Liveline Thread 15/10/2012 to 22/01/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

neris wrote: »
    Im sure that with all these sob stories of thieving and corn flakes there are some positive stories and people who are actually doing well in the economy that joe doesnt want to hear about coz that would be a happy story. Listening to 99% of the whingers going about their poor lifestyles they think that because they had it good in the past they are automatically entitled to a good life till they die. I have a €1400 a month mortgage and can pay my bills but not living it up like it was years ago but not gona go letter writting complaining that I cant go on weekends away anymore or buy a nicer car. And as for following the heart as that plonker said yesterday I gave up on that years ago when I realised it wasnt going to happen and got in with reality.

Well said, and every one of these callers asks why aren't there people marching on the streets? The reason there is no one on the streets is because there are a silent majority(that never ring liveline) that are actually doing ok, not brilliant(and considerably less well off than before), just ok and getting by and adabting to the changed economic situation not waiting for someone else to sort it out for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Thanks for that Vic, hadnt seen it... truly shocking.. What absolute morons

Oh my goodness! Is there an article to go with this or any background to it? Was anyone hurt? EXTREMELY lucky if not. That sent a shiver up my spine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

Oh my goodness! Is there an article to go with this or any background to it? Was anyone hurt? EXTREMELY lucky if not. That sent a shiver up my spine!

Idiotic publicity stunt maybe?

I'd not heard of it at all before seeing this, would be interested in the background to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Someone must be in touch with the boardsie people in charge, I couldn't find the thread from last night people were talking about as I missed it, but spotted one this morning, was reading it and it too vanished, den den dennnnn. The gist anyway is that the 2 companies are denying knowledge and asking people to remove the vids from youtube.

Maybe we should tread carefully, we don't want the Liveline thread deleted !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Someone must be in touch with the boardsie people in charge, I couldn't find the thread from last night people were talking about as I missed it, but spotted one this morning, was reading it and it too vanished, den den dennnnn.

The thread actually WAS pulled last nite.. I was following it and it was locked at about 2am in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Yeah, but another was started this morning with the warning that there was to be no mention of the company mentioned on the side of the trailer. Don't know what happened then as it lasted about 2 pages before being pulled, rather than just locked.

Bit odd as these things happened on a public road and the vids were freely available on the internet up until yesterday last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Thanks for that Vic, hadnt seen it... truly shocking.. What absolute morons

absolute muppetry

first off, dead loading a bridge with 2 HGVs is a no no

then hogging a lane of a 2 laner with no shoulder

all for what? some vanity shots or a video?

Traffic Corp NEED to move on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

my friend wrote: »
    absolute muppetry

first off, dead loading a bridge with 2 HGVs is a no no

then hogging a lane of a 2 laner with no shoulder

all for what? some vanity shots or a video?

Traffic Corp NEED to move on this.
    Be careful, they might make you disappear...

<_<

>_>

joe wont go near that trucking thing. hed be browning his underpants if that gets discussed or hed be trying to get all the info on the technical aspects of the truck to deflect away from stupidty and the threatening letter the truckers legal guys sent him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Regarding the truck

that must be a skelly type trailer where the container is loaded onto it and it has slipped off,if it was a normal trailer the cars would have ploughed into the back of it ,the other two have stopped to help him out

7b48dab516710ed72345eb88e6c9364d.jpg

don't think its a publicity stunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

pc7 wrote: »
    Does live lahnn have an email address? We should all email in asking them to ask this garda:-
    Why have health insurance?
    Do you have personal debt? If so how much?
    What is in bank after USC, levys etc prior to any mortgage/bill deductions (but including Overtime, child benefit etc)
    Do you shop in Aldi/Lidl?
    Do you keep a spending diary?
    Do you have smart phones, ipads, flat screen tvs, pc's, laptops, wii, gameboy et al in the house
    What car(s) do you drive?
    Do you have sky/ntl?
    I could go on and on, we aren't getting the full picture and you can be sure Joe won't ask for it. 1400 mortgage salary on that wage is very managable.
    :mad:

Yes, surely on that salary you should be coming out with €3,500 per month without overtime. Then child benefit on top of that. I do not see ESB being €2,000 a month so they should be very very comfortable on that!

Regarding the truck

that must be a skelly type trailer where the container is loaded onto it and it has slipped off,if it was a normal trailer the cars would have ploughed into the back of it ,the other two have stopped to help him out

7b48dab516710ed72345eb88e6c9364d.jpg

I have a 32" monitor, that box hasnt shifted, regardless the guys in the other trucks should not be parked where they are.

Only equipment capable of assisting a truck in difficulty as you described are forks or a crane, not '2 other drivers'

There is no excuse making for what occurred as I see it

I hope to read about this matter in the Courts section of the papers in the coming months.

what topics did he say would be coming up during the roland the rats show? Will he mention that he was set up yesterday by the poor thief? watched the 6:1 on the player and looks like the whole thing was a complete set up as it was done on the day of some report over food poverty or somthing about people only getting meet 3 times a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

He's talking to other people in the same situation as the poor poor actor - garda families and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

what topics did he say would be coming up during the roland the rats show? Will he mention that he was set up yesterday by the poor thief? watched the 6:1 on the player and looks like the whole thing was a complete set up as it was done on the day of some report over food poverty or somthing about people only getting meet 3 times a week

Unlike his usual pre-show ramblings on RC where he ignores the list of topics on hand, Joe will once again be pursuing the evil shopkeepers who dare to challenge the rights of struggling actors to rob €58 worth of goods from their stores.

Must have some oxter on him to lift that amount of stuff, we've heard all about the cheese, cornflakes, bread and biscuits. What else (clink, clink perhaps!) did Joe P. help himself to? Was on a shop in Aldi last week and we practically filled a trolley for less than €60. (paid btw :D) Joe P. should have broadened his horizons!

Meanwhile Duffy will re-visit the cause celébre today in order to engage in yet more Fianna Fáil spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

I think Joe will be discussing the growing popularity/culinary delight of pouring shampoo on your cornflakes

From Twitter

Not The RTÉ Guide ‏@YourRTEGuide
    Radio One 13:45 Liveline: Gifted psychic Joe Duffy channels the dread moans of the damned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Hopefully an update on the SCANDAL of wanting to pay for your web emails on the internet and that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

lol oh dear

withless wrote: »
    Hopefully an update on the SCANDAL of wanting to pay for your web emails on the internet and that.

Businesses shoudl have their own domain email addresses. It costs feck all to register the name even just to have for email with no web site

if you get caught you get locked up.. no you dont you get 100 hours community service were you not listening yesterday woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Suzie4

MEDS ALERT MEDS ALERT...shes on more meds than the whole of dundrum..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Oh god...simply an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

An open fire is not enough?

How did the human race survive without central heating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

What you talking bout Willis?

so this one is singly keeping the hse and social welfare in jobs. if we get her bumped off that,ll sort out the economy

I hate to sound like an aul curmudgeon but I was 12 when we got central heating, open fire a gogo up to then. I'm still here.

Eileen, First caller of the day is such a wacko that 3 doctors have sent her packing, yet Joe gives her airtime