Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

That looks great 166man changes the car completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Not done a thing, but my eBay order that wasn't supposed to be delivered until Wednesday arrived in Parcel Motel at 7am yesterday :eek:

So took a diversion on the way home last night and picked it up

mKKnyt9ra4qiFgDvk8qNAbw.jpg

Hopefully it'll help tidy up my destroyed-in-brake-bits rear wheel and the whole back end thats sucked the metal particles back into the paintwork :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Was bored today so I gave it a quick clean inside and out

And took a photo:

img2920paint.jpg

Also did this during the week:

img2907fr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Tried out the ELM327 :D

a7diqSt.jpg

IdfxwaK.jpg

Looks like its working alright!

Also a pic of the stupidly cheap msport wheel I got

opzZ9E6.jpg

Collection of parts in the house is heading in the direction of Dgt :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

How much was the wheel?

Got the wheel, full anthracite headlining and some other goodies for €150 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Change the diff oil in the GT6, also got the gear lever sorted (The mechanism holding it up was shot) so now she's as smooth as a hell.

Brilliant day for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Justin10

Got the wheel, full anthracite headlining and some other goodies for €150 :D

Robbed him blind , been on the look out for MFSW buttons for my M Sport steering wheel.
    Used to be plenty on Ebay.

Is it true when you plug in that wheel you automatically get cruise?

On the facelift ones ye, its just plug and play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Mar4ix wrote: »
    looks way cleaner too :pac:
    looks miles better
    Redisle wrote: »
    Looks fantastic 166man. I actually prefer that colour to my own black ones now and I usually only like black leather! Just curious about what you ended up doing with the airbag wiring? Resistor across the contacts?
    the cream interior/ wine exterior is a savage colour scheme! nice work :)
    Classy :cool:
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Looks the absolute bees, man. Now just get some 3M tape or your exterior trim. :L

I'd look for some matching belts too but that's only niggly bits.
    coolisin wrote: »
    That looks great 166man changes the car completely.

Cheers folks! Much credit goes to dgt of course, all in all took about 4 hours to do it but we had other things to do with the seats including rethreading a few of them plus the rain made it drag on. Regardless the steak dinner beforehand was useful...:D

@ Redisle - the light may still be on and will need to be turned off before the NCT at the beginning of June.

It is classy alright and as said completely changes the car. Makes it all the better considering the awesome deal I got on it. All they needed was a quick clean and some saddle soap and they bolted straight in.

Best mod to the car...so far..;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,921 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Yep, all the wiring is there apart from the buttons. Fairly stupid but it's often cheaper to just build all the cars the same with all the wiring then charge a few grand on the asking price for a few buttons :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Nearly finished, just have to get a few new nuts 'n bolts. Its tough going when every second thing is half rusted to shiit.

Yep, all the wiring is there apart from the buttons. Fairly stupid but it's often cheaper to just build all the cars the same with all the wiring then charge a few grand on the asking price for a few buttons :D

Yup, can't imagine there's too much to it anyway.

Would love to get a Msport for my sisters car, she has a nice faclift saloon, nice colour and nice bumpers (Not M sport but the rear has a kind of cut out, with a plastic grill type thing?)... Er... Anyway, the steering wheel is horrible. Really old fashioned four spoke with a massive airbag.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Robbed him blind , been on the look out for MFSW buttons for my M Sport steering wheel.
    Used to be plenty on Ebay.
    funnily enough it was got in a BMW only breakers!
    No idea... Already have cruise control anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

where are they based ? could use some bits for the e38

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Took the coilovers out to give them a clean after Bishopscourt, also took the plugs out to give them a clean. Only went down to the garage to try cure my hangover :)

971515_10151467817832825_145596611_n.jpg

945563_10151467877937825_595038642_n.jpg

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Only went down to the garage to try cure my hangover :)

Did it work??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

No idea... Already have cruise control anyway...

What breakers? I need a full grey E36 dash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    What breakers? I need a full grey E36 dash.
    Frank Wyse - 087 7717659 , Clogheen Tipp

Suppose I better wait til morning. Although I'm impatient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Suppose I better wait til morning. Although I'm impatient.

"Hello? Yes, hello, never mind the fact you were asleep, do you have a grey dash for an E36...." :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    "Hello? Yes, hello, never mind the fact you were asleep, do you have a grey dash for an E36...." :pac:

A sale's a sale. :p Probably charge me double for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Took the coilovers out to give them a clean after Bishopscourt, also took the plugs out to give them a clean. Only went down to the garage to try cure my hangover :)

971515_10151467817832825_145596611_n.jpg

Love the two NCPS/APCOA clamps sitting there.... Great stuff, the dampers look great too....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

After doing the dog on it Saturday night, extremely hungover, i needed to do something productive. Last week i bought a few product that were new to me. The finish here is dedicated to Curran, that man knows his product and he convinced me to Clay the car. The difference claying makes is unreal.

First, a quick blast with the power hose, Then washed (the 2 bucket method) with Demon Shine Snow foam, it smells great (like an apple tree fell into your driveway), its not too bad a product, i expected more foam and wasnt overly impressed by the product.

Alloys:
    Wonder Wheels. I forgot to take a pic for before and after, so i did my ould lads wheels to show you the difference. This stuff is lethal. I bite my nails and got some on my fingers. it stings like fúck. If you are using it try not to get any on your rotors as it turns them this weird rusty colour. Heres a pic of the finish.

De-Tar:
    I used Car Plan De-Tar, not a whole lot to say about this stuff, it was de-tar, it worked.

Claying:
    I knew about the process, but had never seen the results or seen anyoone do it. Its amazing. Curran told me that he would rate claying a car, at the same value of polishing it, and he was right. I couldnt believe the condition of my bonnet after i had finished it. It was literally like a mirror. The process of claying is a pain in the ass. It takes ages. (maybe i was just too hungover) My arms were falling off me after it, the level of attention to detail needed to complete the entire car is extraordinary. It is a 2 man job, but the finish after it is worth it. I used Turtle wax refine and shine, no complaints, it was my first time doing it so have nothing to compare it to. Anyway clay your car, get a mate that has an interest to help.

Polish:
    Recommended by Curran : AG Super Resin Polish. Unbelievable stuff, its like rubbing liquid sex into your car

Sealant:
    Recommended by Curran : AG Extra Gloss Protection. Only time will tell how good this stuff is. I know i made a mistake here, i put it on pretty heavy instead of in thin layers.

This all took (including a quick vacuuming inside) 6 hours. I didnt even want to drive it after finishing it.

Quick question, how do i now wash the car without taking all the product off? Hope ye enjoyed the read.

Curran's advice really made the difference here with the finish, cheers man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Vmaxx coilovers fitted to the mk1 Last Saturday and a bit of detailing yesterday resulted in this. :cool:

** EDIT **
    Forgot to add she also got
    2 new wishbones complete with bushes and ball joints
    2 new track rod ends
    2 new drop links.
    1 new cv boot

Replacing front passenger brake pipe today as I don't like the looks of it.

941494_663109063716243_163614801_n.jpg

@ IK09:

You must have been doing the claying for too long as it shouldn't really take so long that your arms are falling off!

That weird rust colour on the rotors is called flash rust. It happens whenever water comes into contact with the discs, not just when you use a wheel cleaner. It always comes off after a few brake applications. It's normal and nothing to worry about.

Wash the car using a diluted mix of your snow foam or indeed get a proper shampoo like Meguiar's NXT. It's pH neutral so won't strip any of the protection you have on the car. Using the likes of fairly liquid will strip everything as it's full of salt and is designed to get rid of grease from plates so it sees wax as grease.

Nice shine though! When you put effort into jobs like this, it always pays off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

The claying should not leave with your arms hanging off. Very light pressure, almost just the weight of the bar is enough, and lots of lube. Did a Passat recently in about an hour, wasn't hard work at all.

Nice results though!

@ IK09:

You must have been doing the claying for too long as it shouldn't really take so long that your arms are falling off!

Maybe he didnt use a spray to keep the area moist and the clay moist? Seen a few people do that.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Maybe he didnt use a spray to keep the area moist and the clay moist? Seen a few people do that.

Jesus I hope not! If so, the whole car would be covered in marring.