Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HMV going into administration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Tesco sell CD's and games and stuff do they not?probably one of the reasons HMV are finished.

Hope the staff get whatever they are owed,Irish staff always get treated shabbily in comparison to the UK,La Senza and Game etc.

I never found Tesco good, for me anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

cloud493 wrote: »
    If HMV isn't re opening at all, I am very very gutted. Buy all my blu rays and Games there, dont know what I'l do now.

You need to get with the programme and join the rest of us at Amazon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I liked HMV for its foreign film section.
    Damn I'm going to miss being able to just wander in and pick up a film from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Sad news. Always enjoyed picking up a cheap potentially awful film there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sad news. Always enjoyed picking up a cheap potentially awful film there.

Sex in the City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Rory1 wrote: »
    If there is a demand from the consumer to pay a premium for the opportunity to buy music on the high street, someone will take that opportunity and replace HMV. However, lot of people (myself included) liked to go in there and just browse and then go home and buy the cheaper product online.

I think thats been its problem. People go to HMV to window shop and then go home and buy the products online. I have not bought much in HMV in years but i have a look in when out shopping on almost a weekly basis. Even new games can be bought for less usually on ebay so it was never going to survive. They tried to expand its product range by selling more electronic gear such as speakers and headphones but they were never going to compete with bigger brand name stores like Harvey Norman and Argos.

Other than the people who work their, i dont see why everybody is so upset about this. The majority of all these people getting upset over this still would not choose to spend more in HMV than online.

It reminds me of how people talk about how awful it is that children are starving Africa and yet would collapse at thought of donating money to those in need that they claim to care so much about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Consumers decided to buy vouchers from HMV and in doing so accepted to offer credit to HMV. A lot of people dont seem to understand that is all a voucher is. The company has been in serious difficulties for years and before Christmas it issued statement which indicated things were only getting worse. Despite the public knowing the company was in trouble, some consumers decided to give credit to the company, they took a risk and they lost. I'm fed you with this attitude of moaning and complaining. People made a bad decision to buy the vouchers, get over it and accept some personal responsibility for buying or holding on to the pieces of paper.

What is this customers giving HMV credit lark? Never heard that definition before. People, most of whom are not readers of the Financial Times etc., bought vouchers for HMV in good faith and got burnt by sharp business practice. As for 'holding on to pieces of paper' - Christmas Day was only about three weeks ago! Reclaim the streets - the charlatans running the country and big business think they can do what they damn well please. **** them!

PS I'm genuinely sorry for the staff but the days of the giant high street CD/DVD retailer are well and truly over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Biggins wrote: »
    Sex in the City?

Thankfully no. Managed to get Taffin for four euro though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Rory1

What is this customers giving HMV credit lark? Never heard that definition before. People, most of whom are not readers of the Financial Times etc., bought vouchers for HMV in good faith and got burnt by sharp business practice. As for 'holding on to pieces of paper' - Christmas Day was only about three weeks ago! Reclaim the streets - the charlatans running the country and big business think they can do what they damn well please. **** them!

PS I'm genuinely sorry for the staff but the days of the giant high street CD/DVD retailer are well and truly over.

Voucher = consumer gives money to company today and company promises to give goods to holder of piece of paper in future. The company owes the consumer money, which is same as consumer giving a loan to the company. The company is then unable to honor contract.

There were no "sharp business practices". Businesses fail.

It's not just the FT that was reporting of the company's problems, mainstream media of print, TV and online were also covering it. I'm shocked at the numbers of people who held on to the vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭8mv

You need to get with the programme and join the rest of us at Amazon.
    Yeah, Judgement, Amazon are great and I use them regularly, especially for the more obscure, hard-to-find music and films, but you won't find two recent DVD releases for 12 euro! Highlight of my working week was to wander down to HMV at lunchtime on a Friday and treat myself to a half-hour browse and a 12-15 euro spend.
    It's true that HMV should have found a way to service the download buying legitimate customer, but they were helpless in the face of people who see no harm in taking music off the net or buying pirated DVD's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Tesco in Mahon Point *STILL* had HMV vouchers on display this evening LOL

You'd think they'd at least take them off the shelves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

8mv wrote: »
    Yeah, Judgement, Amazon are great and I use them regularly, especially for the more obscure, hard-to-find music and films, but you won't find two recent DVD releases for 12 euro! Highlight of my working week was to wander down to HMV at lunchtime on a Friday and treat myself to a half-hour browse and a 12-15 euro spend.
    It's true that HMV should have found a way to service the download buying legitimate customer, but they were helpless in the face of people who see no harm in taking music off the net or buying pirated DVD's.
    Anyone would think illegal downloading was the beginning of piracy. You have to remember that tape dubbing, taping off the radio and CD burning was rife before illegal downloading became a thing and they didn't do HMV and the likes any harm. What hit HMV was Amazon and Play.com with their cheaper prices and iTunes to a large extent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Fair play to the grandad who took the games.

**** the begrudgers and the apologists for HMV.

Has there ever been a similar case in court where someone was convicted for taking goods after the retailer refused payment via voucher which was bought in good faith? Would be interesting to see if it would stand up in court.

criminal behavior is nothing to condone, fools and fans of fools, typical irish behavior... sometimes i wish there were basic tests to be allowed citizenship... the country would be in much better order then

Get off your high horse/burger.

The man's behavior hasn't been proven criminal yet. What HMV did was far worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Has there ever been a similar case in court where someone was convicted for taking goods after the retailer refused payment via voucher which was bought in good faith? Would be interesting to see if it would stand up in court.

Of course it would stand up in court. You are not paying with valid consideration for the goods. You may aswell be paying with monopoly money.

In terms of a criminal aspect, if you know your voucher is not going to be accepted yet to take the goods anyway then you have dishonestly appropriated property with the intent of depriving the owner of said property and can be charged with theft.

Its up to the DPP to press charges in terms of the criminal aspect and its up to Deloitte to follow a civil suit.

Get off your high horse/burger.

The man's behavior hasn't been proven criminal yet. What HMV did was far worse

HMV have done nothing wrong, absolutly nothing. People really need to be made aware of their consumer rights in regards to vouchers. Terms and conditions arent there for the laugh.

Hogzy wrote: »
    Of course it would stand up in court. You are not paying with valid consideration for the goods. You may aswell be paying with monopoly money.

In terms of a criminal aspect, if you know your voucher is not going to be accepted yet to take the goods anyway then you have dishonestly appropriated property with the intent of depriving the owner of said property and can be charged with theft.

Its up to the DPP to press charges in terms of the criminal aspect and its up to Deloitte to follow a civil suit.

It's not just monopoly money is it? It's a voucher issued by HMV themselves which was bought in good faith. There are mitigating circumstances here and there is no guarantee this would stand up in court at all, much as some people in this thread would like to believe there is

HMV have done nothing wrong, absolutly nothing. People really need to be made aware of their consumer rights in regards to vouchers. Terms and conditions arent there for the laugh.

You really believe they've done nothing wrong? Issuing vouchers in the full knowledge they could soon be rendered worthless? Terms and Conditions don't just magic away basic business ethics, I don't believe the grandad was fully in the right to do what he did but IMO HMV have a done a terrible thing, I have no sympathy for them at all after this

HMV have been on the brink for the last 12 months, just look at the collapse of their stock price. They arent the only company on the brink of failure either. There are loads of High Street retailers living month to month. That is how business works. You are basically providing HMV with a loan when you buy a voucher. Its not HMV's fault that the law is what it is. Im sure if HMV had the choice they would allow you to cash in the vouchers, but they cant because their stock is now in control of the receivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

It was coming ! Infact all music shops will be a thing of the past soon. Down here in Waterford our beloved Bpm closed down around 2 years ago, it was a locally run music shop open for years !.

It was a great store , there's something about just having the physical copy of a cd/boxset that's just more appealing than a download... Maybe it's the cover arts or the great feeling you have when you have your collection stacked up next to your stereo or tv! Something that when stored on an iPod/hard drive doesn't give to you.

Bpm used to be my first stop as golden discs were the only other music store in the city and let's face it we all know how useless golden discs are anyway one of the lads working there basically explained to me why they were closing and obviously it's to do with the whole online legal and illegal downloading.

I expect the likes of xtra - vision to fall soon too, they have to be losing millions to online downloading too.

HMV have been on the brink for the last 12 months, just look at the collapse of their stock price. They arent the only company on the brink of failure either. There are loads of High Street retailers living month to month. That is how business works. You are basically providing HMV with a loan when you buy a voucher. Its not HMV's fault that the law is what it is. Im sure if HMV had the choice they would allow you to cash in the vouchers, but they cant because their stock is now in control of the receivers.

Could not agree more. People love to give out and complain rather that admit they were silly to hold on to the paper.

It was a terrible example for the Granddad to give to his grandchildren. What are kids supposed to learn from this? When you do something stupid like hold on to gift vouchers for a company that is in real trouble and the company bust, you go in and steal the goods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Could not agree more. People love to give out and complain rather that admit they were silly to hold on to the paper.

I don't really understand the concept of vouchers anyway, they are perhaps the laziest of gifts. Give someone cash, at least then they're not limited to where they can spend it - you also don't run the risk of losing your money if the business collapses.

It is very clear from this thread that a lot of people dont understand the risks of vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Not sure if this has been posted already

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/irish-grandfather-defies-hmv-voucher-133805131.html

Fair f*cks to him

Hang on a sec.. did he not even have the voucher with him at the time?

On a related topic: damn it, I liked HMV. Sure, I usually had feck all money to spend in it, but I always enjoyed wandering in to the ones in Dublin for a look around. They had a fairly decent selection of everything, and I'm one of those people who'll go out and buy the physical CD they want, so I'll miss that. That and they had a really good selection of console games usually, and better prices than Gamestop.
    Hope the staff get sorted at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

I think vouchers are a great gift

branie wrote: »
    I think vouchers are a great gift

May I ask why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Walking past my local HMV this morning, in one window, they were advertising their sale, in the other window notices that they had temporary ceased trading. Definatly cant use those vouchers now.

Although I'd say the workers are more concerned weather or not they will get paid or get their redundancy in a timely manner.
    tldr

You signed up just to say that!

Great contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

On the topic of hmv .. I will miss it. When I use to go down to cork or up to Dublin it was the one store I'd always pop in too and get a few albums and boxsets.

It's a shame really tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Bcause they are easy to buy, and very cheap. I'm not tight by the way