Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

Was walking through Dundalk at half 9 and was wondering why I seen 3 Garda cars speed past me, this would explain it.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭qwertypop

I probably won't get this accross properly but all guards on duty over the next few hours and days really need to keep a cool head on their shoulders

All it takes is one toss pot of a scum bag to say something trying to rise the member and boom they'll lose the rag and lash out playing straight into the scumbags hands

Already on this forum we can see some members getting very cross and narky and rightly so I may add but they really need to keep a cool head however hard that that may be. I'm sure ther professionalism will shine through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

RIP,

I wonder what shatters response to this will be, The only one should be '' I resign ''.
    The police service in this country has been butchered in the last numbers of years by the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

GRMA wrote: »
    theres no such thing as "capital murder" anymore

"Capital murder" is a useful shorthand. There is no such offence as capital murder now yes, but there is "such thing" as it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Reports of two men arrested in Whitehall Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

event wrote: »
    Its on threads like these, when i read some of the posts, that i remember AH really is gone to ****.
    Petty, pedantic squabbling over silly points.

A man is dead. a woman has been made a widow and kids have lost their dad.

All people should need to post is RIP
    You seem to be oblivious to one fundamental point here, this is not a book of condolences, its a public discussion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

SRFC wrote: »

Make an R.I.P specific thread if you want to just pay condolonces this is a discussion board so get off yer high horse.

@event How do you know this murder victim?

Based in my sister in laws station. Now shut up your nonsense your making a show of yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Go **** yourself

Charming.

All people should need to post is RIP

Follow your own advice dickhead.

mod: banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,482 ✭✭✭✭event

Make an R.I.P specific thread if you want to just pay condolonces this is a discussion board so get off yer high horse.

@event How do you know this murder victim?

Honestly mate, I've already got a ban coming id say, so stick it up yer bollix.

You're trying to insinuate im lying about knowing him to reinforce my posts.
    what do you want, me to lay out how i know him to justify myself to someone on a message board?

Good one.

Anyway, Im done.

mod: banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭LowOdour

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    RIP,

I wonder what shatters response to this will be, The only one should be '' I resign ''.
    The police service in this country has been butchered in the last numbers of years by the government.
    Scumbags will always be scumbags....no amount of gardai will ever change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

El Spearo wrote: »
    im going to stop you there because noone wants to hear your rant. i dont mean to be offensive, and sure you have the right to post what you wish, but this man did not die because of paper work or decisions. he died in the line of duty for the people. by scum of the earth. absolute scrapings of the arse of a barrel. as been mentioned several times, this is not a time for debate. this is a time to mourn a brave man. a brave man who is one of thousands all over the country who day and night are on the front line for us, the people.

what. the. ****?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

listermint wrote: »
    Based in my sister in laws station. Now shut up your nonsense your making a show of yourself.

Making a show of myself :confused::confused::confused:

So you didnt personally know the man but want to come across as you know is it? You got all the goss you must have rang the sister in law up at 11pm at night an asked about his relationship history and his number of kids :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭bigbudda

Reports of two men arrested in Whitehall Dublin.

Link? Where are the reports?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Some despicable anti-Garda conspiracy stuff in this thread.

A man has just been killed by utter scum while doing his job. There should be a death penalty for killing a member of the gardai or defence forces. These animals will get a 'life' sentence maybe and in this country that means they might do about 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

I don't know about anyone else but I have a huge amount of respect for the guards & the work that they do. It's a thankless job at the best of times but tonight's news just highlights the harsh reality facing them & I suppose with the way things have been in this country lately I'm a bit surprised it doesn't happen more often.

RIP to that man & my thoughts are with his family, friends & colleagues.

Making a show of myself :confused::confused::confused:

So you didnt personally know the man but want to come across as you know is it? You got all the goss you must have rang the sister in law up at 11pm at night an asked about his relationship history and his number of kids :rolleyes:

You sir are a disgusting individual, she phoned as she is very ****ing upset a close colleague was murdered in cold blood. I'm bloody angry at the amount of idiots and proxy nonsense on here. Worse than tabloid crappy newspapers.

You need to take a good look at yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Calm down folks, I would love to post a barrage of abuse about criminals, politicians, the system, the blah blah blah.... A man is dead, let's try to help first.
    Anyone with information is urged to contact the incident room at Dundalk Garda Station at 042-9388400 or the Garda Confidential Number 1-800-666-111.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭lightspeed

woodoo wrote: »
    I agree it is the culmination of a few months of horrible lawless robberies mainly targeting old people and now a garda has been killed. Hopefully this will be a Veronica Guerin moment and efforts are ramped up.

Why does there always have to be a trigger incident to trigger necessary reform?

What is wrong with this country that we are so lacking in common sense that there has to be an incident of outrage to kick us up the arse and force common sense reform?

Its like the abortion issue, everybody knew that sooner or later there would be a botched abortion or some kind of incident in which an abortion would be denied leading to the death of an expecting mother.

But we could not even contemplate addressing such an issue until somebody actually died.

We are so incompetent, or at least the politicians elected and political system is so incompetent that we absolutely need to wait for a catastrophe before taking action.

From what ive read, there were two people on duty including the Garda that was shot dead escorting money from the credit union. I assume this is due to cutbacks.

Perhaps now there will be more gardai on duty when they are escorting large amounts of money.

I think its a disgrace that a Garda has to be murdered before such obvious needed reforms are introduced.

If there were only two guards on duty due to cutbacks, minister shatter is going to need some serious ****ing neck to continue to tell people that public safety has not been compromised due to the Garda cutbacks.

Absolute disgrace and i hope each one of these animals are brought to justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Sincerest condolences to the late Garda's family. RIP

This is truly shocking .

Like many of the other Ops I am also angry that a man who was out doing his job this evening will not be returning home to his loved ones, because he was murdered .

Our thoughts and prayers tonight are for his family whose lives have also been destroyed by the evil, mindless murderers.

Without doubt it is time to reintroduce the death penalty for the murder of a Garda.

Words fail me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

Ar lamh Dilis De go raibh a h-Anam

bigbudda wrote: »
    Link? Where are the reports?
    The Galway Advertiser Have tweeted it.

https://twitter.com/galwayad/status/294955373339742209

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Some complete nutters on here posting.
    I put it down to the drink. Delete your comments tomorrow lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

You sir are a disgusting individual, she phoned as she is very ****ing upset a close colleague was murdered in cold blood. I'm bloody angry at the amount of idiots and proxy nonsense on here. Worse than tabloid crappy newspapers.

You need to take a good look at yourself

Calm down ffs you'd swear a member of your family was gunned down tonight your up on a discussion forum going out of your way to name drop that your sister in law knew him :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Some despicable anti-Garda conspiracy stuff in this thread.

A man has just been killed by utter scum while doing his job. There should be a death penalty for killing a member of the gardai or defence forces. These animals will get a 'life' sentence maybe and in this country that means they might do about 10 years.

As I said 2 pages back, its 40 years mandatory for killing a Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

May he RIP and my heartfelt condolences to his poor family during this terrible time.

Unfortunately though, Garda stations will continue to close and Garda numbers will still be cut. After all, Enda & Co will continue to kneel at the altar of 'austerity' and obey their 'Troika' masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Twitter :
    @galwayad
    The two arrested after the Louth shooting were apprehended at Whitehall, near Dublin airport and are understood to be from the capital.

Calm down ffs you'd swear a member of your family was gunned down tonight your up on a discussion forum going out of your way to name drop that your sister in law knew him :rolleyes:

I'm done with you. Goodbye. Have your last word on the matter. Oh and read all this again tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

the problem in this country is that we jail people who have addiction problems, who really need medical help. These guys may appear before a trail judge ( who has in his earlier career been a defence lawyer) who will do his best to get them off if his old pall the barrister defending them cant do it. There will be a load of public money spent defending them, If they are jailed, they probably have kids who will grow up in a difficult life, visiting daddy in prison etc, the process will repeat itself.
    This is needless violence and there is a lot of suffering for some families tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

the problem in this country is that we jail people who have addiction problems, who really need medical help. These guys may appear before a trail judge ( who has in his earlier career been a defence lawyer) who will do his best to get them off if his old pall the barrister defending them cant do it. There will be a load of public money spent defending them, If they are jailed, they probably have kids who will grow up in a difficult life, visiting daddy in prison etc, the process will repeat itself.
    This is needless violence and there is a lot of suffering for some families tonight.