Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI wrote: »
    I quite like German style plates, on the right car. But last night took the piss. I saw German Plates, not just German font, but font, EU country code, and provincial stickers, on a, wait for it...... 07 Toyota Auris. W T F!:confused:

Carefull now, you might piss off some of the german plate fanbois with a statement like that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

nope..... actually.... t-shirts probably very obvious what it is..... and I think Nissan doc has seen it too

This it?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4125589

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭langdang

h3000 wrote: »
    He is also going the wrong way down a one way on a road that does not really go anywhere. A much wider road runs parallel to it. The road layout has changed since the street view image. (the red area is now a concrete traffic island)
    http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k277/h3000/round_hse-1.png
    http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k277/h3000/round_hse_sat.png
    Yeah, strange choice of route - he wasn't gonna make the turn onto little gerald griffin street either if that's where he was going (it wouldn't make any sense for him to be going anywhere else, but then very little of that situation makes sense!)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

langdang wrote: »
    Yeah, strange choice of route - he wasn't gonna make the turn onto little gerald griffin street either if that's where he was going (it wouldn't make any sense for him to be going anywhere else, but then very little of that situation makes sense!)

GPS gone mad perhaps?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

"You have reached Limerick, please make an immediate U-Turn."

Lol

A few years back I was working in the North and travelling around constantly.

The GPS in the car was regularly telling us we'd reached the end of a road and were in fields, so we then had to resort to frantically trying to figure out where we were.

Stheno wrote: »
    GPS gone mad perhaps?
    Possibly
    "You have reached Limerick, please make an immediate U-Turn."
    limerick.png

They were making an awful sheet of the traffic up there for a while, and if it was a saturday the road closures for the market turn the place into a maze altogether. Great deals on second hand generators and Tupac hoodies tho!

Possibly

They were making an awful sheet of the traffic up there for a while, and if it was a saturday the road closures for the market turn the place into a maze altogether. Great deals on second hand generators and Tupac hoodies tho!

where the feck was that?

Lol

A few years back I was working in the North and travelling around constantly.

The GPS in the car was regularly telling us we'd reached the end of a road and were in fields, so we then had to resort to frantically trying to figure out where we were.
    South Armagh was a disaster on our cheapo Garmin - completely confused by the roads crisscrossing the border. One place you don't wanna make a wrong turn!

Hah! It was bloody Armagh for us too!
    And the road out of Derry to Belfast over the mountains.

Armagh was the worst.

where the feck was that?
    Limerick, 2 mins ago.

Nah, Vancouver riots. Who says emigration causes brain drain ha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

failed NCT on number plate, apparently the font on my plates was the wrong size, I didn't even notice:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

nope.

got to it today and only needs tyres and front pads and a bulb... deadly

when it's not in the back of atlas I'll get some pics again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

nope.

Nice. :cool: Best of luck with it. :)

nope.

4 tyres or 2? Had Bridgestone Duellers on mine, bout 100 -110 each. There are different versions of those duellers tho - my ones were better suited to road use - the first ones the tyre guy had were very noisy looking.
    There were also a Nankang and a Forceum on the back - shouldn't really be possible to "powerslide" a petrol CRV but you can with chinese tyres! I suspect it was the forceum that was breaking traction most.

How's the diff - handy DIY job if there's any rumbling coming from it.

Edit - it was the previous version of the CRV that I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

4 tyres or 2? Had Bridgestone Duellers on mine, bout 100 -110 each. There are different versions of those duellers tho - my ones were better suited to road use - the first ones the tyre guy had were very noisy looking.
    There were also a Nankang and a Forceum on the back - shouldn't really be possible to "powerslide" a petrol CRV but you can with chinese tyres! I suspect it was the forceum that was breaking traction most.

How's the diff - handy DIY job if there's any rumbling coming from it.

Edit - it was the previous version of the CRV that I had.

the tyres on it at the moment are Bridgestone but are badly born so wouldn't count them.

the diff I don't know a lot about but there's one at the back alright.

I won't be going near any Chinese cheapo tyres anyway.

hopefully this car has some fun in jt :)

Anyone here get a letter in the post from revenue in the form of a survey of commercial vehicle usage?

the tyres on it at the moment are Bridgestone but are badly born so wouldn't count them.

the diff I don't know a lot about but there's one at the back alright.

I won't be going near any Chinese cheapo tyres anyway.

hopefully this car has some fun in jt :)
    Do some full-lock turns at slow speed in a car park - any rumbling or "tightness" on the back axle means you need the fluid replaced.

Fun - on ice, gravel, or light off road, otherwise a nice comfy reliable on-road bus.
    Be aware that if you take it beyond light off roading you might need a man with a tractor. You should be ok if you can maintain some forward momentum if you get stuck in something really nasty the lack of diff locks will or LSD will catch ya.

They feel very "torquey" for a 2L petrol, nice to drive. (can't remember what car you're coming from - civic 1.4?)

Do some full-lock turns at slow speed in a car park - any rumbling or "tightness" on the back axle means you need the fluid replaced.

Fun - on ice, gravel, or light off road, otherwise a nice comfy reliable on-road bus.
    Be aware that if you take it beyond light off roading you might need a man with a tractor. You should be ok if you can maintain some forward momentum if you get stuck in something really nasty the lack of diff locks will or LSD will catch ya.

They feel very "torquey" for a 2L petrol, nice to drive. (can't remember what car you're coming from - civic 1.4?)

for the rear diff the guys checked it and they said it's fine but I will do as you say there. I guess it's a very noticeable thing that wouldn't be easily missed ?

I won't be going through mad forests or mad trails anyway. but yeah I understand that it's not a range rover or discovery by any means. lack of options for 4wd a bit of a let down too.

have the 1.4 civic indeed. I've noticed the pull difference straight away but I know the crv has a slower top speed than the civic.

thanks for that. I'm very confident in these crv. reliability etc.

for the rear diff the guys checked it and they said it's fine but I will do as you say there. I guess it's a very noticeable thing that wouldn't be easily missed ?

Noticeable kinda groan/rumble. You might also "feel" it - kinda like the back wheels are locked and you are "dragging" them one of them around into the parking space or whatever.

Best I can do for over the net - the problem comes in interpreting the loudness of these things - one mans "erra she fine out" is another mans "yikes, tis fooked"

They're pretty durable from what I've seen - 2 fluid changes can have a loud one back to almost completely silent.

There was a recall on some of those lately I think - something electrical I think.

Noticeable kinda groan/rumble. You might also "feel" it - kinda like the back wheels are locked and you are "dragging" them one of them around into the parking space or whatever.

Best I can do for over the net - the problem comes in interpreting the loudness of these things - one mans "erra she fine out" is another mans "yikes, tis fooked"

I'll definitely get onto that and see if I find anything.

thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

dgt wrote: »
    Anyone here get a letter in the post from revenue in the form of a survey of commercial vehicle usage?

Tell the fvckers nowt dude - bin it! ;)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Tell the fvckers nowt dude - bin it! ;)

I won't be tellin them anything.... Ain't my van :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

No motoring stuff for the last couple of days,
    Busy installing this beauty.

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t398/Edwharding/DSC_0068.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

Anyone know anything about these yokes?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4180704

Like are they as bad as the other puntos for hgf? I'm guessing the engine is similar to the 1.2 16V with a longer stroke maybe.. Interesting car though.

Gave him a ring there, no NCT and 3/4 lads interested apparently. Taken as a trade in and driven until the NCT ran out.. never put it through the NCT.

I don't get why people don't just put cars through the NCT and at least sell it with a fail sheet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bobby183

Its lovely to see something like that looking so original

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Don't know if his ad is full of sh1t but it reads like it could make a great track car.

pred racer wrote: »
    No motoring stuff for the last couple of days,
    Busy installing this beauty.

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t398/Edwharding/DSC_0068.jpg

Now it's motors related :D
    wood-burning-fireplace-in-car.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bobby183

^
    That haircut :eek:

Aslo, this looks cool,

http://www.TOPGEAR.com/uk/photos/Ms-moment-of-madness-2012-11-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Don't know if his ad is full of sh1t but it reads like it could make a great track car.

I asked him about the upgrades and he said the brakes came from a 2L turbo. Since there doesn't seem to be a 2L punto maybe they came from a Fiat Coupe? Who knows..

I was just interested from the point of view of mods like that increasing insurance costs!

I'd actually be pretty interested if it had an NCT tbh!

Also watching this atm and waiting for the price to drop.

Bobby183 wrote: »
    ^
    That haircut :eek:

Um, a few months back I had a very similar haircut, for shíts and giggles :pac: