Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Just spotted the post count here whose gonna get post 10000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Just spotted the post count here whose gonna get post 10000

Don't they usually lock a thread around the 10000 mark and re-open a part 2 type thread?

whelan1 wrote: »
    maybe he just couldnt face testing here:D

Ahh........The old "County Council emergency" excuse. Sure:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Bizzum wrote: »
    Don't they usually lock a thread around the 10000 mark and re-open a part 2 type thread?
    noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

My oldest is making his communion in May and wants to buy a breeding heifer. What do ye recommend, he is keen on Hereford as his grandad had them. What would ye beef guys recommend and where should I go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

It all depends on how he plans on selling the offspring. Will you finish them or sell weanlings or stores?

If going for weanlings a blonde or parthanaise and cross to a blue I think. If finishing I would go for an angus. Easy calved and will finish well off grass.

delaval wrote: »
    My oldest is making his communion in May and wants to buy a breeding heifer. What do ye recommend, he is keen on Hereford as his grandad had them. What would ye beef guys recommend and where should I go?
    eldest lad got a red white head xheifer calf for christmas he loves it, feeds it etc, a great investment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

A high type holstien heifer

It all depends on how he plans on selling the offspring. Will you finish them or sell weanlings or stores?

If going for weanlings a blonde or parthanaise and cross to a blue I think. If finishing I would go for an angus. Easy calved and will finish well off grass.
    He thinking of selling weaned if male and keeping female. I was thinking pure bred he would own but would be a hobby for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Rain landed here light drizzle, lime going out in morning, :mad: fcuk it 12 more hours is all I asked

mf240 wrote: »
    A high type holstien heifer
    I'd rather he buy land lice:eek::eek::eek:

He thinking of selling weaned if male and keeping female. I was thinking pure bred he would own but would be a hobby for me

He'll fill the place with stock on you in no length so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Hereford seem to be on the up at the moment. If going down that line buy a polled animal. thats where the breed is heading and there is no point in getting left behind

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Does the land lice breeders have a good young members section? Try find out which one of the breed societies have a good young members, bit of craic, social life etc.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I have just what you want!! I will have no problem accepting communion money either

blue5000 wrote: »
    Does the land lice breeders have a good young members section? Try find out which one of the breed societies have a good young members, bit of craic, social life etc.

Sheep society, young members, bit of craic, social life --- the mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    eldest lad got a red white head xheifer calf for christmas he loves it, feeds it etc, a great investment
    Be nice in the freezer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Twin heifers just arrived:eek:

Nightmare at first as my father was away at a meeting and i could find 3 feet after going up to my armpit. Luckily enough I knew 2 were hind feet so I deduced that it was either twins or a calf coming arseways.

Seeing as we had twins just last week......I called the vet:pac:

Anyone else having twins off this bull; Crossmolina Euro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

I'd rather he buy land lice:eek::eek::eek:

Jeez you don't like sheep do you, lambing here at the moment, seven day week for the total month of march.... nearly as bad as milking cows , after that we try to get the work done in a two day week.....well its been a long winter, some days I had to work as much as two hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Kovu Murr wrote: »

If they are it has nothing to do with the bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

rancher wrote: »
    Jeez you don't like sheep do you, lambing here at the moment, seven day week for the total month of march.... nearly as bad as milking cows , after that we try to get the work done in a two day week.....well its been a long winter, some days I had to work as much as two hours

did you sync them rancher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Twin heifers just arrived:eek:

Nightmare at first as my father was away at a meeting and i could find 3 feet after going up to my armpit. Luckily enough I knew 2 were hind feet so I deduced that it was either twins or a calf coming arseways.

Seeing as we had twins just last week......I called the vet:pac:

wet weather brings more twins as nature thinks more calves will mean more will survive:confused:, only messin, i have 4 sets of twins this year ,1 down 3 to go:p

what sort of bell ends are taking land in KK. I see in the Indo land make I think €330 to go into maize. I cant make growing maize stack up this year @ €150 an acre so how are these people making it work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

what sort of bell ends are taking land in KK. I see in the Indo land make I think €330 to go into maize. I cant make growing maize stack up this year @ €150 an acre so how are these people making it work.

This is the sunny south east you know:P:P

It is impossible to get land down here every time a parcel goes up for sale the locals go crazy then when they have sold everything to get it they stick trees on it:confused:

A 16ac parcel up the road from me is up for rent this year. It is in grass and has a bid of €5,100 on it at the moment and is not set at that yet. A dairy farmer is taking it to run replacements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

If they are it has nothing to do with the bull.

Never knew that! Thanks though :) On my third change of clothes in 12 hours, Mammy Kovu won't be happy:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

kboc wrote: »
    did you sync them rancher?

No,,,depending on ram effect, scanner says they're all coming together even though they were divided in two halves with seventeen days between letting out the rams to the second bunch

Anyone able to do a screenshot of this? It mightn't last that long:D

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/4679136

For as long as it lasts:

View2-18081105.jpeg

had a cow calving this morning, calf was coming backwards and was a week or 2 early, got him out and hung him over gate, put water in his ear and straw up his nose, put him under red light.... fecker died there a while ago, always after testing theres a few casualties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »
    Have to DNA test the bugger now!

Did you have to post off hair clippings? Good practice for this year's PB calves. The Limousin, Charolais and IHFA are 3 cattle societies that are genomic testing all calves born from here on in. Only right in a way I suppose.