Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Lets face it, it's toast.
    Is it worth anything though, a toasted PS3?
    Is it safe to sell it on to someone?
    I'm sure a 60gb PS3 is worth something to someone, despite it having had a digital stroke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Lets face it, it's toast.
    Is it worth anything though, a toasted PS3?
    Is it safe to sell it on to someone?
    I'm sure a 60gb PS3 is worth something to someone, despite it having had a digital stroke.

Personally I'd get a second opinion on fixing it from someone who does proper ps3 repairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Haha... just seen the locked thread there.

This is how I see everyone who uses the 'You Laugh, you lose' thread:

134876974181.png

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

DinoRex wrote: »
    Haha... just seen the locked thread there.

This is how I see everyone who uses the 'You Laugh, you lose' thread:

134876974181.png

No idea what that yoke is but I imagine it's called a "Reddit copy & paste job"?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Andrew76 wrote: »
    No idea what that yoke is but I imagine it's called a "Reddit copy & paste job"?

Effectively, but its popularity is absolutely baffling. Probably gets more views in a day than A&R in a month.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Well, people are stupid and don't know what's good for them.
    If only we could set up a state and allow the people to be governed by those who know better and will do what's in their best interests, even when they "imagine" they are being oppressed by this benevolence...
    Oh, wait, isn't that fascism?
    Damn and blast!
    Have to think of something else now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,446 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

We could call it 'Neo Fascism', right?

Nothing with 'neo' at the beginning has ever been bad.

Neo Geo

Neapolitan ice cream

Neo Na...oh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The Reasonableists - because no-one will argue with a group who stresses their reasonableness in their name!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The second fire emblem game on the DS that was never released in the West has been fan translated:

http://www.heroesofshadow.net/

Andrew76 wrote: »

That ain't no yoke! It's a Slowpoke.

But yeah... it's a thread full of stuff you'd already have seen a year ago elsewhere on the web. Or possibly your aunt sent to you in a FWD:FWD:FWD email.

Hmmm, very interesting Dino...

THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!

Oh, I see what you mean...

Internet: serious business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Has anyone ever spray painted a console?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Well good ould Santy time is coming up and feck it I think I'll ask the fat man to get me a PS Vita, should I be locked up?.

I know it's tanking now and there's flip all games out right now but if I get Persona 4 and Sine Mora they'll keep me going for a while.

Alternativly I could ask for the WiiU but I think I'll give that one 6 months or so to mature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I'd probably wait until next year as I'd say the vita will drop in price after Christmas. That or might get a good deal in the sales.

Master of the Universe

Are people buying Vitas? After the launch I've heard bugger all more about them really.

Well I guess now that Persona 4 The Golden is out anyone who hasn't played the original has a decent excuse to pick one-up - a close-to killer app if ever there was one. A handful of interesting titles out and on the horizon too.

The catastrophe that was Call of Duty Declassified, though, may have done some serious damage to an already flagging device. A rock solid CoD portable game could have been the game to persuade a wider audience to get on board, ala Monster Hunter in Nippon. Alas, it was a cluster**** of an insult of a game by all accounts. Activision and Sony dropped the ball on that one, although given the companies in question, not surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

Persona 4 has just made it relevant again. Virtue's Last Reward out for it this week too, though it's also on 3DS. Downloading Sine Mora on mine at the moment while P4 is en route. Good week for handheld games, with the release of P4, Virtue's Last Reward and the 3DS version of Epic Mickey which is basically a sequel to castle of illusion.

ghostchant wrote: »
    Persona 4 has just made it relevant again. Virtue's Last Reward out for it this week too, though it's also on 3DS. Downloading Sine Mora on mine at the moment while P4 is en route. Good week for handheld games, with the release of P4, Virtue's Last Reward and the 3DS version of Epic Mickey which is basically a sequel to castle of illusion.

Not hearing much enthusiasm about Epic Mickey 3DS alas, although it is meant to be a notch above its console brethren (they're getting slated). Still, consensus seems to be its not quite the Castle of Illusion successor it could have been :(

Looking forward to Virtue's Last Reward though (sequel to 999, for anyone who doesn't know). Think I'll be a Christmas game though, bogged down with cheap games I've picked up over the last few weeks :o

Might get the Adventure Time game for the DS for my son for Chrimbo, he is looking for more Skylanders but had finished the game as of yesterday! He has also requested Dragon Quest IX from Santa so at least he has taste at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

VS_MK-leavinghome_main_1024x1024.jpg?979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Might get the Adventure Time game for the DS for my son for Chrimbo, he is looking for more Skylanders but had finished the game as of yesterday! He has also requested Dragon Quest IX from Santa so at least he has taste at least!
    didn't started DQIX yet, if you get it we can trade maps.
    So wanted the NDS AT with Special Edition but not heard anything about the EU release, heard it got sold out in ... Aus? I think, already feel like I'm never gonna get it.

£350,000 for a Dizzy game? Are they f*cking high?!?

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/theolivertwins/dizzy-returns

Sera wrote: »
    didn't started DQIX yet, if you get it we can trade maps.
    So wanted the NDS AT with Special Edition but not heard anything about the EU release, heard it got sold out in ... Aus? I think, already feel like I'm never gonna get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

o1s1n wrote: »
    Are people buying Vitas? After the launch I've heard bugger all more about them really.

I traded in my 3DS for a Vita when the Vita first came out.

It's a grand device and has alot of potential but so far the games have been pretty lackluster.

Still waiting for it to be cracked properly so that I can do lovely emulation on it's AMOLED screen.

The 3ds seems far better served with AAA titles compared to the Vita, even if you look at niche titles the 3ds outstrips the Vita.
    If it was an essential piece of kit I'd own one of them, but it's just not.
    Maybe in 2013...
    Emulators on the Vita seems pointless given the PSP and DS does that job just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I'd like a Vita purely because its almost a non existent console in my eyes, it seems very near pointless to own one...which so far after its launch, is only something Sony could achieve.

I'll get one eventually, when they go the way of the PSP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Achilles wrote: »
    I traded in my 3DS for a Vita when the Vita first came out.

:eek: Noooooooooooooooooo!

Master of the Universe

Monkeykube wrote: »
    :eek: Noooooooooooooooooo!

Exactly what I was thinking!

Was playing my 3DS yesterday evening for the first time in ages. Checked the stats to see when I got it - almost two years ago.

How has it been that long already? Madness! Still feels like it hasn't really kicked off properly as a console.

And I'm STILL waiting for Beyond Labyrinth :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Think the 3DS is pretty much established as a must have console. Saying that I've been mostly playing DS games on it.

One thing I like about the Vita is that the screen resolution is exactly 4 times the resolution of the PSP so when you play PSP games on it they look absolutely glorious. DS games on the 3DS look blurry unless you play them in a small screen size.

I'm really interested in getting a Vita, there's some good games on it. Gravity Rush looks spectacular. Once Ys 4 remake gets released on it I'll definitely have to get one. Also the screen really is gorgeous.