Homeland - Season 2 [Showtime - US] **Spoilers!**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Why was Brody's cellphone not tapped in this particular episode?

The mole could have disabled it, or even simpler, everyone was preoccupied with Carrie at the time so nobody was paying attention to Brody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    The mole could have disabled it, or even simpler, everyone was preoccupied with Carrie at the time so nobody was paying attention to Brody.

With Carrie being kidnapped the most likely person to be contacted is Brody.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Weak episode for the reasons stated above. Season 1 was definitely good (but over-rated) but this season is really a mix of "Sleeper Cell" and "24" and not a great one at that.

Aside from the many irritating characters (please kill Brody's entire family) I also laughed a little when Brody was in an empty hotel room, practically shouting "NAZIR! NAZIR! NAZIR!" with agents just outside the corridor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

It's funny to see people jumping all over this show now. The playwright Billy Roche was on the radio (Miriam meets IIRC) one time and says when you're writing a play you think 85% of it is good, and there's 15% which is maybe not so good, but you need it to make the rest happen. He said it's very frustrating when people jump all over the 15% and then dismiss all of it.

There are plot holes in Homeland. So what! There are plot holes in every show. Are there more than in other shows? Maybe. Are there enough to make me stop watching it? No. At least, not yet.

As regards Season 2 - before the last couple of episodes I did think it was flagging, but I do think it has picked up again. In this last episode in particular people are picking up on :

The Dana-Finn story - I agree, it's gone nowhere, and this weeks episode where they meet up was particularly weak and irrelevant. But, having watched video commentaries on, for example, The Sopranos, the writers say that you drop these acorns across the series - some may pay back, some may not. This one isn't, and I think we'll hear no more about it now.

Nazir phoning Brody - whether a) Brody's phone should have been tapped and b) whether Blackberry(s) have that video capilility.

First, Nazir calls Brody on Skype (which if you looked closely you could clearly see the logo in the bottom of the screen, and since they were used in another episode, are obviously sponsoring this series). Skype calls are encrypted so (possibly) not as easy to intercept. Also, we know Nazir has good techies working for him (yer man that re-programmes the defibrillator for starters) so he could possibly beef that up even more.

Second, whether Blackberrys have Skype video capability - I DON'T CARE! Blackberry are obviously another sponsor of the show.

Brody's unfettered access around the VP house. First, the VP does fúck all in the US. But, they're paid incredibly well and if the president pops his clogs they're in. Plus, if you're going to allow someone into the Naval Compound, presumably they've got security clearance and you don't have to track their every move. Should the VP's private office have CCTV? I don't think any VP would want that - I mean, what if Monica Lewinsky was to show up? :)

Carrie listening to the theme tune - NO SHE WASN'T! She was listening to Jazz, and as someone has said already, we know she's a Jazz fan (maybe the little girl playing Jazz at the start is supposed to be her?) And the plot device of having her search for channels means you know she's distracted and something is going to happen next - but you don't know what.

Two other little holeens that I spotted that haven't been mentioned yet -

Dar Adal (Black ops guy) has to move home every three weeks. But he still eats in the same restaurant every Tuesday ;)

The damage to the car and its final placement seemed very inconsistent to me to be being struck on the right hand side.

See? You can keep looking for holes and pointing them out.

Or, you can decide, as I have done, that although they're there, they're not enough to make you stop watching.

Some episodes are better than others - I happened to enjoy this last one more than some of the previous ones, because I thought that overall, it was better (even with plot holes!).

Finally - a little teaser for ye. The opening credits have video footage of every US president since 1980 - bar one. Which one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Plot wholes aside this show still has the ability to leave you second guessing. Some of the twists last week were immense, was I the only one that got very excited when carries car was hit?

Btw, Saul is ****ing awesome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

serfboard wrote: »
    Finally - a little teaser for ye. The opening credits have video footage of every US president since 1980 - bar one. Which one?

Dubya. Knew that without your hint. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

It's funny to see people jumping all over this show now. The playwright Billy Roche was on the radio (Miriam meets IIRC) one time and says when you're writing a play you think 85% of it is good, and there's 15% which is maybe not so good, but you need it to make the rest happen. He said it's very frustrating when people jump all over the 15% and then dismiss all of it.

There are plot holes in Homeland. So what! There are plot holes in every show. Are there more than in other shows? Maybe. Are there enough to make me stop watching it? No. At least, not yet.

As regards Season 2 - before the last couple of episodes I did think it was flagging, but I do think it has picked up again. In this last episode in particular people are picking up on :

The Dana-Finn story - I agree, it's gone nowhere, and this weeks episode where they meet up was particularly weak and irrelevant. But, having watched video commentaries on, for example, The Sopranos, the writers say that you drop these acorns across the series - some may pay back, some may not. This one isn't, and I think we'll hear no more about it now.

Nazir phoning Brody - whether a) Brody's phone should have been tapped and b) whether Blackberry(s) have that video capilility.

First, Nazir calls Brody on Skype (which if you looked closely you could clearly see the logo in the bottom of the screen, and since they were used in another episode, are obviously sponsoring this series). Skype calls are encrypted so (possibly) not as easy to intercept. Also, we know Nazir has good techies working for him (yer man that re-programmes the defibrillator for starters) so he could possibly beef that up even more.

Second, whether Blackberrys have Skype video capability - I DON'T CARE! Blackberry are obviously another sponsor of the show.

Brody's unfettered access around the VP house. First, the VP does fúck all in the US. But, they're paid incredibly well and if the president pops his clogs they're in. Plus, if you're going to allow someone into the Naval Compound, presumably they've got security clearance and you don't have to track their every move. Should the VP's private office have CCTV? I don't think any VP would want that - I mean, what if Monica Lewinsky was to show up? :)

Carrie listening to the theme tune - NO SHE WASN'T! She was listening to Jazz, and as someone has said already, we know she's a Jazz fan (maybe the little girl playing Jazz at the start is supposed to be her?) And the plot device of having her search for channels means you know she's distracted and something is going to happen next - but you don't know what.

Two other little holeens that I spotted that haven't been mentioned yet -

Dar Adal (Black ops guy) has to move home every three weeks. But he still eats in the same restaurant every Tuesday ;)

The damage to the car and its final placement seemed very inconsistent to me to be being struck on the right hand side.

See? You can keep looking for holes and pointing them out.

Or, you can decide, as I have done, that although they're there, they're not enough to make you stop watching.

Some episodes are better than others - I happened to enjoy this last one more than some of the previous ones, because I thought that overall, it was better (even with plot holes!).

Great synposis of everything that should make one appreciate what a great show Homeland is in spite of the plot holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Al Gore.......no, wait... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Well, technically Carter was still President until 20th January 1981.........but maybe I'm just looking for holes. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Well, technically Carter was still President until 20th January 1981.........but maybe I'm just looking for holes. :pac:

You weren't alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭brimal

Preview of tonight's episode. Saul is a great character.

Not sure what will happen in the next series. Perhaps Saul will be fired, and will concentrate his efforts not on terrorists but on the CIA and Estes' & Walden's illegal killing of civilians. He might become a private investigator or something, not sure.

Either way I'm not sure if Saul can work with Estes after this. Saul is too proud and clued in to take any more crap from Estes anymore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Season 2 finale tonight, i think Dexter is ending also.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭brimal

I think the finale is next week, no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

brimal wrote: »
    I think the finale is next week, no?

Dunno...thought it was tonight....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

12 episodes in Season 2, finale on 16 December 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭RodgersLFC

Theres two left, tonights episode and next weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Dunno...thought it was tonight....:confused:
    next week, same with dexter, 12 episode seasons, and weve only seen 10, im gonna gamble and say you dont with this show either rich ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭RodgersLFC

New episode - not sure what to make of it, which really sums up my feelings for this show pretty well. One episode left in the season now. Not liking what they've done with Saul at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

at early point of the show they say these guys all work in twos, cut to the guy on his own (with carrie).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

at early point of the show they say these guys all work in twos, cut to the guy on his own (with carrie).
    yeah, kinda stupid that part alright,

i was adamant that nazir had left the place as soon as he left carrie go, he had a very good hiding place TBF but realistically he shouldnt have still been there, what kinda of IDIOT sticks around after he leaves a CIA agent go, it took them over an hour or so to get there, he had plenty of time to get away, at least hes dead now anyway,

now that nazir is dead, and quinn is coming to clean up the mess, i do wonder what kind of angle they plan on playing for season 3,

i dont get why saul is fighting so hard not to have brody killed, hes clearly lied to them on multiple occasions, and hes already attempted to carry out 2 attacks on american soil that they know of, i dont get why he wont just leave it go,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

don ramo wrote: »
    i dont get why saul is fighting so hard not to have brody killed, hes clearly lied to them on multiple occasions, and hes already attempted to carry out 2 attacks on american soil that they know of, i dont get why he wont just leave it go,

he's a diplomat he doesn't believe in killing as a solution, and he's annoyed he wasn't told

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

I don't know if I'll be able to stick through season 3. It seems like all the interesting plot threads will be well and thoroughly burnt out by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Saul with the classic line this ep:

Interrogator: Is your name Saul Berenson?

Saul: Yes.

Interrogator: Are you sometimes know as 'The Bear'?

Saul: I fu<king hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

An invisible terrorist mastermind, impervious to infra-red scans with superhuman strength and agility etc. I've never seen a show disintegrate into mediocrity so fast. Did they change writers or something ?
    Nidge and the lads on Love/Hate would make a smarter and scarier enemy than Nazir

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

That look on Quinn's face at the end - are we to take it that he has fallen for Carrie, or that he doesn't want to do his task?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Sniffer dogs would have found that hiding place in about 2 seconds. And they should have had a few explosives sniffer dogs as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Saul is 'the Bear' from now on. He's too hairy to not be called the Bear.

He tricked that lie detection test though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'll wait until after next week's finale before commenting on where they're going to take it next year, but the signs aren't looking good.

It's hard to see where they can realistically take it while upping the stakes again. It seems as if they have seriously screwed the pacing of the show, those 50 shenanigans a second first 5/6 episodes is looking less and less masterful now.

Like I said I'll wait til next week as you never know what rabbit and hat were waiting to be pulled out of the hidey hole with Nazir :pac:

I'm so undecided on this season. LOVED the 1st season, always worried that they ought to have just had Brody go boom and leave it at that. It would have been amazing.

I didn't see where it could go from there. They went with fast paced cliffhangers every week style of approach and I feel like the whole thing is just implausible and diluted now. With Nazir now dead, what is left? The only person who knows it was Brody is Carrie. Estes and Quinn are going to go after Brody, and probably put Carrie in danger along the way. I could care less about Brodys family and Mike. Have grown so sick of Dana at this stage having really liked her character in season 1.

Overall unless they pull something amazing out for the finale, I would say that the standard of writing has fallen off a cliff for season 2. Another example of how studios choosing big bucks and fleshing these shows out beyond their natural life makes for shows that end up being remembered for all the wrong reasons, like Prison Break, it should probably have been left as is after season 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,617 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

They seem to have largely ditched the things which made this show unique and interesting (Brody's Muslim faith and Carrie's mental illness) and instead gone down the well worn formulaic road of other shows.

Expect the introduction of a NEW BADDIE and/or a mole next week to keep things moving along