If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

1chippy wrote: »
    aah its not that bad, weathers ****e but sure a change is coming. its the fact i''m getting older and cant find balancing act with how much im fit to drink without getting sick the following day.

Around here in an average year you wouldn't be expecting sustainable growth till end of april, you'd be depending on what grew over the winter at this time.
    Think lads are being too optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bare minimum done here today. spent most of the afternoon feeling sorry for myself.
    I think its time to do what the old boys do and go home after 3 or 4 pints.
    Don't worry, age itself takes care of it. You loose the urge for the big feed of pints and a big session every 3-6 months is enough;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

With the current weather I feel sorry for the lads that have gone for rapid expansion for the post 2015 era. Huge investment and just in time type management factoring getting the cows out in Feb, max stock/ha etc. The Irish weather hasn't changed that much. I recall it being described in National School around 30yrs ago as being "variable", "4 seasons in a day", "no guarantee of a good summer" etc etc. Each decade there has been horrendous years for farming and yet lads don't plan for the contingency of ridiculously bad weather!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

just do it wrote: »
    With the current weather I feel sorry for the lads that have gone for rapid expansion for the post 2015 era. Huge investment and just in time type management factoring getting the cows out in Feb, max stock/ha etc. The Irish weather hasn't changed that much. I recall it being described in National School around 30yrs ago as being "variable", "4 seasons in a day", "no guarantee of a good summer" etc etc. Each decade there has been horrendous years for farming and yet lads don't plan for the contingency of ridiculously bad weather!
    I know one of those guys, caught with feed bills of 5k a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

pakalasa wrote: »
    Drink bottles. Better quality and less quantity.
    i could drink it off teaspoons and id still manage to sicken myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

aah its not that bad, weathers ****e but sure a change is coming. its the fact i''m getting older and cant find balancing act with how much im fit to drink without getting sick the following day.

Chippy At least you get out, :D

just do it wrote: »
    Don't worry, age itself takes care of it. You loose the urge for the big feed of pints and a big session every 3-6 months is enough;)

Bit like something else eh

Was reading today about some idiot who threw a shoe of a ride at a funfair, they said shoe was travelling at mad speed and lucky it did not kill anyone, fcuk there is some mad people out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

caught with feed bills of 5k a week

A WEEK :eek:, I only made out what I thought was a steep cheque for 4k today for the last two deliveries that lasted way longer, I don't feel as bad now ha :p That person must have some serious cow numbers and be well short on forage/grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I have a muscley sort of a 3 year old lim heifer sick to calf now. How well she waited for such a cnut of a night to do it. A bit wary of her too because her mother has tried to kill me on numerous occasions at calving. I hope to jaysus she calves of her own accord.

hugo29 wrote: »
    Bit like something else eh

You'll be alright once the bull doesnt start acting the same way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I have a muscley sort of a 3 year old lim heifer sick to calf now. How well she waited for such a cnut of a night to do it. A bit wary of her too because her mother has tried to kill me on numerous occasions at calving. I hope to jaysus she calves of her own accord.

Do you think it follows that a cow that is nasty at calving will produce a daughter that's nasty too?
    I would have several generations of cows and from a seriously nasty bitch I have some quite as a lamb, and another as bad as her old dear. And a couple in between!
    Best of luck with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Must have serious numbers. But we were talking today, if some of the dairy lads are feeding 8Kg meal a day at €300 a ton=€0.30 per Kg so 2.40 per cow per day. €240 for a herd of 100 cows per DAY! €1680 a week, before you take into account any sort of roughage or the fert they more than likely spread on their land..

Bizzum wrote: »
    Do you think it follows that a cow that is nasty at calving will produce a daughter that's nasty too?
    I would have several generations of cows and from a seriously nasty bitch I have some quite as a lamb, and another as bad as her old dear. And a couple in between!
    Best of luck with her.

I dont know really to be honest Bizzum, I will know for sure in a few hours but I have my suspicions. I wouldnt normally keep anything out of a wicked/flight type of cow but she was a smashing heifer and I said I chance keeping her on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Would you not get rid for peace of mind?

Was reading something yesterday about Thatcher and the Brighton bombing, the IRA statement after mentioned "We only have to be lucky once", a bit like your cow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

A question for all you folks. I have a springer, who just calved a BVD positive calf.
    Calf is poor but sucking away.
    The springer herself, is in poor condition compared to her six compatriots. Just does not seem to have thrived. She has been blood tested and I expect will prove positive.

Question is, do I get rid of her to factory ASAP, or do I feed her on, in expectation of getting a bit of condition on her, and hence a better price?
    Will she respond to feeding in the first place?

TIA

I dont know really to be honest Bizzum, I will know for sure in a few hours but I have my suspicions. I wouldnt normally keep anything out of a wicked/flight type of cow but she was a smashing heifer and I said I chance keeping her on.

I've noticed too, with absolute certainty, that a nasty cow at calving can be quite and easily handled the other 51 weeks of the year. In other words, a cow that is normally quiet can be a bitch when she's sick to calve and for a few days after.

Would you not get rid for peace of mind?

Was reading something yesterday about Thatcher and the Brighton bombing, the IRA statement after mentioned "We only have to be lucky once", a bit like your cow!

Bit late now anyway :o

She might be grand yet, was trying to get rid of old cows so kept extra heifers 2 years ago and rather than buying blind in the mart decided to keep her. I have been lucky more than once im afraid to say. A quite cow levelled me in the shed last year when I was stomach tubing her calf, I dont know how I managed to stand up after and make it over the gate to be honest. I wasnt expecting that from her though and thats when your in the most danger. I would have my escape route well plotted with the known wicked cows we have.

Bizzum wrote: »
    I've noticed too, with absolute certainty, that a nasty cow at calving can be quite and easily handled the other 51 weeks of the year. In other words, a quite cow normally can be a bitch when she's sick to calve and for a few days after.

Yep I noticed that too, have 7 or 8 like that here. Have one that gets proper wicked for a week before she calves and about a month afterwards aswell. Why she is still here is beyond me but her days are numbered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Bit late now anyway :o

She might be grand yet, was trying to get rid of old cows so kept extra heifers 2 years ago and rather than buying blind in the mart decided to keep her. I have been lucky more than once im afraid to say. A quite cow levelled me in the shed last year when I was stomach tubing her calf, I dont know how I managed to stand up after and make it over the gate to be honest. I wasnt expecting that from her though and thats when your in the most danger. I would have my escape route well plotted with the known wicked cows we have.

Ara yeah there'll always be the unexpected lash from the quiet animal, I've gotten that myself. I mean the mean bitch that you know is a mean bitch, out the gate and good riddance I say :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Yep I noticed that too, have 7 or 8 like that here. Have one that gets proper wicked for a week before she calves and about a month afterwards aswell. Why she is still here is beyond me but her days are numbered.

They can be some bitches alright. Have one very bad one, won't let you in the field for 2 weeks after calving. Electric prodder on extension pole is the way to deal with her. She'd kill ya stone dead otherwise

One at home too. A PB Char, a pure tramp. Calved 3 weeks now and she'd put it up to ya still in the field. In fact she's dangerous. This year will finish her and factory her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Bought 15 fattening heifers last year. They were guaranteed not in calf. Wouldn't ya know it, one of the bitches is in calf. A right runt she is. Contacted the mart a week ago and then i contacted the seller.... seller isnt too eager to play ball. Might have to go to the solicitor :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Theres lads for everything... wonder what the DM is like?
    Household waste disguised as hay bales dumped in Essex
    Hundreds of tonnes of household and business waste has been disguised as plastic-wrapped hay, straw or silage bales and dumped on farmland in Essex.

Ara yeah there'll always be the unexpected lash from the quiet animal, I've gotten that myself. I mean the mean bitch that you know is a mean bitch, out the gate and good riddance I say :cool:

Well her mother is gone alright. Im wary of the heifer more so than anything else just because of the mother, she hasnt challenged me yet. The other cow that stays wicked for a month wont be bulled again this year and straight to the factory with her, I wouldnt sell her in a mart. I am more afraid a stranger going into the field and getting caught out with her than myself. I am well aware of what shes like and will always have an eye on her in the field. The other few might jaw you a bit for a day or 2 until the hormones settle a bit again but you will have a certain % like that anyway. Like I said more often than not its the ''quiet'' one that will catch you because you wont expect it. The cow last year hit me straight on the top of my head and sent me back across the floor of the shed, There was nobody else around and she hit a fair wallop on the gate when i was jumping over it after.....bad choice on her behalf because shes burgers now. Its not an experience I would like to repeat again.

Theres lads for everything... wonder what the DM is like?
    Household waste disguised as hay bales dumped in Essex
    Hundreds of tonnes of household and business waste has been disguised as plastic-wrapped hay, straw or silage bales and dumped on farmland in Essex.

Unbelievable. If a Cavan man done that he'd surely have sold them to an oul gobsh1te of a biffo like me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

5k will only feed, just over 200 beef cattle a week, on grub only.

Good night Irene :D

photo_zps0c206ee2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

I actually kinda miss staying up watching a sick cow

Good night Irene :D

photo_zps0c206ee2.jpg

Small.........Far away........:-)