The big snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Lidl predicts a blizzard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I am sort of looking forward to snow. Got 4 wheel drive car, so it could be fun...On last big snow I was driving Rwd car with LSD and it was a lot of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

woodoo wrote: »
    What does that postman from donegal predict this year? Snow i'd say

Yes. Yes he does

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/10/23/donegals-famous-weatherman-predicts-snow-before-christmas/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

FanadMan wrote: »

He should really just stick to delivering flippin' letters. sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

Scioch wrote: »
    Whole country was one giant freezer and they left em inside to melt ?

Well, you know, people are funny about funerals and everything surrounding them. They probably didn't want the coffins chucked outside, even though they'd eventually end up buried.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

crap,better go buy a new 4X4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

vicwatson wrote: »
    He should really just stick to delivering flippin' letters. sigh.

Def - he was forcasting feet of snow and arctic conditions last winter lol. Mind you, he's bound to get it right one of these years so maybe those winter tires won't be a waste of money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

No chance of snow. We're(ie, me) fully equiped to deal with arctic conditions for the last two years, 4 snow ploughs, salt by the hundred tonnes, wheel chains and 4*4s. Therefore it will not snow so much as a flake.:( If we had feck all gear and no salt, it would bog it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

pmcmahon wrote: »
    crap,better go buy a new 4X4.

No, buy a RWD car you'd get better craic off it.

4x4's are overrated. I seen lots of muppets in England during the snow there a few years ago slip-slidin' around the place and crashing into poles/trees and pillars outside people's houses cause they think they're like Boris from Goldeneye after changing the PRUNDLE switch to 'S' for snow.

A lot of these would be Range Rover Sport HSE or Lexus 450h type luxury jobbies. One minute they're all brave 'look at me, tearing through the snow on the open road with my overpriced crapheap' next minute they're relying on some poor sod who likes to help people and only owns a Fiesta to dig them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭barney 20v

eth0 wrote: »
    No, buy a RWD car you'd get better craic off it.

4x4's are overrated. I seen lots of muppets in England during the snow there a few years ago slip-slidin' around the place and crashing into poles/trees and pillars outside people's houses cause they think they're like Boris from Goldeneye after changing the PRUNDLE switch to 'S' for snow.

A lot of these would be Range Rover Sport HSE or Lexus 450h type luxury jobbies. One minute they're all brave 'look at me, tearing through the snow on the open road with my overpriced crapheap' next minute they're relying on some poor sod who likes to help people and only owns a Fiesta to dig them out.
    Or better still buy what i have.... a proper AWD machine an Impreza Turbo.... all the fun of RWD with the go anywhere ability of a Jeep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Merch

barney 20v wrote: »
    Or better still buy what i have.... a proper AWD machine an Impreza Turbo.... all the fun of RWD with the go anywhere ability of a Jeep

When I read that first I thought it said the go nowhere ability of a jeep, thought you were kidding as I actually saw someone in the snow and ice in a jeep managing to spin one wheel and the other stationary, obviously they didnt engage diff lock or brain.

I think the ability of the vehicle depends on the ability of a person to drive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

So who's going to be the poor ****er on RTE news this year?

Part of me hopes it snows, I want time of college. The rest of me hopes that it doesn't because I am a miserable bastard in the cold and really don't like going without basic provisions like water and Nutella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

I want to get a balaclava to protect my beautiful face when the snowy weather sets in. But would I be arrested if I was spotted walking at a brisk pace of an evening ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I want to get a balaclava to protect my beautiful face when the snowy weather sets in. But would I be arrested if I was spotted walking at a brisk pace of an evening ?

Would you have done something to warrant being arrested? Cyclists in this weather would be wearing balaclavas also. I'd advise taking it off, or pushing it down around your neck if entering any premises though.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Would you have done something to warrant being arrested? Cyclists in this weather would be wearing balaclavas also. I'd advise taking it off, or pushing it down around your neck if entering any premises though.

I wouldn't be up to anything untoward but I just never seen anyone wearing em other than the Ra on the telly. I'd imagine it would draw a lot of attention.

Would you consider a bandana, colourful bandana for wearing around your face from the nose down to your neck? It may draw less attention.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Would you consider a bandana, colourful bandana for wearing around your face from the nose down to your neck? It may draw less attention.

Yeah that would do the job. Still look a bit suspect though no ?

If it's that cold that you need to wear something around your face, then a bandana would be the way to go.
    I said colourful bandana though, that type would do the job but maybe another colour but black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

I am absolutely freezing and am wondering are we expecting a harsh winter like 2 years ago for example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'm grand. Didn't bother lighting a fire. Have a whiskey and look up this place called Russia. You'll feel warmer almost instantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Man up.

You should be out swimming in the forty foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sand678

well according to the farmer in donegal, we are having snow from the 15 of nov for two whole months, then again we are still waiting on the fab summer he promised us, me personally dont find it to cold for november:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Its not that cold ffs.

Threads merged.

I am absolutely freezing and am wondering are we expecting a harsh winter like 2 years ago for example?

I think a lot of people are expecting it. Wasnt that cold today I dont think, certainly not as cold as it was about a week ago. Couple of mornings there it was freezing. I'd say the frosty mornings will set in with a vengeance soon enough, and from what I hear we'll see snow before November is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sand678

in all fairness its not as cold as it was a few years ago, i laugh in the face of snow, hahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Luap

If any women want a white Christmas just p'm me. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Nurburdy knurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I f*cking hate this country when it snows. It's pathetic the way we deal with it. Everything comes to a halt because of a bit of snow. How on earth do they cope in central Europe and North America? OBAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I like snow...

I don't like it when people get moany about it. It happens only a few times a decade so stop moaning and enjoy it while it lasts!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Nah its quite mild for november.