I remember...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Maggie Thatcher was alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I remember the craic we used to get up to as children too, setting things on fire, jumping in rivers, stealing apples, stealing cars given half the chance, taking things apart, cycling our bikes on the main roads.

It's not computer games that are at fault, I can't think of any parent around today that would allow their little babies out into the scary world. They'll end up giving the child a nintendo DS and telling them to sit in the corner of the garden out of the sun and not to touch the dirt with their new clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

white dogsh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

jr ice pops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I remember when it used to snow for days on end, oh that was March wasn't it.

Actually I remember when it snowed as a kid, I'd wake up to see the snow and go running to the back door and bang excitedly on it shouting mum, dad, it's snowed.....can I come in now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I remember my older sisters used to tape top of the pops every week. And on this one week there was a girl called Vanessa paradise singing joe le taxi. Then when everybody was out rewinding it because she was just fabulous. And her nipples showing through her top.
    I was 7 years old and found myself thinking, I really need to see some more of this kind of stuff.

Missus Johnny Depp...
    http://theredlist.fr/media/database/muses/couples/art_culture/vanessa-paradis-et-johnny-deep/002_vanessa-paradis-et-johnny-deep_theredlist.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

gdavis wrote: »
    white dogsh1te

According to scientists, this is down to dogs being fed free bones that the butcher would give out. Now fancy dogfood and no bones means no white poop.

http://www.caninest.com/white-dog-poop/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Full.Duck wrote: »
    I remember varuca's were all the rage. People even had sock for them. Ye never hear about them any more. Like they just vanished. Did they find a cure or something?
    True, and warts on schoolkids fingers.
    where'd they go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

I remember when you could sit in the passenger seat without a seatbelt as a child :eek:.

Smoking on a plane, in the cinema, at a restaurant, even in hospital corridors.
    I remember a bank teller counting out money in front of me with a cigarrette hanging from his mouth, like a character from Goodfellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I remember being able to look down and see my penis. :(:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I remember being able to look down and see my penis. :(:(:(:(:(

You pregnant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I remember being able to get a quarter pounder with cheese, a can of coke, ten fags and a box of matches, and having change out of a fiver.

I remember, I remember
    The house where I was born,
    The little window where the sun
    Came peeping in at morn;
    He never came a wink too soon
    Nor brought too long a day;
    But now, I often wish the night
    Had borne my breath away.

I remember, I remember
    The roses red and white,
    The violets and the lily cups--
    Those flowers made of light!
    The lilacs where the robin built,
    And where my brother set
    The laburnum on his birthday,--
    The tree is living yet!

I remember, I remember
    Where I was used to swing,
    And thought the air must rush as fresh
    To swallows on the wing;
    My spirit flew in feathers then
    That is so heavy now,
    The summer pools could hardly cool
    The fever on my brow.

I remember, I remember
    The fir-trees dark and high;
    I used to think their slender tops
    Were close against the sky:
    It was a childish ignorance,
    But now 'tis little joy
    To know I'm farther off from Heaven
    Than when I was a boy.

Thomas Hood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

Nostalgia's just not what it used to be...

daithi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

KKkitty wrote: »
    I remember when kids played outside and not on computer games.

I remember when kids played computer games AND played outside.

Just like they do today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I remember when rubbers were illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,856 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I remember cans of SMAK after someone brought it up in another thread.
    also arctic rolls...havent seen one of those in years.
    living in the gaeltacht and the 9 weeks of bliss when all these strange exotic girls from dublin came to your home to learn irish.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I remember when 20 cigarettes and a box of matches were a pound and you could buy "loosies(single cigarettes)" for 10 p each a 2 litre of finest cider was 2pound.

You could go out and get hammered and smoke your head off for 3 pounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

I remember when Boards were not online... Had to mail posts to everybody. No trolls, these were THE days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I remember when black bin bags and a mask were the height of Halloweeen costumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I remember coming home from school to watch Bosco and the Den :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

Reminiscing isn't what it used to be. In my day I was able to remember all the good old days. These days I can't remember anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Getting hit on the inner thigh when playing jumper for goalposts at 9.30 at night on a Tuesday July night. Stung like mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I remember my older sisters used to tape top of the pops every week. And on this one week there was a girl called Vanessa paradise singing joe le taxi. Then when everybody was out rewinding it because she was just fabulous. And her nipples showing through her top.
    I was 7 years old and found myself thinking, I really need to see some more of this kind of stuff.
    no nipples sticking through in joe : she was 14
    i think you mean this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

deccurley wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "My family was minted in the 80s" comment :pac:
    Not really. The Atari 2600 had already been out about six years when my father bought one. I think the one he bought might have been second hand.

I had loads of aunts and uncles so I got a decent amount of Confirmation money and bought the Commodore 64 with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

RustyNut wrote: »
    I remember when rubbers were illegal.

I know....feckin tippex

"Eenie Meenie, miney Mo
    Catch an N-word by his toe"
    I remember being taught this in school by middle-class, respectable teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Marathon bars and supercans of coke or fanta.
    Boxes of 10 cigarettes. A box of matches for 5p.
    Payphones, call cards and the 088 network.