What makes someone a failure at life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Alactric

Believing that once said life is over you're going to heaven.

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Failure at life = Everyone who has died

Failure = Not achieving the goals they set for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

someone who is over 35, single, unemployed and living with their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Someone that puts money before friends and family.
    100% agree and there are so many people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

Themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

It puts things in perspective alright.

Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys was a genius musician & created a lot of wealth for his family, but in a lot of other ways, he was a joke.

He couldn't handle the basics of living as a 'normal' person, let alone be a good husband to his wife, or be a good role model to his daughters.

It's all about perspective really...

Brian Wilson suffers from bipolar schizoaffective disorder.

Maybe someone who has accumulated nothing by 35.. Be it a partner, great experiences or wealth. If you haven't hit any of those by that age, there's a good chance you've missed the boat.

With any of those, it's either been worth it or you still have the possibility of the others ahead of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Maybe someone who has accumulated nothing by 35.. Be it a partner, great experiences or wealth. If you haven't hit any of those by that age, there's a good chance you've missed the boat.

Unfair.
    Not going to be good for the heads of those reading that who are in such a situation, whether through their own choices or not.

Personally.......
    Dieing, having negatively affected more people than positively affected them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Three Seasons

I generally consider someone a "winner" who has mastered a skill of some sort. Too many people think you are either born with a skill or not. They don't realise the years of practice and dedication that it took past "geniuses" to master their craft. What makes a winner is someone who can persevere through the emotional minefield of mastering a skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

If someone feels so bad that they attempt suicide and fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Dwork, cop onto yerself man :P you must be quite mentally strong to have set up and kept that business going (not to mention smart) for so long and as you said there are just environmental factors outside your control. Do not let negativity into your head at this stage. You are employing 5 people, that's it. If you see out this ****e who knows what'll happen in a couple of years!

A failure to me is someone who doesn't have the balls to seek out something they want. In terms of a job, high horses saying 'dole-scroungers' are the failures are probably within that group.

Not only have you settled for some office job straight out of college and applied no imagination, but you're projecting your self-loathing on imaginary people. You too have the option to go on the dole if you think it's so great. If you don't that means you have responsibilities. If you have financial responsibilities (more than could be covered by dole and rent allowance) then you take responsibility for the fact that you chose for whatever reason to have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭juicyduckie

People who leave school at 17 with no Leaving Cert. who have meticulously planned to go straight on to the dole who are still on it almost 6 years later never having had a job, yet with this dole manage to rent an apartment (in culchie Ireland, not a city obviously) and smoke weed, drink copious amounts of alcohol, eat take-aways and play xbox or whatever all day every day. I'm speaking about a specific group of people I know from back in my school days who I would consider complete failures at life.

A person who just takes and never ever gives or considers giving anything back, like the previously mentioned people, essentially is a failure IMHO.

Sometimes I feel a little bit sorry for them but then I remember my taxes pay for them to sit on their ar5es and abuse the system. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Someone who is happy to sit in judgement on AH for years and years and never bother to try and understand just what it is to be unemployed/single parent/gay/bisexual/black/traveller/etc etc etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

dh0011 wrote: »
    someone who is over 35, single, unemployed and living with their parents.

Even if they've got a serious disability? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

catallus wrote: »
    I think a failure would be dying without ever having truly loved another person.

Define love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Jaysus OP, I remember reading a few of your threads and your feckin depressing. Do you ever start jolly threads?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Three Seasons

If you are happy and fulfilled you are a success in my book. If you are miserable and devoid of any passions you are a failure.

Saying that I don't look down on "failures".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

wake'n'bake
    This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Someone who is happy to sit on the dole for years and years and never bother to try working for a living

I wouldn't advocate sitting on the dole- but claiming someone who is happy is a failure is a little short sighted do you not think. Personally speaking i'd much rather spend my time with my family than working, i only work through neccesity. Working has rarely made me happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Push Pop

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    What would you consider a failure?

For someone to be given every possible opportunity, perhaps spoiled, handed everything and never left stuck to then not try or put any effort into life and be miserable from lack of effort.
    Probably not saying it right but I'm trying to describe someone I know who was given huge educational resources, money for J1s, partying, great accommodation etc. They managed somehow to get a great 2.1 degree form a top university but didnt bother with a proper job hunt even as the economy crashed.
    Compound the problem with drugs, dole, no effort to apply for jobs, more money from parents and its been 6 years since graduation. There has been no attempt to reinvent themselves just because they couldn't get a job exactly in their field. Probably far far worse failures out there but wasted talent through laziness and naivety is a good candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MiseryMary

What makes someone a failure at life?

Very vindictive people who is greedy , jealousy because to hate to see anyone who is happy in life or someones achievement and they will try to put someone confidants down with sneer remarks to make them feel like **** ,people who feels need to bully someone else needs to get help or sort out their issues not to take it out on another individual .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

anyone still in college by 30.
    anyone getting any sort of allowance from their parents past the age of 20/21....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭simon0brien

Someone who lacks desire, drive, and/or ambition to do anything. They are essentially just waiting to die.

Very much their own decision.. Ppl have the right to choose to do what makes them happy regardless of your judgement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭warehouse1

someone who is afraid to follow their dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

anyone still in college by 30.
    anyone getting any sort of allowance from their parents past the age of 20/21....

You're having a laugh, aren't you? You can't really be stupid enough to believe that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Somebody who only ever consumes and does not produce...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Has anyone said being on the dole yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭lennyloulou

produce what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Tisserand wrote: »
    How about somebody who works for 30 years and after all that, ends up on the dole - is that a failure?

NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Being a smelly bastard.