Do you blackout often from drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Chao wrote: »

You're drunk now, aren't yaa??

Im having a sober month....i dont quite know how i havent cracked yet :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

Im having a sober month....i dont quite know how i havent cracked yet :p

and the worst thing is ......you WILL remember this in the morning!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

the_syco wrote: »
    No, never.

On a side note, you'll eventually not be able to remember anything longterm, aside from before you started heavy drinking, as the bridge between short-term and long-term memory will be cut.

what are you on about? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

This thread is just makin me want to get locked now.

I'm actually drinking right now, which is making this thread even better.

razorgil wrote: »
    and the worst thing is ......you WILL remember this in the morning!!;)

But will i care? Probably not ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Chao

Merkin wrote: »
    Do you think you might have a drink problem Teddy?

The way I look at it, it's a problem once you've no control over it or your doing it cause you're not happy in yourself. Sometimes it takes awhile before you realise that though and it needs to be said to you to make you think... unfortunately I had friends similar and it was encouraged so it took a lot longer to realise.
    I'd advise anyone that's doing it regularly or if the thought even enters there head that it's not good they should step back from everyone for awhile if that's what's needed and see what they think then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

The hangover part 3 ''The Irish style''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

But will i care? Probably not ;)

I , on the other hand, will not remember any of this in the morning, and will get up (eventually), wondering why i have that silly smile on my face, only to realise that i'm in groundhog day....and shall begin to manipulate the situation suitably....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I hate the spinnies when I'm drunk. I just want to vomit everywhere.

razorgil wrote: »
    I , on the other hand, will not remember any of this in the morning, and will get up (eventually), wondering why i have that silly smile on my face, only to realise that i'm in groundhog day....and shall begin to manipulate the situation suitably....:)

That sounds so sinister....

Me too. You've seen me drunk though....its not a pretty sight :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Drink is like sex, it always seems more enjoyable when other people are doing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Chao

Strangely if I was on my own at the end of the night, lying on my bed I used to actually enjoy them haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

This is usually why I walk home most nights with friends after a night out. The fresh air helps you to sober up before lying down in bed. Nothing worse than that feeling of putting your head on the pillow and suddenly the whole room is spinning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I've never drank so much so frequently and so heavily in the last two months. I remember counting up over a week of nights out, verging on becoming two, and pure and solid drinking throught them.

I also remember countless mornings of waking up and thinking how tf did I get home?

luckily I was grand and didn't embarrass myself from people filling in the blanks.

Though I'm not trearing days on end anymore, I'm still drinking heavy stuff often enough and yesterday I had massive pressure build up behind my right eye, my head was splitting, I was shaking and sweating like mad.

I didn't cop on until the day after that it must've been from finally being off the drink long enough for it to get out of my system. I'd never experienced that before.

I've a few cousins I only see once or twice a year and they were kind of put back by me and my wanting to drink constantly, no matter what day or real time of it.
    Funnily enough, it's not the first of that type of reaction I've seen from people. Though thankfully, it's not from too many people.

At points even late at night when I can't sleep I'd sometimes crave drink, and sometimes I'd go ahead. All of which have led me to develop a crap memory as of recently and it's all quite hazy. Better now I haven't been drinking in a few days though.

I don't think I've a problem with it, I'm young and I'll be grand, I just need to allocate my drinking better and more suitably I think.

Tbh, I don't quite know how this reply turned into my beer diaries :pac:

Edit: Jesus its long too!! Tl;dr -yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

1ZRed wrote: »
    I've never drank so much so frequently and so heavily in the last two months. I remember counting up over a week of nights out, verging on becoming two, and pure and solid drinking throught them.

I also remember countless mornings of waking up and thinking how tf did I get home?

luckily I was grand and didn't embarrass myself from people filling in the blanks.

Though I'm not trearing days on end anymore, I'm still drinking heavy stuff often enough and yesterday I had massive pressure build up behind my right eye, my head was splitting, I was shaking and sweating like mad.

I didn't cop on until the day after that it must've been from finally being off the drink long enough for it to get out of my system. I'd never experienced that before.

I've a few cousins I only see once or twice a year and they were kind of put back by me and my wanting to drink constantly, no matter what day or real time of it.
    Funnily enough, it's not the first of that type of reaction I've seen from people. Though thankfully, it's not from too many people.

At points even late at night when I can't sleep I'd sometimes crave drink, and sometimes I'd go ahead. All of which have led me to develop a crap memory as of recently and it's all quite hazy. Better now I haven't been drinking in a few days though.

I don't think I've a problem with it, I'm young and I'll be grand, I just need to allocate my drinking better and more suitably I think.

Tbh, I don't quite know how this reply turned into my beer diaries :pac:

Edit: Jesus its long too!! Tl;dr -yes

Don't want to judge you but I don't know how you can write all of above and say you don't think you have a problem.

Think you should just have a think about it as your 'eye' story would scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Attractive...

Bet you didn't live up to your name then ;)

I might as well have known you two would have been along for that story :D

Good time !!

Chao wrote: »
    It's all fun and games until you wake up in a bush out some random backgarden with blood on your jeans and a used tampon beside you.

Wimens have needs to chief .. just messy needs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

There are large parts of 2008 and 2009 that I can't remember. Not just parts of a night out, I mean up to whole weeks that I can't properly remember at all even now. Getting paid to get wasted with random bunches of people 5 or 6 nights a week sounds great, but the whole thing turns into a weird groundhog day experience where you can't tell one day from the other and it all ends up in an incoherent blur. At the time it was completely normal because it was just a job and I was young and having fun but it's only looking back on it do I realise how scarily far I pushed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you remember the 60's, you weren't there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

murpho999 wrote: »

Don't want to judge you but I don't know how you can write all of above and say you don't think you have a problem.

Think you should just have a think about it as your 'eye' story would scare me.

I don't believe I do. I just think I need to organise my drinking habits better instead of being more erratic with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

I can NEVER remember the end of a night when I've been drinking. it's been this way for 20 years. Fortunately I don't drink every week but when I do ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I never used to black out and then I drank once on anti biotics, now I can easily pass over into hour gaps of memory loss.

I started drinking when I was about fifteen and when I started going out at seventeen most nights would have sections of black.

Only a few times have I not known how I got home etc, thank god, but still black outa during the night.

I'm 20 now and do occasionally suffer from blurry nights but I don't drink enough to blackout. It is just a horrible feeling and in the morning you have a horrible case of booze blues :( I also avoid spirits because of black outs and fear that I'll get drunk and cheat. I turn very flirty when drunk so just try avoid it now because I love my oh so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Blackout, as in drop unconscious? No.

I've been utterly scuttered off my ballsack, but somehow I still always manage to get home to my own bed.

If I get really drunk I'll have difficulty remembering specifics - having big conversations with someone, but no idea what we talked about, or remembering going to a pub or a club but not having a clue what pub or club it was.

But I very rarely get drunk to that level anymore. Just not worth the hangover and the fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Do you blackout often from drinking?

It happened once. I even drove home it seems during it.

Once was enough. I have essentially not had drink since with a couple of small exceptions for family events and Christmas. I no longer drink at home... even reserving a glass of wine with dinner to very rare and special occasions.

Once I hit such a black out I decided alcohol just is not for me any more. It was the only decision that made sense to me at the time or since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Lately I haven't been able to stay awake long enough to black out. Any memory gaps are from falling asleep sitting upright on the sofa, as opposed to having a few too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭martomcg

I regularly suffer Brown Outs where i dont completely blank but alot of bits are missing/vague!

Full blackouts and not remembering how i got home happen after a serious session.

This whole link between black-outs and alcoholism is absolute bull****. Some people are genetically pre-disposed to getting them when they over indulge.

A big factor that causes them is a spike in blood alcohol. Like if you go from
    0-8 in an hour = blackout
    0-8 in 4 hours = no blackout

(these are just for illustration, not exact figures but hopefully you know what i'm gettin at!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I broke up with a girl I was seeing last Saturday night and I have no recollection of it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I don't blackout when I'm drinking, but that's generally because I'm not an idiot.

Oh **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I've never fully blacked out from drinking-have had moments that came floating back a week later etc, but always knew how I got home.

If blacking out's a regular occurrence you should seek help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

1ZRed wrote: »

You may be young but you mightn't necessarily be grand and that's why there is such a problem with drink in Ireland. I was a full-on and dedicated party animal back in the day and still like a glass of wine or five (and I'm in my 30s so not some relic of bygone times) but there DOES come a time when you have to modify your drinking and cop the fcuk on.

There's something very sad about heavy and uncontrolled drinking when you get to a certain age (and not that old either) and the fact that you don't think you have a problem and yet you're getting out of bed late at night to drink is denial in the extreme. So if you are in a position to modify your drinking now then do it and do it sharpish, I know too many young people who have died while pissed and it's just a desperate waste.

Just like Teddy's endless threads and posts on his drinking problem are attempts to justify to himself that getting gee-bagged every weekend to the point of losing control is somehow fun and if other people on the thread blackout all the time and confirm it's ok then he doesn't have a problem when he clearly does :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

24-25.

The age when the hangovers get worse, drinking becomes more of a problem than a laugh and you start to imagine life without alcohol.

I dont drink as much as i used to. I have really come to hate waking up with a dry mouth that feels horrible, i have to brush my teeth at least 3 times.