Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

pakalasa wrote: »
    The gang is led by a young cow that lost her calf early in the year. She wouln't be the matriarch or anything. I reckon it's pure jealosy. Christ it got savage yesterday. I'd say they would have killed her if I didn't seperate them again. Might be a problem yet as more cows calve and I run out of shed space.

leave them without silage and give it to them when your about to let in a new cow.

You could get flattened yourself with them at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The gang is led by a young cow that lost her calf early in the year. She wouln't be the matriarch or anything. I reckon it's pure jealosy. Christ it got savage yesterday. I'd say they would have killed her if I didn't seperate them again. Might be a problem yet as more cows calve and I run out of shed space.

is she a cow that got bullied a lot herself? Like kids, those that get bullied are more likely to do the bullying later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

dzer2 wrote: »
    Lads anyone sell cull cows lately have a lad coming to look at 2 tomorrow just wondering what price per kilo they are making as I can weigh these in the morning.

Are they fr? Fleshy? €1.35/40 a kg if fairly fleshy,€1.10/15 if average enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

simx wrote: »
    Are they fr? Fleshy? €1.35/40 a kg if fairly fleshy,€1.10/15 if average enough

Thats great offered me €1.10 so I will take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

dzer2 wrote: »
    Thats great offered me €1.10 so I will take that.

It would be impossible buy cows by the kilo, or even give a estimate on price as there are so many variables. Once your happy with the price and the guys is sound thats all that matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

is she a cow that got bullied a lot herself? Like kids, those that get bullied are more likely to do the bullying later on

Did she come from a broken home? was she abused? has she issues with substance abuse........? It's societies fault ya know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

mf240 wrote: »
    leave them without silage and give it to them when your about to let in a new cow.

This is what we usually do if we can. Sometimes it distracts them long enough for them not to notice the newcomer. Other times they go at the silage and hold their grudge till later on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Bizzum wrote: »
    Did she come from a broken home? was she abused? has she issues with substance abuse........? It's societies fault ya know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

did you try hugging her and telling her its alright?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

1chippy wrote: »
    We keep a pen of what you can only call tramps togethter. They all seem to be the older cows which have a tendancy to bully any younger ones. you will find there is always one thats worse than the rest.
    People will probably say by putting them together i am just looking for punishment but they settle very quick and learn their places.

A pen of tramps :D ........ Every farm should have one !!!
    Ah i know what you mean. Have a few of them meself.
    Two older cows inparticular , will almost patrol the silage barrier at times to stop the younger cows getting a look in , even though they themselves are full .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

printed off herd profile,went out to cattle to check off missing tags,came in with form with tags ticked,now I cannot find the form going to have to re do all again.:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Two older cows inparticular , will almost patrol the silage barrier at times to stop the younger cows getting a look in , even though they themselves are full .

Electric prod through the barrier

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Richk2012 wrote: »

Had that organised until last night, all the big old bitches with horns were together. A fooking slat broke in the pen so now all the dry cows are together. Will have to get the measuring tape, a railway sleeper and chainsaw out now. :(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I separated the cows and calves overnight last night. Let them back in at 6am. I could hear them 600m away. Bloody glad no one lives any closer to the shed than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just read in the irish indo that there was a protest about liquid milk price in dublin yesterday, was anyone at it or did any one know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    just read in the irish indo that there was a protest about liquid milk price in dublin yesterday, was anyone at it or did any one know about it?
    No and no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

slurry going out today on the driest of the silage ground. Hopefully have grass to let a few weanlings out after paddy's wkend.

A lot of the rest of the farm you wouldn't travel with a boat! I must post pics again soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Muckit wrote: »
    slurry going out today on the driest of the silage ground. Hopefully have grass to let a few weanlings out after paddy's wkend.

A lot of the rest of the farm you wouldn't travel with a boat! I must post pics again soon...

Same as that. Agitated 2 tanks last night and have a young lad putting it out for me today. Hope to get about 50k gallons out between now and monday to be able to take in about 20k gallons of pig slurry and have enough storage space to do for March and April. Some cows with calves will hit grass around mid march. After that cows and calves will get out as the calves are born - just drop them out in the field with the quad and trailer as they calve if weather allows it.

We have seen serious drying in the last week. Another week and we could cover all the meadows - but it might still be abit early for that. That was the first dry week around here since the beginning of october 2012. Plenty of grass at the moment, but ground just not dry enough to carry them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GoodMan55985

just do it wrote: »
    I separated the cows and calves overnight last night. Let them back in at 6am. I could hear them 600m away. Bloody glad no one lives any closer to the shed than that!

Are you doing this to get cows bulling quicker? Are you allowing the calves to suck twice a day? I haven't done this before but thinking of doing it this year. Any advice like do the cows get used to this setup and settle down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Jeez, the weather is amazing isn't it? Putting cows out as they calve. Have them in our driest field and they're as happy as Larry. It was minus 2 the other morning, and I was greeted by day old calves standing and stretching. Not a bother on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Jeez, the weather is amazing isn't it? Putting cows out as they calve. Have them in our driest field and they're as happy as Larry. It was minus 2 the other morning, and I was greeted by day old calves standing and stretching. Not a bother on them.

Frosty weather never harmed a calf, Getting soaked to their skin is a different story though. I hate to be the one to say it but we need a day or 2 of rain around here because our water supply in the winterage is a non runner at the moment. Going to have to start walking the cows a mile to the nearest river daily until it starts raining again :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

have everything out except the last of the spring calvers 26 of them and 10 authum dry cows that lost calves and are back incalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

leg wax wrote: »
    have everything out except the last of the spring calvers

No wonder silage bales are going for half the price in the south east!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

leg wax wrote: »
    have everything out except the last of the spring calvers 26 of them and 10 authum dry cows that lost calves and are back incalf.

how many cows have you got??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Just home from the hospital with a set of twins - boy and girl. jaysus but their granda is smiles from ear to ear now that the name is to be carried on, he never even came to the hospital to see me!! The hospital staff were great and couldn't do enough for us - they even got me a bed and allowed me to stay for the week. Bottle feeding is slightly more delicate than bottling lambs although the waking in the middle of the night is no different.
    Proud as Punch, sheep can take a back seat for the next few days.:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Just home from the hospital with a set of twins - boy and girl. jaysus but their granda is smiles from ear to ear now that the name is to be carried on, he never even came to the hospital to see me!! The hospital staff were great and couldn't do enough for us - they even got me a bed and allowed me to stay for the week. Bottle feeding is slightly more delicate than bottling lambs although the waking in the middle of the night is no different.
    Proud as Punch, sheep can take a back seat for the next few days.:D:D:D

By the time you have those two reared you will consider sheep farming a walk in the park. Congrats you you and the Missus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

colrow wrote: »
    Enough to make a grown man cry

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-21614304[/QUOTE]

Could be worse...............If it was whiskey with an e. That scotch stuff is ok for medicinal use or as a rub or the like but the real deal is good Irish whiskey. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

fooking thunderstorms here, never heard thunder like it:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Bizzum wrote: »
    colrow wrote: »
    Enough to make a grown man cry

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-21614304[/QUOTE]

Could be worse...............If it was whiskey with an e. That scotch stuff is ok for medicinal use or as a rub or the like but the real deal is good Irish whiskey. :)

Very true lol

whelan1 wrote: »
    fooking thunderstorms here, never heard thunder like it:cool:

Louth or Spain?;)