Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Another mass shooting in the U.S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Overheal wrote: »
    it might marginally reduce the body count during massacres, but in the majority of homicides its really not going to matter much. Besides the impracticality of banning semi-automatics, you could argue a revolver is a semi automatic. In fact an example of a bolt-action handgun escapes me, short of gunpowder weapons.

So you think that a marginal reduction in the body count in massacres is not worth a ban on rapid fire weapons because it will reduce peoples freedom to hunt and target practice for said weapons? I think it is.Hell, I'd love to fire RPG's for fun but I realise they're far to dangerous a weapon to be made available to the general public.And yes you could argue that a revolver is a semi automatic but you'd be an idiot. You know exactly what type of weapon when I say a semi automatic.

Blay wrote: »
    People are against them because people by their nature fear that which they dont understand. People all across the world own and use s/a rifles and dont kill people. The issue in America is about more than just firearms but people largely fail to see that. As I showed on this very thread, te ban Obama will bring in will change nothing...AR15's etc will still be available with minute changes that have no effect on the function of the rifle...like Clinton before him he justs wants to be seen to be doing something to appease the ban ban ban crowd when in reality nothing will be different.

I agree it's more about culture and I dont think the laws suit the culture that exists there at the moment. I think the laws need to change until the culture changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Michael Moore agrees most shootings like the one carried out by Adam Lanza are due to prescription drugs.
    Whatever about other cases, the police have said they've found no evidence of drugs in this case. (Ironically, that's not what you'd want to hear if the shooter really did have mental health issues).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

In the following video, he attributes Columbine massacre to drugs prescribed for depression which the 2 shooters were taking due to bullying at their school.

It might be possible many victims of relentless bullying, would shoot their bullies, given the chance.

smurgen wrote: »
    So you think that a marginal reduction in the body count in massacres is not worth a ban on rapid fire weapons because it will reduce peoples freedom to hunt and target practice for said weapons?

Please observe:

Those are the firearms you're calling for a full ban on.
    Being used in one of the largest sports in the world, in the London 2012 Olympics (in Ireland target shooting is small; worldwide, it's one of the biggest sports around when you count participants instead of people watching from their couches).

Does this indicate to you that perhaps your proposed ban is too extensive?

Sparks wrote: »
    In Conneticut? Target shooting competitions, mostly.

Because "ban them" is too simple a solution to a complex problem. If you were out there now campaigning for it to be mandatory to have secure storage for any firearms you own, do you think you'd be getting as much hassle? Secure storage has been something the NRA have been recommending for decades, whether through gunsafes, cable locking systems, trigger locks or a combination of those.

But you say "hey, a mentally ill person broken thirty or forty local, state and federal laws, so you thousand people with your weekend sport that's got an accident record better than golf? And you lot who use those things to hunt varmint species to protect your fowl? Yeah, your stuff is all banned now. Go find another sport", and oddly, those people are not going to take that well.

Oddly, some of the editorial cartoons from the US have hit the nail square on the head here:

124153_600.jpg

124059_600.jpg

Okay so would you be against these guns being kept at specific ranges so people could still practice their sport?

Please observe:

Those are the firearms you're calling for a full ban on.
    Being used in one of the largest sports in the world, in the London 2012 Olympics (in Ireland target shooting is small; worldwide, it's one of the biggest sports around when you count participants instead of people watching from their couches).

Does this indicate to you that perhaps your proposed ban is too extensive?

I'm not talking about handguns because I think they serve a specific purpose, as do rifles. I'm on about machine gun type weapons that are capable of firing several bullets a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭kristopher_1

Whatever about other cases, the police have said they've found no evidence of drugs in this case. (Ironically, that's not what you'd want to hear if the shooter really did have mental health issues).

Police haven't released any information regarding his medical records, I'm waiting until that happens but I suspect drug use, yes, I still believe that's a possibility.

Look at SSRI stories, all those school shootings, it's not just a coincidence they were taking meds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,461 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Okay so would you be against these guns being kept at specific ranges so people could still practice their sport?

People who frequent ranges aren't the ones who carry out these killings. Having a gun in your home won't turn you into a mass shooter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Michael Moore agrees most shootings like the one carried out by Adam Lanza are due to prescription drugs.

In the following video, he attributes Columbine massacre to drugs prescribed for depression which the 2 shooters were taking due to bullying at their school.

If you're in any doubt these drugs are extremely dangerous, try arguing with the list of cases listed on this site here

A load of me old arse. You should try and understand the difference between causation and correlation. http://stats.org/in_depth/faq/causation_correlation.htm

And some of the stuff listed on that site is plain retarded. Someone being treated for depression commits suicide? Why of course it must be the medication! It couldn't possibly be, you know, the depression…

That specific measure was proposed in Ireland a few years back and was shot down by the Gardai (pardon the pun) because if you store a few dozen firearms in one isolated place (ranges are rarely in the middle of town), it's not possible to provide sufficient security to ensure they're not stolen, not in a world that has angle grinders, plasma cutters, flatbed trucks and police response times of over an hour.

The Gardai were concerned with those firearms then being used in crime; the target shooters were concerned with losing thousands of euros worth of sports equipment (my air rifle, for example is about €2300's worth, and then you add in the sights, various other doodads and the cases and tools and you're up past €3k in one box by the time you're done, not to mention that most of these firearms have custom-made parts that aren't easily replaced).

It doesn't sound like a bad idea at first glance; but when you think about for a while you find too many problems.

Our solution was legally mandatory secure storage for each firearm, inspected by the Gardai (and there are regulations as to the minimum standards for that security and those minimums go up for larger numbers of firearms or for different kinds of firearms - so I only need a gunsafe for my air rifle, but if I had (say) ten guns, I'd need a gunsafe, secured windows and doors, a monitored house alarm with a sensor on the safe, and whatever else the local CPO asked for).

I'm not talking about handguns because I think they serve a specific purpose, as do rifles. I'm on about machine gun type weapons that are capable of firing several bullets a second.
    Those are already very strictly controlled in the US, and very rare.
    And weren't used in this shooting. I can't actually think of a mass shooting anywhere in the world that used one, off the top of my head.

A load of me old arse. You should try and understand the difference between causation and correlation. http://stats.org/in_depth/faq/causation_correlation.htm

And some of the stuff listed on that site is plain retarded. Someone being treated for depression commits suicide? Why of course it must be the medication! It couldn't possibly be, you know, the depression…

I've researched anti-depressants and atypical anti-psychotic prescription drugs.
    Personal experiences from users, testimonies from qualified doctors and researchers that once worked in pharmaceutical industry but now try to inform the public about the dangers of these toxic chemicals.

These drugs are well known to increase suicidal tendencies through impulsive behavior. A friend of mine was prescribed an AD 7 years ago and on the 3rd week tried to kill herself. A family member of my neighbour was also on meds 4 weeks when he hanged himself.

These drugs increase aggressiveness and hostility towards other people but those are just a few of the side effects, the list is HUGE.

If your post wasn't an attempt at trolling me, I suggest you do some research first before responding to me in future because I don't have time to try educate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Interesting tactic from Obama, listing the number of fatalities and where they happened. So instead of talking in the abstract its now real places and real people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So you think that a marginal reduction in the body count in massacres is not worth a ban on rapid fire weapons because it will reduce peoples freedom to hunt and target practice for said weapons? I think it is.
    Actually I said nothing about hunting or target practice. You can think what you want but Semi-Automatic weapons are frankly so widespread that it is both impractical and impossible to remove them with any hope of lowering a bodycount; in fact you're more likely to promote a bodycount when people lose the legal avenue to own one for their own defense, marking them as a target.
    Hell, I'd love to fire RPG's for fun but I realise they're far to dangerous a weapon to be made available to the general public.
    That is just silly. Of interest though I am not sure these are entirely banned as I have seen some examples of RPG in weapon stores before. Whether they were live or not, I did not inquire, except to say they were marked as not for sale.
    And yes you could argue that a revolver is a semi automatic but you'd be an idiot. You know exactly what type of weapon when I say a semi automatic.
    Actually I don't. As the english language is I have to take it you meant firearms which have a semi-automatic firing mode, which is many types of weapon ranging from pea-shooting lady-pistols up to high caliber long-rifles. Perhaps you meant full-automatic, not semi automatic weapons, which are already highly regulated as it is. But since you don't specify, how am I to be sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Blay wrote: »
    People who frequent ranges aren't the ones who carry out these killings. Having a gun in your home won't turn you into a mass shooter.

Yet this killer did, and did. So much for that.

Piliger wrote: »

Cause and effect are actually defined words with associated concepts, not just random collections of letters, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Which aren't easy to get hold of..

Form 4.

4-6months wait..

IF YOU ARE IN A STATE that allows it.

Machine guns are fecking ridiculous money in the states.. talking 3k plus minimum.. Saw belt feds in basspro for 20k +..

Guys convert semi's to fullys but thats a federal conspiracy charge.

. you could buy handguns for 70bucks and up ..

But every ar10/m4/16 fellas see in guns shops guys think MACHINE GUN.

Not the case.. Not as easy as walk in walk out in 85% of states

Nothing to do with guns.. the guy in china proved that this week too.

'hdz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,461 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

They weren't his guns though..I'm talking about those who own firearms legitimately. The profile of the guys who carry out shootings like these shows that they are not long time firearms owners who flip out, they don't have the firearms for sport, they get them to kill so enforcing these ridiculous restrictions (which aren't enforced anywhere in the world to my knowledge) on people who use them target shooting etc. won't prevent this, plus it is completely unworkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You are fond of opinionated mass assertions, not so fond on providing the facts or sources behind those blanket assertions. Even when you say "FACT" after your sentences, it don't make it so.

We have a tradition here and to paraphrase, without links it didn't happen.

Still waiting for sources for your previous "facts"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I've researched anti-depressants and atypical anti-psychotic prescription drugs.
    Personal experiences from users, testimonies from qualified doctors and researchers that once worked in pharmaceutical industry but now try to inform the public about the dangers of these toxic chemicals.

These drugs are well known to increase suicidal tendencies through impulsive behavior. A friend of mine was prescribed an AD 7 years ago and on the 3rd week tried to kill herself. A family member of my neighbour was also on meds 4 weeks when he hanged himself.

These drugs increase aggressiveness and hostility towards other people but those are just a few of the side effects, the list is HUGE.

If your post wasn't an attempt at trolling me, I suggest you do some research first before responding to me in future because I don't have time to try educate you.

How about mentioning the people who credit anti-depressants with saving their lives and to lead them live full and functioning lives? Anti-depressants can take a prolonged period of time to work (2-6 weeks) and in that time a person should be carefully monitored. No two people are the same and people hospitalized with severe depression can be given different amounts of varying drugs to find which ones, and what amounts, work best for them. You've taken two anecdotal stories of people you know to illustrate the dangers of anti-depressants but that says nothing to me about their mental health history.

Those people that have been known to have an increased risk of suicidal thoughts are believed to be genetically predisposed to this from carrying DNA markers that react to the anti-depressents but these are in the main rare and research is being carried out to create DNA screen testing and tailored treatments for these people . To say categorically that anti-depressants are evil and should not be prescribed to anyone is wrong in my opinion.

Again, in relation to school shootings and anti-depressants I think you need to understand the difference between correlation and causation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I think its funny how people try and blame any one thing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

1)I really wish people would actually learn the difference between semi automatic and fully automatic firearms before diving blindly into the debate.

To break it down into simple terms, semi auto is a firearm which chambers and fires a round each time the trigger is pulled, then the trigger is released before another round can go down range. Trigger/bang/trigger/bang/trigger/bang.

Fully auto is a firearm which chambers and fires a round when the trigger is pulled and keeps doing so until the ammunition is expended. Trigger/bang/bang/bang/bang/bang.

The former can be found as a system in any number of firearms from shotguns to pistols. Indeed you might argue that a revolver is "semi auto" as in practical terms it functions in a similar way. Fully automatic firearms are heavily restricted in the US and as Sparks points out I can't recall any time when such weapons were used in such spree shooting. I would imagine given the speed they empty their magazines and how much the jump around someone could do far more damage against unarmed targets by carefully selecting victims shot by shot.

There is a third type(well fourth if you consider single/double shot), the lever or "pump" action. Found in rifles and shotguns. The cowboy flics fave the Winchester a good example. In the right hands they can be fired extremely rapidly.

2) The term "assault weapon" need some further teasing out too. EG shotguns, which will be about the last firearm to be banned or heavily regulated anywhere are used in war as "assault weapons", so called "trench guns". Indeed they cause such injuries they're banned by the Geneva convention(though it's largely ignored). Lever action hunting rifles will be another least likely to be banned and like I say they can be fired rapidly.

3)If given the hideous choice of being shot by an "assault weapon" round or a shotgun or a hunting round, I'll take the M16 please Carol. Hunting rounds are often soft or hollowpoint rounds designed to do the most internal damage to take down the animal. So called "dum dums" in movie parlance. No thanks.

4)Let's look at this from a different angle. Go back 50 years in the US. Firearms were easier to get than today and this kind of spree shooting was unknown. "Oh but modern weapons are more dangerous!". Really? The Colt 45 semi auto first came out in 1911 and that has some stopping power. Ever see a Tommy gun in action? The Thompson machine gun, a fully automatic firearm, spitting out 45 calibre lead at 1000 rounds a minute has been around since the 20's and you could buy one over the counter in the US with no restrictions until the mid 1930's. Even then you could still buy one, but you just had to register it. And yet no school/college/public place shooting sprees by lone nutters. So what has changed?

TL;DR? The public are baying for something to be done. "Ban Assault weapons" makes for great headlines and it'll look like a step forward, but the guns are a symptom of something else and it'll just take away the focus from the underlying condition(s) and these tragedies will keep happening. After all this latest tragedy would still have happened, as would the tragedy in the US college last year. No assault weapons required.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Overheal wrote: »
    I think its funny how people try and blame any one thing.

Gee, good point...there was me thinking it was all about lack of gun control. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And yes you could argue that a revolver is a semi automatic but you'd be an idiot.
    Actually you wouldn't. It fires as fast as you can pull the trigger.
    You know exactly what type of weapon when I say a semi automatic.
    Do you? It seems from your writings on the subject you do not. MInd you and to be fair, you're not alone in this thread on the lack of knowledge on display, happy to fall back on hyperbole and ignorance of the subject involved.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Wibbs wrote: »
    The cowboy flics fave the Winchester a good example. In the right hands they can be fired extremely rapidly.

Case in point.

Here's also a kid beating a full auto in a shooting competition with a rifle.

Possibly staged, but point is a 13 year with a lever action can keep up with a full auto.

How about mentioning the people who credit anti-depressants with saving their lives and to lead them live full and functioning lives? Anti-depressants can take a prolonged period of time to work (2-6 weeks) and in that time a person should be carefully monitored. No two people are the same and people hospitalized with severe depression can be given different amounts of varying drugs to find which ones, and what amounts, work best for them. You've taken two anecdotal stories of people you know to illustrate the dangers of anti-depressants but that says nothing to me about their mental health history.

Those people that have been known to have an increased risk of suicidal thoughts are believed to be genetically predisposed to this from carrying DNA markers that react to the anti-depressents but these are in the main rare and research is being carried out to create DNA screen testing and tailored treatments for these people . To say categorically that anti-depressants are evil and should not be prescribed to anyone is wrong in my opinion.

Again, in relation to school shootings and anti-depressants I think you need to understand the difference between correlation and causation.

My opinion is derived from professionals that worked inside the industry.
    Do you think all these doctors and users are all clueless? Is that what you're implying? They're idiots?

The doctors and health professionals that weigh in against anti-depressants have absolutely nothing to gain from their advice.

There are plenty of people who defeat depression with very simple steps.

Excercise is a powerful cure for depression, a stress free life, a healthy diet and avoiding alcohol/drugs, being around good people that can provide support.

The only "solution" GP can offer are various toxic drugs that leave you vulnerable if not monitored.

You think people on medical cards can afford a good doctor to monitor them through withdrawal of Anti-Depressants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Wibbs wrote: »
    2) The term "assault weapon" need some further teasing out too.

Yes, "Assault Weapon" is used to describe any rifle that looks military, even lower power "kids" rifles.

You certainly wouldn't want to be "assaulting" anything with the majority of them.

Take a look at this thing. The news media would call it an "Assault Weapon" but its just show and is mostly for targets. It would be inhumane to hunt anyting larger than a rat with it as it lacks power. See the big magazine? Thats mostly fake, the bullets that go in it are tiny.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=321713770

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭bajer100

MadsL wrote: »
    Case in point.

Here's also a kid beating a full auto in a shooting competition with a rifle.

Possibly staged, but point is a 13 year with a lever action can keep up with a full auto.

Good argument for banning semi-autos. If proper training and practice means that a proficient, dedicated enthusiast can get non-automatic weapons to perform to the same standard as semi and fully automatic weapons - then ban all semi and fully automatic weapons. The psychos who tend to carry out these massacres probably wouldn't have the dedication to get these weapons to perform at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

.And yes you could argue that a revolver is a semi automatic but you'd be an idiot.

A double action revolver is a semi auto ..

A single action isn't ..

If you know what you're talking about you should explain it instead of talking skeet..

'hdz