Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My LS430 - Converted to LPG - Review

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

Sorry to go off topic but since some of you have converted I wonder would you be able to tell me have you had any issues. Also, I have an avensis 1.6 and the internet says i need a flashlube system i was talking to a few installers and 2 said I do and two said that I dont need it. Any advice would be appreciated

dh0011 wrote: »
    Sorry to go off topic but since some of you have converted I wonder would you be able to tell me have you had any issues. Also, I have an avensis 1.6 and the internet says i need a flashlube system i was talking to a few installers and 2 said I do and two said that I dont need it. Any advice would be appreciated

I was made redundant and my GF on the same day, mad to believe. Anyway she already found a new job and she will have to take the Prius and give me her CRV hahahahaha.

Anyway I'm trying to convince her to convert, jaysus shur she would be mad, ( not to )35 euro's in gas to 70 odd in petrol.

Anyway I rang lpg.ie in Kilcullen and he said the Toyota's don't need it based on his experience but the vtec's would, having said that her CRV is not vtec, sadly, so I don't know if the same applies.

Anyway the lube costs around 10 Euro's a bottle and one chap on the U.S Prius forum said his lasts 15,000 kms, so no big deal really ?

Thanks Mad_lad

No prob, I'd just like to add that that Prius owner added the lube as a precaution, won't do any harm if you do add it ai suppose.

However the 1.6 avensis might need it, all depends on the valves.

the avensis has variable valve timing similar to the vtec system so i think i will get the flashlube system put in anyways - cant hurt

Yes exactly, it won't hurt.

Whats your location and what price can you get LPG ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Flashlube is IMO a must, its not that expensive and will keep the valve seats in as good as a condition as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I thought flashlube was only needed in very old engines that were designed for leaded fuel. The hardened valves/seats required for unleaded petrol were also suitable for lpg.

jca wrote: »
    I thought flashlube was only needed in very old engines that were designed for leaded fuel. The hardened valves/seats required for unleaded petrol were also suitable for lpg.

You would think that, but its not the case.

Here is a file (from Flashlube) that lists engines that they "recommend" based on installer/customer feedback linky

My 2JZGE engine is not listed, but for the sake of 0.5c - 1.0c of valve saver fluid (flashlube or equivalent) to treat every litre of LPG, its an investment that I decided to make (but not installed yet)

Edit, I found the article that originally convinced me to go the flashlube route: linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,114 ✭✭✭Soarer

Is an LPG conversion only worth while on a big engines yoke, or would a small engined car make sense?

What I was thinking was if I sold my current diesel for around €2k, bought something 1.0-1.4 for around €1k and then spent another €1k on fitting an LPG kit.

Surely the savings on tax and running costs would make it worth while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Soarer wrote: »
    Is an LPG conversion only worth while on a big engines yoke, or would a small engined car make sense?

What I was thinking was if I sold my current diesel for around €2k, bought something 1.0-1.4 for around €1k and then spent another €1k on fitting an LPG kit.

Surely the savings on tax and running costs would make it worth while?

It's worth it on a small engine car IF you do a lot of mileage. I was looking at it for the Corsa but decided that the payback period wasn't worth it as I only do 15000km per year. Just as well I didn't as I'm using the bike much more now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

mullingar wrote: »
    Flashlube is IMO a must, its not that expensive and will keep the valve seats in as good as a condition as possible

Ive only ever seen it highly recommended for Yank/Aussie stuff and Jap engines though. Most Euro engines dont seem to care, though if it was cheap to add in and didnt make maintenance on other stuff (by being in the way and another point of failure) harder I would add it.

I just added Dipetane as a lubricant to the petrol system and ran it on that intermittently.

Yes exactly, it won't hurt.

Whats your location and what price can you get LPG ?

In cork - can get lpg for 79.9 cent if i get the conversion done at one of the spots in the city (that price is locked for 12 months from conversion date).
    Installation is €1200 incl flashlube but they say i dont need it and it is €1000 without it.

I have an alternative quote €1174 with flashlube but it is about an hours drive from home €1099 without flashlube.

got another quote for 1100.
    If anyone in Cork has got it done and has any advice on where to go i would appreciate it

When it come to LPG kits, do not think the cheapest is best.

There are so many brands/models available, varying from super economy to high premium.

When you are getting quotes, ask what brand/model stuff they would be installing and google it.

The 5 basic components of a LPG kit are:
    The LPG tank, (toroidal or cylinder, what size?)
    The Multivalve (lpg tank valve/controller)
    The Reducer (to heat the LPG to prevent it from freezing as it vapourises and to regulate the output gas pressure)
    The Injectors (that inject the gas into the engine, the faster the better)
    The ECU (that contols the timing and injection of the gas)

Each one of these items, primarily the last 3, can hugely range in price and performance. You really do get what you pay for.

The three options I have so far are lpg.ie for 1099+75 for flashlube
    Zenit PRO OBD
    Conversion kit specification:
    ECU - AGC Zenit PRO OBD.
    Evaporators - Silver or Gold.
    Injectors - Hana H2001.
    Tunning - Adapts to your style of driving and quality of LPG in the tank. This means improved fuel economy, no warning lights and no periodical recalibration required.
    LPG tank - donut shape tank in the spare wheel well.
    Warranty - 2 years unlimited mileage warranty.

BRC Sequent 24 lpg equipment with flashlube system - price 1200eu (2 years warranty without mileage limit) from lpgireland.ie
    and

third option is cargassystems.ie
    Price is 1100,00 euro incl flashlube. Two years warranty, one Year Service Free , full Gas tank Free and courtesy car for time when we convert Yours.

We found component quality was everything too,even on the basic "fumigation" systems that were only available at that time. In the old days the gas just "sat" in the vaporiser and was drawn by the engine as required. Are the modern systems different? Is the gas pressurised in the gas pipes behind the 4 injectors? I know I'm way behind these modern systems if anyone has a link to bring me up to speed I'd be very grateful. Sorry for dragging off topic guys.

They are gone very electronic, demanding their own sequential injector system and taking data from the oxygen sensors.

Have a look at the installation manual for the ECU I'm installing

http://www.ac.com.pl/public/pubonline/cms/files/Programy-i-instrukcje-obslugi/ver_2_8_7/ver_2_8_7EN.pdf

mickdw wrote: »
    Gs 450h is around 660 to tax from 08 on. The current model of course may be much less but we are talking about the last one. Its still a bargain as an 07 is about 1700 per year to tax.

I just checked, the new GS450H is €390 to tax based on C02 of 145 g/km. :D

Fuel consumption is 49 extra urban and 45 combined. That's not half bad for such power!

The previous model is 173 g/km and 740 odd to tax and 35 mpg combined.

I just checked, the new GS450H is €390 to tax based on C02 of 145 g/km. :D

Fuel consumption is 49 extra urban and 45 combined. That's not half bad for such power!

The previous model is 173 g/km and 740 odd to tax and 35 mpg combined.

Just a small matter of paying the €60-70k for a new one.

That car will lose €6-8k per year in first few years of depreciation, so big price to pay to save €300 a year in tax.

I wasn't talking about getting a new one, jaysus, I wish. :-) I was comparing the differences.

But it will be interesting in 4-5 years time, though petrol will probably be at the 1.75> mark in 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

LPG now available in Bray at 85c per litre. The revolution is spreading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Anybody got any experience of conversions with vv-tech in clonmel? It's about 15 mins from me and I am in clonmel most weeks, 81c per litre at the moment, definately very interested.

Good prices for the LPG around the country. Two sellers in enniscorthy and both are charging the most the pump can be set to, 99.9c litre. Bloody robbers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭sorel

In cork - can get lpg for 79.9 cent if i get the conversion done at one of the spots in the city (that price is locked for 12 months from conversion date).
    Installation is €1200 incl flashlube but they say i dont need it and it is €1000 without it.

I have an alternative quote €1174 with flashlube but it is about an hours drive from home €1099 without flashlube.

Same price of lpg in Dublin when you convert car with them. They said I'll have same lpg price in cork, because they are connected. They are stag and prince distributors, so same prices, service free etc. The problem is i'm in cork twice a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,798 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Good prices for the LPG around the country. Two sellers in enniscorthy and both are charging the most the pump can be set to, 99.9c litre. Bloody robbers!!

That's nothing - €1.14/litre in Galway.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    I found LPG station in Galway with price €0.90 per litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sealgaire

sorel wrote: »
    I found LPG station in Galway with price €0.90 per litre
    which ones are ye talking about?

sealgaire wrote: »
    which ones are ye talking about?

I spoke to friend of mine from Cork...and he confirmed. yellow dispenser sign in Galway. Map above :
    https://maps.google.ie/maps/ms?msid=214379981455406153958.0004d01e152f89e3adbf0&msa=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

galwaytt wrote: »

That's nothing - McLoughlin's in Newbridge charge €1.49/litre in Newbridge!