Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Tuned in for a bit of last night's show...found it to be a bit bland and lifeless (a lot like Gilroy's weekend shows). Gilroy sounds jaded and bored to me.

It reminded me of the kind of sterile efficiency that you always get with RTE sports programmes. The in-jokes were becoming borderline overwhelming on the old OTB but the odd lighthearted moment would be welcomed now and again

Its the forced lighthearted moments from the last few nights that bother me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭sleepyman

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Tuned in for a bit of last night's show...found it to be a bit bland and lifeless (a lot like Gilroy's weekend shows). Gilroy sounds jaded and bored to me.

It reminded me of the kind of sterile efficiency that you always get with RTE sports programmes. The in-jokes were becoming borderline overwhelming on the old OTB but the odd lighthearted moment would be welcomed now and again

I don't mind his weekend show-he's a competent enough presenter.
    I'm sure he doesn't really want to be there anyway but as head of sport I guess he had to step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

GSF wrote: »
    Not if they had threatened to resign if they didn't get the time change. You get a P45 after resigning as we'll as when you are sacked.

It doesn't mention anything about them threatening to resign or resigning in the article though, thus it paints a different picture to the newstalk version of events. I'm not saying they didn't threaten to resign just that the article in the phoenix and the newstalk version of events are at variance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Who'll take over the Weekend sport I wonder? They'll hardly have Gilroy and co working 7 days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Qwerty Dub

Who'll take over the Weekend sport I wonder? They'll hardly have Gilroy and co working 7 days a week.

Please don't let it be McIntyre. Chap has serious notions of himself and his voice does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Qwerty Dub wrote: »
    Please don't let it be McIntyre. Chap has serious notions of himself and his voice does my head in.

I struggle to take him very seriously. For instance, last week Hook and Coleman were talking about the situation with TV coverage of the English First Division in the 70s & 80s. Pretty much about how little coverage there was, the reasons behind that and the little money that was in it.

McIntyre seemed shocked by the lack of coverage at the time. Was going to put it down to age until I realised he was the same age as me (well a couple of months younger). Given he makes his living from broadcasting, I thought it was strange that it was all alien to him.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I struggle to take him very seriously. For instance, last week Hook and Coleman were talking about the situation with TV coverage of the English First Division in the 70s & 80s. Pretty much about how little coverage there was, the reasons behind that and the little money that was in it.

McIntyre seemed shocked by the lack of coverage at the time. Was going to put it down to age until I realised he was the same age as me (well a couple of months younger). Given he makes his living from broadcasting, I thought it was strange that it was all alien to him.

I just find him very boring. I find him quite knowledgable with present day stuff but his voice is not great for radio or commentary.

I am probably blinded by the fact that I have met him personally and due to one or two past experiences I wouldn't be a massive fan. Comes across as a bit arrogant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

Balls.ie give some details on the missing bits of the Phoenix magazine article...
    the lads apparently put 8 weeks notice in last January only to be placated with promises from management.

http://balls.ie/news/the-denis-obrien-eoin-mcdevitt-phoncalls/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

Balls.ie give some details on the missing bits of the Phoenix magazine article...

the plot thickens.

also havent listened now for two days straight, for the first time since I dunno when.

no longer subscribed to football show podcast either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i've listened the past few nights. the depth the ger goes into in his interviews is much more. spent about 30 mins on the racing tonight, although there's no Don's tips with Ladbrokes interestingly enough.
    Eoin asks the questions we all want to know. ger asks a bit more. both very good in their own way.

i don't see Ger keeping this going, although i don't know who would present it. as someone else already said, he's got bigger priorities at home, so the weekend job would suit him fine. he can do the golf podcast at his leisure and keep an eye on the sports dept without having to be there all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

i've listened the past few nights. the depth the ger goes into in his interviews is much more. spent about 30 mins on the racing tonight, although there's no Don's tips with Ladbrokes interestingly enough

That's because it was a Cheltenham preview.

Aidric wrote: »
    That's because it was a Cheltenham preview.

i know, but don't remember 30 mins being spent on racing before. maybe my memory isn't what it used to be.

there was no questions we couldn't ask john but we will now he's gone of the week.
    it's the little things that will add up i think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,416 ✭✭✭mosstin

Qwerty Dub wrote: »
    I just find him very boring. I find him quite knowledgable with present day stuff but his voice is not great for radio or commentary.

I am probably blinded by the fact that I have met him personally and due to one or two past experiences I wouldn't be a massive fan. Comes across as a bit arrogant.

Foundations very much built on sand there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I enjoyed the Johnny Giles interview a little bit more tonight. I always thought Eoin McDevitt was a little too much in awe of the great man and it came across in their conversations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

I enjoyed the Johnny Giles interview a little bit more tonight. I always thought Eoin McDevitt was a little too much in awe of the great man and it came across in their conversations.

I caught a few minutes, he was talking about a player jumping over Mini's and throwing a golf ball the length of the pitch, I was fairly confused, bit scared too that John had lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

That was Duncan McKenzie, bought to Leeds by Brian Clough. The Don Revie era was truely over when you had players doing this before a match.

med_gallery_42_5_39820.jpg

Ger Gilroy is alright, but I just feel like tuning out every 20 minutes or so. I rarely (if ever) did that udner the old regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Woah, so they pitched to do a sports and current affairs mix?! Hadn't heard that before.

Don't know what to think of that. I'd be really curious to see how that would've gone. Would certainly mean the "most women would switch off" argument would be weakened.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Woah, so they pitched to do a sports and current affairs mix?! Hadn't heard that before.

Don't know what to think of that. I'd be really curious to see how that would've gone. Would certainly mean the "most women would switch off" argument would be weakened.

would work well if communicorp streamlined their two national stations, let george hook do the morning show (he's said it many times that he'd prefer to do early morning as opposed to drivetime) and get matt cooper over from today fm.

So, George in the morning, Cooper till six, the lads after that and the football show still at nine.

Bingo, that'd solve everything.

Nora and Chris can share inane nothings with Tom Dunne while i switch over to Pat Kenny (Good, clean fun!) for a couple of hours at ten.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    So, George in the morning, Cooper till six, the lads after that and the football show still at nine.

Bingo, that'd solve everything.

Nora and Chris can share inane nothings with Tom Dunne while i switch over to Pat Kenny (Good, clean fun!) for a couple of hours at ten.

cooper til 6.30, then hang around with off the ball for the mix of CA and sport til 7.
    just had a dreadful thought, could this see a return of jerry o'sullivan at weekends if ger doesn't want to do them too?

oh, and tom dunne to today fm for drive time for decent music. he may not be the best for a talk show in the morning, but he still plays excellent music.

cooper til 6.30, then hang around with off the ball for the mix of CA and sport til 7.
    just had a dreadful thought, could this see a return of jerry o'sullivan at weekends if ger doesn't want to do them too?

Yeah, had that thought too. To be fair i didn't mind him too much. I admit i struggled to warm to the "banter" himself and Oisin Langan used to play at (and i really hope posting that isn't tempting fate).

I thought Jurry left because he wanted to go back to radio Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭peadar76

No questions that we couldn't ask john, but we can now he's gone, of the week ? bollocks!

Tom Dunne's Pet Sounds was one of the best music radio shows ever

mosstin wrote: »
    Foundations very much built on sand there.

Howya Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

They have different licenses though, so they can't just become one station, at least not without relinquishing a license, which wouldn't make sense, and for the station to function it would need to be on Today FM's license as it allows talk and music but it would be an utter shambles and a mess of a station.

soc160 wrote: »
    They have different licenses though, so they can't just become one station, at least not without relinquishing a license, which wouldn't make sense, and for the station to function it would need to be on Today FM's license as it allows talk and music but it would be an utter shambles and a mess of a station.

i don't mean them becoming one station, but newstalk at the moment have a presenter who would be more at home on today fm playing music, while today fm have a presenter who would be an improvement on newstalk's drivetime.

i'd stop turning off newstalk at 4.30 if matt cooper was on instead of george hook.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

7.00 - 9.30: Hook
    9.30 - 12.00:
    12.00 - 1.00: Lunchtime
    1.00 - 4.00: Moncrieff
    4.00 - 6.30: Cooper
    6.30 - 10.00: OTB

Have tom dunne in coopers slot on todayfm and find someone to fill in there for dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Ciaran

The thought of waking up to George Hook's voice. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Ken and McDevitt could probably have made a decent stab at the current affairs stuff if they had gone on at 6/6.30.

Would be far more tolerable then what GH usually blusters on about from 6-7pm,IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭touts

soc160 wrote: »

They went to the BCI a few years ago and wanted to have the two stations considered as a joint venture. Today FM would be all music while Newstalk would be current affairs, sport & public service stuff. It got knocked back. But now that DOB finally has his Fine Gael party in government I'd say we'll see some change to the broadcasting rules before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭touts

7.00 - 9.30: Hook
    9.30 - 12.00:
    12.00 - 1.00: Lunchtime
    1.00 - 4.00: Moncrieff
    4.00 - 6.30: Cooper
    6.30 - 10.00: OTB

Have tom dunne in coopers slot on todayfm and find someone to fill in there for dunne.

Problem is Hook will probably want to give up the daily show soon. He might keep the weekend pre-recorded slot but even that won't lost much longer than the daily show. Having read his book I'd say for financial reasons he has had to work much longer than he would have liked anyway but he must now be very very close to having enough put away to be comfortable in retirement. Plus the Lovely Ingrid retired recently so I'm sure a life of leisure must be calling. When he goes then that could free up a number of changes.

If you look at Today FM there are a number of shows that would fit better into a Current Affairs/Sport station.

Mon-Fri
    4:30-7:00 The last word Matt Cooper
    Sat
    10-11 The Very Last Word
    2-6 Premier League Live with Michael McMullan

Sun
    10-11 Sunday Business Show Conall O’ Morain
    11-1 Savage Sunday

Assuming Tom Dunne would be happier on Today FM blasting out the hits of the 80s you could see him replace Matt Cooper in the Mon-Fri schedule over there. The news/sport weekend shows on Today FM could be moved to newstalk and easily filled with a monkey and a CD changer. Meanwhile they need to fill a weekend gap in the Newstalk sports coverage unless they can get Ger Gilroy to work 7 days a week. Michael McMullan from Today FM could help there.

So moving Cooper, Savage, McMullan and O’ Morain to Newstalk we could have
    Mon-Fri
    6:30-7 Breakfast Business with Ian Guider
    7-10 Shane Coleman (moving from Sundays) & Chris Donoghue
    10-12 Nora Casey (Her numerous other businesses and TV shows may mean she may not want to move. If she doesn't they should just let her go and perhaps look to Marc Coleman to go head to head with Pat Kenny)
    12-1:30 Lunchtime
    1:30-4:30 Moncrieff
    4:30-7 The Last Word (Matt Cooper)
    7-9/10 Off the Ball
    9/10-11/12 Splac/The Green Room/Marc Colman/Davenport

Saturday
    7-8 Different Voices
    8-9 Under the Covers
    9-10 Sarah Carey
    10-12 Saturday Business Show with Conall O’ Morain (assuming Hook completely retires)
    12-2 Sile Seoige
    2-6 Premier League Live with Michael McMullan
    6-7 Future Proof
    7-9 Global Village
    9-11 Davenport after Dark

Sunday
    8-9 World In Motion
    9-10 Down to Business
    11-1 Savage Sunday with Anton Savage (assuming Shane Coleman moves back to breakfast)
    1-6 Sport (possibly Michael McMullan)
    6-7 The Picture Show
    7-9 Talking History
    9-11 Golf Weekly