Kerry CC support permit system which allows rural people drink and drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

What this IS doing is glossing over the fact that there is a problem with rural social isolation. It is a problem.

People of the older generation, the pub is the social hub. They have done it for years, and drink driving, and it's laws have seriously impacted on this.

However, that generation do need to adapt to changing conditions. It is down to this generation to help them.

Pubs could organise a minibus. They could arrange reduced fares with local taxis. The bingo bus could be used for nights when bingo isn't running. Designated drivers could/should be encouraged. Maybe suggest to a group of oul fellas that they could take it in turns driving.

I doubt the "Go over to Paddies, and sleep on the sofa" idea will be a runner, I'm ok with that, you might be ok with that, but at 60/70 odd years of age, your bones wouldn't appreciate a night on the sofa.

Of the replies from the Kerry Coco counsellers I've received, none of them were present, for various reasons, ranging from illness to letting colleagues go early due to poor weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just heard this on the BBC News, sounds absolutely ridiculous, and makes me wonder what people from outside of Ireland think about us. Can see the stupid paddy stereo type coming out as a result.

A permit that allows you to drive slowly because you have had a few drinks, have heard it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No wonder there is loads of kerry men jokes :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

...and dysfunctional planning laws of the last 50 yrs.

People in rural areas do not have the same access to public transport or taxis as people from more settled areas. I know that my mother, for example, cannot get a taxi to run her to mass on a sunday about 5Km away from the village where she lives and it is impractical for her to walk as ther are no footpaths or lighting etc. The local taxi service has hinted thath the run is not long enough to be worth it and she is left waiting....they never refuse but they never arrive to get her there on time.

People in rural areas have got used to a lax level of enforcement until the last 10 years or so but now must get over the loss of spontaneous, unplanned access to social drinking opportunities. These msut now be planned and budgetted for. Most people are familiar with bingo busses and many country dance bands find no problem arranging busses so it could be done for pub frequenters with a little skill and imagination.

These are sadly lacking in many rural publicans I have known.

It is done in Scotland and other similarly sparsely poulated areas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

I'll be retiring in Kerry. I suspect the retirement home business will rocket also. This will of course have a huge knock on effect and provide a massive jobs boost for local people eastern Europeans working in construction and in pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Paranoid1

Congrats to Ireland on replacing the USA as the dumbest nation on earth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

dorgasm wrote: »
    I can't believe this. I didn't think that this country could become any more backward. People need to stop voting for these idiots.

http://www.radiokerry.ie/news/kerry-county-councillor-support-permit-system-which-would-allow-rural-people-drink-in-moderation-and-drive/
    I wish danny healy rae would re invest some of the millions he received from Kerry co co for plant hire, and invest in a minibus to take he's customers home!

Problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

CruelCoin wrote: »
    OP,

Most country people drink drive. .

Eh, no they don't :confused: Obviously there are some, but MOST do not. My father goes down to our local every Saturday night- he's a pioneer so just goes for the company, not the drink. This notion of having to have a pint or 3 to socialise is as worrying as DHR wanting people to be allowed to drive after 3 pints. Anyway, as regards my father's friends who do drink- none of them drink and drive. They get a lift from someone, often their wives or another neighbour.
    Kerry County Council have about as much influence on the drafting of drink driving laws as I have.

Total non-story.

That may be true, but it's bloody scary to think that there are people out there who were elected in the 21st century who hold opinions like DHR.
    efb wrote: »
    I lived in rural Ireland 7 miles to town.

Taxis are available. People to scabby to use them and publicans want the money spent in their pub.

I lived a similar distance away, maybe a bit more, til I bought my own place in a big town. Never had a problem getting a taxi. Granted, it was expensive, but if I was short on money I just drove myself and didn't drink. Again, it IS possible to socialise without alcohol (and I say that as someone who thoroughly enjoys a good session).
    What this IS doing is glossing over the fact that there is a problem with rural social isolation. It is a problem.

People of the older generation, the pub is the social hub. They have done it for years, and drink driving, and it's laws have seriously impacted on this.

However, that generation do need to adapt to changing conditions. It is down to this generation to help them.

Pubs could organise a minibus. They could arrange reduced fares with local taxis. The bingo bus could be used for nights when bingo isn't running. Designated drivers could/should be encouraged. Maybe suggest to a group of oul fellas that they could take it in turns driving.

I doubt the "Go over to Paddies, and sleep on the sofa" idea will be a runner, I'm ok with that, you might be ok with that, but at 60/70 odd years of age, your bones wouldn't appreciate a night on the sofa.

Of the replies from the Kerry Coco counsellers I've received, none of them were present, for various reasons, ranging from illness to letting colleagues go early due to poor weather.

Absolutely. I'm not saying that we should say to older people out there "sure get over it, times change". We need to be able to come up with ideas in order to help them adapt to these changes. I know that the GAA have set up a Social Initiative in conjunction with Mary and Martin McAleese to help elderly men who feel isolated, but I think the government could do more for those in rural areas too. I genuinely think a lot of posters her don't have a clue what rural living is like. One poster saying something like "well you have to expect facilities not to be as good as if you lived in town"- fair enough, and there are benefits to rural living too of course- but you also shouldn't feel totally isolated. Obviously DHR's ideas are mental, but there should be some sort of scheme where communities co-operate together to help those who feel most alone. That's true in urban areas too, but it's more pressing in rural areas where transport is a major issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

doolox wrote: »

People in rural areas do not have the same access to public transport or taxis as people from more settled areas. I know that my mother, for example, cannot get a taxi to run her to mass on a sunday about 5Km away from the village where she lives and it is impractical for her to walk as ther are no footpaths or lighting etc. The local taxi service has hinted thath the run is not long enough to be worth it and she is left waiting....they never refuse but they never arrive to get her there on time.
    I'm not doubting your story but I have to say it takes a monumentally moronic taxidriver to turn down clean hassle-free work like that.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sunday Morning- busy time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Its unbelievable!

Even the remotest parts of rural Ireland are not that remote in reality

I recognise that the pub is the main if not the only social outlet in some parts of the country but this really takes the biscuit.

I think they should have a video conference with a county council (or equivalent) in Iceland or Canada and find out how they manage. There are places that are genuinely remote there.

Those councillors have the creativity and ingenuity of a piece of aeroboard. I doubt they can spell progressive never mind be it.

A simpler solution would be to implement a designated driver system - with free non-alcoholic drinks offered for the designated driver
    Or make an arrangement with a local cab firm to have a mini bus service.

Either of these solutions would cut down on pollution, petrol costs for the punters and most importantly prevent any drink related driving accidents.

The latter option could also lead to a boost to local employment. I realise some of the pub goers may live in the back of beyonds but the bus option would be more social.
    It would actually be good that someone else sees the pub goers home. If the roads are genuinely really quiet and unused one of them could be lying in a ditch for a day or two before anyone happens upon them.

I feel the need to clarify my posts since so many of you have taken what I've said the wrong way.
    I don't agree with this proposal but I don't think many of the contributors here understand the situation. It's all well and good from the outside looking in telling everyone it's a black and white issue when it just isn't as clear cut as that. It's a deep rooted problem that won't go away unless something is put in place to counteract it. The point that I've made that is causing the most confusion is that people are drink driving and it's not the sensationalist dangerous behaviour that some are making it out to be. They are over the limit, but not drunk. That's not to say it's correct or should be excused due to circumstances but it's not deserving of being labeled neanderthal behaviour.

The same law and limit levels apply to everyone. They're unlikely to be stopped at a checkpoint in the back of beyonds but that doesn't mean that we should be making measures to facilitate drink driving. Its also pretty dodgy to try and write in exceptions because of location. Its strengthening the urban -rural divide. It would certainly make me less sympathetic to any rural issues raised in the oireachteas.

Carrying on turning a blind eye isn't great either but fairly typically Irish I suppose.
    I don't see why they would request special treatment for something as stupid as this

My main question is whether this is something constituents have asked for or whether it just publican Healy-Rae's own agenda?
    With more and more elderly people in rural areas being violenty robbed and many local amenities gone by the wayside I could think of better ways of forging community links.

To be honest evening living in a city you can limited options re getting home if you choose to socialise outside of your immediate environment.

Incidentally one of my friends lives in rural Kerry a different part to these bums and their local pub provide a mini-van service. The punters pay a couple of euro and get home safely. Also, as I've already said the bus is more social

Its also laughable that they're portraying alcohol as a solution to feelings of isolation and depression.

Seriously, I wish someone would pass a motion to prevent the Healy-Raes from breeding.They are bringing down the national IQ

doolox wrote: »
    ...and dysfunctional planning laws of the last 50 yrs.

People in rural areas have got used to a lax level of enforcement until the last 10 years or so but now must get over the loss of spontaneous, unplanned access to social drinking opportunities. These msut now be planned and budgetted for. Most people are familiar with bingo busses and many country dance bands find no problem arranging busses so it could be done for pub frequenters with a little skill and imagination.

These are sadly lacking in many rural publicans I have known.

It is done in Scotland and other similarly sparsely poulated areas

This is very true but the council should be looking at solutions to the public transport issue not suggesting that we should go easy on the country lads
    Let them have their few pints and drive home.

If the area has no taxi service then the council could organise a survey to provide justification for one. One that could be used during the day by the elderly, people with disabilities etc. and then have the secondary function of covering the pub run.

Rural pubs can mostly get away with staying open past closing time so I don't buy that they would lose out on revenue massively if they provide a solution to the transport issue.

They'll be looking to reverse the smoking ban next.

Either they're subject to the same laws as the rest of us or they're not. If not, then I want compensation. Why should I be penalised for being an urban dweller.

If the council really wanted to think outside the box they could do a bit of research into school bus and disability transport services that have been cut in rural areas in the last few years. See if there is a way that these vehicles could be used for the after pub run to raise vital funding for these services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

I have texted DHR requesting that he resign. May I request that everyone do this

His publically available mobile phone number is here, at bottom of the letter from MHR:

http://www.constituency-commission.ie/docs/11.004%20-%20Michael%20Healy-Rae%20TD%20-%20South%20Kerry.pdf

Or 087 231 6055

irish-stew wrote: »
    Just heard this on the BBC News, sounds absolutely ridiculous, and makes me wonder what people from outside of Ireland think about us. Can see the stupid paddy stereo type coming out as a result.

A permit that allows you to drive slowly because you have had a few drinks, have heard it all now.

Fairly stupid alright but I wouldn't worry about it too much.
    A clip from Halls Pictorial Weekly is doing the rounds on facebook as actual footage from Irish news.
    Kerry County Council's muppetry doesn't help to dispel any stereotypes but the news in the UK seek out these ridiculous stories anyway.

I'd rather they all have a chuckle at us refusing to give up our drink than wonder why we're knocking lumps out of each other over a flag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

George Hook (I know, I know :rolleyes: ) interviewed several people on his show today about the issue. One of them was the head of some vintners association based in Kerry. GH asked him about the possibility of publicans in rural areas laying on some sort of transport for their patrons. Dude said that over the Christmas period, a shuttle service was in place in Kerry (he didn't say where exactly) but it didn't work as their were issues with getting the old codgers to put down their pints, and leave the pubs when the shuttle buses home were leaving. Because obviously, users of public transport should not have to arrange their drinking around a bus drivers schedule. What on earth were they thinking?

Seriously, you couldn't make this stuff up ! :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭CorkBabe33

Oh brilliant - as if we need to reinforce the "Drunk Paddy" stereotype worldwide! The Healy-Rae's are an embarrassment, but those who constantly vote for them are worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

This sort of thing drives me mental - it's unbelieveably stupid and gives a terrible image of our country when it hits foreign papers. Plus the Healy-Raes and their ilk are paid by us to come out with this nonsense. Did anyone hear the people arguing in favour of this on the Colm Hayes show earlier?

I genuinely do sympathise with people suffering isolation because they live in rural areas. My grandad would be totally lost if he didn't have the local pub to go to (thankfully, though, he has people who can drop & collect him). Their generation only ever socialised through the pub - they rarely ring each other to meet up, but they all just go to the pub on a Friday night, it's the done thing.

But it's completely and utterly ridiculous to suggest that an old man's right to drink is more important than anyone else's right to use the roads safely. When you drink-drive, it's not just yourself you're putting at risk; it's everyone on the roads. And it is incredibly selfish to do that.

What we need to do here is find an alternative solution - provide incentives for taxi drivers to travel those routes, introduce mini-bus services from pubs/villages or encourage car-pooling (cheap/free soft drinks for designated drivers or something). Or, we could address the actual issue - the fact that alcohol is the centre of our society. If these old men are so isolated - why can't they go to the pub and not drink alcohol? Why can't they meet up elsewhere, for that matter? It's ingrained, but we could/should work as a society to change this. We just don't want to.

Finally, it'd be a very very dangerous precedent to set if we said the law was different for farmers in Kerry than for everyone else. From there, what's stopping us relaxing other laws for other population groups? And what happens to "everyone is equal in the eyes of the law"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Can you imagine any other place in the world were the bus driver would hang around just so the patrons can finish their pints ? The more I read the more I cringe and as mentioned , you couldn't make it up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

Ranicand wrote: »

Sure they are from Kerry what can we expect?

And before anybody starts trying to defend the hicks they voted for this their stupidly is on record for all to see.

Before u paint all people of kerry as hicks , they didn't vote for those dopes in the council . Good old Irish politics who feather their nests most of these guys were co- opted in the seats because daddy /uncle /cousin either died, retired or got a seat in the dail or got the golden goose of a senators job ... All the partys have done this from across our parties .... The feckers who abstained are just as bad they should hang their heads in shame .... I bet they are all tut tutting now and coming up with great excuses

There is a problem in rural Ireland , it is dying off .
    There are NO outlets /social area. The days of dance halls, dancing at the crossroads are long gone . Community is dying off because of stupid planning laws by same councils making families jump over barrels for planning applications yet for others one off summer homes were given the go-ahead,,, kerry for example in the summer or west cork is beautiful in winter it is desolate ...
    The publicans milked it in for years money crowds came handy for them ... But HOW DARE Healy ray blame lack of Drink in pubs for loneliness and suicide ..

Self interests and conflicts of interests are now marring this debate . Well done Healy Rae's and your like . We as a country have a lot to be proud of ... NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'd be in favour of it, however with the kicker that anyone who does have this permit is given a milkfloat that is painted bright orange. This is their only form of transport they are allowed. It is restricted to 7.5 mph and has six flashing warning lights on it. It also has a sign on the side saying "I'm a selfish cunt"

Let's see how many want a permit then.

As a suggestion, I notice that my local county can charge me with DUI for riding a horse drunk (quite a rural horse-y area) but I can legally ride a donkey home shitfaced. Perhaps we should put these donkeys on donkeys to get home.

I think the Healy-Rae's are from the Ryanair school of self promotion. I am not even slightly surprised by his antics.
    Its just kind of sad that the motion would be passed.

To be honest if we're talking about elderly drivers they may very well have never sat a driving test in their lives.
    I'd be wary enough of their driving without drink taken

Drink driving permits cannot be the ultimate solution for isolation in rural areas or lousy public transport or a whole host of other things.

Nobody was too happy when the NCT was introduced. It can seem like a bit of a con some of the time but it has erradicated complete bangers from our roads. I presume this in turn has helped with road safety.
    If we're to apply the same logic that Kerry CoCo have in this case then people from rural areas shouldn't have to have their cars tested as they're driving on quiet roads and have little to no access to public transport.

If we keep going with that approach there'll be people with permits for all manner of nonsense.

MadsL wrote: »
    I'd be in favour of it, however with the kicker that anyone who does have this permit is given a milkfloat that is painted bright orange. This is their only form of transport they are allowed. It is restricted to 7.5 mph and has six flashing warning lights on it. It also has a sign on the side saying "I'm a selfish cu[SIZE="2"]nt[/SIZE]"

As a suggestion, I notice that my local county can charge me with DUI for riding a horse drunk (quite a rural horse-y area) but I can legally ride a donkey home s[SIZE="2"]hitf[/SIZE]aced. Perhaps we should put these donkeys on donkeys to get home.
    Plus they should be tazered every 5 seconds to make sure they don't doze off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Their budget should be slashed for this.

Axel Lamp wrote: »
    I have texted DHR requesting that he resign. May I request that everyone do this

His publically available mobile phone number is here, at bottom of the letter from MHR:

http://www.constituency-commission.ie/docs/11.004%20-%20Michael%20Healy-Rae%20TD%20-%20South%20Kerry.pdf

Or 087 231 6055
    I have done the same.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Who the **** keeps voting for those fools? honestly? From Kerry and don't know one person who actually votes/or takes notice of those clowns. Must be those south kerry folk or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭kerryjack

CorkBabe33 wrote: »
    Oh brilliant - as if we need to reinforce the "Drunk Paddy" stereotype worldwide! The Healy-Rae's are an embarrassment, but those who constantly vote for them are worse...

Now i think we are known as broke paddy, i think we all know that this thing is stupid and who is going to take it serious .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

I'd be in favour of it, however with the kicker that anyone who does have this permit is given a milkfloat that is painted bright orange. This is their only form of transport they are allowed. It is restricted to 7.5 mph and has six flashing warning lights on it. It also has a sign on the side saying "I'm a selfish cunt"

As a suggestion, I notice that my local county can charge me with DUI for riding a horse drunk (quite a rural horse-y area) but I can legally ride a donkey home shitfaced. Perhaps we should put these donkeys on donkeys to get home.

Donkeys or a Kawasaki MULE. One of the small privately owned Caribean islands uses these small 4x4 yokes to ferry drunken gentry to and from house parties.

http://www.atvriders.com/atvmodels/kawasaki-2011-mule-4010-trans-4x4-diesel-utility-vehicle-utv.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Brilliant. Best post yet!