Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭smilerf

jordainius wrote: »
    Walcott to sign, Wenger to hail it as "like a new signing".

Fair play to Walcott if he does sign, I had thought all along that he was trying to manufacture a bosman transfer for himself. Still though, can't say I'm all that excited at the prospect of him being our highest paid player. He's not exactly first name on the teamsheet material...
    Isn't podolski on 109 grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

smilerf wrote: »
    Isn't podolski on 109 grand

Really??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Yeah think Podolski is on £100k a week with Mert our next highest on 80K.
    Or at least in or around those figures.

That what I read a few times anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

proven player so why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

proven player so why not?

Not a reflection on my views of Pod, I'm just surprised that Arsenal went that high.

true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Can see this place going mental when ye read wengers interview with Amy Lawrence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

link??

bad2dabone wrote: »
    link??
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jan/11/phone-call-manchester-united-van-persie?CMP=twt_gu

Think. That's it, last paragraph is what ya wanna read

yeah read it earlier, just made me sad more than pissed off :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

That's a shocking admission from Wenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

That article says alot really about Arsenal football club. Their ambitions have have gone in recent years and all the club cares about now is keeping their head above water and maintaining profitability year after year. We dont act like a big club now who are constantly striving to be at the top and that is the most disappointing thing for me as a longtime supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Ha ha, anyone see this article about the support Wenger is getting?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/arsenal-blow-for-arsene-wenger-as-46-1530397

Talk about a misleading headline. Thought they could have questioned a broader fan base than the black scarf movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Barlett

Wenger has regularly said in the past that January is a bad time to sign players so I can't see there being too many changes, nothing surprising about the Guardian article, nice to see him call it as it is once in a while rather than roll out the usual cliches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

dvemail wrote: »
    Ha ha, anyone see this article about the support Wenger is getting?

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/arsenal-blow-for-arsene-wenger-as-46-1530397

Talk about a misleading headline. Thought they could have questioned a broader fan base than the black scarf movement.

Ask a minority fan movement created to display displeasure at the current modus-opperandi if they support the current manager... talk about a self fulfilling prophecy!
    Gutter journalism at its worst.

Sergio wrote: »
    That article says alot really about Arsenal football club. Their ambitions have have gone in recent years and all the club cares about now is keeping their head above water and maintaining profitability year after year. We dont act like a big club now who are constantly striving to be at the top and that is the most disappointing thing for me as a longtime supporter.

Kronke's work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Barlett wrote: »
    Wenger has regularly said in the past that January is a bad time to sign players so I can't see there being too many changes, nothing surprising about the Guardian article, nice to see him call it as it is once in a while rather than roll out the usual cliches.

Is that a good thing though? It's basically saying we are content at being runners up at best. That's no way to look at things for a club with supposed ambition.

shocking
    Wenger says he does not find it painful to watch Van Persie delivering, decisively, game after game in a different shade of red. "But what is painful is to see United so far in front of us," he says. "We knew when we sold him to United that would be the case." That is a stark admission from Arsenal's perspective. From a United point of view, when he picked up that phone, Ferguson sure knew what he was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Barlett

HazDanz wrote: »
    Is that a good thing though? It's basically saying we are content at being runners up at best. That's no way to look at things for a club with supposed ambition.

But everything we've done for the last four years shows we are content at being runners up, no point Wenger coming out and saying we're ambitious when he's sold our last two captains in their prime. I don't want to hear empty words about title challenges I want to see action first to demonstrate the ambition and then the words after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

We really are a laughing stock of a club under Kroenke, gotta feel sorry for Wenger he's doing his best with a shadow of the squad we had 5-6 years back he must have a pain in his bollockz with taking all the flack for the boards criminal lack of ambition, by jaysus i cant wait to read his autobiography!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

With the agent fee included Ba is thought to have cost 12million Gevinho is thought to have cost 11 million therefore Ba was a only tad bit dearer a million is nothing in football terms, which what i was getting at I just worded it badly :o.

Think it was about a month or so ago when Wenger was getting stick from everywhere, the papers, the away fans chanting "you don't know what you're doing", etc. and he was getting narky in the press conferences he said Gervinho only cost £8 mil when some journalist was giving him the cost of the players

This is around the same time he was caught saying to the press officer or someone "The sharks are here" when he seen the press coming in - unusual for Wenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I didn't even mind us selling rvp to them, he wanted out we got good money
    And if we're really honest we didn't strengthen a rival

My issue is 24m + 15m for song. Should have been rev invested we only needed a couple of players

I didn't even mind us selling rvp to them, he wanted out we got good money
    And if we're really honest we didn't strengthen a rival

My issue is 24m + 15m for song. Should have been rev invested we only needed a couple of players
    We didn't strengthen a rival? Confused here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Arsenal are competing for 4th, 3rd at best for a few years now, While Man U have been/are competing for titles - compare the meerkat...

A team that finishes 19 points ahead of ya is not a rival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I still consider them a rival, just not a direct rival anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

But why should Wenger retire if he still has the hunger for it, I know this last few years has not been the best at all, We just happened to shoulder ourselves with debt the same time as the Russia and the Far East took an interest in the prem, We were doing pretty well up until then

I've always thought myself that Wenger hates the transfer side of it and thats where Dein came into it , Wenger just gave him a type of player he wanted Dein went and got him that was my understanding anyway we're lacking in that department if you ask me

Nobody wants Wenger out but I question his hunger. I want to see him show his hunger by --

1. Making them train properly and practice frees and corners as we are now awful at them. When I see Walcott approach a freekick and hit the first defender on the ankle with it I frown. Then I see it again in the next game.
    2. Motivate the team and stop the cowardice of players who duck out of the way of the ball. Make them play with pride in the jersey and get stuck into the opponents.

I don't care if he never signs anyone but if he is not going to sign then he should say that and shut his mouth about the transfer market instead of driving fans mad..
    I was lucky enough to attend games when we won our first double as I was working in my very first job in London then. Most of the players were unknown to the average supporter outside London. They were ordinary players who gave everything throughout every game to win the double and then became household names. Now we have lads who think they are a few steps above buttermilk as they say. It is the manager's job to keep them honest and give their all for the club. I do not think we are getting that now from Wenger. I just don't see the hunger you speak of.

Thanks QPR