Garda Sergeant can't afford food

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

a great big joke it is, to buy a house you cannot afford....

lots of people bought houses they cannot afford, but most people are not in secure well paid and well-pensioned employment like the privilidged Garda seargant. Lucky him to have such a secure and well paid job, with a golden pension to look forward to after only 30 years service. What other "5/8s" in the world ( by which I mean an average enough person, no great university education etc ) automatically gets a pension worth €1,100,000 after only 30 years work?

This country is a joke. Ask the retired gardai in their early 50's playing golf in their holiday homes in Portugal who are on big pensions and who are laughing at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Japer wrote: »
    lots of people bought houses they cannot afford, but most people are not in secure well paid and well-pensioned employment like the privilidged Garda seargant. Lucky him to have such a secure and well paid job, with a golden pension to look forward to after only 30 years service. What other "5/8s" in the world ( by which I mean an average enough person, no great university education etc ) automatically gets a pension worth €1,100,000 after only 30 years work?

This country is a joke. Ask the retired gardai in their early 50's playing golf in their holiday homes in Portugal who are on big pensions and who are laughing at us.

I'd say they do some damage to their holiday homes when their playing golf in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

Japer wrote: »

it is easy to put a stop to that......that's what governments are for.......

well, the greek government is.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelkell

After reading this thread and thinking along with alot of other people that the whole story is a stinker i am begining to wonder if the whole story has been put together to damage the public sector point of view. The story just doesn't add up and surely the unions would be better at bull****ting than this. They did negociate themselves croke park after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

mikemac1 wrote: »
    This guy won't go bankrupt

But isn't there some rule that if a garda goes bankrupt they are forced to resign?

I had a quick search on this thread but nobody else mentioned it, maybe I have it wrong

Not sure on what the outcome is, but it is in the code that you're not allowed to get into financial debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

Not sure on what the outcome is, but it is in the code that you're not allowed to get into financial debt.

You mean that you are not allowed to go bankrupt?.Surely you can nget into financial debt re credit cards, mortage ,loans etc.

In relation to the bankruptcy thing has any garda in the history of the state ever lost their job because of this clause. I,ve never heard of it actually happening.

jonsnow wrote: »
    In relation to the bankruptcy thing has any garda in the history of the state ever lost their job because of this clause. .
    I doubt it, because
    (a) its very difficult to go bankrupt if you are in the well paid, well pensioned and ultra secure employment of an Garda Siochana.
    (b) even teachers who do not teach do not lose their job in the Irish public service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Angelmoon

if this story is true then maybe the Garda will think twice when turfing people from their homes along side the sheriff , and may understand more why people are demonstrating on the streets while the bankers are sipping champagne, they may finally understand the job they signed up to do was to protect and serve the people not bankers and corporations

The judge, the Garda and the bankers are part of the same government paid elite, with government guaranteed jobs and pensions. All of them look outr for their own interests and earn much more than the average industrial wage,do not worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ah here. Stop this madness.
    I was hearing stories of fellow guards who had so little money left after paying the mortgage that they were sleeping in their cars outside the station because they couldn’t afford the petrol to drive home.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/features/2012/1019/1224325453675.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Must be an awful photo, he looks far older then 34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Aidric wrote: »

He's taking the piss isn't he? Guess you can't take a bus on the southside. And who the fck drives to work without enough petrol to get home? Good riddance to those morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

It doesn't state how much he is paying for his mortgage in Australia;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Worked in admin in the public sector - shyte money; would have been way better in the private sector for the equivalent work. Public sector bashers: try to engage brain before launching into your bitter tirades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Madam_X wrote: »
    Worked in admin in the public sector - shyte money; would have been way better in the private sector for the equivalent work. Public sector bashers: try to engage brain before launching into your bitter tirades.

You can't use what you don't have. That's the essence of this thread really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Worked in admin in the public sector - shyte money; would have been way better in the private sector for the equivalent work.

Assuming you hadn't been made redundant like many in the private sector in the last 5 years. These people aren't protected by the Croke Park Agreement and don't have gold plated pensions to look forward to unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

"Officers who have been trained in other countries need to complete a 13-week transition course at the WA Police Academy in Joondalup before joining the force. The starting salary on offer will depend on the number of years experience the officer has, but a garda with three years’ experience will be granted $66,339 (€52,256) per year excluding allowances and overtime."

The pay is good in Australia and we thought our guards were well paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

Ah leave it ouh Leave it ouh

The average Guard in Ireland is paid double the average industrial wage in Ireland, and has a pension pot worth 1.1 million after only 30 years service. They are taking the pis*. Many got in to multiple property investments during the boom, thats why some are in trouble now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Assuming you hadn't been made redundant like many in the private sector in the last 5 years. These people aren't protected by the Croke Park Agreement and don't have gold plated pensions to look forward to unfortunately.

Have you any idea what a low paid public service worker earns? These pensions are nothing like what you seem to think they are.

Maybe this gaurd knows donkey balls
    I know a few lads in the Gardai and from what I heard the shift allowance for working nights is around 10% compared to private companies who pay upto 30%,Now as for the Gardai sleeping in their cars due to finishing work at 2200 and back in for 0600 that's illegal the min rest for workers(apart from bus&truck drivers) is 11 hours consecutive rest.
    I was only talking about this the other day with a mate and informed them that Gardai mgmt are breaking the H&S act 2005 by not rostering the staff to have suffient rest,So you could have a member of the traffic corp checking that a truck/bus driver has had suffient rest by sleeping in a bed yet the Gardai slept in their car only in Ireland eh.
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Have you any idea what a low paid public service worker earns? These pensions are nothing like what you seem to think they are.

What percentage of the actual pension value do the public sector workers fund themselves versus what is funded by their employer i.e the state?

For private sector workers many employers contribute 0% or at most 5% or 10% of the persons salary for defined contribution pensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

heres a simple solution, quit your job in the public sector and get one in the private sector. If it was all sunshine you would have done so...

I just went out to feed my dog, an wasn't there 2 Gardai curled up asleep in the kennel with him.:eek:

Boombastic wrote: »
    I just went out to feed my dog, an wasn't there 2 Gardai curled up asleep in the kennel with him.:eek:

will the dog get a big pension.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

have you any idea what a low paid private sector worker earns. Or what their pension plan is? Or what their job security is?

heres a simple solution, quit your job in the public sector and get one in the private sector. If it was all sunshine you would have done so...

As David McWilliams says, you do not see many WIPS ( Whinging Irish Public Servants ) leaving their cosy well paid, well holidayed, secure, well pensioned with lots of tea breaks + sickies public sector jobs for jobs in the private sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Grayson wrote: »
    have you any idea what a low paid private sector worker earns. Or what their pension plan is? Or what their job security is?

I think it's fair to say that very few people in this thread have real clue about what they are talking about.

will the dog get a big pension.......

He doesn't even get rent allowance:mad:

many public sector workers in geece had big pension pots.......

they have not got them now.......