Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

and the man who owned the serria came back today :L
    into the pit again and droped out the gear box had a few bits and pices to change from the old box to the new but other than that it went smoothly enough :L arms are sore now from holding it up :rolleyes: after this week i think its times to invest in a box jack just to save myself a little :P all in all im happy for these men to ask me to do it cause its all experence for me in later years

• Moderators Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Paid a visit to VW to get my radio code for the old radio. At least now its not a paperweight. Once im satisfied with the new RNS 510 ill pop the RCD 510 up for sale.

Just waiting on the GPS module. Stupid ebay shop estimated delivery for today at the latest, but havnt even marked it as dispatched. Contacted them twice with no reply. Quite annoyed. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Could be worse. The headlight bulbs that were in my old Mondeo used to cost a 96 quid each for a Philips one.
    Xenons??

Today. I'm at this

DSC_0237_zpsb81e853e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

sean1141 wrote: »
    Xenons??

Today. I'm at this

Putting a vinyl depicting a shed roof on your motor? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭rizzee

Lights. Will do til I get HIDs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I got bulbs too, waiting for dark to test them out :p

Got some nice stainless steel pipe for making tailpipe! :D

And I must finish the adapter later.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

dgt wrote: »
    I got bulbs too, waiting for dark to test them out :p

Got some nice stainless steel pipe for making tailpipe! :D

And I must finish the adapter later.....

One of these would be interesting on the 406..

403914_10150891865586853_1127662885_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 ihavethepower

When you dont trust the VW design department, its time to take matters into your own hands... http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5050886 Full-19992975.jpeg
    I think its a TDI

One of these would be interesting on the 406..

Going for somewhat sleeper not rat! Maybe on some other yoke around the haus.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,279 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Back from mechanic yesterday.

240€ just gone. :eek:

- anti roll bar bushings and links,
    - 2 new tyres balanced,
    - headlights aligned.

In the meantime mechanic spotted one of rear shocks leaks badly, so went back home, took mcphersons off a donor car, back to garage and replacement done. :D

Free brake test on my way back home, thankfully passed. ;)

Car's ready for NCT. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

So.... I paid a visit to Cark on thursday... Found Ardennes' house!

1pjOWcw.jpg

We made short work of fitting the wiper linkages I picked up, at last the wipers actually stay on the windscreen :D

A while after and my car looked a little strange...
    TtP5vgA.jpg

Hmmm... what could we be doing

bUfHelX.jpg

Picked up the anthracite headlining, M-sport steering wheel and OEM dual-ciggy lighter for the centre console. Got home and found

6L1SKQB.jpg
    and 5L of Orchard autocare Citrus pre-clean waiting for me. Also have Bosch Aerotwin wipers, new Lemforder tie rods and rear wheel bearings on the way.

Also apart from destroying Ardennes' hub :pac: we also did some things with his car that got us very strange looks..... may be in the pics thread shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

A while after and my car looked a little strange...
    TtP5vgA.jpg

Move them diskholders while your at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Fitted an LED strip inside the fog lights. While it was quite easy to get the passenger side fog lamp out the driver side was a pain to get to.

Also had to cut the strip in half as it wouldn't fit into the assembly.

Now have to wire them up properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Got down to the garage today and got the car on stands, leaving it sitting on €800 tyres isn't ideal :eek:

Wanted to check the AFR's at idle and throughout the rev range after the race weekend and now my engine is well and truly ran in, absolutely spot on, sitting at 14.0 at idle and richening up higher up the rev range. I have to say I'm absolutely delighted with my engine and I swear I will never have engine work done anywhere else in Ireland apart from DI Motorsport, to have an engine with such fine tolerances stand up to such abuse and not bat an eyelid. I expected it to use a little oil over the weekend (it hardly dropped under 5000rpm and redlined at 9200) but it used nothing.

Once I get the soft bit that connects the seat to the steering wheel sorted this car can be very competitive

All of you bollixes should come down to Mondello for the next round and wave the flag of GXR Racing, a team born from 4 blokes that met through the boards.ie motoring section!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Move them diskholders while your at it!

Nothing wrong with them :p They're in the least annoying place (for me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Nothing special, just my first time changing the air filter and spark plugs, much easier than expected, need to do the oil now. You can see the old plug beside the new, car is running well. The garage that done the service a year ago said they changed the plugs and the oil and charged me €200....not anymore:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

So yeah Challengedmaster found my house despite my best efforts.

Along with his headliner and wiper linkages, we put on new front discs and spark plugs on mine.

Then we washed the cars and got onto the real business.....

548317_574813782549319_392468890_n.jpg

401916_574813765882654_676984590_n.jpg

Cal is a genius with that 7d!
    Got some...pretty feckin sweet pics! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Theres no fanboi like an e46 fanboi

Unregistered Users

[...]

Then we washed the cars and got onto the real business.....

[...]

Looked at the first photo and thought straight away, you're gone fishing. :D

joujoujou wrote: »
    Looked at the first photo and thought straight away, you're gone fishing. :D

In the second it looks like the rod is about to hit CM in the mouth :pac:

Unregistered Users

First what I saw in the 2nd photo was that leather on steering wheel looks tired. :(

Or I'm deceived by sunlight? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭carzony

joujoujou wrote: »
    Back from mechanic yesterday.

240€ just gone. :eek:

- anti roll bar bushings and links,
    - 2 new tyres balanced,
    - headlights aligned.

In the meantime mechanic spotted one of rear shocks leaks badly, so went back home, took mcphersons off a donor car, back to garage and replacement done. :D

Free brake test on my way back home, thankfully passed. ;)

Car's ready for NCT. :cool:

Was that not the road where 2 women lost their lives the last bank holiday? They were saying it's a very dangerous junction or somthing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Pictures as promised folks, the difference is unreal. Absolutely chuffed with it tbh especially if ye knew what I paid for it..;)

Before - cloth seats

image5gt.jpg

image6yz.jpg

After - Leather seats...:D

image2yt.jpg

image3dc.jpg

imagevtt.jpg

Overall delighted, Alfa Momo's FTW! :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

looks way cleaner too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

looks miles better

Unregistered Users

carzony wrote: »
    Was that not the road where 2 women lost their lives the last bank holiday? [...]
    I don't know, but more than likely not. I drive that road every day (weekday) so could hear about it.

Where did they lost their lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Looks fantastic 166man. I actually prefer that colour to my own black ones now and I usually only like black leather! Just curious about what you ended up doing with the airbag wiring? Resistor across the contacts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

the cream interior/ wine exterior is a savage colour scheme! nice work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Classy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Looks the absolute bees, man. Now just get some 3M tape or your exterior trim. :L

I'd look for some matching belts too but that's only niggly bits.