Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you blackout often from drinking?

• 24-01-2013 11:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I only drink during weekends and once I start I tend not to stop unfortunately so I usually black out.
    I've woken up so many times not knowing where I am just wishing I had woken up in my own bed.
    Most of the pictures I'm tagged in on nights out on facebook I have no recollection of.

Anyway you get the idea, you go for a few drinks after work. A few drinks turn into a session. A session turns into a night out. A night out turns in the another day. You're on a bender.
    If I try to think back to just last weekend. There's not an awful lot I can remember. It's not good so let's not focus on the obvious there.
    I'd just like to know how often and regularly boardsies would black out from drinking.

Are the last few years a blur to you?

Do you black out every time you drink, or maybe it never happens to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Teddy I think you have a drinking problem

*hic*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Just wait until you stop drinking Bacardi Breezers! You will be rightly fecked then Teddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

I suspect you have a drinking problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Never, can't get a hangover anymore either, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I dont blackout, quite often parts of the night can be a bit hazy though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

I drank so much water the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I'm blacked out right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

If you blackout regularly you almost certainly have a drink problem.

What do you hope to achieve from hearing that it doesn't happen just to you Teddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Its happened to me twice in my life so far

I find it scary that I can function (maybe not wonderfully - but walk around, talk, order more drink, get into nightclub etc) ..........and not remember hours of my life

Last time it frightened the life out of me......never getting into that situation again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I used to when I was younger. It's pretty rare these days that I'd have missing pieces of the night before.

I don't drink spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

That's mad Ted.

I still cringe looking back on my (thankfully few) auto-pilot moments. Mind yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

That's not normal Ted. See your GP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

err no. never. And I can drink. You need to lay off the meths teddy. I'm the lad who is still steady and aware while the others slump, I just process alcohol really fast - a bottle of wine is like a glass. I'd be a bit worried tbh if this was happening, never mind happening frequently. Does explain some of your threads though:P

If its a regular thing, its your body telling you something.

Something bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd be a binge drinker, yes. I think the problem is I feel sober at the time so I up the drinks more and more. At the time, I'm aware. It's just the next day I can't remember it after a certain point. It would be extremely rare for me to have a drink during the week. I don't really want to focus solely on my drinking. I'm not arguing the fact that I'm consuming too much.

I'm just interested in hearing others experiences.

I know a lot of people who would be in the same boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I once drank a bottle of jack. Perfect memory and got to work the next day.

I don't think I could manage half that nowadays and that was only a few years ago.

Don't listen to them Teddy, your drinking is just fine. Sure After Hours would be boring if you didnt drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Yep started happening regularly back in my late twenties, I took as a sign that I was clearly drinking too much so cut back a lot.....fun times though on the bits I do remember :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Teddy it`s just your body telling you that it does not like alcohol anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Why bother drinking on a night out if you wont remember it? I can never understand it.

Ive experienced it twice, both occasions being within the space of a month at a time I was under a lot of stress and im in my mid 30s now.

Youre spending money and getting nothing out of it and leaving yourself open to a whole lot of woe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

You'll grow out of it Ted (not trying to be condescending here btw)

Between the age of say, 23-29 I too was definitely more than fond of a few socials, the 2/3 pints post-work quickly would turn into not going home for dinner/landing in drunk as a fool around midnight, then getting up for work next morning.

Weekends were a blur, pub on sat at opening times, dreck until five or so, home for a few hours Kipp and freshen up, then back out around 8/9 for am all nighter!

I've seen me missing Mondays due to beer, then missing Tuesdays due to Mondays escapades.

I've been knocked down and almost killed while drunk, split up with two long term gfs while pissed, or as a direct result of being drunk to often.

Thankfully I've never lost a job due to the drink.

Now however, yeah I still drink, maybe even too much still, but now it tens to be a half a dozen cans or so on av Fri or Saturday night, (maybe a couple on a Sunday but that's it.)

I've also stopped the pre-drink ritual we always had, as in getting locked in the house before you actually go to the pub.

Before long it will dawn on you, moderation is definitely better than excess with drink, an evening out is, (well, in my opinion) much more enjoyable having had a 'few' rather than a few too many.

Don't worry to much about blacking out etc for now, try controlling what you're drinking first, the rest should take care of itself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Chao

It happened to me on a weekly basis from the ages of 18-23. I'm late 20s now and don't look back at it to fondly at all.

Ireland has a huge problem with the way alcohol is viewed. It's easy to say nip it in the bud but you know yourself it's not right and you should really start doing whatever you have to do to prevent it, for your own sanity more than anything else IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

No, but I often stumble home alone feeling pretty fcuking bereft for some reason, in sharp contrast n that's kinda like one big blackout... else catch at taxi n cry on the wizards shoulder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

it has never happened to me but i get temporary memory less when ive been at the black bush

A good glass of shirley bassey never did anyone harm, you're just doing it wrong

I don't blackout when I'm drinking, but that's generally because I'm not an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

All these people who are saying the OP has a drink problem or should see a doctor are taking ****e to be honest.

I have a similar problem.

When I was younger I used to go out more often and get plastered at weekends and they were often hazy.

Now older (and a little wiser). Drink doesn't really do it for me any more and I'd only go out maybe once a month or so.

A few pints is grand but if I do get a bit jarred then I find my memory can be very hazy the next day and if it turns into a session I can have major gaps.

Perfect example, is my work Christmas party where I did drink too much and have major gaps in the night.

Really don't like it all and it turns me off drink completely as I don't like the feeling of "did I do anything wrong last night" and how one can be doing things for a prolonged period of time and not remember it at all. Scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

MarkMc wrote: »
    A good glass of shirley bassey never did anyone harm, you're just doing it wrong

its grand for the first 5 or 6 but gets hazy after that, especially as i chase it with guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I don't blackout when I'm drinking, but that's generally because I'm not an idiot.

Well la de da

Happens to me pretty regularly, get something to eat in the middle of your drinking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Chao

So people who drink to much are all idiots??

Harsh! I'm not talking about passing out you know that right?
    You have never had memory lose from drinking, ever?

If you were to pick a nightclub like Coppers for example, I'd be willing to bet that at the very least 25% of the clientele will have memory loss the following day.

If I drink way too much I will either fall asleep of far less likely Ill get sick (and continue to drink after). In the case of sleep I know its going to happen at least an hour before and Ill get myself to a bed.If I was to keep drinking for a few days non stop I get to a merryish stage where I don't ever actually get drunk drunk.

I don't want to derail you're thread but why spend a fortune drinking if you wont remember it?
    The two times it did happen me it freaked me out completely and I cut way back on the alcohol for a good while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Don't forget that €100 you borrowed from me last weekend Teddy. You were a bit hazy at the time, but I knew you'd be good for it.;)

Akrasia wrote: »
    I'm blacked out right now

Quick, someone shave his eyebrow off and write 'cock' on his forehead :pac:

murpho999 wrote: »
    All these people who are saying the OP has a drink problem or should see a doctor are taking ****e to be honest.

I have a similar problem.

It's not for anyone else to decide but the OP, and he's concerned enough to ask for opinions. He's blacking out on a regular basis and seems to have little control over the amount he drinks. None of that is ok.

It's dangerous on a few different levels, and if something bad happens his health or he drinks so much he puts himself unwittingly in a dangerous situation, then tackling it now is good advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Yup, happens me loads.

Got pretty bad at one point. I don't remember being 19. At all.

I'm told it was fun though!

One other thing I often do forget stuff but if mentioned I remember it or I might have an alcohol induced sleep whereby I have some completely banal dream like I bumped into someone ive not seen in a while and next morning im not completely sure it was a dream or if it happened. I view this as different and not as worrying as actual memory loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

sack me?!? I MADE the BBC!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

I have that problem too id used to black out after about 7-8 pints now i find if you have a big feed an hour before you go out you'll be fine and the only way id black out after that would be if i hit the spirits, How the eating teddy?

Balmed Out wrote: »
    One other thing I often do forget stuff but if mentioned I remember it or I might have an alcohol induced sleep whereby I have some completely banal dream like I bumped into someone ive not seen in a while and next morning im not completely sure it was a dream or if it happened. I view this as different and not as worrying as actual memory loss.

I think you're me tbh!

I'd like to +1 that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Harsh! I'm not talking about passing out you know that right?
    You have never had memory lose from drinking, ever?

If you were to pick a nightclub like Coppers for example, I'd be willing to bet that at the very least 25% of the clientele will have memory loss the following day.

I'd be a little more concerned about waking up covered in vaseline after being in coppers but .. each to there own ..

Not blacked out now, had a few saucy night last year on jack daniels, mid week tipples etc, that led to me being brought home, and drooling JD on the pillow... no memory loss, well not really !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

I'd be a little more concerned about waking up covered in vaseline after being in coppers but .. each to there own ..

Not blacked out now, had a few saucy night last year on jack daniels, mid week tipples etc, that led to me being brought home, and drooling JD on the pillow... no memory loss, well not really !

Attractive...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Bet you didn't live up to your name then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I had one night that I was really bad. I never get hangovers, I got one this time, I was dying.

I drank my usual amount, apart from a friend ordering shots...that was bad news. So now I steer well clear of shots, and stick to what I know I can handle. After the last time I couldn't drink vodka for a month. I still don't really drink it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Drank a litre of Morgans last year...complete wash out...blacked out, woke up in my wardrobe no recollection of what happened. I dont drink that much anymore, its not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I used to blackout all the time when i drank a lot of cider, one time after two 2 litres of old english cider i was awoken by a driver on the road as i must have blacked out and collapsed in the middle of the road and another time i was on cider i remember walking home but i was at the back roads of the airport and sat down to roll a cigarette and all i remember after that was standing in a field in the middle of nowhere miles from where i first rolled the cigarette. After that i never had a blackout again cause i gave up the cider.

Watch it man if you are having black-outs because it can be damn dangerous. Drink responsibly.

Thanks Ghandee im always a bit disturbed about my boring drunk dreams, I could have a crazy hangover style bender then dream about a bull**** conversation in a taxi rank with someone ive not seen in years, Its a bit of a come down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I only drink during weekends and once I start I tend not to stop unfortunately so I usually black out.
    I've woken up so many times not knowing where I am just wishing I had woken up in my own bed.
    Most of the pictures I'm tagged in on nights out on facebook I have no recollection of.

Anyway you get the idea, you go for a few drinks after work. A few drinks turn into a session. A session turns into a night out. A night out turns in the another day. You're on a bender.
    If I try to think back to just last weekend. There's not an awful lot I can remember. It's not good so let's not focus on the obvious there.
    I'd just like to know how often and regularly boardsies would black out from drinking.

No.I had a few pints tonight and I'mmmmmmmm

Balmed Out wrote: »
    If I drink way too much I will either fall asleep of far less likely Ill get sick (and continue to drink after). In the case of sleep I know its going to happen at least an hour before and Ill get myself to a bed.If I was to keep drinking for a few days non stop I get to a merryish stage where I don't ever actually get drunk drunk.

I don't want to derail you're thread but why spend a fortune drinking if you wont remember it?
    The two times it did happen me it freaked me out completely and I cut way back on the alcohol for a good while.
    But I'm not intending to have memory loss. It just happens. It's hard to prevent it for me at least in nightclubs. You get there after being in a taxi from the pub and start lashing them back because you're feeling good. Someone buys a round of shots, everyone buys back. Then you out drink someone you're in a round in and get yourself another. While half way through that drink they're back with yours.
    As an example a few months ago I went back to a girls house who I met. We were chatting for a while and she kept pouring me wine. I can remember talking to her, dancing (ugh) with her in the nightclub.
    I woke up in her bed naked the next day and still have no idea if we had sex or not. If I thought I was so drunk that I was falling unconscious I'd obviously have thought not, but I know I was reasonably ok up until a certain point.
    There's some really weird stuff actually. I had another story typed out too but it's just too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

You sound a lot like myself OP, often wake up the next morning and remembering nothing from the last few hours from the night before, I often find out after that I did or said something stupid, not fun at all. Sound like it happens from the same thing too, I go out saying I wont drink to much as I dont want it to happen again but then I feel sober and I have another and another and then I'm to drunk, I find it hard to stay in that drunken sweet spot :)

Do you drink your drinks quickly OP? I do and I think this is part of the problem, If you drink your first few drinks quick it's hard to slow down after that.

Some of my friends no matter how drunk they get they never black out, drink affects everybody differently.