Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,135 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

(c) FFP will soon be coming in to at least some extent.
    Does anyone know when this is actually going to happen? Is it even a definite that it is going to happen? The longer it goes on the more it seems like a suggested threat to the big clubs rather than an imminent announcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

2014 supposedly. It's meant to cover the past few years, i think it'll be BS because there's a few clubs at the moment that have no chance of meeting the supposed criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Didn't Abramovic just recently change a bunch of debt into 'equity', thereby sidestepping the FFP rules and announcing a €1.5 million profit for Chelsea? We can't depend on the fair play rules coming in on saving football because billionaires will always find loopholes. That's why they are billionaires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

2014 supposedly. It's meant to cover the past few years, i think it'll be BS because there's a few clubs at the moment that have no chance of meeting the supposed criteria.

I think it only goes back two years though, so only this summer gone would count. Nothing before it would matter. A few teams would be iffy but if they are sensible next summer and the one after, they'll likely be fine.

The only thing FFP will do for us is allow us to better compete for transfers. It wont suddenly make City or Chelsea fall apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Galvasean wrote: »
    Didn't Abramovic just recently change a bunch of debt into 'equity', thereby sidestepping the FFP rules and announcing a €1.5 million profit for Chelsea? We can't depend on the fair play rules coming in on saving football because billionaires will always find loopholes. That's why they are billionaires.

Exactly the bs that will happen, you also had that 400m sponsor deal that etihad had with city, etihad being owned by citys owners. Its the only way i can see them break even, Chelsea have consistently made losses of 60m or more, city went into the 100m's, at one stage citys wages were 107% of income, revenue increased but they've also bumped up alot of wages. Can't see them not buy more players or drop the wage bill significantly enough or even make up the income to cover it.

God knows what PSG will do because their summer spending will be covered. You know its taking effect in some ways Barca and Real the normal big spenders have cut down this summer big time compared to other summers.

Remember guys, last season we were playing bad and Tottenham showed up taking a two goal lead. Then we ended up winning 5-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I laughed when i read that on the rumour mill this morning, the form he's been in the past 2 years and with the stupid money, chelsea, city and psg have been throwing around, 30m wouldn't buy his left boot. Dzeko was also mentioned, which was even dafter.

As for walcott i really don't know, they had him down perfectly with their analysis on RTE's premiership the other night, for every great thing he does, he makes 2 or 3 really bad decisions. If the pool are willing to pay the 100k a week for him fair play to them but i think they'd be crazy.

I think he gets a really bad press - yes he's not always the most intelligent player on the pitch, but the frustrations he brings are worth it for his pace and increasingly his finishing. He's now got another string to his bow too. He's far more effective at corners than Cazorla. 2 goals from corners against Reading and 1 against Fulham. Letting him go to Liverpool would be madness - it would strengthen their team and weaken ours - the last thing we need at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

biggest mistake wenger made this season was taking Jenkinson out as soon as sagna was fit he was flying and has the legs to get up and back all day and has proved brilliant this season...sagna has been great for us but has been lacking in the last couple of games..Fulham's second goal illustrates this point the ball broke down and he was caught ahead of the ball and couldn't get back..

I'd still take Sagna's experience and control over Jenkinson at the moment. Jenks is a fantastic back-up though - shame we can't say that of too many of our players.

Fantastic backup and a long term replacement..

Very important to get a result against Spurs on Saturday. We missed a chance to steal a march last weekend with Spurs, Newcastle and Liverpool all dropping points. Looking at the fixtures I'd expect Liverpool, Newcastle, Everton, West Ham and Fulham to win their matches. Mess it up and we could be down to 11th! :eek:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

greendom wrote: »
    I think he gets a really bad press - yes he's not always the most intelligent player on the pitch, but the frustrations he brings are worth it for his pace and increasingly his finishing. He's now got another string to his bow too. He's far more effective at corners than Cazorla. 2 goals from corners against Reading and 1 against Fulham. Letting him go to Liverpool would be madness - it would strengthen their team and weaken ours - the last thing we need at the moment.

Cazorla's corners are pants, no question. With Giroud in the box we should be a huge threat from set pieces if the delivery is good.

I want Walcott to stay, as you said he can be frustrating at times, but that doesn't mean the good things he brings to the team could be easily replaced. And TBF it shouldn't be hard to keep him if his main suitors are bleeding Liverpool, I'd be worried if there was a top team in for him, but come on board/wenger/whoever, show a bit of faith in the lad! He does a good job for us and going from what he's said to the press he's willing to sign what could be his best years over to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Quazzie wrote: »
    Does anyone know when this is actually going to happen? Is it even a definite that it is going to happen? The longer it goes on the more it seems like a suggested threat to the big clubs rather than an imminent announcement.

lrgscalecoaster-only-fools-and-horses-millionaires.jpg

This is what I imagine Kroenke and Gazidis to be like when thinking of 2014.

"But Stan, all our lovely sponsorship deals will be up for renegotiation. Lovely jubbly".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

If this is true I will for the first time be properly pissed off with Wenger, let a 20 year old with potential and a REAL love for the club go for next to nothing while we still have ****e like NB52 and Denilson on the books and the likes of Squillaci and Arsh still at the club !!!

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/arsenal-set-to-let-emmanuel-frimpong-leave-1432339

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Given that our board has been frugal for so long, it's now beginning to look as though they just lack ambition for the club, can we really be surprised when players in turn don't play to 100%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I laughed when i read that on the rumour mill this morning, the form he's been in the past 2 years and with the stupid money, chelsea, city and psg have been throwing around, 30m wouldn't buy his left boot. Dzeko was also mentioned, which was even dafter.

As for walcott i really don't know, they had him down perfectly with their analysis on RTE's premiership the other night, for every great thing he does, he makes 2 or 3 really bad decisions. If the pool are willing to pay the 100k a week for him fair play to them but i think they'd be crazy.

apparently Steve Rowley (chief scout) was out to watch Cavani in the EL game there last week (cavani scored 4) & gave him a glowing report :D

as for Walcott, another case of scouting, on the sunday supplement i think it was they said someone from chelsea was at the game on saturday & spent the whole time taking notes on walcott. Walcott can sign a pre-contract in Jan. & chelsea have long been linked to him

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

peabutler wrote: »
    If this is true I will for the first time be properly pissed off with Wenger, let a 20 year old with potential and a REAL love for the club go for next to nothing while we still have ****e like NB52 and Denilson on the books and the likes of Squillaci and Arsh still at the club !!!

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/arsenal-set-to-let-emmanuel-frimpong-leave-1432339

He's after saying on twitter he's only going on loan and is fully commited to Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

I would be disappointed to see Frimpong leave for sure, he seems to be in the Wilshere/Viera/Parlour mould in that he isn't afraid to get stuck into the opposition.

I cant remember a worse mood surrouding Arsenal in a long long time, maybe I am too young to remember when things were really in the mire. Plenty informed bloggers, journalists and long time fans have voiced their displeasure in a much more forthright way than what I have read before, and the Fulham game seems to have been the breaking point.

Is the club policy just to plod through the next 2 seasons with AW at the healm, then get a new manager in when the stadium is paid off and we have the commercial deals renegotiated, at which point we can make a sustained effort to challenge more seriously?

I know the board/chairman can't come out and say this exactly but it would be nice to get something. I think the paying fans are feeling like they are being taken for complete mugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    I would be disappointed to see Frimpong leave for sure, he seems to be in the Wilshere/Viera/Parlour mould in that he isn't afraid to get stuck into the opposition.

I cant remember a worse mood surrouding Arsenal in a long long time, maybe I am too young to remember when things were really in the mire. Plenty informed bloggers, journalists and long time fans have voiced their displeasure in a much more forthright way than what I have read before, and the Fulham game seems to have been the breaking point.

Is the club policy just to plod through the next 2 seasons with AW at the healm, then get a new manager in when the stadium is paid off and we have the commercial deals renegotiated, at which point we can make a sustained effort to challenge more seriously?

I know the board/chairman can't come out and say this exactly but it would be nice to get something. I think the paying fans are feeling like they are being taken for complete mugs.

Indeed, the boardroom boys might think its good enough for Arsenal just to tread water for the next few seasons with no ambition at all, no real plans. I cannot quite understand why Arsene Wenger hangs around if he feels that the club is in a mire, unless he too is part of the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,783 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

biggest mistake wenger made this season was taking Jenkinson out as soon as sagna was fit he was flying and has the legs to get up and back all day and has proved brilliant this season...sagna has been great for us but has been lacking in the last couple of games..Fulham's second goal illustrates this point the ball broke down and he was caught ahead of the ball and couldn't get back..

Did Fulham's second goal not come from a corner or free-kick on their right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Frimpong has confirmed himself on Twitter that he's not in the last year of his contract and not looking to leave but should be going on loan soon.

it was a cross from their right yeah, think it was just a pass/break from them that lead to it, their first was a corner, he might be on about sagna being back defending in the box though for it, i can't mind if he was or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

batistuta9 wrote: »
    apparently Steve Rowley (chief scout) was out to watch Cavani in the EL game there last week (cavani scored 4) & gave him a glowing report :D

as for Walcott, another case of scouting, on the sunday supplement i think it was they said someone from chelsea was at the game on saturday & spent the whole time taking notes on walcott. Walcott can sign a pre-contract in Jan. & chelsea have long been linked to him

Pre contract can only be signed with a club from outside england

stuchyg wrote: »
    Pre contract can only be signed with a club from outside england

says who

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

says who

Football Manager.... Which is like gospel :D

I'm managing Boreham Wood in Football manager and I scouted Messi for thr craic. My scout said I should sign him 'whatever the price' so I asked the board if they would help me sign him to 'show that the club means business'. They said no.
    Now I know how Wenger feels :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

319048_406183992787773_1300375665_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,783 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

newbie2 wrote: »
    319048_406183992787773_1300375665_n.jpg

He's very like Basil Fawlty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Just got tickets for my first away game, against Reading in December! Unfortunately with the home fans but away tickets are impossible to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

Just got tickets for my first away game, against Reading in December! Unfortunately with the home fans but away tickets are impossible to get.

Enjoy the game Fuzzy. Reading are going to be seriously up for that game after the recent League Cup defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

ye it did but when they got down the wing and berba crossed it the fella headed it in from the position sagna should have been defending but he was out of position... maybe im remembering wrong but im sure he was caught out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

i heard walcott signed a new contract?