of all shapes and sizes that have been set up by immigrants, generally as a way, initially, of getting people together who are of similar roots?
    Football at its roots is a social sport no?

Yes I'm aware of that, but I think from a dramatic point of view the Celtic story is a particularly interesting and of course extremely successful one.
    Now you run along and mind that chip on your shoulder pal. Not everyone loves your club, and they shouldn't need to massage your inferiority complex either.

We don't need everyone to love our club, sure what would be the point of that. But we have a huge support worldwide and an identity that transcends the game of football. Sport is also about rivalries and oppositions. When/if the film does come out, do try to put your bitterness aside and enjoy it.

Yeah, I'm still not entirely sure what i said that implies that I'm a "bitter little man".
    Apparently, the fact i won't be going out of my way to watch a film about a club i don't like is somehow wrong in your eyes.

I never went out of my way to watch The Damned Utd either, i caught it eventually on TV. Football films are generally a bit rubbish.

Yeah, I'm still not entirely sure what i said that implies that I'm a "bitter little man".
    Apparently, the fact i won't be going out of my way to watch a film about a club i don't like is somehow wrong in your eyes.

I never went out of my way to watch The Damned Utd either, i caught it eventually on TV. Football films are generally a bit rubbish.

I said no-one is forcing you to watch the film. What makes you sound bitter, is that you come on here to give your opinion about a film that hasn't been made yet, and that you say you have no intention of watching. If you don't have any intention of watching it, why are you talking about it. There'll be plenty of people who will be interested in watching it, it doesn't matter if you don't want to see it.

It doesn't surprise me that serious people in the world of cinema would be interested in making a film about the Celtic Story.

Lennonist wrote: »
    I said no-one is forcing you to watch the film. What makes you sound bitter, is that you come on here to give your opinion about a film that hasn't been made yet, and that you say you have no intention of watching. If you don't have any intention of watching it, why are you talking about it. There'll be plenty of people who will be interested in watching it, it doesn't matter if you don't want to see it.

It doesn't surprise me that serious people in the world of cinema would be interested in making a film about the Celtic Story.

Actually, i think you'll find my initial comment was A) Tongue in cheek and B) Aimed at expressing my respect for Peter Mullan as a director, as an actor and as a man.

But that chip just won't allow you to see that will it?

And believe me, I'm very serious about the world of film and film making.

Actually, i think you'll find my initial comment was A) Tongue in cheek and B) Aimed at expressing my respect for Peter Mullan as a director, as an actor and as a man.

But that chip just won't allow you to see that will it?

And believe me, I'm very serious about the world of film and film making.

Does that mean you will watch the film if it gets made so? What's this about chips? Stop will ya, you're embarrassing yourself.

As alluded to on earlier posts, I won't be going out of my way to see it but if it's on telly on a sunday afternoon in years to come i'll probably stick it on to see what all the fuss is about.

The subject matter bears very little interest to me, and i very much doubt i'm it's target audience.

As for embarrassments, your reaction to a rangers supporter suggesting they might not watch a film about Celtic is more than enough for all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

As alluded to on earlier posts, I won't be going out of my way to see it but if it's on telly on a sunday afternoon in years to come i'll probably stick it on to see what all the fuss is about.

The subject matter bears very little interest to me, and i very much doubt i'm it's target audience.

As for embarrassments, your reaction to a rangers supporter suggesting they might not watch a film about Celtic is more than enough for all of us.

as a football fan i must say i find your attitude surprising. I certainly would watch any film made about rangers formation or any other club for that matter especially one who used to be your own clubs bitter rivals

Obviously that's where we differ then - because to be quite honest i wouldn't go out of my way to watch a film based on the formation of Rangers either, again - it'd be a Sunday afternoon, nothing else on TV type film for me.

I don't tend to buy into romantic, viewer manipulative film versions of historical events.
    Chances are a film such as this will be as to the club as Braveheart is to William Wallace.

Both clubs have interesting stories to tell, but i find for things like this that there is a vast array of literature and "folk culture" which tells the stories better than any film can.

This is very bad news, I hope the investors in Cannes don't get wind of this. Peter Mullan's project will be dead in the water if they find out that some fan of The The Rangers on a website calling himself Eirebear wont be going out of his way to watch it.:pac:

You're a rather odd chap.
    Your sarcasm seriously misses the mark too.

Why is it so important to you that a Rangers supporter doesn't care about this film?

You're a rather odd chap.
    Your sarcasm seriously misses the mark too.

Why is it so important to you that a Rangers supporter doesn't care about this film?

It isn't but I already told you that. What I find remarkable is that you are talking a hell of lot about a yet to be made film that you say you don't care about.

if ever there was a moment for a facepalm image....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

What a joy to watch Celtic have been the last 2 weeks. Some brilliant football again yesterday. If we can produce something similar next weekend in the cup final that would make for just a perfect finish to what has been a very enjoyable season so far.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Seville was 10 years ago today lads, hard to believe. Wonder will I ever see Celtic in a European final again?

Seville_celtic_fans.jpg

final whistle in that game was one of the most devastating blows ever as a Celtic fan, the journey to the final was great. including beachball sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

Victor is on his way this summer I'm afraid. Heard it from a very good source.

who is this "very good source"?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

The Huddleboard :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

If he has to leave we should get at least £8-10 million same for Hooper, there both very young.

I know you cant take interviews as Gospel but the way Victor has been talking he seems confident that hes going to be in Glasgow next season and wants his team mates to be there too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

Someone employed by the club. Cup final will be his last game. Premiership bound. 3 clubs already enquired and 2 willing to meet club's valuation.

Don't shoot the messenger.

I'll post the source later once the transfer news omes out but was told last night in London.

And you can joke huddleboard etc but this is someone from the club.

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/celtic/225398-victor-wanyama-wants-celtic-to-stick-together-for-next-season/

I'd be inclined to believe this over some anonymous guy talking about his anonymous source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

If the price is right, I'd sell the entire squad :D

We'll have to endure this speculation for the summer around Hooper, Wanyama because they wont sign new contracts & Ledley because he's going into his final year.

Surprised there isnt more transfer speculation around Kris Commons tbh, he's had a brilliant season.

Badabing wrote: »
    If he has to leave we should get at least £8-10 million same for Hooper, there both very young.

Don't think Hooper would command anywhere as much as Wanyama tbh. His form could have been better this season really, and he's got less left on his contract anyway. I agree Wanyama should fetch £8m+.

Dempsey wrote: »
    If the price is right, I'd sell the entire squad :D

We'll have to endure this speculation for the summer around Hooper, Wanyama because they wont sign new contracts & Ledley because he's going into his final year.

Surprised there isnt more transfer speculation around Kris Commons tbh, he's had a brilliant season.

Ledley and Commons are two players I want around next season, based on their form this season. Commons gets a hard time from a lot of fans for some reason, but some of his goals this season were absolutely terrific. He's a lot less greedy than he used to be as well. Stokes has done well also since his injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

Badabing wrote: »

Firstly I don't think Wanyama will be leaving this summer. But if he does it won't be for anything less then the mid teens I would think.