Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Fantasy Football Chat 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

This double GW is more of a pain than anything else. I was going to swap Suarez for Sturridge but Suarez is more likely to start both games. I've a feeling Gerrard should be brought in, possibly at the expense of Walcott for a week.

Had planned originally to keep Fellaini until after the weekend before swapping to De Guzman for the long run but don't want to play Gerrard away to City this weekend. Oh well I guess it's future me's problem :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Already have 2 Swansea players so I'll probably bring in Suarez for the DGW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

anyone know what's up with bassong? why didn't he play v pool? will he play tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭qwabercd

RIALTO1 wrote: »

True, but their record following EL games this season is poor. Where they have played a strong team in the EL, off the top of my head their record is:
    Arsenal (H) 0-2
    Stoke (H) 0-0
    Everton (A) 2-2
    Swansea (A) 0-0
    West Ham (A) 3-2

So fatigue could be a factor, and in fairness they have added attacking options this month so there could be some rotation. I think it is just something to keep in mind.

Off the top of your head? Some memory you have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

darego wrote: »
    anyone know what's up with bassong? why didn't he play v pool? will he play tonight?

He had a calf injury .

Supposedly fine for tonight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Larry Brent

SlickRic wrote: »
    is it not foolish to get in a ton of those players just for that DGW, considering both clubs miss the following GW?

or am i missing something?

The way it's falling, other than Captain choice in week 26, this DGW has no significance unless you're in the Cup perhaps. i.e. if you have lots of Liverpool and Swansea, you'll score around 20 points more in week 26 and 20 points less in week 27, compared to if you only had one or two from those teams.

But I suppose it's like that for any DGW really. Unless you have a cost-effective exit strategy, or want those players in your team anyway, don't get extra players from DGW teams in unless it affects your Captain choice. Think Total score, not weekly score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Have to say have been really impressed with southampton for a good few weeks now they had utd hanging on somewhat tonight. Currently far more impressive than our early season wonders like WHam Stoke WBA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

**** you Rafa, **** you.
    You ****ing fat Spanish waiter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

Just checked my second team which I haven't payed any attention too for a while and I've gotten an average of 77 points over the last 5 weeks (104 last week) compared to my main team 64, feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,265 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Mulling over two options now for the rest of the season:

Option 1: Front 7 of Mata, Walcott, Bale, Fellaini, Michu, VP and Sturridge

Option 2: Mata, Walcott, Bale, Michu, Silva, Rooney and Suarez

I think option 2 has the potential to outscore option 1 over the rest of the season but because there's no RVP in it, it scares me! Thoughts anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Steel Dog

Anyone know the story with Demel lastnite, how come he only played 66 mins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Because he is utter, utter sh*t. FYI - He's in my team. He was at fault for 4 of the Arsenal goals and played terrible again last night.

I didn't see him getting subbed so it may have been an injury but I wouldn't be confident of him starting next week.

Steel Dog wrote: »
    Anyone know the story with Demel lastnite, how come he only played 66 mins?
    they signed pogatetz ex boro aswell in danger of losing his place IMO

But Pogatetz plays left-back and centre half and Demel is a right-back. Can O'Brien play right-back?Pogatetz is 4.5, i think he is .5 too much for a team that has only kept 1 clean sheet in the last 13 league games.

Steel Dog wrote: »
    But Pogatetz plays left-back and centre half and Demel is a right-back. Can O'Brien play right-back?Pogatetz is 4.5, i think he is .5 too much for a team that has only kept 1 clean sheet in the last 13 league games.
    Ye Im almost certain joey o brien played RB for Bolton. Theres a chance of pog LB and Obrien RB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Ye Im almost certain joey o brien played RB for Bolton. Theres a chance of pog LB and Obrien RB.

O'Brien has played pretty much anywhere in midfield or defence.

cuellar supposed to be back for the weekend and Wilson expected to play for stoke reserves next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Wonder what price bracket will Coutinho be in,6 to 7 mill?

I'd imagine it'll be 7.5m like Holtby.

^^^^ he's just been added now 6.5m . One to keep an eye on anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Samba up for 5m, is he fully match fit etc, any chance Harry will leave him out tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Samba up for 5m, is he fully match fit etc, any chance Harry will leave him out tomorrow?

not a bad price he'll be a good threat from set pieces too, though other than cheapies (4mil) i'm concentrating on Man City/Man Utd/Chelsea for my more expensive defenders

Samba said himself yesterday in an interview that he is not fully fit but i think Harry will play him anyway. With Nelsen gone he does not have many great options at centre half. Can see Harry starting him and if he needs to come off he will just take him off.

Knew it would be £5, FF are pretty predictable. Definitely one to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,682 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i'm resisting Samba this week, but post GW27, he may well be a must-have.

I'm gonna wait till the morning to get some soundbite from Harry but I think I'll bring him in, tomorrows as good a time as any for him to score, debut at home against a bad team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Santi101

Yeah, I'd expect Samba to be thrown straight in if we are to believe the huge sums QPR have paid for him with fees/wages. Crazy stuff.

Good player though. 5m is a decent price.

With Vorm out, Tremmel comes in. Could be a worthy sub keeper, especially with Swansea's DGW coming up. Berbatov also OUT.

Arsenal
    Arteta could be back for Arsenal. Vermaelen a doubt, Coquelin remains sidelined. Monreal in squad. http://goo.gl/HmxHG
    Wenger now suggest Gibbs will be out for "four to six weeks" http://goo.gl/70C1U

Fulham
    Berbatov (hamstring) out of Fulham's game with United http://goo.gl/bn06T
    Sidwell also misses out for Fulham http://goo.gl/sBCyn

Man City
    Vincent Kompany expected to be sidelined for another three weeks http://goo.gl/HXevo

Man United
    Young still out for United, Evans may return, Ferdinand will start. SAF reveals he will make "one or two changes" http://goo.gl/01Kh7

Reading
    Noel Hunt faces a late injury test for Reading http://goo.gl/tTQlb

Stoke
    Tony Pulis reveals Marc Wilson may return to action for Stoke reserves next week http://goo.gl/YkEUd

Sunderland
    Reports suggest Rose and Cuellar are likely to return for Sunderland. Cattermole expected to remain out http://goo.gl/xnTNK

Swansea
    Michel Vorm remains sidelined for Swansea with knee problem http://goo.gl/Q8OHP

Any chance that the qpr lineup will be announced before 1130 tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭djfitzerjnr

Supposedly RVP set to start on the bench at Fulham.