Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

imagine the size of big mcdev when he emerges from 'gardening leave' after a few months

i'd say the local dominoes is building an emergency extension out the back - the mcdev oven

imagine the size of big mcdev when he emerges from 'gardening leave' after a few months

i'd say the local dominoes is building an emergency extension out the back - the mcdev oven

Big McDev? Have you seen him recently? He is on Setanta sometimes and he is far from fat.

Regardless, what a childish thing to say.

babaracus wrote: »
    Big McDev? Have you seen him recently? He is on Setanta sometimes and he is far from fat.

you're right.
    i'm sorry.

'Big McDev' is now 'Perfectly-Proportioned McDev'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

Wow, unsubscribing from this thread. I'd presume this is what Facebook sounds like when you're 'friends' with a bunch of knackers nattering on about nothing all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭IRE60

aphex™ wrote: »
    Wow, unsubscribing from this thread. I'd presume this is what Facebook sounds like when you're 'friends' with a bunch of knackers nattering on about nothing all day.

FFS - unsubscribe and shut up!

"bunch of knackers", seriously, where do you get off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

IRE60 wrote: »
    FFS - unsubscribe and shut up!

"bunch of knackers", seriously, where do you get off.

I get off when they go on about personal abuse of a radio presenter about his weight 5 years ago. What a load of tosh.

ah relax, its only a bit of banter
    shure murph and the lads are always giving him abuse on the airwaves bout his baldness and waistline..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,411 ✭✭✭Deedsie

shure murph and the lads are always giving him abuse on the airwaves bout his baldness and waistline..

Are you a friend or colleague of the man? Have you spoken to or met him? I think your post above was just brainless. What gives people the sense, that it is ok to make "hilarious" comments about peoples health like that? Would you say it to his face? Then don't post on a website!

Deedsie wrote: »
    Are you a friend or colleague of the man? Have you spoken to or met him? I think your post above was just brainless. What gives people the sense, that it is ok to make "hilarious" comments about peoples health like that? Would you say it to his face? Then don't post on a website!

are you Mrs McDevitt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

babaracus wrote: »

I get off when they go on about personal abuse of a radio presenter about his weight 5 years ago. What a load of tosh.
    Deedsie wrote: »

From the man's own twitter account...
    Eoin McDevitt ‏@EoinMcDevitt 14 Mar Moved in to city centre house. Walking distance to some of Dublin's finest chippers. And so the slide back to 2006 eating habits begins.
    Willie Kiely ‏@williesmalls3 14 Mar @EoinMcDevitt maybe u can do an even bigger clinched fist photo!

It was a running joke on OTB, if you're that easily offended maybe this thread or the show is not for you.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

baldness? i thought it was the opposite, given that his twitter photo is a gorilla?
    i heard he's a stage 5 these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Any news on if the OTB team are moving to another radio station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Im gonna pave your drive way poorly just because of that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

Lennonist wrote: »
    Any news on if the OTB team are moving to another radio station?

I'd be surprised if they do re-appear on another station. If they did give NT an ultimatum, there arent many PDs in the business who'd put up with that, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Does anyone think they might do a podcast?

Wouldn't be the same though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

haydar wrote: »
    Does anyone think they might do a podcast?

Wouldn't be the same though

Very little money to be made from podcasts. Definitely not enough to support five men. Unless they split up and go working for different outlets, and do a podcast on their own free time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Dunno would many stations be supportive of independent podcasts TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,114 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The Steve Perryman interview bored the arse off me tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Les Ferdinand

I've noticed a lot more advertising around the city for OTB. A good few ads at bus stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,693 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I've noticed a lot more advertising around the city for OTB. A good few ads at bus stops.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/media-and-marketing/newstalk-tells-listeners-it-s-about-more-than-just-news-1.1347883

There's a big promotional drive on starting with OTB and Tom Dunne. 250K sounds like an awful lot of money: maybe DOB has authorised one last push to make OTB a real business before he pulls the plug...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Just listened to the podcast from last nights football show. Steve perryman, ken Doherty etc. absolute shyte. On a champs lge night we have to listen to this MUCK!! Gonna stick to football weekly. Newstalk isn't worth having on my phone any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Totes devo that "the lads" are not back on radio yet. I had assumed their doors would have been banged down and the fab 4 would have been unveiled somewhere in the last day or 2. Instead, nothing.

#cutforbeiber.

#cutforotb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

FearDark wrote: »
    Just listened to the podcast from last nights football show. Steve perryman, ken Doherty etc. absolute shyte. On a champs lge night we have to listen to this MUCK!! Gonna stick to football weekly. Newstalk isn't worth having on my phone any more.

I suspect that your not alone, but the football show podcast is now consistently higher in the iTunes podcast chart than it was before the lads left.

http://www.apple.com/euro/itunes/charts/podcasts/top10podcasts.html

There's something odd going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭robbe

Agree with the sentiments re the show now the lads have departed....worst for me is the forced banter in the show...cringeworthy and don't know why they bother. The show has changed from a must listen that I would put on most nights regardless of the sport they were talking about, to an infrequent listen, even resorting to 2FM sometimes (followed swiftly by turning off the radio)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Have taken to listening to "music" recently.

WTF like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,693 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I suspect that your not alone, but the football show podcast is now consistently higher in the iTunes podcast chart than it was before the lads left.

http://www.apple.com/euro/itunes/charts/podcasts/top10podcasts.html

There's something odd going on there.

Possibly proving the old saw about bad publicity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Any station can throw together a sports magazine show in theory, but what set OTB apart was the personalities that brought you the sports stories and interviews and as a listener the emotional connection you made with the OTB lads.

Mc Devitt was very underrated as the unflappable anchor man who clearly loved his sport but he steered the show very subtly allowing the slightly more vocal / comedic contributors such as murph and ken to ramp up the banter. While you may have disagreed with ken's various extra-sporting pontificating or found murphs country pages a little silly, the show was a success in large because it stayed loyal its essence, the OTB lads lived for sport and had great craic sharing that with their listeners.

You were always guaranteed top quality analysis on a plethora of sports but most of all, the OTB lads appreciation of sport and their banter set them apart. OTB might continue on newstalk but for me its devoid of that something extra Eoin and the lads brought to it. Listening to OTB now is like tuning in to Game ON on 2FM, they are both equally flat and both interchangeable.

I think in the current climate its very unlikely the OTB lads will surface elsewhere as group, the money just isnt in the sector. It'll be interesting to see in a few months time how OTB's listenership figures are and we'll be able to compare the before and after figures.

Im still scratching my head wondering how it all went wrong. Its very rare in Irish radio that you observe such an outpouring of affection towards a radio programme. Scrap Saturday is still being talked about all this years later because it was pioneering radio, I fear the programme that was, Off The Ball has gone the same way. OTB RIP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭KuriousOranj

Only thing I listen to now is John Giles on Thursday evenings,used to never miss the football show but it's new incarnation is rubbish.Ger Gilroy's decent,but the contributors and forced humour are cack.Ken Doherty's football show on that country station was awful,hard to believe that he's appearing on OTB now.

Hope Eoin,Ken and the lads get something sorted soon.McDevitt still has a few weeks of gardening leave left I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

robbe wrote: »
    Agree with the sentiments re the show now the lads have departed....worst for me is the forced banter in the show...cringeworthy and don't know why they bother. The show has changed from a must listen that I would put on most nights regardless of the sport they were talking about, to an infrequent listen, even resorting to 2FM sometimes (followed swiftly by turning off the radio)....

I like silence now...silence is great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I don't think its fair to sht on Ger. The show was his creation.

I feel sorry for him really because he made the paradigm shift in the beginning and now has to field the flack.

If they had given the brief to create a sports show to X number of other heads we would have had a 'Ger Canning feat. Marty Morrissey' explosive diarrheaathon every evening.

Real talk. Bababooey to you all.