Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Going to try this Rick Stein recipe in the next week or two, hopefully.

We should have a cooking/bake off. :pac:

That looks amazing, except I'd leave out the nutmeg..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

Sauve wrote: »
    I know, I was dubious too until I tried one. Its one of those things that sounds so wrong but is definitely worth a go. :)
    I'll make you one someday and convert you!!

Sounds delish!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,075 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    That looks amazing, except I'd leave out the nutmeg..

Yeah? I'd just use powdered cinnamon out of laziness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

Sounds delish!

I'm a bit disturbed that I just said "delish"...that seems wrong...

For some reason I've watched every single bit of budget coverage today yet I have not listened to one word.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Yeah? I'd just use powdered cinnamon out of laziness...

not a fan of either tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

It look savage Black. I may try it.

I.love cinnamon and nutmeg and have one or both in my porridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,054 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Date's off. She will be traveling in the new year and nahh...
    Off I go back under the oul "eff it I'm grand, I don't need anyone anyways" rock.
    A small bit disappointed.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Panthro wrote: »
    Off I go back under the oul "eff it I'm grand, I don't need anyone anyways" rock.

hands Panthro a Beer

:(

Panthro wrote: »

Wimmins eh? Can't live with em, can't *insert own thoughts here* :mad:

Sorry mate..

• Administrators Posts: 55,160 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

awec wrote: »
    Buenos manana!

Good morning you little ray of sunshine :pac:

Panthro whats for ya wont pass you. A wise man said that. Once.

Whats for you wont pass you:

If it's meant to be it'll happen.
    If its not meant to be, it wont happen.
    If it's meant for you, it won't pass you.
    Que sera sera. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Morning all!

I hate DPD with the firey passion of a thousand suns!

That is all!

Anyone here ever try TRX training? Friend of mine swears by it!

I may get the kit for xmas - or more than likely after xmas when I have more disposable income!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Anyone here ever try TRX training? Friend of mine swears by it!

I may get the kit for xmas - or more than likely after xmas when I have more disposable income!
    Yup - there's a number of very good trx moves for core work - came across them when researching pilates & core workout exercises before hitting the gym.

I wouldn't know much about how well it works for upper body etc. but I'd imagine for core and toning it's fairly good.

I'm doing trx & kettlebell classes
    I have no idea what a home kit would be like, you rest all your weight on the trx straps, so you'd need something sturdy holding them. Our place has a really heavy duty pole fixed into the walls for it
    Love doing it, it's great for arms etc
    we do a lot of these
    http://newspaper.li/static/130498e3bab97645a36c71fdcfc29f6c.png
    and pushups
    http://www.sweatlikeapig.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/push-up.png
    and squats
    http://www.sweatlikeapig.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/TRX_Squat.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Pembily wrote: »
    It look savage Black. I may try it.

I.love cinnamon and nutmeg and have one or both in my porridge.
    I also. They’re supposed to be very good for the tum and digestion, which is a nice bonus!

I really want to try TRX. It sounds like a more hardcore Pilates.

I’m going to see Bruce Springsteen in Thomond Park next summer! SO EXCITED. Also going to see him in Cork. Which is less exciting, but still awesome. ALL THE EXCITEMENT \0/ :D

I don't think I would like the trx. Not a fan of straps, I would get all caught up in them and tangeled and ultimately fall :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

awec a mod! WTF? :eek::eek:

Daisies wrote: »
    awec a mod! WTF? :eek::eek:

Its only cos Galen left and they had to show their multi-culturalism. He hasnt got any actual powers, the title is just for show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,225 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Stranger things have happened. Not sure when but I'm sure they have. And I can say that after being in the Ripley's Believe It or Not museum

I thought one of the lads who have been around for longer would have got it but sure f*ck it - such is life!!

Congrats (again!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I applied for the position myself. Apparently my borderline obsession with collecting items which I think resemble my own likeness was deemed too 'concerning'.

I thought one of the lads who have been around for longer would have got it but sure f*ck it - such is life!!

Congrats (again!)

What about one of the ladies?

Congrats (again!)

Best for the job were chosen, think its more about that than longevity of posting!

Jaysus but Im hungry- Id eat the leg off a scabby child.

Congrats (again!)

Best for the job were chosen, think its more about that than longevity of posting!

Jaysus but Im hungry- Id eat the leg off a scabby child.

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Wimmins eh? Can't live with em, can't *insert own thoughts here* :mad:

Can't live with 'em... can't kill 'em!

Pembily wrote: »
    What about one of the ladies?

Actually, not everybody knows it, but we have a lady Mod.