If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Had a ewe have 4 lambs on saturday. It was a record for our house. Unfortunately in the 15 minutes that I was gone to get the quadand trailer, a grey crow picked the top of the back and the leg of the smallest one. Good news is that he has survived on a bottle beside the kitchen range and is flying it. I have never seen such small lambs. The other 3 are on the ewe and under the red lamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone see the chainsaw last night on dragon's den? It was worked off the tractor hydraulics. I thought it'd be very dangerous and an awkward c**t of a thing to use with the 2 hydraulic pipes training out of it.

http://fermanaghherald.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Sean-Leonard-5.jpg

Ya, I saw it. I didn't see any real advantage in it. I like the way they asked them about CE marking. A lot of stuff made in back yards, like logsplitters etc which are sold without CE marking. Under EU law, all products like this should have the CE mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just do it wrote: »
    I assume you separated the calf before tagging? I don't do anything to any calf with the cow in the same pen.
    luckily the calf had gotten out under the gate so we tagged her and then put her back in, cow still mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

reilig wrote: »
    Had a ewe have 4 lambs on saturday. It was a record for our house. Unfortunately in the 15 minutes that I was gone to get the quadand trailer, a grey crow picked the top of the back and the leg of the smallest one. Good news is that he has survived on a bottle beside the kitchen range and is flying it. I have never seen such small lambs. The other 3 are on the ewe and under the red lamp.

Best of luck with them Reilg...

Never had 4 here either (well, not in my time) not sure I want them either to be honest...

Will you leave the 3 on the ewe? I think 3 is too many on a ewe sometimes...
    As they grow, either they all seem to only do all right-ish, or two do ok, and one turns into a right runt...
    Maybe its just I have bad ewes tho... :(:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Rushy Fields

Heifer calved at 12 noon. Difficult pull. , Jack used no good,Caught at hips, father, neighbour, vet called (7-10mins) and the second vet arrived 5mins later. Awful to see. Poor calf stretched and cow down. Not a good Monday for me. A week over her time. She was in calf to an easy calving Lim. Shes a CH X lim. Calf not big. Cant understand it. Vet gave her 3 injections but she mad an attempt to get up but not up yet and reckons calf wont make it, gave him 750mls of colostruim...... Disaster.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Never had 4 here either (well, not in my time) not sure I want them either to be honest...

As they grow, either they all seem to only do all right-ish, or two do ok, and one turns into a right runt...

Will leave the 3 on her as she is a good ewe with lots of milk. She had 3 last year and they finished well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Popped into the mart in Kilmallock for a few mins, couldn't believe the amount of cull cows, alot of them were going to take some feeding. calves back a bit aswell I thought, FR bulls around 120-150 AA heifer made 150, AA bulls around 180. Not too many smiling faces there.

thought the light bullocks were good value, 300Kg AA and HE making around 600 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

reilig wrote: »

If you want to get rid of the greys Google Image search "Larsen Mate". Chuck a dead lamb into it and you'll get your call bird. Then get yourself a "Larsen" trap, though it works better with call birds from a different area. They work particularly well this time of the year with crows nesting and becoming very territorial.

I've caught 7 so far on my farm with at least another 10 caught on two other farms because of the initial bird I caught with my Larsen Mate. If you have a lot of greycrows, best to buy or make a Larsen trap with at least four catch boxes. Springs are available on Ebay or from Dingle Poultry Supplies, and plans are readily available on Google. I like to use two inch expanded metal and cable ties, very light weight.

Most commercially sold Larsen traps are for magpies, which are a bit too small for greycrows, I think it's best to make your own. It's not difficult.

Call birds must have shelter, food and water at all times. Dead call bird is no use.

A "Ladder Trap" is another option but to be honest the Larsens are handier IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

was reading the southern star at lunch time and saw an ad on it for silage bales. "Top quality silage bales for sale" €60 a bale. Nealry fell off the seat of my chair. He would deserve to be rang and asked is he sure hes charging enough for the bale. Talk about screwing the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

blue5000 wrote: »
    Anyone sold 300kg ish weanling heifers in the mart lately, how did you get on? Have a few to go and wondering is it worhwhile taking them in or waiting till there is a bit more grass around.

3 320kg red lims, €895 a fortnight ago.

f140 wrote: »
    was reading the southern star at lunch time and saw an ad on it for silage bales. "Top quality silage bales for sale" €60 a bale. Nealry fell off the seat of my chair. He would deserve to be rang and asked is he sure hes charging enough for the bale. Talk about screwing the system.

Whats his number, I'll ring him and ask him will he deliver them to Clare for that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    luckily the calf had gotten out under the gate so we tagged her and then put her back in, cow still mad

Good thing.
    I have a fella off work at the moment. Went into calving pen to put calf up and ye heifer pinned him to the wall. Lucky it was just one blow and his shoulder took the brunt. But he could just as easily have smacked his head and then fell under her !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

bbam wrote: »
    Good thing.
    I have a fella off work at the moment. Went into calving pen to put calf up and ye heifer pinned him to the wall. Lucky it was just one blow and his shoulder took the brunt. But he could just as easily have smacked his head and then fell under her !!
    had to get vet to her calf this evening, thought it was just sleepy this morning but wasnt great this evening, has pnuemonia- said to leave them seperated til morning, , the cows going mental

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

I would never leave three on a ewe either, we can work adoptions so well here that we'd never have to, but there is the odd ewe that can but very few.......your ewes look the biz in your picture any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

was at mart today, brought 6 bullocks fr 405kg 685e, i brought them home anyway neighbour of mine was selling lim calves off cont. cows and i was tempted to buy a few but had to stop myself mousey colour heifer calf good calf 280, best price 350 for red bull, calves are back seriously, alot of unsold cattle today was a day for buyers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

stick up his number here and we'll all give him a call:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Anyone else here of the 'Cuckoo Storm'? My father mentioned this tonight after looking at the weeks weather and said it'll brighten after she arrives as she always brings a storm with her! He say's it's an old saying but is it in any other parts of the country?:)

Is it a bit early for the Cuckoo yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

pakalasa wrote: »
    Is it a bit early for the Cuckoo yet?

Yes, but the storm arrives before it apparently :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Ya, I saw it. I didn't see any real advantage in it. I like the way they asked them about CE marking. A lot of stuff made in back yards, like logsplitters etc which are sold without CE marking. Under EU law, all products like this should have the CE mark.

Did they give them any money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

blue5000 wrote: »
    stick up his number here and we'll all give him a call:D
    better than that it is a box number.I think it was some lad having laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

As we say around here "therell be a small crowd at that lads funeral when his time comes"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Anyone else here of the 'Cuckoo Storm'? My father mentioned this tonight after looking at the weeks weather and said it'll brighten after she arrives as she always brings a storm with her! He say's it's an old saying but is it in any other parts of the country?:)

Yep often heard the grandmother saying that as well,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

God it's windy out ther, opened a few bales a straw to mix thru silage, big gust fcuking wind arrived and blew half It down the yard:mad: I'd swear the cows were laughing at me,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

3 320kg red lims, €895 a fortnight ago.
    Redz, was that Ennis?. Have 3 Lmx that are weighing 300 plus kgs. Normally take them to Gort but prices seem poor their compared to reports from other marts. Once a bit of growth comes might chance another mart for a change

Conor556 wrote: »
    Did they give them any money?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I can report the safe arrival of a pair of swallows to Offaly. First of the year I saw today! :-)

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Redz, was that Ennis?. Have 3 Lmx that are weighing 300 plus kgs. Normally take them to Gort but prices seem poor their compared to reports from other marts. Once a bit of growth comes might chance another mart for a change

No that was Kilfenora and their was a few local farmers on them, I brought a few of their better comreads to Ennis the week before and they were back about 70 quid a head. I was sorry enough selling them to be honest but something had to go with the winter we had. I used to go the Gort a lot with cattle but I had a row with that bollix of an auctioneer finnerty in the box one night last year and I swore never again, was fit to strangle the cnut, they are twice the commission of Clare marts anyway.

:D...What was the row over?

I had a yearling heifer over who was selling for a few hundred euro under market value lets say, He turns to me ready to drop the hammer...I say no fecking way, then he said dont be such a thick **** your getting well paid for her :eek: I got a bit vexed then and told him I would be as thick as I f**king like and that I knew the road to Ennis too where she made €280 euro more a fortnight after ;) I have a fair idea of what was going on the same night.