Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dummys guide to DIY Calving Camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

So lads just to simplify it for a simpleton :D

If I want a calving camera and my house is 500-600 metres from the yard I buy
    a camera(preferably ptz)http://www.ebay.ie/itm/7-Sony-1-4-CCD-27x-Zoom-Outdoor-PTZ-Dome-D-N-Camera-/390121997994?pt=UK_CCTV&hash=item5ad51546aa#ht_4056wt_952. Then something to connect my wifi at home to the camera like this http://www.interprojekt.com.pl/ubiquiti-nanostation-loco-24ghz-p-992.html

Then just power it and hook up with it on my laptop/pc at home
    Is it this easy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

babybrian wrote: »
    So lads just to simplify it for a simpleton :D

If I want a calving camera and my house is 500-600 metres from the yard I buy
    a camera(preferably ptz)http://www.ebay.ie/itm/7-Sony-1-4-CCD-27x-Zoom-Outdoor-PTZ-Dome-D-N-Camera-/390121997994?pt=UK_CCTV&hash=item5ad51546aa#ht_4056wt_952. Then something to connect my wifi at home to the camera like this http://www.interprojekt.com.pl/ubiquiti-nanostation-loco-24ghz-p-992.html

Then just power it and hook up with it on my laptop/pc at home
    Is it this easy??

Yep that seems to be the case. You need 2 nano-stations, one for the shed and one for the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Lofty0990

If the nano station is on the outside wall and where the camera needs to be mounted is 50 ft further in ,is it possible to connect by cable and if so what sort .

Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭19driver83

I purchased the Foscam camera for £65. Will update post when it is received.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Lofty0990 wrote: »
    If the nano station is on the outside wall and where the camera needs to be mounted is 50 ft further in ,is it possible to connect by cable and if so what sort .

Ta.

ya you would need to make up ethernet cable, you could buy 1 on ebay but they are easy make yourself..50ft would be no prob, 100 meters is the limit

19driver83 wrote: »
    I purchased the Foscam camera for £65. Will update post when it is received.
    How'd you get on?

http://www.irishwireless.net/192-nanostationm5-airmax-ap-cpe-.html
    you could buy 2 of these, easy to set up and will cover that distance no bother
    they can be cabled tied to down pipes or anything so easy to install, basically point them at each other, there is a strength indicator on back to tell you whether they are lined up..
    i only suggest these because i have similar (older model) and they have worked well for me anyway
    Seems like irishwireless have hit the dust (at least their website has!)

I took the plunge and purchased the Foscam camera and 3 nano-stations on ebay. I was going to buy from Foscam UK direct but I just thought the extra st£35 added in at the final step a bit checky, and suddenly it was €132 vs €75 on ebay. The nano-stations from the website linked earlier in this thread were not available for immediate shipping, hence I'm getting these from ebay as well.

All going well I'll have the full set-up for €235 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭19driver83

just do it wrote: »
    How'd you get on?

Got the camera. Does everything it says it would. Set-up instructions A1.

I didnt mount it in the shed yet as my wireless router will be too far away to connect to it. I need to get something to communicate between the camera & router in the house.

The camera certainly is not made for out door use, I would even have concerns about it in the shed but we will wait and see. Apart from this I would recommend the camera, the night vision works well. I downloaded a free app for my iphone also and the camera works on that aswel.

Since I put this thread-up I came across another thread where this guy gives detailed instructions on how to set-up IP camera in shed. Its worth a read.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056803051?page=1#post_81666149

Anyone view remote ip camera from Nokia Lumia ( freeken windows phone) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

19driver83 wrote: »

Got the camera. Does everything it says it would. Set-up instructions A1.

I didnt mount it in the shed yet as my wireless router will be too far away to connect to it. I need to get something to communicate between the camera & router in the house.

The camera certainly is not made for out door use, I would even have concerns about it in the shed but we will wait and see. Apart from this I would recommend the camera, the night vision works well. I downloaded a free app for my iphone also and the camera works on that aswel.

Since I put this thread-up I came across another thread where this guy gives detailed instructions on how to set-up IP camera in shed. Its worth a read.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056803051?page=1#post_81666149

So you would rate this camera good

I am going to purchase one but where did you buy yours from.

Would you not be happy with the phone app because its setup to look at 24/7 and your phone is with you 24/7 so that's the way I'd look at it 19 driver83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 pgjk

I took the plunge and purchased the Foscam camera and 3 nano-stations on ebay. I was going to buy from Foscam UK direct but I just thought the extra st£35 added in at the final step a bit checky, and suddenly it was €132 vs €75 on ebay. The nano-stations from the website linked earlier in this thread were not available for immediate shipping, hence I'm getting these from ebay as well.

All going well I'll have the full set-up for €235 :D

well did you make any progress?

Only purchased on Sat night so the gear's in the post. Next calving due on 18th Dec so will want to get it set up promptly.....

give me a shout if you have any trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

give me a shout if you have any trouble

vanderbadger,

you know a bit bout stuff!

so lets this straight.!

dome camera mounted in shed.. wired to nano station outside shed... wireless router in home - 50/60 metres away - picks up nano station.. and away i go??

vanderbadger,

you know a bit bout stuff!

so lets this straight.!

dome camera mounted in shed.. wired to nano station outside shed... wireless router in home - 50/60 metres away - picks up nano station.. and away i go??

i doubt you could get the wireless router in your house to join the nano, maybe you could, i would say you would need a second nano outside your house, that would be cabled back to your wireless router assuming the wireless router has a few ethernet ports on it

wireless router has ports...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GoodMan55985

VanderBadger Quote:

"ya you would need to make up ethernet cable, you could buy 1 on ebay but they are easy make yourself..50ft would be no prob, 100 meters is the limit"

Just on this how would you go about making the cable?

That foscam camera below form ebay it doesn't look handy to mount from a wall. Can the stand be mounted to a wall. The picture from eBay doesn't seem to allow this?

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/170642979572?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

VanderBadger Quote:

"ya you would need to make up ethernet cable, you could buy 1 on ebay but they are easy make yourself..50ft would be no prob, 100 meters is the limit"

http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Network-Cable
    you need a length of cable, a crimping tool and the little rj45 crystals which a basically bigger versions of the little connector on the end of your phone cable

I am looking into setup a system to monior calvings also.

I found this diagram on the internet. It may be helpful to guys to give an idea of what they need to do the setup when doing it DIY.

http://agricamera.co.uk/installation-and-setup

Also has anyone bought off this crowd. Private mail me if any experience dealing with them.

VanderBadger Quote:

you need a length of cable, a crimping tool and the little rj45 crystals which a basically bigger versions of the little connector on the end of your phone cable

do the nano stations have to be in line of sight of each other? will nano station2 do the job?

ya should be fine id say, ya the need to be pointed in general direction of each other, there is like a strength indicator on the back of them, ive on inside the house just sitting on a window pointing out the other one is on drain pipe of shed, the one on shed would be a good deal higher than house but works grand
    http://dl.ubnt.com/Nano_Quick_Set-up.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

I am looking into setup a system to monior calvings also.

I found this diagram on the internet. It may be helpful to guys to give an idea of what they need to do the setup when doing it DIY.

http://agricamera.co.uk/installation-and-setup

Also has anyone bought off this crowd. Private mail me if any experience dealing with them.

Agri camera wireless cam is 350 euro

Bit expensive?

Yeah a bit steep. Think will go DIY route.

I saw this camera, looks good and has a dome on it. Anyone any views on this or should I stay clear of this? Thanks

http://www.chinavasion.com/china/wholesale/IP_Cameras/PTZ_IP_Cameras/PTZ_Wireless_IP_Camera#rev

VanderBadger Quote:

There would appear to be a lot of crap ethernet cable out there given some of the reviews on amazon - anywhwhere in particular one should look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 agricamera

Are you buying a spool or a preterminated length?

Comms express is the best place to go for preterminated, if you want outdoor rated cable on a roll Solwise are generally cheaper but their preterminated patch cables are junk.

Avoid anything that is called CCA - copper clad aluminium, it will cause you no end of grief.

Lofty0990 wrote: »

There would appear to be a lot of crap ethernet cable out there given some of the reviews on amazon - anywhwhere in particular one should look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i have a vodafone wireless thing, i dont see any ethernet ports for the nano, is it still possible to connect them

hmm prob not, what vodafone thing is it

lads,

do any of ye know anything bout the site www.lightinthebox.com ... the cameras there are wicked cheap....