Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

saiint wrote: »
    then we would have garda who would be trigger happy like the american cops
    its fine the way it is

Yeah because Gardai are potential murderers in waiting and carrying a gun will tip them over the edge:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Why is it 40 years for murdering a gard but not a person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

But they are.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I was thinking the exactly the same, I thought this was a republic and every man/woman/child is equal in terms of the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Simple. If you have no respectful of law enforcers you are particularly dangerous. A wife killing their husband in a moment of rage is a million miles from killing a police person doing their job.

No life is worth more than any other. It's all about intent.

Simple. If you have no respectful of law enforcers you are particularly dangerous. A wife killing their husband in a moment of rage is a million miles from killing a police person doing their job.

No life is worth more than any other. It's all about intent.

And if you take the murder of Anthony campbell does that mean the murderers are less dangerous than the one who killed the gard?

I must be missing something here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

sfwcork wrote: »
    What point is everyone saying rip going to have? Everyone knows its a tragedy.

I meant my point about the police needing to be armed obviously.
    saiint wrote: »
    i disagree
    then we would have garda who would be trigger happy like the american cops
    its fine the way it is
    their doing a good job ,
    detectives are armed all of them are thats also a known fact and the situation still got him killed
    so i dont get where your coming from to be honest , if anything the gardi are doing a great job , seen on the news they said the last gardi to be shot down was in the 1980's/90's? and since the entire gardi force except for detectives are unarmed their doing one hell of a job.

R.I.P

Right because are gardai are blood thirsty trigger happy killers who don't know how to handle weapons.

There is a serious amount of animosity and/or downright foolish posting on this thread....this is not the time or place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I have said it before and I will say it again.....our Gardai need to be armed, they need to be able to protect themselves.

Reading through this thread I am shocked and appalled at the amount of speculation and whinging about the government and general petty arguing that is going on.

A Garda has been shot down in the line of duty. I am shocked that anyone would post anything but their condolences.

RIP Detective Donohoe and condolences to his family, friends and colleagues.

While what has happened is terrible, I still don't think the Gardaí need to be armed. One of the greatest achievements of this country, as far as I'm concerned, is the success of the unarmed Gardaí. That we can still have law enforcers on the streets who don't need to have a firearm on them and can still do their jobs is a great thing.

A bit of perspective - this guard was the first to be shot in years, and he was even armed at the time.

And if you take the murder of Anthony campbell does that mean the murderers are less dangerous than the one who killed the gard?

There has to be a deterrent to murdering guardians of the peace. That is it. It used to be hanging.

Please refer to the first post of this thread. If you have issue with AGS or the law surrounding them, please bring it up somewhere else.

MagicSean wrote: »
    What point is that exactly? That we should just accept it and not discuss how it came to be or how it could have been prevented?

Again, as I think you well know, I meant my point about the Gardai needing to be armed.

There has to be a deterrent to murdering guardians of the peace. That is it. It used to be hanging.

Please refer to the first post of this thread. If you have issue with AGS or the law surrounding them, please bring it up somewhere else.

I read the first post,are you accusing me of having a go at the police?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Because its an attack on one of the structures the state is founded on. It also has more far reaching consequences within society. It's not about valuing one person above another. It's about the effect the murder has on society as a whole.

While what has happened is terrible, I still don't think the Gardaí need to be armed. One of the greatest achievements of this country, as far as I'm concerned, is the success of the unarmed Gardaí. That we can still have law enforcers on the streets who don't need to have a firearm on them and can still do their jobs is a great thing.

A bit of perspective - this guard was the first to be shot in years, and he was even armed at the time.

True enough.

TBH though I think people are just afraid to allow the Gardai arms because of this lazy bumbling idiot stereotype that is so popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

The killing of a guard is an attack on every man, women and child as far as I am concerned. It has nothing to do with one life being worth more than another. All murders are brutal but this particular case is particularly awful. These guards are up against absolute scum on a daily basis, they are literally putting their lives at risk in order to try and preserve some peace and a safe environment to the public.
    It's a job I certainly wouldn't do for all the money in the world and I commend them all for their service.
    A guard is never required for a happy, peaceful event and all the resources they require should be given to them.
    May this husband, father and friend to many rip.

He was not the first to be shot at though. Not by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

The murder of a Garda is a dual crime. It is the murder of a human being, a terrible, odious, crime; and it is also an attack on the State. It is of paramount importance to the safety and security of every citizen that criminals know that to kill a Garda will bear the severest consequences.

I just reckon it would be nice if criminals know taking anyone's life is 40 years not 10.

Anyway not to worry.

True enough.

TBH though I think people are just afraid to allow the Gardai arms because of this lazy bumbling idiot stereotype that is so popular.

Well, while an armed police force does leave doors open for an abuse of power, I don't think that arming the Gardaí will suddenly mean that they'll all start going mad with guns. However, I don't think that the threat is so immense that we need armed Gardaí on the streets. I also think it's important that people respect law enforcement, but aren't afraid of them either. For the most part, people do respect the Gardaí and move along and do what they're told when they're told, and they don't need a gun pointed at them to do it. It's a great accomplishment to be able to maintain the peace without the use of firearms.

I read the first post,are you accusing me of having a go at the police?

Mod

I am simply pointing out that you are raising issues that don't apply to this thread.

If you wish to discuss the bigger issues of why Irish law applies to AGS in a certain way, take it to the legal forum. Do not do it here please.

He was not the first to be shot at though. Not by a mile.

No, but I still think that an unarmed force on the streets is far better than an armed one.

Mod

I am simply pointing out that you are raising issues that don't apply to this thread.

If you wish to discuss the bigger issues of why Irish law applies to AGS in a certain way, take it to the legal forum. Do not do it here please.

Ah here how is discussing the length of a sentence given for murdering a gard not relevant to a thread about a gard been murdered??

And people are discussing whether the gards should be armed or not.

Anyway I won't discuss it further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Hope we'r not missing the point here,,, the credit union was being robbed either way ok,,, now unless these guys had come down in the last shower,they knew there was an armed escort sitting waiting for the cash to move,, so the argument about armed or unarmed makes no difference in this particular case. Rip.

I just reckon it would be nice if criminals know taking anyone's life is 40 years not 10.

Anyway not to worry.
    If we gave every serious criminal a life sentence, you believe that would deter serious crime. I understand where you are coming from. I also know it wouldn't work.

There is a difference between blowing up a bus full of school kids, and knocking down a pedestrian in your car; and sentencing guidelines should reflect that.

This is off topic. The simplest explanation has already been given to you: to kill a Garda is one act that commits two crimes.

No, but I still think that an unarmed force on the streets is far better than an armed one.

Easy position to take if you aren't the one being shot at.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Hope we'r not missing the point here,,, the credit union was being robbed either way ok,,, now unless these guys had come down in the last shower,they knew there was an armed escort sitting waiting for the cash to move,, so the argument about armed or unarmed makes no difference in this particular case. Rip.

In fairness, it is pretty irrelevant, and I don't think this case can be used as an example for arming all Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Still trying to take all this in.

If the Government were to draft in G2 or the Ranger Wing to deal with these lowlife cockroaches, I would ask no questions about their methods, but I would be leaning towards, and hopeful it would involve assassinations myself.

Spineless cowardly scum, nothing more to be said about them, they are not worthy.

Any more bollix you want to talk?

This may seem counter intuitive to you, but an armed Garda is more likely to be killed than an unarmed Garda.

No, I'm not the one being shot at, but I am an ordinary civilian. I don't want to be afraid of the Guard walking down the street because I know he or she is carrying a firearm. I also think arming the Gardaí would only mean that criminals are going to arm themselves even better to counter it.

marcsignal wrote: »
    Still trying to take all this in.

If the Government were to draft in G2 or the Ranger Wing to deal with these lowlife cockroaches, I would ask no questions about their methods, but I would be leaning towards, and hopeful it would involve assassinations myself.

Spineless cowardly scum, nothing more to be said about them, they are not worthy.
    And what if we shoot the wrong people? If we really did know who these people were, we could prove it in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

And what if we shoot the wrong people? If we really did know who these people were, we could prove it in court.

Garda intelligence and G2 know a lot more than you think. You don't come to their attention for little things like shoplifting. If they took a pro-active approach, they would get no complaints from me.