Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free flights-cheap flights alitilia japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Are you sure this isn't Japan to Europe? Have you successfully booked?

ballooba wrote: »

info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

It can be either way. I didn't book any, but did get it to show free and discounted flights- dates Rome to Osaka 13-03 for free and Bologna-Abu Dhabi-London heathrow 13-03 - 27-03 for free. london has to be entereed as London city as it doesnt reconigse the translation for heathrow

Takes some fiddling around but the flights are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭jmorrisey

this could be a candidate for BA of the decade if it all checks out!

Well done OP

Alitalia website seems to be struggling to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Anyone have any luck with the Japaneese Translation.

Google translate isn't working too well with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Managed to book Geneva - NYC - Venice in Jan for 2 of us for 85 Euros in Total.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Will see how it pans out ...

Got my flight confirmation, the Code takes about 485 euros off the price !
    DDC1990 wrote: »
    Anyone have any luck with the Japaneese Translation.

Google translate isn't working too well with it.

Just use Chrome .. translates the page fairly well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Where do you enter the discount code?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

When after selecting flights and clicking the red box to proceed, there's a present image at the bottom right. Fill it in and it should process it for you.

Pretty sure i've missed it tbh. everything Im looking at is 259999 Yen, which is over 2 and a half grand.

Anyone who did get to book, what dates did ye use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Bologna BLQ -Abu Dhabi AUH

Dep 8/01/13

Ret 16/01/13

€202.34 all in once PROMOJP has been applied

Same price also available Bologna to Miami around end of january / start of feb.

Booked a flight from London to Venice for free to see what happens.

Could be a laugh if it works.

Got email confirmation etc. but its in Japaneese :P

p.s Its easy to see how Alitalia nearly went to the wall a few years ago if they let shít like this happen :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Can't imagine they will honor this - but I can't seem to find the cheaper prices anyway. Geneva - New York - Venice, comes up as about €240 after the discount.
    Managed to book Geneva - NYC - Venice in Jan for 2 of us for 85 Euros in Total.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Will see how it pans out ...

Got my flight confirmation, the Code takes about 485 euros off the price !

Just use Chrome .. translates the page fairly well.

What dates? Coming up as €200+ for me.

[edit] booked! Got confirmation e-mail but have no confidence in them honoring it so won't be booking the connecting flights just yet!

I booked three flights. Will see if they're honoured. It's a pity Alitalia don't fly out of Ireland.

Thanks OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭walshki

Got 2 in myself. Was looking during the day but hard enough to find the deals. I got London to Rome return free for 4 people for 2 different dates (14th to 17th Feb and 14 to 17th March). First one completely free and they don't even take credit card details because there's no charge. Second one came to approx. 4 euro (400 yen).

I'd love to see something for the states and some on HUKD say they saw some free ones but I can't get anything myself.

Of course that said I know there's a good chance they won't be honoured but sure nothing ventured....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

GOt myself a nice free flight to rome for valentines day for me and the ladybitch, pity ots from heathrow, that always costs a fortune to fly into. Anyone had any luck with free flights to the states?

Tickets appear not to have been issued (Yet).

I have PNR, confirmation email & ticket numbers but they've not issued the tickets according to the 'Manage my Booking' facility.

If anyone parted with actual cash for their flights, perhaps have a look-see below and report back.

https://mm.alitalia.com/ru_en/BOOKING/Apvsearch.aspx

Edit: Oddly, you can also check your booking here, which show my booking as confirmed & makes reference to tickets being issued.

http://www.saudiairlines.com -> manage my bookings -> e-ticket -> number & last name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Site looks to be completely down now.

Getting the message 'Sorry, there was a problem'

Damn right there was. I didn't get to book anything !!!!!

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Tickets appear not to have been issued (Yet).

I have PNR, confirmation email & ticket numbers but they've not issued the tickets according to the 'Manage my Booking' facility.

If anyone parted with actual cash for their flights, perhaps have a look-see below and report back.

https://mm.alitalia.com/ru_en/BOOKING/Apvsearch.aspx

Edit: Oddly, you can also check your booking here, which show my booking as confirmed & makes reference to tickets being issued.

http://www.saudiairlines.com -> manage my bookings -> e-ticket -> number & last name

I've been billed anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭kn

Going by our Hilton Hotel experience from earlier in the week those of you who have booked should hire a hitman to bump off the first one to contact Alitalia asking to confirm the booking and that surely they have no intention of honouring it!

PS contact Mick Wallace in the Oireachtas for a hitman recommendation....

Checked mine through Alitalia.

Has all the details, but says: Ticket has not been issued. Reservation expires on 20/10/2012 alle 21:51.

Checking through the Saudi site doesn't work for me.

But from looking at the Alitalia terms and conditions, the email receipt is all you bring to the check out to check in at the airport, so hopefully thats ok.

Problem is it has a load of japanese on it. Anyone think of a way to get a similer email in English? :P

EDIT: Just through gmail, there is a translate button. Clicked it and it translated everything perfectly, so might print that when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

I cant book any flights.

I've been billed anyway !

Easily refunded though keith

Are your tickets showing as issued?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Jaysus, these guys are much quicker than the Hilton!

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing alitalia.com.
    We regret to inform you that your ticket purchase has not been processed.
    Any amount debited on your account, will be credited back.

Your Alitalia Customer Center Team

brownacid wrote: »

Dear Customer,

Worth a punt, if any airline's likely to honour a daft offer it'd be Alitalia.

brownacid wrote: »

Dear Customer,

+1^
    Fun while it lasted. I booked 2 on different email addresses. Only got one of these emails so far. I assume it's only a matter of time for the other.

Their exposure would have been massive. I booked about EUR 2000 worth of free flights personally.

walshki wrote: »
    I got London to Rome return free for 4 people for 2 different dates (14th to 17th Feb and 14 to 17th March).
    Their exposure would have been massive. I booked about EUR 2000 worth of free flights personally.

...and this is why these things never work. Why not just take a punt and book a return flight for one or two people? Personally, I would think twice about sharing any deal like this as people always abuse it. There was little chance of them honoring it anyway, even if it wasn't abused, but absolutely no chance when people are booking 4/5/6 return flights each.

Tusky wrote: »
    ...and this is why these things never work. Why not just take a punt and book a return flight for one or two people? Personally, I would think twice about sharing any deal like this as people always abuse it. There was little chance of them honoring it anyway, even if it wasn't abused, but absolutely no chance when people are booking 4/5/6 return flights each.

Yeh ... saw on a few websites there was complete knobs booking 20-30 flights because the voucher brought the total cost to zero.

imo ... you pay a severely reduced amount .. fair enuff ... you pay zero .. book 30 flights and then give out afterwards ... ffs :pac:

*edit* to be fair I don't think I want the flights anymore:
    http://www.onlinejournal.com/business/alitalia-to-lay-off-690-workers/

Imagine how you would feel after hearing about these shenanigans.

Any individual's bookings were the tip of the iceberg. The details of the mistake went viral, the server could barely handle the load. When it wasn't shut down in a matter of minutes it was clear that the game was up. Of course people aren't going to book 1 flight each, especially seeing as there are no routes ex Dublin and consequently it might require multiple flights to get to final destination. I booked 4 pairs of seats within Europe which would have been a max discount of EUR 2000. I make absolutely no apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Africa

Doesnt look like any of them will be honoured now!

Africa wrote: »
    Doesnt look like any of them will be honoured now!

Meh ... no biggy ... you didn't have anything to begin with so theres nothing lost.

I'd say the Americans will be trying to bring class action law suits and all sorts though.

It's just bad PR, but i'd say 90% of the people that booked all these crazy 0 fare tickets would never have booked with Alitalia in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭positron

Alitilia thanks every one of you for participating in their website load handling test.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,067 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Looks like they're being honoured.. congrats to all who got one!
    Dear Alitalia fans,

Thank you for the interest you took in our Facebook Global Offer. Alitalia was the first airline to create a global event of this kind for the Internet community: the most wide-ranging Alitalia promotion ever.

We offered a worldwide 25% discount, with the exception of Japan, where for technical reasons we were forced to create a unique E-Coupon worth 25.000 yen (approximately 250 euro) to be used exclusively for the purchase of flights from Tokyo or Osaka. This redemption rules were clearly stated in the Japanese version of the Facebook offer.

Unfortunately, due to a malfunction, the system did not recognize the limitation of this unique e-coupon to be used only on routes from Japan. As a result, the system erroneously allowed the voucher discount of 25,000 yen to be used on all routes in Alitalia’s global network.

The news spread rapidly online and in a matter of a few hours our Japanese website reported a dramatic surge in visits and purchase requests from several geographical areas.

This unusual occurrence on the Japanese website triggered a security system alert which, considering the high percentage of number of requests at zero cost, froze all transactions. The promotion’s objective was to spur and increase the sale of tickets at a discounted price, and not to issue tickets for free or at a minimal cost.

However, since Alitalia intends to protect clients who have committed a, albeit minimal,amount with their credit card, we confirm the validity of the transactions requested on the Japanese site with a value greater than 1 euro cent. Those clients will soon receive an e-mail with their ticket.

Finally, in consideration of the great success of the promotion, we decided to extend the 25% discount offer for two additional days.

Alitalia Facebook Team
    Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,771 ✭✭✭✭ted1

There's people in Japan now. Fair play, that's 1 lad who got the Hilton and a few million got to Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Just saw on the alitilita facebook page that they are honouring all flight bookings that cost more than €0.01. Result for all those who paid a nominal amount for their flights!
    http://www.facebook.com/alitalia?ref=stream

Nice

As it turns out one of my two bookings cost 3 euro (for 4 people, London to Rome) so I assume that means I'll get that one honoured.

Just saw on the alitilita facebook page that they are honouring all flight bookings that cost more than €0.01. Result for all those who paid a nominal amount for their flights!
    http://www.facebook.com/alitalia?ref=stream
    under contract law a contract is only formed once consideration has being paid.

This may br the reason that they are honouring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Oh no, why didn't I spend a few cents!! Ahhhh gutted

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Shinobollo

ted1 wrote: »
    under contract law a contract is only formed once consideration has being paid.

This may br the reason that they are honouring it.

Does this also mean that anyone who booked the Hilton through lastminute.com had / has a legally binding contract as they all paid something for their room booking ?? 😱

Shinobollo wrote: »
    Does this also mean that anyone who booked the Hilton through lastminute.com had / has a legally binding contract as they all paid something for their room booking ?? 😱
    Lastminute.com had expressed
    Terms and conditions which allowed them to cancel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ah bollocks, how the **** did i miss this?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Dammmnitt!! I saw it here, but didnt bother booking, thinking they wouldnt honour it! Ive been wanting to go to Japan for ages, but cant afford the flights!! :mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,067 ✭✭✭✭Basq

ted1 wrote: »
    Lastminute.com had expressed
    Terms and conditions which allowed them to cancel.
    Also, money was more than likely reserved and not taken.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Missed it :( always wanted to go to japan

I got the Geneva - NY - Venice for 41 euros / person ... checked this morning and my tickets were cancelled.

Called Alitalia and they don't seem to have any information at the moment. :o

Oh well .. wait and see I guess .. poor folks in the Call Center are probably inundated with Angry lunatics.

Got an e-mail from them also .. so will have to wait and see.

Thank Jesus I didn't book anything else (Connecting flights/Hotels etc)

I got the Geneva - NY - Venice for 41 euros / person ... checked this morning and my tickets were cancelled.

Called Alitalia and they don't seem to have any information at the moment. :o

Oh well .. wait and see I guess .. poor folks in the Call Center are probably inundated with Angry lunatics.

Got an e-mail from them also .. so will have to wait and see.

Thank Jesus I didn't book anything else (Connecting flights/Hotels etc)

Same boat as yourself. Raging I didn't book 2 flights - if I'm going to New York, I'm going alone! Ha. Would be an amazing deal to get them for €42, I'm still debious, despite the email.

Tusky wrote: »
    Same boat as yourself. Raging I didn't book 2 flights - if I'm going to New York, I'm going alone! Ha. Would be an amazing deal to get them for €42, I'm still debious, despite the email.

Well if its honoured you could offer to split the cost of a flight with someone else with the 25% off Voucher :)

Or indeed just go couch surfing.

Oh no, why didn't I spend a few cents!! Ahhhh gutted
    I had thought about this but was wary of giving them my credit card details in case they tried to bill the full cost of the flights. Ah well, nothing ventured and nothing gained.:)