Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

meriwether wrote: »
    Dembele out of NL derby.

We should be able to dominate midfield now. Huddlestone is hilarious.

I really don't understand the Huddlestone hating, it seems to be a common perception. He was excellent last weekend, good with either foot and a super range of passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

meriwether wrote: »
    Dembele out of NL derby.

We should be able to dominate midfield now. Huddlestone is hilarious.

Man United's midfield is no great shakes and I didnt see us dominate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Ivan Gazidis told the BBC that Arsenal will compete with any side in the world over the next few seasons due to their financial might

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

amiable wrote: »
    Ivan Gazidis told the BBC that Arsenal will compete with any side in the world over the next few seasons due to their financial might

They could compete now if they'd invest a few million in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

*awaits four more years of embarassing inconsistency*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

If the playing field changes that is..... ie tighter fiscal rules from UEFA, and its all ifs as far as I can see, more like a business plan, than football strategy. In the mean time Arsenal has to qualify for CL by finishing in the top 4 and indeed survive the season. Big talk is all it is from Gazidis.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20220153

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

MaxPower89 wrote: »

I really don't understand the Huddlestone hating, it seems to be a common perception. He was excellent last weekend, good with either foot and a super range of passing.

He's big, slow and awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

keano_afc wrote: »
    Man United's midfield is no great shakes and I didnt see us dominate them.

If the Man Utd games proves to be an indicator of how we perform this season, we are screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

This Saturday is going to make or break Wenger imo. Either we have a great performance and batter Tottenham or our defensive frailties are shown again and Spurs batter us. They are missing some key names, but that will only inspire those who start against us. I hope the real Arsenal stand up on Saturday in the early kick off. It's going to be a defining moment in the history of Arsenal Football Club.

DenMan wrote: »
    This Saturday is going to make or break Wenger imo. Either we have a great performance and batter Tottenham or our defensive frailties are shown again and Spurs batter us. They are missing some key names, but that will only inspire those who start against us. I hope the real Arsenal stand up on Saturday in the early kick off. It's going to be a defining moment in the history of Arsenal Football Club.

Ah here! It's a big game no doubt, but you're hyping it up WAY too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

Galvasean wrote: »
    Ah here! It's a big game no doubt, but you're hyping it up WAY too much.

We'll see lads. If we lose the amount of people calling for Wenger's head (606 etc) will reach epic proportions and the media will go to town on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

We'll see lads. If we lose the amount of people calling for Wenger's head (606 etc) will reach epic proportions and the media will go to town on us.

If we win, not much changes, if we lose I'm taking a break from the internet for a few days. I don't agree that it will make or break Wenger though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

djPSB wrote: »
    He's big, slow and awkward.

He isnt a raiding winger so him being big and slow is fairly unimportant.

We could do with someone a bit bigger in the middle ourselves perhaps, in Diaby's absense. It certainly aint clicking in there at the moment, maybe its just the lack of games between the personal or is the balance not right?

A few internet whiners and some over the top journalism does not a 'defining moment in the history of Arsenal Football Club' make.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'm pretty sure Wenger "made" himself quite a while ago ;)

Besides, this happens every year. We go through a bad patch, the "Wenger out" ramblings surface, Tottenham start saying it's their year(because Everton don't exist apparently) and the media starts talking about some sort of crisis. Then we string a few wins together and the pundits are clinbing over themselves to say what lovely football we play and what a great job wenger does without spending a **** tonne of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Meanwhile "Rosicky, Diaby and Gibbs are lone term injuries" according to Wenger.

My solution -- Immediately put them on the transfer list and see how that speeds-up their recovery.
    Seriously these lads have to be taking the piss. They are spending more time recovering than they are playing. It's being going on for years now with these three. Time to ship out and replace if anyone wants them that is. The Emirates is becoming a retirement home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

All 3 are important members of the squad sadly, if they don't get a decent run of availability this season then it'll have to be the exit door.

I still think our best 11 is:

Szczesny
    --Sagna---Mertesacker--Vermaelen--Gibbs--
    Arteta
    Diaby
    --Cazorla
    Wilshere
    Podolski----
    Giroud

Subs: Mannone, Jenkinson, Koscielny, Walcott, Ramsey, Rosicky, Arshavin

The chances of us ever having this squad fit are ridiculously small.

Big one tomorrow, getting nervous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Meanwhile "Rosicky, Diaby and Gibbs are lone term injuries" according to Wenger.

My solution -- Immediately put them on the transfer list and see how that speeds-up their recovery.
    Seriously these lads have to be taking the piss. They are spending more time recovering than they are playing. It's being going on for years now with these three. Time to ship out and replace if anyone wants them that is. The Emirates is becoming a retirement home.

agree. Rosicky has been a total sicknote for a few years, Gibbs, different story he's only young i'd give him a chance, but Diaby, well he's not reliable enough. We should and could replace them. The amount of duffers we have tying up millions a season in wages - Park, Squillachi, Bendy boots, Chamakh, and the sicknotes - Rosicky and Diaby, and the couldn't give a ****e - Arshavin, they need to be shipped out straight away. Even on frees. none of those 7 players are on less than 50k a week, some on 70k+. It's an outrageous waste of money and an example of why Arsene has too much control in the club - I love Wenger for all he's done btw - but he's signed these chumps on too high wages and either he's not strict enough with them. Talk of letting Frimpong go, that sickens me he's a gooner and loves the club and we retain ****e players in the squad who nobody wants. ARGH.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    agree. Rosicky has been a total sicknote for a few years, Gibbs, different story he's only young i'd give him a chance, but Diaby, well he's not reliable enough. We should and could replace them. The amount of duffers we have tying up millions a season in wages - Park, Squillachi, Bendy boots, Chamakh, and the sicknotes - Rosicky and Diaby, and the couldn't give a ****e - Arshavin, they need to be shipped out straight away. Even on frees. none of those 7 players are on less than 50k a week, some on 70k+. It's an outrageous waste of money and an example of why Arsene has too much control in the club - I love Wenger for all he's done btw - but he's signed these chumps on too high wages and either he's not strict enough with them. Talk of letting Frimpong go, that sickens me he's a gooner and loves the club and we retain ****e players in the squad who nobody wants. ARGH.

Could you ever imagine this situation happening at United?
    AS soon as they identify a player who doesn't suit their system or who is always injured they ship him out. Like they did with twin 2. Vidic seems to be their only player who has a serious injury but you can bet your life he'll be back before any of our three.

Could you ever imagine this situation happening at United?
    AS soon as they identify a player who doesn't suit their system or who is always injured they ship him out. Like they did with twin 2. Vidic seems to be their only player who has a serious injury but you can bet your life he'll be back before any of our three.

They stuck with Hargreaves for a fairly long time - they were also lucky that City were prepared to take a punt on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

greendom wrote: »
    they were also lucky that City were prepared to take a punt on him

Hargreaves was a free agent when City signed him.

bad2dabone wrote: »

A: Do you know how expensive it would be to get rid of them?
    B: Most of those players are on contacts that they would not get anywhere else, so why should they approve a transfer? Chamackh even publicly came out and said that!
    C: The talk of Frimpong leaving is just that. Talk. Indeed Frimpong posted as much on his twitter! He needs playing time, can't get it at Arsenal atm, so e's going out on loan. Good move imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

So we basically have to give most of the team late fitness tests great

Re frimpong he is only going on loan but I would have no problem selling him don't think he is good enough to make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

A: Do you know how expensive it would be to get rid of them?

but who's fault is it that we've backed ourselves into the corner with these guys?
    B: Most of those players are on contacts that they would not get anywhere else, so why should they approve a transfer? Chamackh even publicly came out and said that!

To an extent you can't blame the players for being paid those wages they were offered the contracts and i'm sure were delighted to sign them, the issue lies with the club giving great deals to players who weren't good enough. And now we're stuck with them. Not a problem if it's one or two, but we've got 6 or 7. Who gives these contracts out? Park's supposed to be on 60k a week, who signed him for 60k a week and won't play the guy? it's infuriating. I'm not having a go but you can see where i'm coming from I hope.
    C: The talk of Frimpong leaving is just that. Talk. Indeed Frimpong posted as much on his twitter! He needs playing time, can't get it at Arsenal atm, so e's going out on loan. Good move imo

Fair enough, i'm glad we're keeping players like him who are willing to give it all for the club. We need more of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I dont mind Diaby, Rosicky and Gibbs as all three are quality when fit. Its worth sticking with them but Rosicky is starting to get a bit old. Diaby and Gibbs will be fine for another while.

It's annoying how poor their fitness is, but they shouldnt be anywhere near first out the door.

Squillaci, Park, Denilson, Fabianski, Bendtner, Arshavin, Chamakh and Djourou (wouldnt be opposed to putting Santos on here too provided we sign a replacement first) in roughly that order should all be looking at the exit before Gibbs, Diaby or Rosicky.

Of those 8 (excluding Santos) only Arshavin and Chamakh are anywhere close to the first team. The rest are literally dead weight. Most of them wouldnt be vital to replace so we could use any money and wages on worthwhile players instead. Even just the extra wages would be a big help. Shame we'll probably only get rid of one or two and keep the rest.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

TBH, I wouldn't mind getting rid of Diaby, good player but no consistance contribution. . .like never.

Rosicky is 32 now. Who would want him? Probably not looking for a big team. When does his contract with us ends?

Arshavin, no comment. The one thing I can't forgive to a player is indifference. He is also 31.

Gibbs that was mentioned above, he is still young and I like his playing style. I would give him some time before dismissing him because of injurys.

Irish Aris wrote: »
    TBH, I wouldn't mind getting rid of Diaby, good player but no consistance contribution. . .like never.

Did you watch the Liverpool game this year ? Immense that day - I agree its doubtful we'll ever see it again but he showed what he was capable of that day and why Wenger persevered.

I agree, but there comes a time when you have to say he's not able physically for the demands of the game and let him off. He's by no means close to the top of the list of players i'd like to see the club dump though.

Did you watch the Liverpool game this year ?

Worth every penny.

This crap about him contributing a lot or being important to the squad is just that, crap. If we had Messi playing a match or 2 a season would he be an important part of the squad? No. Whether it's Diaby's fault or not is irrelevant, he's been a gigantic waste of money and the fact that people are still talking about him as being an important part of the squad or of future plans is completely ****ing insane. I was happy with Rosicky last season I'll admit but he's not worth it at this stage.

Anyway, rant over, but I'm bloody sick of hearing about Diaby, he's pretty much an irrelevance to Arsenal and has been since he first arrived and got a paper cut after signing his contract.