Sean Quinn Jailed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    SafeSurfer

If you can't keep abreast of my arguments then don't bother trying

thats because half the time you forget what your actually talking about

you started off on quinn is god,then to nama,then to the bondholders and now your nitpicking on whether contempt is a criminal or civil action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

K-9 wrote: »
    I don't know, it's a bit like insider trading to me. Say you got a loan based on inside knowledge from a bank about share prices, it goes wrong, I'd still think you'd be liable for the money, and guilty of insider trading too. The loan would still need to be repaid.

It couldn't be that easy to get it wiped, otherwise we'd all be at it!

But what if that bank is lending money to purchasers of its shares in an attempt to manipulate its share price and that bank has falsified its accounts to make it look like a better investment proposition than it is?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

sfwcork wrote: »
    thats because half the time you forget what your actually talking about

you started off on quinn is god,then to nama,then to the bondholders and now your nitpicking on whether contempt is a criminal or civil action

I never said Quinn is God. He is guilty of a whole raft of illegal practices.

I believe the court case that led to his imprisonment today is a sham and should form part of a wider case into illegal practices at Anglo.

I said contempt of court is not a crime.

I don't think I mentioned bondholders anywhere.

Any other questions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭LLU

The only stupid nonsense was us as a state being dragged into it in the first place. If the bondholders of Anglo wanted their money back, firstly Anglo should have been let go to the wall and the hierarchy of creditors get paid in a particular order, unsecured bondholders usually not getting paid at all.

What happened here?!? Our government of arsehóles stepped in and said, "hang on lads, we'll sort this out for you, all you bondholders, just form a queue and you'll all be paid 100% of what is owed!"

A lot of these creditors would have been handed back their second arséhole on a plate if the normal process of capitalism (in this case CLOSURE of a FAILED business!!!), had simply been allowed to occur, without fear of or favour to anyone!!!

But the outcome would have been that the position of the Irish taxpayer would have been secure, and we wouldn't be dealing with this insanity of getting involved, at a cost of hundreds of Billions of Euro, in things that had absolutely nothing to do with us, trying to claw back 500 mil here and 200 mil there! Just don't put the money in in the first place, simplest way ever to "protect the taxpayer"!!!!

Finished now?

Btw, all nothing whatsoever to do with the fact that he committed contempt of court and has been jailed for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

hang on, someone compared Quinn to James Connolly? jesusbogtrottingchrist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

There's still a lot of sh1t to hit the fan in this case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Bambi wrote: »
    hang on, someone compared Quinn to James Connolly? jesusbogtrottingchrist

After Hours: Home of Irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    But what if that bank is lending money to purchasers of its shares in an attempt to manipulate its share price and that bank has falsified its accounts to make it look like a better investment proposition than it is?

Well that's what the Quinns want you to think! ;)

The other side is Quinn was a massive player in construction with his concrete firm, had huge property investments through his insurance company so the banks hardly twisted his arm.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

JR Ewing wrote: »
    Is there anyway you could look at the actual facts of the matter?

1. Sean Quinn ... "the wealthiest man" in Ireland..... never went "off shore" as a tax exile. He has lived & paid his taxes with this entire nation...
    Character references do not determine guilt or innocence, they should only be used in the estimation of length of sentence.
    2. IBRC/Anglo fradulently enticed Sean Quinn to prop up the share price of the bank using CFD's purchased with money they lent him. He was led like a lamb to slaughter by Sean Fitzpatrick & David Drumm (both of whom are still free men)

Not sure your chronology is right here. His gambling losses (for that is what they were, whatever his bimbo daughter says) were racked up BEFORE he took a stake in Anglo and that was when the attempt to prop up the Anglo share price came about, which may or may not have been legal and which is the subject of a future trial involving Mr Fitzpatrick.

I'm not sure whether trades in CFDs affect a share price one way or the other. Surely the cause and effect dynamic is in reverse: namely fluctuations in share price influence the prices at which CFDs trade and how much money is made or lost on them, not the other way round.

Large investments in a public stock when someone has the balls to buy them MAY indeed have a positive effect on the trading price, but that's not how Quinn made his first big losses.
    Of course Sean Quinn is in contempt of court- any self respecting man would do anything in his power sooner than handover his life to an organisation who defrauded him? Could the likes of James Connolly & Michael Collins not be accused as being murderers in pursuit of freedom? Sometimes the end justifies the means.

Who'll be the judge of that? You? No sir. That's what we have courts for.

And just remember who Sean Quinn's actions are hurting and would have hurt more if he'd been let get away with everything he tried. It's the little people who insured their cars, homes and families' health with Quinn Insurance. He tried to skim funds out of that to offset his mistakes but was stopped from doing so when it became excessive. He could have taken the profits from Quinn Insurance, not the reserve funds.

Would you have been happy telling a working family who had faithfully paid their health insurance every month that, at the very moment when they needed it, their daughter couldn't have the operation they had paid the rights for because there's no money left? So join that waiting list.

Or that your car that got written off in an accident is not replaceable because the insurance company has gone bust? Or that there is no money to repair the damage from the accidental fire that has burned your house down but hey look on the bright side, you've still got the clothes on your back?

That's your choice and you seem to have made it. Just don't pretend that you're some sort of nice guy.

People like Sean Quinn are the job creators and entrepreneurs which this country needs to dig itself out of dung heap we find ourselves in. Jailing him is a national disgrace

Going to jail for contempt of court is ENTIRELY his own doing.
    If that man is taken to jail there should be a civil revolt- no question.

So this is what you're going to riot for? Not health cuts, or property taxes or pension levies but Sean Bloody Quinn? :confused: :rolleyes: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭PaddyORuadhan

Those whole lot deserve to go to jail as well. But don't so foolish as to think Sean Quinn, one of the most successful businessmen in Ireland was duped. No he was greedy.

Anglo was giving returns FAR above any other financial institution, and Quinn wasn't to grab a few of the gooses golden eggs before the bubble burst. Anyone with any cop on would have known that anglo was based on the property bubble and was unsustainable. Quinn was just gambling that he could get a few more billion out of the bubble before it burst. Well he didn't. He gambled. He lost. He needs to pay the debt. Not the Irish people.

The analogy I have is what if I was to get a hot tip on a horse. Horse has never lost and is hot favourite to win on Saturday. I borrow money off the bookie to put a big bet on the race on the premise that I'd be good for the debt. Well the horse doesn't win. Should the man and woman on the street be expected to pick up my debt because i think it was unfair that the horse lost?

And the fact that he jeopardised peoples employment by gambling with company money makes it worse.

Lets put this in persective..... 2.3 BILLION....that is the equivilant of:

71875 new teachers
    76000 new nurses
    99189 Special Needs assistants
    77201 New Gardai
    131113 Minimum Wage jobs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

K-9 wrote: »
    The other side is Quinn was a massive player in construction with his concrete firm, had huge property investments through his insurance company so the banks hardly twisted his arm.

he was a massive player in lots of industries, and created a lot of jobs and paid a lot of tax in various industries eg he also owned a glass bottle factory I think, a hotel, an insurance firm etc. No crime in that....in fact we could do with more Sean Quinns building up businesses here. He based himself in Ireland and paid his taxes in the island of Ireland. He was not part of the jet set in Monaco. Unlike Ahern he did not get a dig out from his pals in Manchester or claim he won his money on the horses. He is not getting a 6 figure pension paid by the taxpayer, inlike Aherm, the regulator, the dept of finance officials etc.

The regulator, the dept. of finance officials , the government Central bank should be the ones in the dock for not regulating anglo-irish bank correctly, like they regulate banks in the UK. As said before, Quinn was based in the UK jurisdiction, built up his business there. He then came in to this jurisdiction and assumed the banks here were regulated as efficiently as they were in the UK. Big big mistake. Fitzpatrick and his cronies, who were supposed to have been regulated, conned him : the UK banks did not.
    None of the UK banks are as bad off / were as rotten as Anglo-Irish bank. Fool on Quinn for trusting the system here, he should have known better, he was foolish to invest and pay his taxes here. Now he is in jail. He should have stayed in the UK jurisdiction and he would not be in this mess.

like they regulate banks in the UK.

Like Northern Rock?

71875 new teachers
    76000 new nurses
    77201 New Gardai
    131113 Minimum Wage jobs

Our public service wage bill increaded by 8 billion per year during the boom, and is still double was it was ten years ago, so 2.3 billion is not much when you look at it like that.

Those whole lot deserve to go to jail as well. But don't so foolish as to think Sean Quinn, one of the most successful businessmen in Ireland was duped. No he was greedy.

Anglo was giving returns FAR above any other financial institution, and Quinn wasn't to grab a few of the gooses golden eggs before the bubble burst. Anyone with any cop on would have known that anglo was based on the property bubble and was unsustainable. Quinn was just gambling that he could get a few more billion out of the bubble before it burst. Well he didn't. He gambled. He lost. He needs to pay the debt. Not the Irish people.

The analogy I have is what if I was to get a hot tip on a horse. Horse has never lost and is hot favourite to win on Saturday. I borrow money off the bookie to put a big bet on the race on the premise that I'd be good for the debt. Well the horse doesn't win. Should the man and woman on the street be expected to pick up my debt because i think it was unfair that the horse lost?

And the fact that he jeopardised peoples employment by gambling with company money makes it worse.

71875 new teachers
    76000 new nurses
    77201 New Gardai
    131113 Minimum Wage jobs

If you are asking was Sean Quinn duped into betting on Anglo then the simple answer is yes. Along with many others. Anglo falsified their annual reports and
    illegally transferred money between themselves and Irish Nationwide in "circular loans" to inflate their balance sheet.

Japer wrote: »
    he was a massive player in lots of industries, and created a lot of jobs and paid a lot of tax in various industries eg he also owned a glass bottle factory I think, a hotel, an insurance firm etc. No crime in that....in fact we could do with more Sean Quinns building up businesses here. He based himself in Ireland and paid his taxes in the island of Ireland. He was not part of the jet set in Monaco. Unlike Ahern he did not get a dig out from his pals in Manchester or claim he won his money on the horses. He is not getting a 6 figure pension paid by the taxpayer, inlike Aherm, the regulator, the dept of finance officials etc.

The regulator, the dept. of finance officials , the government Central bank should be the ones in the dock for not regulating anglo-irish bank correctly, like they regulate banks in the UK. As said before, Quinn was based in the UK jurisdiction, built up his business there. He then came in to this jurisdiction and assumed the banks here were regulated as efficiently as they were in the UK. Big big mistake. Fitzpatrick and his cronies, who were supposed to have been regulated, conned him : the UK banks did not.
    None of the UK banks are as bad off / were as rotten as Anglo-Irish bank. Fool on Quinn for trusting the system here, he should have known better, he was foolish to invest and pay his taxes here. Now he is in jail. He should have stayed in the UK jurisdiction and he would not be in this mess.

That's great, you think Quinn was great and its the public service fault, hardly surprising.

Nothing to do with my point that he had a vested interest in Irish property with his cement company and his insurance company invested heavily in Irish property. He invested in a bank that lended 90% of its loans to property. Shame he wasted it all on property only ever goes up.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Our public service wage bill increaded by 8 billion per year during the boom, and is still double was it was ten years ago, so 2.3 billion is not much when you look at it like that.

Thread has meandered enough without you bringing the public service pay bill into it.

If you are asking was Sean Quinn duped into betting on Anglo then the simple answer is yes. Along with many others. Anglo falsified their annual reports and
    illegally transferred money between themselves and Irish Nationwide in "circular loans" to inflate their balance sheet.
    Well said. That type of thing would not have been allowed in the UK or other countries. The Banksters and regulator and central banker and dept of finance should be the ones in jail.
    Something bizarre when what was Irelands richest man, and a man who paid all his tax in the Island of Ireland, is in jail, and those responsible for the mess are not.
    Time to be ashamed to be Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

And Bertie wasn't ??

Ah the standard riposte from Quinn supporters. What does Bertie Ahern have to do with Sean Quinn getting sent to jail for contempt of court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Ah the standard riposte from Quinn supporters. What does Bertie Ahern have to do with Sean Quinn getting sent to jail for contempt of court?

And in my experience, the people who think Quinn should be prosecuted with the full force of the law, also think this should be applied to Ahern (and everyone else in the sorry saga)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Isn't it a pity that Quinn is not sharing his cell with Drumm, Seanie, the Regulator and possibly a few politicians, solicitors and accountants.
    That would need to be one big uncomfortable cell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Anthony O Brien

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Now that he's jailed I presume all the people who ignorantly thought this fool was the single cause of the economic downturn will be satisfied?

Shur thats the recession over with now, Nora wheres me credit card, no not that one, the gold one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

He wasn't duped, that's total horse manure. They acted together to offload the bet Quinn had made creating a 25% stake in Anglo through CFDs. Anglo never asked him to build a 25% share of the company through such a risky practice. Anglo and Quinn both acted illegally to try and cover themselves. Just as Quinn has continued to act illegally by ignoring various regulations and court orders to wind up where he is now - being jailed for contempt of court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

and what about Quinns already existing process of moving funds illegally from his insurance business to other businesses? or his loan of €450m that has no contest behind it? or his contempt of court in asset stripping?

Quinn is in jail, and maybe now he will think more on his responsibilities to the Irish people and their courts, spend more time co operating with them instead of treating them with comtempt described by the presiding judge as "nothing short of outrageous", a sentiment which most decent Irish people would agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

folan wrote: »
    and what about Quinns already existing process of moving funds illegally from his insurance business to other businesses? or his loan of €450m that has no contest behind it? or his contempt of court in asset stripping?

Quinn is in jail, and maybe now he will think more on his responsibilities to the Irish people and their courts, spend more time co operating with them instead of treating them with comtempt described by the presiding judge as "nothing short of outrageous", a sentiment which most decent Irish people would agree with.

But he fixhed de road!

Of course he was :rolleyes:

He got to be one of the most successful business men by taking things at face value. Don't try to convince me that he was that naive and the big mean Seannie Fitzpatrick played a trick on him.

The fecking dog on the street knew that Anglo was based upon the property bubble. That it was giving returns massively higher than other banks. That there was something dodge with it. Sean Quinn in his reckless arrogance thought that he could get in make his money and get out before the bubble burst. Its a simple as that.

Might I add that I hope the lot of them go to prison not just 'poor naive little' Quinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He got to be one of the most successful business men by taking things at face value. Don't try to convince me that he was that naive and the big mean Seannie Fitzpatrick played a trick on him.

The fecking dog on the street knew that Anglo was based upon the property bubble. That it was giving returns massively higher than other banks. That there was something dodge with it. Sean Quinn in his reckless arrogance thought that he could get in make his money and get out before the bubble burst. Its a simple as that.

Might I add that I hope the lot of them go to prison not just 'poor naive little' Quinn

Or maybe he thought he was buying into the Anglo Celt the Cavan newspaper.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Jeez, I'll put it simply.

Quinn is jailed for contempt of court for not helping recover assets he had hidden.

Others are not even investigated for hiding assets.

And, in putting it simply, you laid bare just how stark and simple a situation you are ignoring.

Hint: i've emboldened it for you.

Difference.... 8 billion paying for teachers, nurses, guards, librarians etc (Yes there can be some massive savings on the overpaid higher echelons but thats a different debate)

2.3 Billion.... One man and family being greedy, gambling, and expecting the tax payer to pick up the tab when their gamble failed.

I remember reading about Anglos latest record profits in early 2007, the figure that caught my interest was 90% of their loan was property related. Quinn obviously ignored that and saw the € signs. All the other stuff is excuses and side issues to his greed.

The fecking dog on the street knew that Anglo was based upon the property bubble.
    Our Taoiseach at the time , Bertie Ahern, said those who thought there would be a downturn should go off and commit suicide. No, most people did not think it was a property bubble, and most people did not think prices would fall as much as they have. Otherwise so many people would not have got caught out.
    . That there was something dodge with it.
    Why did the regulator or dept of finance or Central bank not say that? And investigate it and / or regulate it?
    Instead Anglo falsified their annual reports and illegally transferred money between themselves and Irish Nationwide in "circular loans" to inflate their balance sheet. We make some of the more corrupt African / south American countries look good.

Poor auld Sean Quinn, he got duped just for assuming our banks were as well regulated as they were in his native UK jurisdiction.