Mother jailed for not sending her three daughters to school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

gbee wrote: »

OH! The implications!

So tell all, why did YOU not want to go to school?

I can't answer for Kylith, but I can tell you why I didn't want to go to school-

Because I was a child, and I didn't foresee at the time that not only was school necessary for my academic development, but also my social development, not to mention that a good education would open up more possibilities for me in the future and give me access to opportunities I wouldn't have had if my parents had abdicated their responsibilities and not given a fiddlers that I wanted to drop out of school.

Too many times I see parents who can't see further than the end of their own noses and choose to go with the default option of what's easier for them, rather than what's better for their children. I'm fine with the idea that an adult can be happy with their own life, but when you are charged with responsibility for a child- don't close off THEIR opportunities and expect that just because an adult can convince themselves that "I did alright", that a child in 20 years time will think the same way.

That's a lot of the reason why we have adult education classes now- to give adults from previous generations the opportunities they didn't have growing up, to give these adults a chance to better themselves and make more of their lives than just coasting from one day to the next feeling like they're "doing alright", when they have the potential to do so much better for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Just speaking from my own experience of this phenomenon, where parents are lackadaisical about sending their kids to school, the most common underlying reason is that the parents just couldn't be bothered.

Sadly true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭jenniferalan

Czarcasm wrote: »

Just speaking from my own experience of this phenomenon, where parents are lackadaisical about sending their kids to school, the most common underlying reason is that the parents just couldn't be bothered. In cases where I've seen this happen, the school would've made every effort to work with the parents to get the kids to school, social workers would've intervened and tried to help, but the response from a lot of parents in my experience is "yeah well I'm taking my kids out of that school anyway!".

I attended a meeting before Christmas where the parents of a family were neglecting sending their children to school. It was the final straw in months of intervention from the school, social workers, and even the Gardai were represented at the meeting to try and help the parents. I felt after the meeting that they had defiantly thumbed their noses up at "the system", coming out with classics like "you won't take my children away from me", etc.

Their children's attendance is being monitored now, but they're not far from where this case ended up. So for those that say "must be more to this story", there certainly is- the articles mention nothing about the behind the scenes efforts that would've been made by all concerned for the children's welfare, and those concerned having to listen to cliches like "I'm a good parent, don't question my parenting skills, you're interfering in something you know nothing about", ad nauseum.

The parents are convinced "the system is against them", and "the system" is the problem. It could never be as simple surely as they're just too disinterested in their child's welfare to make the effort to see that they get a good education? Surely not?

Actually, it is. And some people just need to grow up and take some responsibility for their children's behaviour.

I couldn't agree more. The article fails to mention the education welfare board and the work it does liasing with parents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

You make a very good argument, but i still feel jail was too harsh.

but often times the parents put up a resistance to that help, and because the children are the primary concern, you have to effectively take the parents out of the equation, by taking the children into care, or in this case, jailing the parents for one month

But if as you say all avenues had been exhausted, surely a court appearence and a warning from the judge of jailtime or some coummuity work or making the parents sign some sort of agreement or attend the school at 8.50am to sign a document of attendance and if signing is missed one day then jail the parents. Is better than flat out jailing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

I can't answer for Kylith, but I can tell you why I didn't want to go to school-.

You make a very good case for postponing school tbh. OR, for reorganising school totally.

By your words the implication is that a group of adults felt they missed out in school and so went to adult education.

So that's what's missing in school from kindergarten, a pupil's interest.

I'm all for teaching the child, not the class TBH. I was lucky to have had a liberal education and I was not held back in early school and skipped a few classes and I also enjoyed a private science tuition as one of the nun's was a biologist and we often chatted after school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

But if as you say all avenues had been exhausted, surely a court appearence and a warning from the judge of jailtime or some coummuity work or making the parents sign some sort of agreement or attend the school at 8.50am to sign a document of attendance and if signing is missed one day then jail the parents. Is better than flat out jailing them

It says in the article that the mother had already been in court and had a suspended sentence for the same thing. The judge just activated it this time because she still wasn't making them go to school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

matrim wrote: »
    It says in the article that the mother had already been in court and had a suspended sentence for the same thing. The judge just activated it this time because she still wasn't making them go to school

i still feel jail was too much tho, maybe thats just me

The judge didn't flat out jail them though, he acted on a previous judgement that was
    suspended, so even THEN the judge and all involved didn't want to act on it-
    But a judge sentenced her to 28 days after being told there was no medical evidence of their illnesses or a bullying complaint.

Activating a previous suspended sentence for keeping her children at home, Judge David McHugh said her household was "chaotic".

A warrant was also issued for her husband when he failed to appear in Blanchardstown District Court to answer similar charges.

The accused, who cannot be named, admitted failing to ensure her children attended school for up to 36pc of the September to December term.

The articles make no mention either of the amount of school the children had missed in previous terms, so from the start of the new school term in September, three children from the same family missed a month in school out of three. That could hardly be justifiably allowed to continue surely?

Not directed at anyone here specifically, but how many times have we seen in the same newspapers articles about children that have been failed by "the system", yet when all resources are exhausted, and when left with no other option, the parents are jailed for a month (there was a bench warrant issued for the father's arrest), people are saying it was harsh and will do nothing?

What else would they suggest be done for these children? Because the parents would have been offered every support available to them already. They just chose not to avail of it. Maybe a jail sentence might wake them up a bit and get through to them when nothing else seems to have worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

There is a certain sub section of society that do not send their children to school. Have many prosecutions taken place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The judge didn't flat out jail them though, he acted on a previous judgement that was
    suspended, so even THEN the judge and all involved didn't want to act on it-

The articles make no mention either of the amount of school the children had missed in previous terms, so from the start of the new school term in September, three children from the same family missed a month in school out of three. That could hardly be justifiably allowed to continue surely?

Not directed at anyone here specifically, but how many times have we seen in the same newspapers articles about children that have been failed by "the system", yet when all resources are exhausted, and when left with no other option, the parents are jailed for a month (there was a bench warrant issued for the father's arrest), people are saying it was harsh and will do nothing?

What else would they suggest be done for these children? Because the parents would have been offered every support available to them already. They just chose not to avail of it. Maybe a jail sentence might wake them up a bit and get through to them when nothing else seems to have worked.

So you consider that now that their mother has been locked up for a non violent offence the system can be shown to be working for these children!

Imprisonment for an offence of this nature should not be an option available to the judge. It serves no purpose, does nothing for the family involved, and adds to our overcrowded prison system.

You make a very good case for postponing school tbh. OR, for reorganising school totally.

By your words the implication is that a group of adults felt they missed out in school and so went to adult education.

So that's what's missing in school from kindergarten, a pupil's interest.

I made no case for postponing school, I made the case that parents should be more responsible for their children and not default to what makes their life easier. As parents it is their responsibility to ensure what is best for their children, not what their children think is best for themselves.

That's what has happened in this case- the parents have decided to let the children parent themselves, and it hasn't worked out well so far, as the children fail to see the consequences their actions now will have on their future. For now they seem perfectly happy to sit at home as opposed to going into school and educating themselves to be able to avail of better opportunities in the future.

I'm all for teaching the child, not the class TBH. I was lucky to have had a liberal education and I was not held back in early school and skipped a few classes and I also enjoyed a private science tuition as one of the nun's was a biologist and we often chatted after school.

Idealism is all fine and good when you're not constrained by things like the curriculum, budgets, legal requirements, and many other aspects of education that you failed to take into account in your "one teacher per child" theory. Have you even considered how much that would cost?

You cannot base policy making decisions on the anecdotal evidence of one. You were lucky, so was I- my mother was a primary school teacher who home-schooled us at weekends and during school term holidays.

But such a closed system would not work for the majority. In fact your theory falls down on so many fronts that I don't have enough time to go into why such an individualistic approach to education could never work.

So you consider that now that their mother has been locked up for a non violent offence the system can be shown to be working for these children!

How many times does it have to be said that nobody wanted to see the parents locked up? If any good is to come of this, it will be that the parents might take responsibility for their children and see that they attend school and be given the opportunity to get an education the same as most other children of their age. I never said the system was perfect, but if it can even be shown to these children that actions have consequences, then I see that as a good thing. I'm all fine with the "I'll do what I like, when I like" mentality, as long as the people that hold this mantra understand that their actions have consequences. Most responsible adults understand this, and impart it upon their children. These parents were teaching their children that they don't have to do anything they don't want to do, and now their children are learning that decisions they make in life can have both positive short term consequences, and long term negative consequences.

Imprisonment for an offence of this nature should not be an option available to the judge. It serves no purpose, does nothing for the family involved, and adds to our overcrowded prison system.

It's been shown to serve it's purpose in the past, but the reason it's very rarely heard about is because it's very rarely implemented. As for the overcrowded prison system- it's not as if we can't squeeze in two more, and it's only for a month, the same amount of time their children missed out on in school just in one term alone. Let's try and keep some perspective- it's not as if they got a life sentence and were thrown in the violent offenders wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ireland's courts are an absolute f*cking joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

I blame the parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Idealism is all fine and good when you're not constrained by things like the curriculum, budgets, legal requirements, and many other aspects of education that you failed to take into account in your "one teacher per child" theory. Have you even considered how much that would cost?

Also, how is "teaching the child, not the class" going to educate the child in social interactions? My little rural primary school in the 80s, with all classes sharing 4 rooms, taught me communication skills, i.e. how to explain a new idea to the younger children & how to understand a new idea from the older ones, and through all of this, it taught me patience and how to get on with people.

In that case an investigation into the school should be ordered immediately. It raises the question why the children would not want to go to school.

Massive overreaction. Lots of kids don't want to go to school and its no reflection on the school.

The mother has a history of neglecting her kids education, was warned she'd go to prison if she wasn't more diligent at getting her kids to school, decided to compromise her kids opportunities by letting them stay home in her 'chaotic' household - often a euphemism for a house with no rules, bad parents and other challenges. As a result, she's got to face the consequences of ignoring that second chance.

For once the system has worked and followed through, I really don't see the problem here.

I hope this is well publicised and serves as a warning to all the parents who won't get out of bed to make sure the kids get to school on time. Fail and its prison, as it should be when you're talking about a childs whole life being affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

While the mother is at fault and does deserve to be punished, sending her to prison is way to excessive.

How is putting the mother in with hardened criminals going to achieve anything.

The resources they are going to spend putting this woman in prison could have been spent making sure she abides by the courts ruling.

It sickens me that someone like this goes to prison when others well more deserving dont.

The people who scammed Ireland for millions up on millions are sitting pretty, living their luxury lifestyles with everything in the wifes name. What these people did had an impact on everyone in Ireland. A mother who didnt send her 3 daughters to school hasnt in my books committed a heinous crime - she is a bad mother yes, but not a criminal.

Neglecting a childs education is wrong, but there are alot of people out there that dont even feed or look after thier childern at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I see reading skills are slacking in this thread too. Or is it interpretation skills are exaggerating unmade points.

Nope, it's actually writing abilities which seem to be to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The resources they are going to spend putting this woman in prison could have been spent making sure she abides by the courts ruling.

Would you have them going there every day until the kids leave school to make sure they go? If you send someone in to dress and feed the kids and get them to school then there is no onus on the mother to improve her ways. The threat of another month in prison might be enough to get her to cop on and do some reasonable parenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

While the mother is at fault and does deserve to be punished, sending her to prison is way to excessive.

How is putting the mother in with hardened criminals going to achieve anything.

It sickens me that someone like this goes to prison when others well more deserving dont.

The people who scammed Ireland for millions up on millions are sitting pretty, living their luxury lifestyles with everything in the wifes name. What these people did had an impact on everyone in Ireland. A mother who didnt send her 3 daughters to school hasnt in my books committed a heinous crime - she is a bad mother yes, but not a criminal.

Neglecting a childs education is wrong, but there are alot of people out there that dont even feed or look after thier childern at all.
    She was given a chance to rectify her inability to sent her children to school daily, her first sentence was suspended. Therefore, she has been called up on this before.

She continued to neglect the formal education of her children and was brought to court again. The suspended sentence was put into action. As another poster mentioned, justice worked this time.

You say that the resources that will be spent on her prison stay could be better spent, well you could also say that the resources spent on principal hours, social workers, Garda time, legal fees etc that was used to try and get this family to get their girls to school was wasteful too but that didn't work, maybe incarceration will.

If every court decision was based on what some bankers/ business men did, there would be jail for nobody. 'Sure he only robbed a shop, Seanie Quinn robbed millions'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Sending the mother to prison won't solve anything. From reading this, I want to know several things.

1) Was a child actually being bullied. Was there complaints made, did the school do anything?
    2) When the children DID attend, how did they present - well dressed, neat, fed, etc.
    3) What was their standard like? Were they intelligent and bored at school? (Something my mother kept me out of school because of on more than one occasion until the school copped on that I was doing the work too fast and then bored for most of the day.)

Could the children in question have been given to a relative to go to school? Because it just doesn't make sense that kids are that vehemently opposed to school. Or was I just brought up right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Bummppd wrote: »
    How long was she sentenced to?
    Boombastic wrote: »
    28 days

Wasn't there a film about this kind of thing?

Except her children were zombies, and she was played by Cillian Murphy.

your "one teacher per child" theory. Have you even considered how much that would cost?

Not bothering to read I see. See this is a huge problem in this thread, it is in fact showing up the inadequacies of education in general.

I know nothing of the family concerned, but if my children came home with some of the misread and erroneous assumptions that I have been associated with, then I'd think I was wasting my time sending my children to school.

Not bothering to read I see. See this is a huge problem in this thread, it is in fact showing up the inadequacies of education in general.

I know nothing of the family concerned, but if my children came home with some of the misread and erroneous assumptions that I have been associated with, then I'd think I was wasting my time sending my children to school.

Perhaps your opinion of the clarity of your posts is incomparable to the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Being sent to prison for being 'too liberal'.

Seems a bit harsh.

The 'no evidence of bullying' aspect is a bit worrying though, did the mother complain to the school about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

P_1 wrote: »
    Being sent to prison for being 'too liberal'.

Seems a bit harsh.

The 'no evidence of bullying' aspect is a bit worrying though, did the mother complain to the school about it?

Not really, she was sufficiently warned it seems. The last thing anybody wants is for their taxes to be spent on the incarceration of people like this, but the threat of incarceration is a necessary deterrent for people who won't automatically take responsibility for their children's welfare.

If there genuinely is a bullying issue, there are separate courses of action that can be followed with the school. The legal action against the mother shouldn't be the stimulus for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

The mother deserved to go to jail. No-one to blame but herself.

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    Sending the mother to prison won't solve anything. From reading this, I want to know several things.

1) Was a child actually being bullied. Was there complaints made, did the school do anything?

There were no complaints of bullying made to the school, and no medical evidence presented for claimed medical conditions.
    2) When the children DID attend, how did they present - well dressed, neat, fed, etc.

Based only on my own experience (I have ten filing cabinets full of family cases like this in front of me, and this is only a voluntary organisation, but we would liase with the HSE and local schools and charities on a regular basis, so try extrapolate that out to cover the rest of the country and you begin to fathom the scale of the problem), but the whole family dynamics would have been investigated and if the family were willing, arrangements would be made to help the family with getting the children to school fed, well presented, their homework done, the housework would be done, a family budget would be worked out with them, they would literally be given every support possible!

But, many of them refuse help!

And on any given day I might be working with up to five different families a day while back at the office I might have another ten new cases coming in, and when I go home, another twenty cases to review.
    3) What was their standard like? Were they intelligent and bored at school? (Something my mother kept me out of school because of on more than one occasion until the school copped on that I was doing the work too fast and then bored for most of the day.)

Your username is a bit of a giveaway now in all fairness! :D

You would have been considered an exceptional child, but these children would have been assessed by a panel of experts in their respective fields- psychiatrists, inspectors, health care professionals, social workers, who wouldn't be long telling the difference between three exceptionally gifted children, and three average children who were quickly following in their parent's "couldn't give a flying ****" footsteps.
    Could the children in question have been given to a relative to go to school? Because it just doesn't make sense that kids are that vehemently opposed to school. Or was I just brought up right?

Arrangements would be made where possible to encourage the parents to bring the children to school, and in the meantime, relatives, social workers, even somebody like myself would try and get the children to school. Of course while you can hand hold children so to speak, you cannot hand hold adults, and because resources are limited, you can't monitor them 24/7 either.

Now as I mentioned already, this would happen over a period of months, not just "one week later, problem solved- NEXT". Assistance is provided on an ongoing basis unless it is ignored by the parents, which seems to be what has happened in this case. Maybe a spell in prison might be the wake up call they need.

Community service and parenting classes simply wouldn't work, because in my experience, these parents are only thinking of themselves and looking to paint themselves as "victims" already. Financial penalties wouldn't work either as most of these families are low income families already and would simply ignore financial penalties until they were made to face up to them, and then the papers would leap on the "low income family put in jail for non payment of fine", with the story written like the parents are again the victims, the judge is a callous bastard, and no mention of the multitude of people that tried to help the them.

Not bothering to read I see.

I read your post:

I'm all for teaching the child, not the class TBH.
    I was lucky to have had a liberal education and I was not held back in early school and skipped a few classes and I also enjoyed a private science tuition as one of the nun's was a biologist and we often chatted after school.

What's NOT advocating a "one teacher per child" policy there? Maybe I just don't get your implication* because you don't articulate yourself very well.

*You seem to be fond of the word "implication". I don't imply anything. I make it abundantly clear that I have a particular distaste for pedants who try to drag a thread off topic with spelling and grammar nonsense when they can see no other way of belittling a persons point of view.

See this is a huge problem in this thread, it is in fact showing up the inadequacies of MY education

Fixed that for you.

Indeed, but that's what happens when you fail to articulate yourself very well instead choosing to resort to pedantic semantics in what has to be said was a valiant effort to drag the thread off topic.

pedantic semantics in what has to be said was a valiant effort to drag the thread off topic.

I like this. Especially as it was I who was misrepresented in the first place, but I won't accuse anyone of trying to drag the thread OT, you see I have answered in another thread prior to your post above.

If one were so concerned about forum etiquette, one might have addressed the point more appropriately in the other thread.

As for this thread, a woman is jailed for not sending her children to school, why? Is that OT?