Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Folks - at some stage, now or later, this thread might be read by a member of the mans family, by someone that know him or his wife/kids now in mourning.

Lets all take a breath, get over the ego stuff, respect the passing of a man that leaves behind a family over just doing his job and just hope justice will be done.

RIP to the deceased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Requiescat in pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Some despicable anti-Garda conspiracy stuff in this thread.

A man has just been killed by utter scum while doing his job. There should be a death penalty for killing a member of the gardai or defence forces. These animals will get a 'life' sentence maybe and in this country that means they might do about 10 years.
    So there shouldn't be the death penalty for murdering a normal citizen, just Gardaí and Defence Forces? Death penalty would be disastrous in this country anyway considering the ineptitude of judges. Toughen up prisons and make life sentences mean life sentences i.e. die in prison.

RIP to the guy. Just out doing your job, you don't expect this to happen. A serious layer of scum seems to be rising to the top in society lately. Hope all perpetrators are caught and dealt the full rigours of the limited laws we have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

NoQuarter wrote: »

As I said 2 pages back, its 40 years mandatory for killing a Gardai.

You are absolutely dreaming if you think the scum that did this will serve anything close to that.

The Irish 'justice' system doesn't work that way.

SRFC wrote: »
    Calm down ffs you'd swear a member of your family was gunned down tonight your up on a discussion forum going out of your way to name drop that your sister in law knew him :rolleyes:

Stop doing the rolleyes ffs. It's like a game of one-upsmanship with you here tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    So there shouldn't be the death penalty for murdering a normal citizen, just Gardaí and Defence Forces? Death penalty would be disastrous in this country anyway considering the ineptitude of judges. Toughen up prisons and make life sentences mean life sentences i.e. die in prison.

RIP to the guy. Just out doing your job, you don't expect this to happen. A serious layer of scum seems to be rising to the top in society lately. Hope all perpetrators are caught and dealt the full rigours of the limited laws we have.

+1 so a garda life (who signed himself up) is worthy of a death penalty to the convicted and the murderer of a law abiding civillian is worthy of only 15 years in prison for the convicted :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭Hogzy

You are absolutely dreaming if you think the scum that did this will serve anything close to that.

They will. Capital murder is VERY rare in Ireland. When it occurs the individuals absolutly must be made an example of. We cannot have Gardai getting killed and these f*ckers doing a few years for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Condolences to his family and may he RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

It might be slightly shorter of course, but it wont be 10 years like some people seem to think. Assuming of course it was murder, we need the full facts first.

We're talking 30 years + at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

What an absolute train-wreck of a thread.

RIP to the Garda and I hope those absolute scumbags never ever see the outside of a cell again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Some horrible bickering and pettiness going on in this thread. Sad to see.

Anyway, RIP to the Guard involved and condolences to his family. Hope they catch the f*ckers that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lagoona Blue

RIP to the guard and thoughts are with the family . I wonder will the government wake up now and stop letting the criminals rule this country .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

+1 so a garda life (who signed himself up) is worthy of a death penalty to the convicted and the murderer of a law abiding civillian is worthy of only 15 years in prison for the convicted :rolleyes:
    Whatever about the death penalty, of course a person who is willing to 'sign themselves up' to put themselves in danger's way on our behalf needs greater protection than a 'civilian'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...I wonder will the government wake up now and stop letting the criminals rule this country .

Sadly I suspect that still, the former is might be also partly the latter - but this is not the place/thread that I am willing to expand on that topic.
    It would be inconsiderate of me.

dvpower wrote: »
    Whatever about the death penalty, of course a person who is willing to 'sign themselves up' to put themselves in danger's way on our behalf needs greater protection than a 'civilian'.

Eh Gardai are well paid to ''put themselves in danger'' its part of the job description they know this when they sign up.

On the Death penalty its an easy way out for the convicted they dont suffer let them rot away I say.

Mod

Banned for this and other comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

upon seeing an emoticon of any sort in here, i just think its best that a mod shuts down this thread. some through emotion (perhaps guilty myself) and some through other means have over stepped into disrespect and i dont think this is best served publically.

apparently even the passing of a brave law enforcer proves too tempting to some anonymous characters.

in the likely event that anything said will be turned into debate etc, im going to leave it at that. but urge others to express condolences and leave it at that. if we can't manage that shut it down.

peace be with the fallen detective and his loved ones. RIP

This thread should be closed. There are some amount of f*cktards in here.

RIP to the guard and thoughts are with the family . I wonder will the government wake up now and stop letting the criminals rule this country .

The only criminals running the country are in the Dail so please stop with the over-reacting the country is not run by crime figures I genuinely cant remember the last time a member of the Gardai was shot dead on duty hardly a weekly occurance,I understand the feeling are raw on here but the over reacting is madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭qwertypop

listermint wrote: »

You sir are a disgusting individual, she phoned as she is very ****ing upset a close colleague was murdered in cold blood. I'm bloody angry at the amount of idiots and proxy nonsense on here. Worse than tabloid crappy newspapers.

You need to take a good look at yourself

Why would she ring you. She surely has a partner or sibling rather than ringing you

I'm sick and tired of these know it alls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,676 ✭✭✭✭listermint

El Spearo wrote: »
    upon seeing an emoticon of any sort in here, i just think its best that a mod shuts down this thread. some through emotion (perhaps guilty myself) and some through other means have over stepped into disrespect and i dont think this is best served publically.

apparently even the passing of a brave law enforcer proves too tempting to some anonymous characters.

in the likely event that anything said will be turned into debate etc, im going to leave it at that. but urge others to express condolences and leave it at that. if we can't manage that shut it down.

peace be with the fallen detective and his loved ones. RIP

Plus 1. I've let emotion rule my thoughts.

Needs closing

Eh Gardai are well paid to ''put themselves in danger'' its part of the job description they know this when they sign up.

You're an absolute f*cking moron!!!!!

Ill gladly take a ban for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

The guard in question won't be getting 'well paid' anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I hope they catch the low life scum that took that Guards life. They deserve to spend the rest of their lives in a cold dark cell as far as I'm concerned.

The Irish Times have named him and his colleague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lagoona Blue

The only criminals running the country are in the Dail so please stop with the over-reacting the country is not run by crime figures I genuinely cant remember the last time a member of the Gardai was shot dead on duty hardly a weekly occurance,I understand the feeling are raw on here but the over reacting is madness.

I am not going to get into a debate with you on this thread . As somebody said it is not the time or the place . I'm hardly over -reacting . just stating my opinion.

No they havnt.
    While The Irish Times is aware of his identity, it is not being revealed out of respect for his family and colleagues who were coming to terms with the tragedy tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

no they havent, nor should they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced