Is it ever right to cheer a death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

In delighted. I hope they made him cry for a while. I could forgive a lot. But what this pr1ck did to a child he deserved to die screaming

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

starlings wrote: »
    see that's the trouble when you lose your temper, Rabidlamb, you start to jump to daft conclusions and end up looking like an eejit.

I bet you're christian. . . . & possibly vegetarian too, I don't know which is worse.
    Well forgive me either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I bet you're christian. . . . & possibly vegetarian too, I don't know which is worse.
    Well forgive me either way.

more daft conclusions :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Wattle wrote: »
    I was at a gig in the Olympia when they announced Kurt Cobain's death. Some people cheered. Morons.

Who was paying this gig ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I cheered when Makarov died, just thought it would have been better if his head was pulled off when he did eventually croke.

It was a quality kill in the end.

End of an era really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Jade Goody.

Lord did that whole saga irk me, just because you have cancer does not make you a hero

If you genuinely did cheer anyones death based on those reasons, then id say too much brainpower is never going to be a problem.

Some awareness may have been raised there for others to get checked out. I have a feeling she never seen herself as a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

I might think 'good riddance' but I wouldn't cheer a death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sing along now:

"We're having a party when Thatcher dies,
    We're having a party when Thatcher dies,
    We're having a party when Thatcher dies"

I think the following quote sums her up best, Thatcher was/is "The biggest bastard we have ever known!"

Looking forward to the day she pops her clogs, she hated us with a passion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

kfallon wrote: »

Really? 'Us' as in everyone on Boards? All sounds a bit silly and cartoon-villany to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Did you cheer Jimmy Saville's death when you heard the accusations against him? Or Milosevic's in custody? Surely the satisfaction should be in seeing them being held to account, as this child-murderer was, rather than their deaths?

Bingo. When I heard Augusto Pinochet died (someone I have a particular hatred for), I was angry. That man should've been held accountable for all he did. Death without paying the price was too good for him. He got a lucky escape and he didn't deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Miri5

Reading the terrible cruelty he inflicted on that poor two year old little baby girl, I hope he died screaming. :mad:
    +1 :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I wouldn't cheer his death, but I certainly wouldn't mourn the sadistic bastard either.
    I'd say his death was far more merciful than the one he inflicted on that innocent baby who did nothing to deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Thud wrote: »
    Hypothetical question, if they put this guy into an arena with say tigers would you cheer his dead then?

Yea that would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

McNulty737 wrote: »
    Nice to see real justice administered from time to time.
    shame it isn't real justice, the only "real justice" is that dished out by the legal system and is the only form recognised by the irish british and other states, the ferrile killing the ferrile isn't recognised as justice thankfully

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Makes me wish there was a hell, so the sick fuk would burn in it.

I cant cheer his death, because his crime makes me want to vomit.

To the people who say "two wrongs dont make a right", think how you would feel if it was your child. This guy was a monster, for the things he did to that child he deserves to die a thousand times over.

There is no such thing as justice for a crime this heinous.

I read two lines in before i felt physically ill. People like him are the reason the word evil was invented:mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yes, Gladiators. Otherwise, what's the point?

As for the hypothetical brother scenario, no he's not entitled to his revenge
    ah but he is under your belief, if its okay for these people to kill this man then it has to be okay for any relative of him to kill his killers, otherwise its invalid
    the only true crime committed here was the murder of a child, it was the killers own actions which ultimately led to his own death.
    all irrelevant, under the law (which disagrees with you) those who killed this man also commited a crime, and no his downfall was those people deciding to kill him, your point is invalid, either people are entitled to that sort of revenge or not, the law says not and rightly so

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That's quite a leap, of course not, I'd normally abhor it.
    In this case however, it was completely justified.
    But you are OK with extra-judicial killing by self appointed vigilantes who are in fact convicted criminals.

What sort of message does that send ?
    We've locked you up for violent crimes but you can this have one for free ?

Without getting into the specifics of this case, there have been cases of mistaken identity before and people have been released after years. Let's face it no one in their right mind would wish well on people who left nail bombs in busy pubs.

Even at the worst possible level there is still an argument of "why should scum like that get to enjoy killing yer man, I could have done it "
    So you should still feel ashamed of yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

shame it isn't real justice, the only "real justice" is that dished out by the legal system and is the only form recognised by the irish british and other states, the ferrile killing the ferrile isn't recognised as justice thankfully

Just because some justice is not legally recognised, does not mean for certain, that it was not the better justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Always liked Mark Twains opinion...
    "I've never wished anyone dead,but I must admit that I have read many an obituary with much pleasure!"

Just in case any more lilly hearted liberals want to pipe in
    ah i see another one of these, so if people disagreeing with you are "lilly hearted liberals" then can i call you and those who agree with you savages? you see calling those who disagree with you "lilly hearted liberals" invalidates your point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

But you are OK with extra-judicial killing by self appointed vigilantes who are in fact convicted criminals.

What sort of message does that send ?
    We've locked you up for violent crimes but you can this have one for free ?

Without getting into the specifics of this case, there have been cases of mistaken identity before and people have been released after years. Let's face it no one in their right mind would wish well on people who left nail bombs in busy pubs.

Even at the worst possible level there is still an argument of "why should scum like that get to enjoy killing yer man, I could have done it "
    So you should still feel ashamed of yourself.

I believe in the justice most of the time. His was a crime that no matter what punishment he recieved, it just would not fit the crime.

I dont believe in Anarchy, society needs a justice system. But id make an exception in his case - "There is an exception to every rule".

I dont get any joy from his death, only sadness for the crime he committed. But if anyone deserved to be "murdered" it was him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Death isn't something to cheer about it, no matter how much you believe that they don't deserve to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

cant help but read :
    West Mercia police

As West 'Merica Police

Merica fuck yeah

more daft conclusions
    ah you see he/she realises their argument/points are invalid so will therefore insult you me and others to try change your mind and get them to agree with you, same thing happens on a certain talk show facebook, it fails all the time just like the daily fail which said people definitely read

Sing along now:

I think the following quote sums her up best, Thatcher was/is "The biggest bastard we have ever known!"

<gets pen and starts to write song> anyone have any other lirics? think i'l write it as an upbeat traditional irish type song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Sing along now:

Elvis Costello did "tramp the dirt down"
    Pete Wylie did "the day that Margaret Thatcher dies"

Top tunes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

The kind people
    have a wonderful dream
    Margaret on the guillotine

-Morrissey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭McNulty737

ah but he is under your belief, if its okay for these people to kill this man then it has to be okay for any relative of him to kill his killers, otherwise its invalid

all irrelevant, under the law (which disagrees with you) those who killed this man also commited a crime, and no his downfall was those people deciding to kill him, your point is invalid, either people are entitled to that sort of revenge or not, the law says not and rightly so

My point is that due to liberal ideology the legal system in this part of the world is soft, broken, disproportionate. I think the death penalty should still exist and apply in certain horrific cases such as this. Do I think that piece of **** deserved to die a painful death? Yes, absolutely, he got what was coming to him.

Do I think murder should have a domino effect where relatives start carrying out vigilante revenge killings? LOL, absolutely not, you have a funny interpretation of 'my beliefs' if that's what you think.

In my opinion this case had the best possible outcome, which was the (hopefully) brutal death of a child killer. A lifetime of free meals, no work and sky tv is no punishment for such a heinous crime.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I dont believe in Anarchy, society needs a justice system. But id make an exception in his case - "There is an exception to every rule".
    once you start making exceptions they start getting easier to make

ever watch the Dirty Harry film Magnum Force ?