pakalasa wrote: » The gang is led by a young cow that lost her calf early in the year. She wouln't be the matriarch or anything. I reckon it's pure jealosy. Christ it got savage yesterday. I'd say they would have killed her if I didn't seperate them again. Might be a problem yet as more cows calve and I run out of shed space.
dzer2 wrote: » Lads anyone sell cull cows lately have a lad coming to look at 2 tomorrow just wondering what price per kilo they are making as I can weigh these in the morning.
simx wrote: » Are they fr? Fleshy? €1.35/40 a kg if fairly fleshy,€1.10/15 if average enough
dzer2 wrote: » Thats great offered me €1.10 so I will take that.
bogman_bass wrote: » is she a cow that got bullied a lot herself? Like kids, those that get bullied are more likely to do the bullying later on
mf240 wrote: » leave them without silage and give it to them when your about to let in a new cow.
Bizzum wrote: » Did she come from a broken home? was she abused? has she issues with substance abuse........? It's societies fault ya know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D
1chippy wrote: » We keep a pen of what you can only call tramps togethter. They all seem to be the older cows which have a tendancy to bully any younger ones. you will find there is always one thats worse than the rest. People will probably say by putting them together i am just looking for punishment but they settle very quick and learn their places.
Richk2012 wrote: » A pen of tramps ........ Every farm should have one !!! Ah i know what you mean. Have a few of them meself. Two older cows inparticular , will almost patrol the silage barrier at times to stop the younger cows getting a look in , even though they themselves are full .
whelan1 wrote: » just read in the irish indo that there was a protest about liquid milk price in dublin yesterday, was anyone at it or did any one know about it?
Muckit wrote: » slurry going out today on the driest of the silage ground. Hopefully have grass to let a few weanlings out after paddy's wkend. A lot of the rest of the farm you wouldn't travel with a boat! I must post pics again soon...
just do it wrote: » I separated the cows and calves overnight last night. Let them back in at 6am. I could hear them 600m away. Bloody glad no one lives any closer to the shed than that!
pakalasa wrote: » Jeez, the weather is amazing isn't it? Putting cows out as they calve. Have them in our driest field and they're as happy as Larry. It was minus 2 the other morning, and I was greeted by day old calves standing and stretching. Not a bother on them.
leg wax wrote: » have everything out except the last of the spring calvers
leg wax wrote: » have everything out except the last of the spring calvers 26 of them and 10 authum dry cows that lost calves and are back incalf.
AntrimGlens wrote: » Just home from the hospital with a set of twins - boy and girl. jaysus but their granda is smiles from ear to ear now that the name is to be carried on, he never even came to the hospital to see me!! The hospital staff were great and couldn't do enough for us - they even got me a bed and allowed me to stay for the week. Bottle feeding is slightly more delicate than bottling lambs although the waking in the middle of the night is no different. Proud as Punch, sheep can take a back seat for the next few days.:D:D:D
colrow wrote: » Enough to make a grown man cryhttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-21614304[/QUOTE] Could be worse...............If it was whiskey with an e. That scotch stuff is ok for medicinal use or as a rub or the like but the real deal is good Irish whiskey.
Bizzum wrote: » colrow wrote: » Enough to make a grown man cryhttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-21614304[/QUOTE] Could be worse...............If it was whiskey with an e. That scotch stuff is ok for medicinal use or as a rub or the like but the real deal is good Irish whiskey. Very true lol
whelan1 wrote: » fooking thunderstorms here, never heard thunder like it:cool: