Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Call me a picky git but you couldn't open the envelope and then take the pic? :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,332 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Don't get the love for Sunset Riders on the SNES. It's a poor conversion of a very shallow arcade game. Great for a rental but it gets old really fast. Also it's not that rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Yeah show the good achilles!

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Don't get the love for Sunset Riders on the SNES. It's a poor conversion of a very shallow arcade game. Great for a rental but it gets old really fast. Also it's not that rare.

Indeed, & I wouldn't mind having it in my collection, but its definitely not on my list. Too expensive for what it is, & the arcade version blows it away :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,332 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Bet the super fami version goes for peanuts.

Edit: Actually can't find it on ebay :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It's just that Konami make such great stuff for the Snes, I have the likes of Contra 3 (I lie, it's Super Probotector really :( ), Batman Returns, Gradius III, Castlevania IV (incoming), Cybernator, Pop'n Twinbee, Sparkster, Tiny Toons.
    Sunset Riders was a fun game, rented it back in the day and had a blast, wouldn't mind picking it up again.
    I'm not spending stupid money on it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

You should look for the japanese versions of the popular games, especially ones with no text or where story isn't important.

Today I bought Castlevania 4 for 20 euros with free shipping from japan and Rockman 5 for the gameboy for 20 euros. Rockman 5 for the gameboy can go for 80+ euros in it's Megaman 5 guise.

Monkeykube wrote: »

Wild Guns is completely different to Sunset Riders. Wild Guns is actually rare and also unlike Sunset Riders it's a stupidly good game.

You learn something new every day, I think the price is way over the top for both, I think 40 euro is the limit for any sfc game for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,467 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

What's wrong with Sunset Riders?! :eek:

o1s1n wrote: »
    What's wrong with Sunset Riders?! :eek:

Think he's more or less getting at the Snes port of it, & how it doesn't hold up to well against the arcade version

Sunset Riders is one of those games you play once, have a lot of fun with it but it's so shallow it's hard to go back. Also the home ports are way inferior to the arcade version.

Not a bad game, just very shallow and really I don't see why people love it so much when they should be buying Contra Hard Corps instead :)

Master of the Universe

Ah lads, yis are mental! :pac:

It's not arcade perfect but I think it's far enough removed from the arcade game to be a great game in it's own right. I love it. It feels very 'snesy' if you know what I mean.

Retr0 - as much as I love Contra: Hard Corps, you do know you're allowed to have more than one game from each genre in your collection? :P

Ah lads, yis are mental! :pac:

It's not arcade perfect but I think it's far enough removed from the arcade game to be a great game in it's own right. I love it. It feels very 'snesy' if you know what I mean.

Retr0 - as much as I love Contra: Hard Corps, you do know you're allowed to have more than one game from each genre in your collection? :P

Like SF2 though, I can't help but want to play the best version of it. Why would a lesser version of Sunset Riders be the go-to version? For me it isn't :o

Master of the Universe

Oh I know what you mean, but sometimes a port is far enough removed from the original to be still playable for it's own reasons.

Street Fighter 2 ports have always just tried to be as like the arcade game as the hardware will allow... I've always found Snes Sunset Riders to not really follow the same logic and instead creates a 'snes' version.

It's been a long time since I've played it though, but that was the conclusion I came to ages ago when deciding whether to buy it or just stick to the arcade version.

There's feck all enemies on screen, tonnes of slow down and no 4 player madness. The worst crime is that the girls in the taverns are modestly clad. It seems very boring to me in comparison.

Oh I know what you mean, but sometimes a port is far enough removed from the original to be still playable for it's own reasons.

Street Fighter 2 ports have always just tried to be as like the arcade game as the hardware will allow... I've always found Snes Sunset Riders to not really follow the same logic and instead creates a 'snes' version.

It's been a long time since I've played it though, but that was the conclusion I came to ages ago when deciding whether to buy it or just stick to the arcade version.

The Snes version though is, I think, an attempt at the arcade version though no? Wasn't it the Megadrive version that was different? Or do you mean in more subtle ways which make it feel like the Snes version is doing its own thing?

He means it's more like a SNES game in that it slows down with more than 3 sprites on screen :P

Master of the Universe

Actually this brings up an interesting question (as I know Retr0 is one of the no arcade machine heathens! :pac:) - what matters more to you, to play on real hardware or play the proper version of a game? (so in this case, 'proper version' would be the arcade version.)

I know I'd rather play on real hardware in all cases. So I'd take playing a Snes port on a Snes on a CRT over emulating an arcade version on a PC/LCD.

Proper version for me. I'd rather play an uncompromised version of a game that reflexes the original developers true intent and artistic vision rather than something pared back to work on limited hardware.

Basically a bad port is like reading the abridged version of a book.

Master of the Universe

But likewise, emulation on an LCD is like reading a badly photocopied version of the original book on piss stained paper. That in itself is a compromise :D

A photocopy still has the original words. A port will always have stuff cut out. I'd argue emulating it is far closer to the original than a poor port.

Master of the Universe

And what if the piss stains obscure some of the words? Or maybe the toner was running out and you were just left with a blur/missing sections of text?

In that case, the bad photocopy of the original can literally become an abridged version due to the limitations of how you're consuming it.

...and at least the abridged version doesn't stink of piss. :pac:

I get what you're saying and all...but I just really don't like emulation anymore and to me it's not a true way of playing the game as it was intended. It's great as a historical legacy for future generations and to 'test out' new boards, but that's about it.

Well compare the SNES version of Sunset Riders to the arcade one. It's a totally different game since there's so few enemies and the more dynamic elements like the burning bridge and different enemy types are totally removed.

If you play it on emulation there might be unnoticable timing differences whereas on the SNES that stuff is just totally not there.

Master of the Universe

I always thought Snes Sunset Riders wasn't trying to be a 1:1 port though?

So it's not that things aren't there/omitted, it's trying to be a different game?

I'll have to replay it over the weekend as it's been too long for me to comment really.

Maybe it is really bad and I've just got my rose tinted specs on.

...I'm still not convinced with the emulation argument though. It goes beyond timing issues into PC displays, control setups, financial commitment to the game versus spoiled for choice syndrome etc. I'd rather just stick to the Snes port and pick the board up sometime along the way.

(speaking of which, there was one over on AO that was really tempting! :O)

Nope it's definitely trying to be the same game. There's some concessions made due to the awful SNES processor but it really is trying to imitate it.

I much preferred Capcom and Konami ports of the 80's and 90's where they made different games that played to a systems strengths. Stuff like UN Squadron, Bionic Commando, contra, Super C etc. are far better games than their arcade counterparts. Compare that to stuff like the Final Fight port on SNES.

Funnily enough thanks to how amazing a programmer Yuji Naka was the Capcom ports to Megadrive ended up maybe looking a little different but playing practically the same as the coin-op. I learned how to play ghouls n'ghosts on the megadrive.

Actually this brings up an interesting question (as I know Retr0 is one of the no arcade machine heathens! :pac:) - what matters more to you, to play on real hardware or play the proper version of a game? (so in this case, 'proper version' would be the arcade version.)

I know I'd rather play on real hardware in all cases. So I'd take playing a Snes port on a Snes on a CRT over emulating an arcade version on a PC/LCD.

When it comes to consoles, original hardware every time. I waved goodbye to cd-r's & flash carts ages ago & havn't looked back. I find it unrewarding to use them & there's no value placed on anything.

For arcade stuff, I'm not as fussy, & was so content with the accuracy of Mame over a Jpac & low res crt that I sold all my pcb's. My arcade kicks come more from the cab than the pcb's weirdly.

I suppose its somewhat hypocritical to enjoy real hardware in one case, & emulation in the other...but my emulation kicks do come with some authenticity requirements (real cab, jamma & jpac, real arcade screen, real arcade controls) as opposed to a keyboard & an lcd tv.

TL DR - it depends on the game & platform :o

EnterNow wrote: »
    When it comes to consoles, original hardware every time. I waved goodbye to cd-r's & flash carts ages ago & havn't looked back. I find it unrewarding to use them & there's no value placed on anything.

For arcade stuff, I'm not as fussy, & was so content with the accuracy of Mame over a Jpac & low res crt that I sold all my pcb's. My arcade kicks come more from the cab than the pcb's weirdly.

I suppose its somewhat hypocritical to enjoy real hardware in one case, & emulation in the other...but my emulation kicks do come with some authenticity requirements (real cab, jamma & jpac, real arcade screen, real arcade controls) as opposed to a keyboard & an lcd tv.

TL DR - it depends on the game & platform :o

Have to agree with you on the flash carts but they can be useful if ya couldn't be arsed unboxing every time you wanted to play a game you may legally own a copy of, but they can easily get overloaded with stuff you may only play once. I still hope to get a cab later in the year, I know I will not have the funds nor the space required to start collecting PCBs. It's the appeal of the cabinet as a platform that attracts me although I can see the appeal of the various arcade kits and PCBs but I would never have the space for many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,626 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Well f@@k it, I got it for free basically so I'm not complaining.