Reporting dole fraudster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

If mail is delivered to your address for someone who is no longer (or never was) at the address, you are supposed to mark the unopened envelope with Recipient not at this address/no longer at this address and pop it back in the nearest postbox - end of story. The postal service will handle it from there and arrange for the letter to be returned to the sender with the appropriate information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Zirconia wrote: »
    If mail is delivered to your address for someone who is no longer (or never was) at the address, you are supposed to mark the unopened envelope with Recipient not at this address/no longer at this address and pop it back in the nearest postbox - end of story. The postal service will handle it from there and arrange for the letter to be returned to the sender with the appropriate information.

But first you hold it up to the light and see if there's any cash in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I still don't think you can open someone's mail, no matter how much you believe they are a criminal.

Perhaps the gardai or courts can but I'd imagine it would require proof or strong documented suspicion that the mail is being used for some criminal purpose. Could be wrong though any legal experts here?

The way you're arguing it, if i think my tenant is a criminal I can freely rifle through their stuff, I doubt it.

I handed over the letters to the Guards.Funny,they never even mentioned the legality of opening someones mail.They were more interested in the fact that my ex tenant was using 2 identities and 2 driving licences.He had one in his own name and one in his brothers name.His brother was disabled after a stroke and lived in a care home so could not drive himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

if you claim dole from an address you don't live at then it's fraud
    Which he hasn't done, to the best of our collective knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

tunedout wrote: »
    when it's the landlords house it's addressed to him. And also on your contract you agree that you already give him permission regarding the post. He opened my bank statement only a few months ago because i told him I had transferred the rent to his account and he said it hadn't shown up in his. turned out it was the problem with the Ulster Bank glitch but at least he was able to see on my statement i had transferred it there and then.

If it's the landlord's house, it's addressed to him? Once again: no.

A letter is a communication to a person, not a property. If there's a name on the letter or parcel, then only that person can open it.

Once more time: no one has the right to open a letter or parcel with someone else's name on it without their express permission. It doesn't matter if you live in a rented property, a communal property or even a hotel.

In fact, and I don't know how more explicitly I can put it, to open a postal package with someone else's name on it is a criminal offense.

As for agreements with landlords, I've lived in various rented properties in the course of my life and never once have I seen a tenant agreement that said the landlord can open the tenants' mail. More fool anyone that signs such an agreement. It's not standard and it's not a natural right of the landlord.

A landlord opens any item of your mail without your express permission? It's a criminal offence and he can be nicked for it. Ditto opening mail meant for someone else and delivered incorrectly to your address. Open it and that's a criminal offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Duck Soup wrote: »

A letter is a communication to a person, not a property. If there's a name on the letter or parcel, then only that person can open it.

Once more time: no one has the right to open a letter or parcel with someone else's name on it without their express permission. It doesn't matter if you live in a rented property, a communal property or even a hotel.

In fact, and I don't know how more explicitly I can put it, to open a postal package with someone else's name on it is a criminal offense.

As for agreements with landlords, I've lived in various rented properties in the course of my life and never once have I seen a tenant agreement that said the landlord can open the tenants' mail. More fool anyone that signs such an agreement. It's not standard and it's not a natural right of the landlord.

A landlord opens any item of your mail without your express permission? It's a criminal offence and he can be nicked for it. Ditto opening mail meant for someone else and delivered incorrectly to your address. Open it and that's a criminal offence.

Thanks, now could you please stop stealing my underwear.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Duck Soup wrote: »

So what you're saying is that we're all allowed to open anybody's post, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

it's easy to mistakenly open someone else's post, didn't have glasses on, was half asleep, bad handwriting, smudged name, didn't bother to check the front before i opened it, thought it was a bill.. etc..

if yer man is scamming the welfare he deserves to be nailed for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

Hey landlord is he paying you the rent by cash? Is the reveune people getting the full total of your rental income?

You know your residents are not your lab rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Landlords property; guy asked him to check post ; why is everyone bullying him?

My ex flat mate also left suddenly - lots of bills unpaid & letters kept coming. I started opening them when I started getting concerned about the red bills coming through the door ; my door; and the repeat odd questions about my the " other" library card when I used the library. Unpaid for loans, unpaid for consultants fees, unpaid back demands from debt collectors, and over e400 of specially ordered legal textbooks stolen from the library on a card to my registered address.

I was left ringing & writing to the companies explaining shed disappeared & suggesting how to contact her in her hometown.

As the owner of a property you have to live with any aftermath that is logged to your house. Another flatmate sold a car & didn't think of transferring the deeds of registry ; again hundreds f euro of eflow fines were falling on my mat and court summons. Took months to sort out . nobody wants this kind of problem linked to their house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

Gongoozler wrote: »
    So what you're saying is that we're all allowed to open anybody's post, is it?

if it comes through your letterbox...yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

repsol wrote: »
    I handed over the letters to the Guards.Funny,they never even mentioned the legality of opening someones mail.They were more interested in the fact that my ex tenant was using 2 identities and 2 driving licences.He had one in his own name and one in his brothers name.His brother was disabled after a stroke and lived in a care home so could not drive himself.

was not sandyfordish area by any chance ? :pac:

Landlords property; guy asked him to check post ;

First point not relevant at all, still a criminal offence.

Second point, doubtful.

He asked the landlord to open his mail but didn't even tell him what country he was moving to? Hardly.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    was not sandyfordish area by any chance ? :pac:

No it was on the Northside. Obviously a lot of it about:)

My ex flat mate also left suddenly - lots of bills unpaid & letters kept coming. I started opening them when I started getting concerned about the red bills coming through the door ; my door; and the repeat odd questions about my the " other" library card when I used the library. Unpaid for loans, unpaid for consultants fees, unpaid back demands from debt collectors, and over e400 of specially ordered legal textbooks stolen from the library on a card to my registered address.

I was left ringing & writing to the companies explaining shed disappeared & suggesting how to contact her in her hometown.

As the owner of a property you have to live with any aftermath that is logged to your house. Another flatmate sold a car & didn't think of transferring the deeds of registry ; again hundreds f euro of eflow fines were falling on my mat and court summons. Took months to sort out . nobody wants this kind of problem linked to their house.

you could have solved all that trouble at the start , by marking the post with not at this address , moved out , and pop into any post box , they would eventually stop - you should not have engaged with anyone who you dont have a contract with - im presuming the letters were in his name but your address ? then you have nothing to answer for

you cant open another persons mail - end of

No it was on the Northside. Obviously a lot of it about:)

must be - you have described someone i knew , the EXACT same circumstances
    funny old world :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

before he left, he directed me to open all post directed to him

I might be heading away for a few weeks there too. Would you be available to open my post for me and post the contents of it here on boards so I can read it. Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Why on earth would you bring that on yourself? Just return to sender. Crazy.

must be - you have described someone i knew , the EXACT same circumstances
    funny old world :D

This guy was a builder

na , mine was not - funny but carbon copy of his circumstances
    i would say some of the scams going on would shock ya

na , mine was not - funny but carbon copy of his circumstances
    i would say some of the scams going on would shock ya

He had loads of money.Wrote off about 3 cars in a year and always got a brand new one to replace it. Had all his clothes dry cleaned,even his socks and ate ALL his meals in the pub.He was a nutter.Had to get rid because he was scaring other tenants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

dmc17 wrote: »
    I might be heading away for a few weeks there too. Would you be available to open my post for me and post the contents of it here on boards so I can read it. Thanks!

I think they do dawn raids for unauthorised post openers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

How do I report a fraudster. A spanish guy was living in my house up until the end of last month. A letter came in the post yesterday saying he was entitled to claim the dole from today. How do I go about report him? He doesn't live here anymore so I don't see why he should be claiming dole. As far as I know he returned to Spain.

if i were you i'ld buy a bottle of slap on tan, and with your best Manuel accent get yerself down to the dole office.
    and well done for spotting this blatant and flagrant breaching of our rules & regulations by these bloody foreigners. they have the place destroyed.

Boombastic wrote: »
    I think they do dawn raids for unauthorised post openers

Hopefully they follow it to the letter of the law. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Sign your squealer letter with one of the following names:

Ray Burn
    Oliver Clothes-Off
    Ignatius Patrick (I.P.) Freely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

tunedout wrote: »
    when it's the landlords house it's addressed to him. And also on your contract you agree that you already give him permission regarding the post. He opened my bank statement only a few months ago because i told him I had transferred the rent to his account and he said it hadn't shown up in his. turned out it was the problem with the Ulster Bank glitch but at least he was able to see on my statement i had transferred it there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Burkey0

Don't be a cleanshirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What the OP did is illegal and he has no proof of any fraud at all. He's not being bullied at all; he's pulled up on his wrongdoing

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

if yer man is scamming the welfare he deserves to be nailed for it.

I agree with you. The problem is that the 'fraud' that the OP refers to is based on a letter from the Social Welfare telling them that he is entitled to draw some benefits.

Now I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed, but if someone sends me a letter telling me I'm entitled to claim such-and-such a benefit, doesn't that suggest that I am not currently availing of it?

Add onto that, the OP thinks the guy is in Spain, doesn't have any way of contacting him, which would mean that the Spanish ex-tenant has no way of knowing that he's even entitled to anything.

Short version: there's not a scrap of evidence of any fraud taking place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Clareboy

gcgirl wrote: »
    Indeed you do have to sign each week in the post office

People on Jobseekers Allowance (Dole) sign on once a month at their local DSP office. They draw their money each week at their local post office.