Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• 25-01-2013 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/garda-detective-shot-dead-in-dundalk-raid-582572.html[/B]
    A Garda detective has been shot dead tonight during a botched hold-up in Dundalk, Co Louth.

The Garda officer in his 40s was among colleagues who were escorting a cash delivery to a credit union in Dundalk, Co Louth.

Several shots were fired during the incident at the Lordship Credit Union, on the Cooley Road in the town at around 9.30pm.

It is believed the force is now hunting four men in a grey Volkswagen Passat which fled the scene.

The officer, who was based at Dundalk Garda station, was fatally injured in the shooting.

Investigating gardaí at Dundalk are appealing for witnesses to contact them on (042) 9388440

News is still breaking atm, I posted the whole article in the hope that people are made aware and more may be able to assist inquiries.

I hope the people responsible are swiftly dealt with.

Mod edit
    Mod

Use this thread as a place to have a go at the police service and you will be banned.

Please bare in mind that a man went out to work yesterday and didn't come home to his family.

Zero tolerance for any mupperty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Just read on sky that he was fatally injured.

Rip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

http://www.thejournal.ie/shooting-credit-union-dundalk-770297-Jan2013/

News is still breaking atm, I posted the whole article in the hope that people are made aware and more may be able to assist inquiries.

I hope the people responsible are swiftly dealt with.

he's dead unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,137 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Was just about to post....ITV are reporting he has been shot dead....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Ticker feed on sky news saying detective shot dead in louth robbrry. Rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Hopefully this means they will go to war now with these bastards.

No mercy.

RIP to the garda in question. Just doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

Absolute f-ing scum in this country. I really hope they were caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

Terrible news. One life snuffed out and the lives of his family ruined and for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

Utterly heartbreaking. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Said it before.

This countries descending into lawlessness.

Time for the Gardai to get tough with these bastards now!

R.I.P

RTE are saying he is critical with life threathening injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

That area of Ireland always seems lawless. Disgrace. R.I.P Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,077 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Let the first "comedian" to post a gag about this get a life long site ban.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

ryanf1 wrote: »

BBC News is saying he's dead, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Greedy, selfish good for nothing bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

This is just awful news :( RIP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

currently searching for a Grey VW Passat.

Capitol punishment was eradicated prematurely if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

ryanf1 wrote: »

and there is NEVER a word from this coalition about law & order. Edna appearing on Time mag seems more important to them.

makes me mad. RIP to the Detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There were two robberies at Riverstown Post Office which is close by, one last November and one this month. I don't know if there were any guns involved. I think the cars were found burnt out in the North, it's very close to the border.

RossyG wrote: »
    BBC News is saying he's dead, I'm afraid.
    Thats what most others are saying too. Not like RTE to get it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Devastating news :( my condolences to that brave Garda's family.

These robberies seem to definitely be on the rise. How can we stop it? Gardai shouldn't have to risk their lives to do their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

RIP to the Garda..wonder will Minister Shatter still claim morale is high among Garda members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Dirty scum. Hope they are caught soon. Thoughts are with this man's family. Just doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

justshane wrote: »

Will you go to ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Leading story on Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

RIP to the man in question. Fair play to him for going after men with guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭AnarchistKen

RIP

Out doing a days work and then fatally injured. Shouldn't happen to any man.

Thoughts and prayers with the family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

RIP, hopefully the gardai will be now be given the means and the power to go after these scumbag criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I'd say the perpetrators are LONG across the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Very sad, I hope their caught and beaten to within an inch of their life.

A cash delivery at 9.30pm on a Friday night, is that not a bit strange?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

As i mentioned on a similar thread regarding this, I hope the people who talk sh!te about the force sit up an realise just what they do for the public. Prayers (though im not a religious man) are with the family. Because at a time like this if even a prayer might bring some hope to the guards loved ones ill give it a go.

just awful stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Horrible, R.I.P. Scumbags have some cheek to attempt a robbery during an escort, its a shame they werent the ones that got shot.

Spare a thought for his family and partner who have to deal with all this too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

Words fail me. Unfortunately this is what the authorities have to deal with...scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Duberlin Chick

So angry.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TopBombing

You're right. No law & order here at all. Wild west. The rest of the country's grand though...

That area of Ireland always seems lawless.

I wish I could be offended by that but any look at stats etc. will show just how bad it is.

Very sad indeed.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Almost Jerry McCabe all over again. Gardai escorting a cash delivery to a credit union faced with an armed gang. What odds on the gang being from the same political back ground given where it has happened i wonder?

Whomever they are regardless they have fcuked up royally and will have the entire force and state down on top of them now. Your hour of reckoning is coming you murdering pr1cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    and there is NEVER a word from this coalition about law & order. Edna appearing on Time mag seems more important to them.

makes me mad. RIP to the Detective.

As much in all as I know what you mean, please do not use the tragic death of this Garda as an excuse to have a go at the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

We need to arm our entire force and have a no Sympathy approach towards these scumbags!!

Police in other countries are seen as harsh but it works well and people have respect.....!!

R.I.P Detective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

This is the sort of news that ruins your day, and i didnt even know the man:(.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,138 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

The country is gone to hell. The ****ers robbing old pensioners and now actually shooting a garda

Its about time somthing is done about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Thinking of the deceased and his family and colleagues tonight. Gardai get a lot of stick but when you hear something like this you realise just how brave they are. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Tramps. Just tramps. I'm on night duty myself safe in the knowledge I'll be seeing my family tomorrow morning. Snuffing out a life over greed. Dispicable.

Are there any special laws in place for cop killers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This comes on the day the AGSI propose to leave Croke Park, highlighting the disgraceful way Gardaí have been treated.

Yes, lots of people in the public service have taken hits, not many give there lives and suffer these hits also.

This is absolutely tragic, thoughts with his family. Maybe the government should actually give the guards what they need to be safe and do there jobs at the same time. But we'll have to wait and see exactly what the circumstances surrounding the attack.

Hope these criminals are rounded up and locked away for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,014 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Very sorry to hear this, I respect the job the Gardai do and know several members of the force.

Pity the cnuts didn't attack a delivery being moved by the Army...that would have been an upset for them

RIP to the Garda.

I'm not defending or condoning the things who did this but a lot of these deliveries etc. happen without Garda escorts so I doubt they were expecting any resistance or anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Shocking news.An innocent man left home to do his job and wont retun home.V sad news.

Rip

Hopefully the bastard will be caught

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

No cheap politics please.

R.I.P.

donvito99 wrote: »
    This comes on the day the AGSI propose to leave Croke Park, highlighting the disgraceful way Gardaí have been treated.

Yes, lots of people in the public service have taken hits, not many give there lives and suffer these hits also.

This is absolutely tragic, thoughts with his family. Maybe the government should actually give the guards what they need to be safe and do there jobs at the same time. But we'll have to wait and see exactly what the circumstances surrounding the attack.
    I love how the last sentence contradicts all the rest of them.