If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Mycoplasma? would think it would be strange in a small herd of animals. Maybe this is why your vet has decided to put them on Draxxin. have you seen any of the animals die in front of you? what are the symptoms or anything out of the norm

In cases like this its often best to get a couple of vets to examine the animals and see if they are coming up with anything else. Its a horrible feeling when your afraid to face the yard in the morning not knowing what is going to greet you. Have the T shirt unfortunately.

whats the time frame of the last 3 deaths? within a week of each other?
    Botulism? would presume not as it shows no symptoms just death. Chicken litter spread on lands nearby or chicken houses close by?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Botulism is what i was thinking too... as they are in 3 different groups the lead posioning would be hard to blame, was it actual blackleg vaccine or tribovax t you used?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Jassus chippy reading just do it's post above, you are going through hell.
    Is it only since silage was started that they started dying?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

absolutely hate bad time keeping. lad i have working does 3 day week from 6.50 am til 6pm... has breakfast and lunch hour... anyways no sign at 8.30 am:mad: typical i was going to have a bit of a lie on til 7 as one of the kids has been up every night since last wednesday... his excuse " my alarm didnt go off" now for 3 mornings i dont think it would kill him to be here on time.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    absolutely hate bad time keeping. lad i have working does 3 day week from 6.50 am til 6pm... has breakfast and lunch hour... anyways no sign at 8.30 am:mad: typical i was going to have a bit of a lie on til 7 as one of the kids has been up every night since last wednesday... his excuse " my alarm didnt go off" now for 3 mornings i dont think it would kill him to be here on time.....:mad:
    Jeez your a hard woman the lad was probably out last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Botulism is what i was thinking too... as they are in 3 different groups the lead posioning would be hard to blame, was it actual blackleg vaccine or tribovax t you used?

We lost two lovely healthy heifers this summer, within two weeks after not loosing an animal in years. The vet suspected botulism and so we did a PM. Both animals went down and died with 2 hours from grazing, stomachs full of fresh grass.
    Results came back as "white muscle disease" in the heart and spleen enlarged, animal not from the same herd.
    Possibly from selenium difficency is what the information came back as. Administered multi vit and have multi vit licks with them since and no problems.

It accounted a 10% stock loss for us after not loosing an animal for years. Feckin madnening.

td5man wrote: »
    Jeez your a hard woman the lad was probably out last night.

I am paying his wages. Whats the point if I have to the wwork myself

Thought that was the way it worked most of the lads i had working were like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

to lighten the mood in here has any of ye played this
    i ahem downloaded this last night is good craic my laptop is struggling with it tho.if any 1 wants the links to it u will have to pm me as i will get baned for posting links.

ps am i the only 1 that thought whealen 1 WAS A MAN;););)

http://www.farming-simulator.com/

td5man wrote: »
    Thought that was the way it worked most of the lads i had working were like that
    very hard to get a good reliable lad...(that wont break everything in the place and wont back chat you)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

naughto wrote: »
    ps am i the only 1 that thought whealen 1 WAS A MAN;););)

Jaysus Naughto, don't ever go to Thailand lad!! :p

it shows how much i pay attention to peoples posts.so iam in charge this week the boss aka my brother is gone away so does any 1 want to buy my/his cattle:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

I was looking through DoneDeal and I came across this lady, lovely tractor :)

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/3989966

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

13spanner wrote: »
    I was looking through DoneDeal and I came across this lady, lovely tractor :)

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/3989966

I'm sure the jumpleads are for starting his other tractor :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Muckit wrote: »

Ya you could be looking for a hole and find a shovel:D

its amazing what a bit of paint will do

ive being in thailand a gang of us when a few yrs back it was so hard to know what had a d1ck :eek::eek::eek:and what dident.so the best thing to do was not go near any of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

some answers. started before silage was opened. there is two chicken farmers beside us, one adjoining. tribovax t was used. deaths were happening with some giving notice others none whatso ever. as i said about the last one, he died while i was having a cuppa.

i got a preliminary pm back, where they said the liver and stomach was perfect, they actually said i should be pleased with how good of condition they were in. They also said the lungs were riddled with something which they hope to have an answer to in a few days.
    i have came to a sort of a conclusion, which may be completly wrong but i'm fairly sure what it is and where it came from.
    I bought bulling heifers from a dealer in Roscommon earlier in the year. I then bought springers of another man who, by pure chance told me about how he had bought of the same fella and all the animals he had bought ended up going down on him. we worked out that they had been from the same batch as the ones i bought. anyways what he got that time and what i have now are just too similar to be coincidental. I have been trying to get in touch to see how things panned out for him, but no answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

anyone else doing some last minute accounting:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

1chippy wrote: »
    some answers. started before silage was opened. there is two chicken farmers beside us, one adjoining. tribovax t was used. deaths were happening with some giving notice others none whatso ever. as i said about the last one, he died while i was having a cuppa.

i got a preliminary pm back, where they said the liver and stomach was perfect, they actually said i should be pleased with how good of condition they were in. They also said the lungs were riddled with something which they hope to have an answer to in a few days.
    i have came to a sort of a conclusion, which may be completly wrong but i'm fairly sure what it is and where it came from.
    I bought bulling heifers from a dealer in Roscommon earlier in the year. I then bought springers of another man who, by pure chance told me about how he had bought of the same fella and all the animals he had bought ended up going down on him. we worked out that they had been from the same batch as the ones i bought. anyways what he got that time and what i have now are just too similar to be coincidental. I have been trying to get in touch to see how things panned out for him, but no answer.

Unbelievable. Just goes to show the risk that exists with buying in stock. Like yourself, we have and are buying in heifers for breeding. Its always a fear in the back of your mind that something might come in with them. Im hoping to be working with a closed herd from next year on. Hope ya get to the root of the problem soon Chippy and its easily sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Keep us informed Chippy. A lot of people intrigued by this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

pakalasa wrote: »
    Keep us informed Chippy. A lot of people intrigued by this one.
    If this turns out to have been a bought in problem, I'll definitely proceed with my plan for 100% maternal bull on my cows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 FarmerWatch

Sorry to hear you've been having such a rough time 1chippy. Hopefully now at least you'll get some answers.

did you contact the mart you bought them from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I bought bulling heifers from a dealer in Roscommon earlier in the year. I then bought springers of another man who, by pure chance told me about how he had bought of the same fella and all the animals he had bought ended up going down on him. we worked out that they had been from the same batch as the ones i bought. anyways what he got that time and what i have now are just too similar to be coincidental.
    Is it only these ones that have been affected? I thought it was younger stock/ weanlings for some reason and was going to ask had you bought-in stock which maybe brought in a virus/ bvd with them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

BBC Radio 4's excellent early-morning farming programme had a piece this morning about feeding brassicas to ruminants to reduce e coli. (A Scottish study - http://www.thescottishfarmer.co.uk/business-sales/trendsprices/brassicas-reduce-ecoli-0157-x.18871783 - found that letting sheep graze on turnips and brassicas significantly reduced the level of e coli.)

A longer piece about this: http://www.qmscotland.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1174%3Anew-research-shows-feeding-brassicas-may-reduce-ecoli-o157-in-sheep&catid=34%3Anews-and-events&Itemid=71

And you can listen back to the programme (well worth downloading as a podcast) here http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qj8q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ifjt.jpg

ifjt.jpg
    Didn't know you could still get a print edition of the journal thats so old fashioned lol

You mean the Charolais sale date. I never spotted that. I wonder has Justin taken over the editors job yet?:D

Would it be possible to set up a calender for upcoming farm events? Everything from Breed Society Sales to Teagasc Information nights, etc etc