If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

whelan1 wrote: »
    anyone at the Clongowes sale ?

Is there much up for sale at it do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Ah FFS, looks like I will be in the clink anyday soon :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

it'll be a easier number than farming anyway bob. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »

thanks for that, looks like i could and should have gone slurry first and lime second, now to to show this to the advisor who told me go the other way
    It was a lime spreading contracter that told me two weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Ah FFS, looks like I will be in the clink anyday soon :eek:

:confused: what divilment were you up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

Jaysus will this weather ever stop. We managed to empty our tanks feb 27th.trying to get lime out since last week but unsuccessfull, have enough fodder for 2 wks and then that's it, weanlings will be out on the lime spread fields, no other option.

How soon would you need to dose them with levastas diamond and qualimec after they go out say 1 month
    I plan to dose them mid April!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

:confused: what divilment were you up to?

He said he was going to Dublin over the weekend soooo.........

I'd say the possibilities are endless:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

He said he was going to Dublin over the weekend soooo.........

I'd say the possibilities are endless:eek:

Aye, "Hell for leather" he said it was gonna be!
    It seems it was. :-)
    With good behavior Bob you could be out in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Bizzum wrote: »
    Aye, "Hell for leather" he said it was gonna be!
    It seems it was. :-)
    With good behavior Bob you could be out in no time.

That's where it'll all go curly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Is there much up for sale at it do you know?

Fairly controversial!, all jex in the future! http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/clongowes-school-to-sell-off-700strong-holstein-dairy-herd-29108434.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

a neighbour came to borrow the loader to lift off a couple of 8x4x4 wheat straw bales to bed his sheep - he's after paying £59 per bale, says its being shipped from the south of england. I'm starting to see more silage trailers full of pit silage nd loads of bales on the road these days, theres a lot o men in a panic with fodder here and no sign of any grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Kovu Murr wrote: »

How many here in the forum still wrap bales compared to pit silage? It would be interesting to know.
    All bales here aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

a neighbour came to borrow the loader to lift off a couple of 8x4x4 wheat straw bales to bed his sheep - he's after paying £59 per bale, says its being shipped from the south of england. I'm starting to see more silage trailers full of pit silage nd loads of bales on the road these days, theres a lot o men in a panic with fodder here and no sign of any grass

I've been up to Dublin with work twice since Christmas and both times I met 5-6 artic loads of hay and straw coming against me heading down the M6 to the West.

How are lads selling clamp silage? Do they weigh it at a weigh bridge, or is it so much a grab??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Right folks, I am off out training now. We played ****e in a practice match yesterday so I'd say I'll need a lend of a cow lifter in the morning to get me out of the cot. I'm too old for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Right folks, I am off out training now. We played ****e in a practice match yesterday so I'd say I'll need a lend of a cow lifter in the morning to get me out of the cot. I'm too old for this.
    I feel your pain. Lost our first league game yesterday so training tomorrow night will be daft. The manager is good but the trainer is a mad man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Muckit wrote: »
    I've been up to Dublin with work twice since Christmas and both times I met 5-6 artic loads of hay and straw coming against me heading down the M6 to the West.

How are lads selling clamp silage? Do they weigh it at a weigh bridge, or is it so much a grab??
    As far as i know its by the grab.Anyone know what bales of silo is making in da "wild west"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

could be worth watching primetime tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

1chippy wrote: »
    could be worth watching primetime tonight.
    Has it anything to Bob ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

moy83 wrote: »
    Has it anything to Bob ? :D
    That would be be crimeline not primetime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

We are selling pit silage buy the ton. We fill the neighbours trailer with 8 full blocks with the shear grab. It's weighed once a week in a quarry weighbridge just to make sure everyone is happy. The last 3 Wednesdays that it was weighed, there was only 350kg between the heaviest and lightest trailer loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭bonaparte2

Hect acres on tv again now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

bonaparte2 wrote: »
    Hope hect acres arent something like Irish/statute acres where we end up with even less hectares than weve been cut down to already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bonaparte2 wrote: »

Lol - I am genuinely glad that the mention of hect-acres on here came after the meeting in Claremorris, as when I read it now I can't help but laughing. I know it's completely beside the point and unimportant as we all know what he means, but still :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Lol - I am genuinely glad that the mention of hect-acres on here came after the meeting in Claremorris, as when I read it now I can't help but laughing. I know it's completely beside the point and unimportant as we all know what he means, but still :D

Missed that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Missed that one

Me too, what was it on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Missed that one
    Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Me too, what was it on about?

If ye mean the meeting in Claremorris :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83648081&postcount=77

We are selling pit silage buy the ton.

Last of our bales went out the gate last night. Wish had more of them. It's looking like it'I be May day around here before the fields start to green up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Last of our bales went out the gate last night. Wish had more of them. It's looking like it'I be May day around here before the fields start to green up.
    Same here. I've bales till May 5th so no more shed after that regardless!

Bringing a new trench to the back corner of 8ac silage field beside shed. Corner has always been wet. Looks like I'll get the fall I need - phew. Otherwise I'd have to put in a gravel drain to a trench 500m away. Hit a deposit of gravel along the way. Going to check later how big a deposit it is -fingers crossed:)

just do it wrote: »
    Same here. I've bales till May 5th so no more shed after that regardless!

Bringing a new trench to the back corner of 8ac silage field beside shed. Corner has always been wet. Looks like I'll get the fall I need - phew. Otherwise I'd have to put in a gravel drain to a trench 500m away. Hit a deposit of gravel along the way. Going to check later how big a deposit it is -fingers crossed:)

This new trench you are digging, is it being ran into an open drain? Are you putting down pipe and stone/chips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

i know this has been discussed previously, but did anyone get this years bill for BTAP membership, mine has gone up to €300 from €167

so lets work this out

Payment From Government to Farmer €900:)

Payment By Farmer to Teagasc (State Funded Agency) €300:mad:

€600 of balance- Less 5 Farm Visits (Travel Expenses and Time), ok so we all learn something new but I mean is it actually worth it, i thought so last year but now I dont know