Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nexus 4 ordering process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

pmsurveys wrote: »
    P.S I still have very good info that the play store for devices is launching here before end November !!

How's that info working out for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'll have no problem selling my second one by the looks of things.. Which is a relief to say the least :)

Edit: Assuming it actually goes through

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

The US play store is showing up for me now, weird! I'm not even going through a VPN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

Think I got one ordered. Added my Antrim Parcel Motel address to Google wallet along with AIB Visa card and got a confirmation email from them.

Fingers crossed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

How much did it cost lads, including shipping?

Can't decide whether to get the N4 on a sim only rolling contract or get the S3 18 month contract with meteor

I asked AIB the final total for 2X nexus 4's even though it hasn't come through yet. After currency conversion and including delivery it came to €677.

€338.50 for the N4.

Edit: oh and €3.50 for the parcel motel delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭belmulletman

Slaanesh wrote: »
    I asked AIB the final total for 2X nexus 4's even though it hasn't come through yet. After currency conversion and including delivery it came to €677.

€338.50 for the N4.

If you didn't mean to order the 2nd one drop me a PM. I'll happily swap cash for one! :)

Destined for my brother I'm afraid! :) Fingers crossed our orders get processed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Slaanesh wrote: »

€338.50 for the N4.

Cheers, that's a great price tbf

Seems a far better option that a S3 on an 18 month contract

S3: Phone €150 + €40 x 18 = €870 and can't upgrade

N4: Phone €342 x rolling contract & upgrade when ye want

Yea so if your selling that Slaanesh I'd be more than happy to buy if off you

EDIT: Just seen about your brother, no bothers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭cfeeneyinterior

The N4 is getting cheaper by the day as the Sterling is getting hamered at the moment against the Euro and getting back to where it was about a year ago in the exchange markets. Happy days..,... http://www.ecb.int/stats/exchange/eurofxref/html/eurofxref-graph-gbp.en.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

draffodx wrote: »
    The sale goes through Google European headquarters which just happens to be Dublin.

If anyone ends up with two give me a pm, I will take one at cost price.

Oh, I know that very well.

Google (and LG) have a made a complete mess of the supply chain on the device, so badly that they can't yet even spare the stock to properly roll it out into the home of its European HQ. That said, there will probably be a ridiculous markup when they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Syferus wrote: »

Google (and LG) have a made a complete mess of the supply chain on the device, so badly that they can't yet even spare the stock to properly roll it out into the home of its European HQ. That said, there will probably be a ridiculous markup when they do.

I think it has more to do with the lack of media availability here. Google are selling the phone cheap and planning to make the money back on media sales through the Play Store.

Or so the Oracle professes.

Turns out I got 2 confirmation emails with 2 different order numbers! Can anyone tell me, am I guaranteed one now since I got this confirmation email or could it still be cancelled for any reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

They purposely aren't selling it here due to lack of content here, no music, movies, book stores to make the money back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭rogercross

How Long is it normally between the time that the phone is bought (receiving the initial google notification), and you definitely not getting the transaction rejected.

I bought the phone at 3pm yesterday, using the tunnelbear, google wallet with ulster debit card, shipping address my parcel motel, billing address my irish address with the parcel motel postcode at the end of it.

Boxfresh wrote: »
    Turns out I got 2 confirmation emails with 2 different order numbers! Can anyone tell me, am I guaranteed one now since I got this confirmation email or could it still be cancelled for any reason?
    rogercross wrote: »
    How Long is it normally between the time that the phone is bought (receiving the initial google notification), and you definitely not getting the transaction rejected.

I bought the phone at 3pm yesterday, using the tunnelbear, google wallet with ulster debit card, shipping address my parcel motel, billing address my irish address with the parcel motel postcode at the end of it.

From my understanding the order can still be cancelled at any point until you receive a shipping confirmation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

draffodx wrote: »
    They purposely aren't selling it here due to lack of content here, no music, movies, book stores to make the money back on.

Obviously that plays a role but the fact they completely underestimated demand or rushed to market has meant there's no feasible way they can roll out to other countries while the supply chain is so constricted in the countries they're already selling it in.

There's only so much butter to spread, y'all. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Obviously that plays a role but the fact they completely underestimated demand or rushed to market has meant there's no feasible way they can roll out to other countries while the supply chain is so constricted in the countries they're already selling it in.

I think this might be the last re-launch though, it's been on sale for a full 25 hours now and the shipping times are still 1-2 Weeks. Other times it would be 5-6 weeks by now.

Do you know is it possible to get a micro sim free from your network, i'm on meteor pre-pay.

I assume we need micro sims for the nexus 4?

Do you know is it possible to get a micro sim free from your network, i'm on meteor pre-pay.

I assume we need micro sims for the nexus 4?

Yes and yes

Indeed, the nexus range was never a big seller until now so they definitely got caught off guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭iggy

I've been reading a lot of this thread and I'm gonna
    Try order one.
    Looks a great phone and a great price.
    I have PM address so going to try get one even if it does seem
    a bit of grief to try order successfully.
    I have a relation in London that I may ask to get one if I
    can't .
    Thanks for all the info

Thank you.
    Great news! Your order on Google Play has shipped.

AAAAAAAAAAH :D

hhhmmm tempted to give it a go but has anyone ever had their credit/debit cards frozen by trying this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Guys im rather late to the party here.
    My emobile contract is up in 2 weeks, i was going to stay with them as i like the tarriff im on 200 text 200 mins for €14 per month.
    Emobile are offering me an upgrade but only the only phones that i can get for less than €100 are the galaxy S3 mini,Motorola Razr i and HTC Desire X.
    The nexus 4 looks the better phone for sure but im just unsure whats involved.
    If i was to get a Nexus 4 can i just buy credit from any service provider or whats the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Dcully wrote: »
    Guys im rather late to the party here.
    My emobile contract is up in 2 weeks, i was going to stay with them as i like the tarriff im on 200 text 200 mins for €19 per month.
    Emobile are offering me an upgrade but only the only phones that i can get for less than €100 are the galaxy S3 mini,Motorola Razr i and HTC Desire X.
    The nexus 4 looks the better phone for sure but im just unsure whats involved.
    If i was to get a Nexus 4 can i just buy credit from any service provider or whats the craic?

Its simfree, you can do whatever you like. You could continue the current plan or go PAYG.

What data do you currently have? Having a smartphone without a decent data plan is a bit dud IMO.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

ED E wrote: »
    Its simfree, you can do whatever you like. You could continue the current plan or go PAYG.

What data do you currently have? Having a smartphone without a decent data plan is a bit dud IMO.

Thanks mate.
    Ive no data plan :(

Sorry if this was asked a million times but i cant seem to find the process of ordering one of these from UK.
    I could have swore i saw it stickied before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭JKGT

Having trouble getting past the phone number request on the credit card form???? Any Ideas???

"Great news! Your order on Google Play has shipped" :-)

When did you order?