Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man pushed under Dublin Bus and decapitated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

WindSock wrote: »
    I'm just reading comments from the Journal. Someone said a taxi driver had to cover up the body with cardboard because of the sick fcks.

Sweet Fck.. :eek::eek::mad::mad:

That is sick. That would've made me angry. I would've started snatching cameras and stamping on them :mad:. The poor guy.

Fair play to the Taxi driver. Glad that at least one person was able to use common sense and decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

Piliger wrote: »
    Being at that point on an almost daily basis I don't know what you're talking about. The traffic is consistently very slow and all in all a very safe area.

The traffic coming down Dame St at that junction is definitely not slow. It's a sharp turn that many cars and buses seem to always take at speed. Standing at the pedestrian crossing on the footpath, buses often come with inches of making contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Clarehobo wrote: »
    Independent report he was pushed, RTÉ and the Irish Times report he fell into the street after he was hit during an altercation.
    I wonder is there any CCTV in that area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Independent report he was pushed, RTÉ and the Irish Times report he fell into the street after he was hit during an altercation.
    I know who I'd be more inclined to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Poor man, the run up to x-mas is always mark by tragedies; a terrible time for his family.

I have to say the quality of some posts here today are fcuking shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Wonder have the Independent just prejudiced a future trial, a conviction for murder vs manslaughter would be dependent on whether it was one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,716 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'm just reading comments from the Journal. Someone said a taxi driver had to cover up the body with cardboard because of the sick fcks.

They should be commended for not standing around gawking and treating the deceased with respect.

Taco Chips wrote: »
    The traffic coming down Dame St at that junction is definitely not slow. It's a sharp turn that many cars and buses seem to always take at speed. Standing at the pedestrian crossing on the footpath, buses often come with inches of making contact.
    That whole area has been crying out for pedestrianisation for years - it would be a massive improvement for the area. The problem is that it's an arterial route across the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Gardai have to treat it as suspicious, as noone knows what happened.

He may have been pushed, he may have tripped, hell, he may have jumped.

As for the 2 other people, it's so easy for them to disappear into a crowd, in the panic and scramble. CCTV will probably be the saviour here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

What?? :confused:

The charges people face for causing violent death seems to be rather topical at the moment. I mentioned that case twice.
    I've no idea why you have thrown your toys out of the pram, but I suggest you get out for a breath of air or something.

Edit: By the way, the way you are trolling my posts looking for a chance to leap down my throat suggests you should do us both a favour and just put me on ignore. It may help you deal with this odd obsession.
    No, it's not all that's bothering me. But why don't you just assume that for the purposes of having a rant at someone to make you feel better about a horrible event outside your control?

People are f*cking strange.
    It just hardly seems an appropriate time to bring up that case though, whatever your reasons for doing so. It doesn't seem like URL was trolling your posts either; think your reaction is the throwing toys out one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

I wonder is there any CCTV in that area?

Not sure about the area, but the bus has cameras on the front of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Piliger wrote: »
    Being at that point on an almost daily basis I don't know what you're talking about. The traffic is consistently very slow and all in all a very safe area.

Well, I might be thinking of the wrong junction, so.

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRqNbhrkZkyq5e3v0IndgeJ9bS72cQhESoHzbtIa0jQ_58QLOtI

I was thinking of the pedestrian crossing not far from here.

Madam_X wrote: »
    It just hardly seems an appropriate time to bring up that case though, whatever your reasons for doing so.
    Why not? What is the time period for useless hand-wringing before we ask that kind of question?

It's a given that it's a horrible event. Horrible. I was close to something like that before - I wasn't right for days. But that didn't stop from asking how it had happened, what would happen to the perpetrator, whether they would be caught etc. etc.

Perhaps people have different ways of dealing with these things? Perhaps it's not appropriate to attack others for dealing with things in their own way?
    Madam_X wrote: »
    It doesn't seem like URL was trolling your posts either; think your reaction is the throwing toys out one.
    He's done this several times in the last couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,716 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Mind you, it is possible it is a mindless reaction out of shock. Maybe all it takes is someone to tell them to snap out of it and cop on.

You do hear about studies where the majority of people freeze up and do nothing.

This reminds me of that incident in China earlier in the year where people strolled past a dying child not wanting to get involved.

I really want to believe I'd react appropriately, but it's an unknown until something serious happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

On the other hand, there's probably not a whole lot they could do to help. I have no problem with people documenting news events, I'm just wondering what the hell they think they are going to do with these photos. :confused:

Well yes that's kind of my point. There's essentially nothing they could do to help but getting out of the way might be a good idea.
    Capturing a news event is one thing but the scene of a fatal accident I fail to see the benefit to the wider public.

If I passed a traffic accident where the fire brigade were using cutting equipment for example I wouldn't stop and go back to film it. I probably wouldn't stop to help either as the experts are dealing with it.

It's also a little jarring that people are so desensitised / detached that they would want to film / photograph such a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

brummytom wrote: »
    Jesus.

RIP. Now how long before the usual brigade call for the death penalty? They may have wanted to seriously hurt him, but shoving someone and them ending up in that sort of state can't be want they intended.
    You push someone in front of a moving bus, seems pretty clear what your intent is. Let's not split hairs on this one.

• There was a thread on here a while back about someone saying they were at a funeral and people were taking pictures and putting them on facebook etc. There's a lot of morons out there and places like facebook are places to show yourself as one.

That was me - some bloke took pictures at my friend's funeral and tagged her in them. I really think this Twitter obsessed world has just made people completely oblivious to social norms and desensitised to awful scenes - why on earth would anyone want to take pictures of a poor guy who has just been killed under a bus? I'd feel bad enough having a gawp (which is a natural enough reaction) but taking photos?? Jesus.

That Independent article is really insensitive as well - was it really necessary to go into such detail? The writing is horrendous as well, looks like a Junior Cert project. What's with all the short sentences and tacky turns of phrase? Went under the bus 'in a flash', did he? I despair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 SERGEANT.

That's pretty horrific. Hopefully the witnesses can get over seeing something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

dd972 wrote: »
    just guessing that it may have been junkie types fighting among themselves as the most likely scenario, apparently there was some altercation prior to the incident, certainly hope it wasn't a tourist

Dont matter if it was a junkie. This is bad, junkie or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,172 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Ghandee wrote: »
    Just yesterday some other poor man was pushed in front of a train in New York too.:eek:

And a couple of weeks ago, the same on the outskirts of Paris - 15 year-old girl pushed an 18-year old in front of a train. The older one survived, but had to have both legs amputated. The younger one's locked up on remand.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That junction is a nightmare, you've traffic going left and right, then pedestrian lights and cars can only go right.

Once you turn right in a car you then nearly have to play russian roulette with busses to get into the left hand lane if you need to go down Pearse St.

And it's one of the busiest junctions for pedestrians as well, especially at rush hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I've never actually purchased the Indo and, if that's the level of their reporting, I don't ever intend to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

That was me - some bloke took pictures at my friend's funeral and tagged her in them. I really think this Twitter obsessed world has just made people completely oblivious to social norms and desensitised to awful scenes - why on earth would anyone want to take pictures of a poor guy who has just been killed under a bus? I'd feel bad enough having a gawp (which is a natural enough reaction) but taking photos?? Jesus.

I remember you saying this about the funeral-it was crazy! Like, what's next, hugging up close to the dead person in the coffin and pulling a duck face while taking a quick self snap?

I don't what's wrong with some people-taking a photo of every damn inappropriate thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Mind you, it is possible it is a mindless reaction out of shock. Maybe all it takes is someone to tell them to snap out of it and cop on.
    I guess it's possible and just symptomatic of modern times it is a bit sad that upon witnessing something like that they reach for their phone not to call for assistance but to take a photo.

I can see how it would happen in some situations but I think people should still be able to regulate themselves a bit or will we have hospital staff tweeting from A&E before too long ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

The people that take photos of such tragedies have absolutely no respect whatsoever, disgusting scummers as far as I'm concerned with the sole intention of showing it to their mates for a laugh and a shock most likely :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ghandee wrote: »
    Oh, and in before someone insinuates it was a 'junkie'/scumbag etc.... Does it matter?
    dd972 wrote: »
    just guessing that it may have been junkie types fighting among themselves as the most likely scenario, apparently there was some altercation prior to the incident, certainly hope it wasn't a tourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Conchir

kowloon wrote: »
    You do hear about studies where the majority of people freeze up and do nothing.

This reminds me of that incident in China earlier in the year where people strolled past a dying child not wanting to get involved.

I really want to believe I'd react appropriately, but it's an unknown until something serious happens.

I think it might have something to do with the Bystander Effect: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect

Basically, it's the theory that a passerby is unlikely to offer help in an emergency if there are other passersby present. So, most people there would have just froze, until this one person thought to cover up the body.

This theory I think is more to do with intervening in an assault or something, but I think the same principle might apply here - no one reacted because there were others around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

At times like this I really respect the difficult job the gardai have, as much criticism as they get from the public - some of the situations they have to deal with are absolutely horrific. I can't even imagine dealing with a scene like that in front of me, I'd probably vomit and cry or have a nervous breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Jonny Drama

People taking pictures at the scene apparently. Ffs, what are they going to do...put them on Facebook and Twitter.

That's exactly what they're going to do. People nowadays will put up anything on Facebook/Twitter for attention!