If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

hugo29 wrote: »
    i know this has been discussed previously, but did anyone get this years bill for BTAP membership, mine has gone up to €300 from €167

so lets work this out

Payment From Government to Farmer €900:)

Payment By Farmer to Teagasc (State Funded Agency) €300:mad:

€600 of balance- Less 5 Farm Visits (Travel Expenses and Time), ok so we all learn something new but I mean is it actually worth it, i thought so last year but now I dont know

Was he with Teagasc last year, but not with them any longer?

We were told at Stap info meeting fee would be about 150 for Teagasc clients and 300 for non clients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Was he with Teagasc last year, but not with them any longer?

We were told at Stap info meeting fee would be about 150 for Teagasc clients and 300 for non clients.

on teagasc headed paper, bet you next years wont be 150

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »

on teagasc headed paper, bet you next years wont be 150
    Joined dpd2013 €1000/yr payment if were lucky.
    €250 to teagasc, €60 to icbf +5 discussion group meeting & cellcheck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

td5man wrote: »
    my teagasc membership is 470, since i am in the dep, maybe you will be in for a shock at renewal

whelan1 wrote: »
    my teagasc membership is 470, since i am in the dep, maybe you will be in for a shock at renewal
    More than likely ,just checking weather getting better on 31/3 14°day 8°night

fecking hope so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Muckit wrote: »
    This new trench you are digging, is it being ran into an open drain? Are you putting down pipe and stone/chips?
    It's running along a boundry wall into a deep open trench. The first 40m will be stoned with a pipe in it. Then from there it is about 150/200m to the corner and will be left open. We got three foot depth at the corner and the land slopes into it so I'm delighted with that. It's 5-6ft at its deepest point. I'll leave it at that for this year.

The field is like a saucer with a low patch in the middle that is also wet. I'll monitor that this year and may put in shore drain with stone and pipe next year. With this new trench it's a shorter run to this wet patch as well. The open trench also allows the option of mole draining so it's a case of see how you go.

I was full sure there was a trench there years ago (as in over 30yrs ago) but the digger man tells me what he's digging is brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

just in from a cow heifer after having a bull calf, copped her having it in slats and agen i had others locked out of way she had calf popped out so put him in wheelbarrow and brought him in, absolutley no interest in the calf whatsoever, the other cow in the same shed for calving is licking the minerals off the calfs back i put on to try get her going gave the calf colostrum i had in freezer so should be ok from that point of view, any tips to get her going now? anyone have any simalar experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

simx wrote: »
    just in from a cow heifer after having a bull calf, copped her having it in slats and agen i had others locked out of way she had calf popped out so put him in wheelbarrow and brought him in, absolutley no interest in the calf whatsoever, the other cow in the same shed for calving is licking the minerals off the calfs back i put on to try get her going gave the calf colostrum i had in freezer so should be ok from that point of view, any tips to get her going now? anyone have any simalar experiences?

For starters, separate the calf from the cow that's licking her if possible. That would be a major help to both you & her. The cow sees another cow licking a calf so she thinks it's not hers.

Kovu Murr wrote: »

For starters, separate the calf from the cow that's licking her if possible. That would be a major help to both you & her. The cow sees another cow licking a calf so she thinks it's not hers.

Have that done, put her and calf in seperate shed will check in a little while see if anything happening

Has changed since that on accuweather

simx wrote: »

Has changed since that on accuweather
    See that not so accuweather more frost for next month ffs

just got my payment 877.50....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

jebus its a bitter cold day again, i see ground that got slurry a few weeks back is no greener for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

jebus its a bitter cold day again, i see ground that got slurry a few weeks back is no greener for it
    Same here , there is no big difference between ground that got slurry or not . Is reseeded ground doing any better for ye ? Or everything just too cold yet for any growth

moy83 wrote: »
    Same here , there is no big difference between ground that got slurry or not . Is reseeded ground doing any better for ye ? Or everything just too cold yet for any growth
    thank you at last there are people in the same boat as me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone know what all that craic down in Fermoy Mart was all about? Heard it on news this morning

http://www.newstalk.ie/Garda-stabbed-in-hand-in-Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

moy83 wrote: »

ya it looks a bit greener from a distance but nothing much there either

jack kennedy must deffo come on here for inspiration most of the dairy topics inside the back page are on here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Anybody been listen to Colin Hayes on 2fm this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭EpicPothole

Nope, what was he on about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Nope, what was he on about?

All about the CAP (liveline style) very interesting radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

All about the CAP (liveline style) very interesting radio.

What did the woman in clontarf think of it.... I suppose she wanted to maintain the historical system:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

[EMAIL="F@@king"]F@@king[/EMAIL] wind

hoseman wrote: »
    F@@king wind
    take some gaviscon:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I got into the jeep and someone had left it on the radio.
    I thought there was a serious amount of scutter talked by people that had no idea of what they were on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

If I jumped in for a swim after work this evening I'd have come out marginally drier. Some cnut of a day.

ah no, harsh weather, we've had it for ages up here... was putting on my water proof trousers and put my foot through the side of them this morning so all donations gratefully accepted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

ah no, harsh weather, we've had it for ages up here... was putting on my water proof trousers and put my foot through the side of them this morning so all donations gratefully accepted

€877.50 will buy you a good few new sets!
    :^)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

just take it out of your holiday fund:)