Liveline Thread 15/10/2012 to 22/01/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seamey beag84

I forgot how infuriating this show is.. between that Joe Actoor pleb, the simpletons on email and the gubbermint ****e, boils my blood!! But I do have to laugh in amazement at it.. crazy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

vicwatson wrote: »
    Was the actor fellas thieving antics in one of the papers? thought i heard duffy saying it was but didn't catch what paper...

reckon it might be de Herdold - front page!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Today was a good show in an awful kind of way, the callers made me angry but entertained me while doing so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

JM Skipton wrote: »
    "we haven't got a hope" ......what are we all going to die next week!! hate that negative cr*p, talking like that is of no benefit to anyone.

these dicks are the same ones that queued for loans and took 110% mortgages

pure schizo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Was the actor fellas thieving antics in one of the papers? thought i heard duffy saying it was but didn't catch what paper...

De Ev'nin' Hedduld :rolleyes: .....naturally! :)

De 'erald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Today was a good show in an awful kind of way, the callers made me angry but entertained me while doing so.

Ive never been so angry with the high level of fu*kwittery out there as i was today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Suzie4

joe ive no future....

are ye positive tommy ?

IM HIV positive joe..

ahh good one tommy good one...keep the faith keep the faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Obviously a great deal of empathy on here for people going through hard times! Hope it never comes to your door or your attitude might change. I don't agree with Joe Purcell stealing but I think desperation got the better of good judgement and he robbed the food. I know several decent people trying to survive on State benefits feed their family and keep a roof over their heads while applying for any job that comes up. Being on benefits is certainly not a matter of their own choosing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

maringo wrote: »
    Obviously a great deal of empathy on here for people going through hard times! Hope it never comes to your door or your attitude might change. I don't agree with Joe Purcell stealing but I think desperation got the better of good judgement and he robbed the food. I know several decent people trying to survive on State benefits feed their family and keep a roof over their heads while applying for any job that comes up. Being on benefits is certainly not a matter of their own choosing.

Hang on a sec. This Joe Purcell guy tells us he can't put food on the table for his kids yet he's able to drive to the shop to carry out his shoplifting, visit the gym every day and keep a dog. He also seems unwilling to look for an ordinary job because he feels he's got to "follow his heart", which is all very well if he's still single and is willing to live in penury until his "big break" comes along but it's a pretty selfish attitude to have when you've got kids. This guy needs to get his priorities straight. It has nothing to do with him being on benefits per se.
    The guy needs a reality check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Get off your soapbox, the guy painted himself as some sort of victim when the reality is he is in an industry that cant provide for his family. He spoke about following his dream job and its his passion etc..well im sorry this bullcrap obviously doesnt feed the kids so its all his own doing and all the moaners on sympathising with his "plight" were the usual wafflers that frequent liveline and contributed no balance or alternative view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Why did Joe Purcell come on the radio? What exactly did he want, apart from trying to justify his actions?He failed to notify the welfare that he changed address,that's not the governments fault.He wasn't aware of the community welfare officer,that's not the govt's fault either.The man IS getting welfare,what is his complaint exactly? We didn't actually hear it. Nobody is saying things aren't hard but most people just get on with it, they dont go whingeing to Joe Duffy who uses his show for his own agenda. What do the people want? Higher benefits? State benefits for the most part have not been touched are amongst the highest in Europe. This show was an exercise in whataboutery. What about the banks, what about Quinn? The implication being my crimes don't matter if someone else is appearing to get away with it. Why not anarchy then?
    I'm sorry but 'following your heart' by being actor doesn't cut it and most of these people refuse to accept any responsibility at all for their situation and Joe isn't going to ask them either. He practically applauds property speculators as 'entrepreneurs'! His show is a thinly veiled attempt to undermine the government and rehabilitate his buddies in Fianna Faíl. Do you know the rate of reposessions in this country in comparison to the UK? it's minsiscule and it is actually preventing property from finding a floor and and inhibiting our competetiveness.The cheaper accommodation is, the better for society and for jobs.Ireland as a country doesn't seem to understand that and you have people paying mortages before feeding themselves; instead the house should be given up and they can move on.The bank can sell to someone who can afford it.
    This is what happens when nobody wants to accept responsibility and its the type of 'debate' the likes of Joe Duffy propogates. It helps nobody and will actually prolong the recession if anything.
    By the way, real poverty doesn't include having gym membership,owning dogs and running a car. It just doesn't. IF you think that's what poverty is then you are as deluded as Joe's fanbase.
    Ireland as a country is simply too expensive for its own good. The reason it is too expensive are myriad but one of them is a refusal to accept that property is not a productive asset and the more people are forced to pay for it, the less they have to spend in the real economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

You tell them Maringo. Buncha haters in this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

This story is being covered on tonights Late Show on 4fm. I hope its not a case of this guy doing the rounds and talking to anyone who will listen to drum up a bit of sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

eviltwin wrote: »
    This story is being covered on tonights Late Show on 4fm. I hope its not a case of this guy doing the rounds and talking to anyone who will listen to drum up a bit of sympathy.
    Drum up some publicity for his show, more like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Agree with you Yosser that its a bit unrealistic to expect to be fully employed as an actor in this recession. At the best of times its a frugal profession with no security of employment unless you make the big time. My anger however is directed at the "professionals" and the "Fianna Fail politicians" who brought us to the state we are in - not the citizens who are in unemployment due to the recession. If debt resolution doesn't happen now and people are terrified to spend even if they have it the economy will not pick up anytime soon. The government needs to crack the whip on the banks that we bailed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭avfc1874

eviltwin wrote: »
    he was on the david harvey show this afternoon aswell. had to laugh when he said he was shocked to find himself in the shop stealing as if he'd just appeared there.:P he's not too ashamed that he won't go on every radio show:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

avfc1874 wrote: »
    he was on the david harvey show this afternoon aswell. had to laugh when he said he was shocked to find himself in the shop stealing as if he'd just appeared there.:P he's not too ashamed that he won't go on every radio show:rolleyes:

I think it's funny that the 6th August was a Monday and a bank holiday afaik, and Children's Allowance isn't paid until Tuesday. If he was paid directly into the bank he would have known much earlier in the weekend that the money wasn't there.....I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Why did Joe Purcell come on the radio?

To plug his new show of course

Just read the article

"As a result, on August 6 last he went to the SuperValu in Firhouse where he paid for some milk but also put other items like cheese, biscuits and breadrolls in the bag.

"When I got out I sat in the car and I was shaking but relieved, I suppose, that I hadn't been caught. But I hadn't enough, I needed more food than that. I needed bread, and I went to the second shop," Mr Purcell from Donomore Park in Tallaght said.

How much bread does he need?:pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Boombastic wrote: »
    How much bread does he need?:pac:

Just enough to pay for his groceries lol. :)

Such a ridiculous "poor me" Irish story, or non-story rather. How can someone who would always have been in an out of work as an actor not be prepared for the rainy day and have a few bob aside to cover the most basic of necessities?

The show was just like a stage for fcukin' dopes today, between him nicking groceries with his car, his dogs and his daily visits to the gym - then yer wan with the house that's "waaaaaay too big for her" to the "business" person using free email accounts and expecting the sun, moon and stars from it.

Lahvline GOLD set up for tomorrow -

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81282913#post81282913

Videos are on page 5 as they removed the original videos but someone was quick enough to save, copy and paste them :)

Looks like thread has been taken down by boards for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Thanks for that Vic, hadnt seen it... truly shocking.. What absolute morons

That's exactly the word i used myself - morons ! Interesting to see how it all pans out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Listening back to the podcast..
    Get your head out of the clouds and get a bloody job:mad:

lol... Good man Sept.. I was just about to post something similar.. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,116 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Joe's researchers will be working overtime to track down this whinger for today's show -

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2012/1017/1224325341332.html
    'There are weeks I can't put food on the table'

THE FINANCIAL difficulties of middle-income families who bought their home during the property boom have been highlighted by the wife of a Garda sergeant in a letter to a number of Government ministers.

The woman describes how a €1,400 monthly mortgage payment on a four-bedroom semi-detached family home bought seven years ago along with the repeated cuts to her husband’s wages have left them “living a nightmare”.

“. . . There are weeks when I can’t put food on the table. I call them ‘cornflakes days’ when all we eat all day is cornflakes . . .”

The woman wrote that even though her eldest child got enough points to go to a prestigious college they couldn’t afford the fees: “Imagine how upsetting that is?”

The letter – unsigned to protect her husband’s identity – was written after a Mabs (Money Advice and Budgeting Service) adviser had offered to refer the couple to the St Vincent de Paul Society for assistance.

Her husband has gross earnings of more than €65,000 – including allowances and unsocial hours coverage. After tax, Universal Social Charge, pension, health insurance, mortgage and utility deductions, a typical weekly payslip shows a net payment of €109.

By the Mabs analysis, however, the weekly household budget was running a deficit of nearly €300 and there appeared to be no means of reducing it.

The woman wrote that she and her husband “have no savings, no holiday homes, no fancy cars. We have never done anything to put ourselves at risk, only move house to have an extra bedroom . . . We live in constant terror of the washing machine breaking down or the car . . . If it wasn’t for my mother bailing us out all the time, we would be right under.”

A spokesman for the Minister for Transport, Leo Varadkar said the woman had been in regular correspondence with the minister. “He understands that her husband is in secure public sector employment but they bought their home at the height of the boom and are struggling to pay a large mortgage on reduced pay.” He hoped she would be “able to resolve her financial problems with [the] assistance of Mabs and others.”

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Joe was on the 6One news last night I nearly put my foot through the tv. As for the Gardas wife eating cornflakes on 65k upto 75k with overtime I think I will combust if she is on today :mad:

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Joe's researchers will be working overtime to track down this whinger for today's show -

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2012/1017/1224325341332.html

I was thinking that will be part 2 today alright.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I was thinking that will be part 2 today alright.

Does live lahnn have an email address? We should all email in asking them to ask this garda:-
    Why have health insurance?
    Do you have personal debt? If so how much?
    What is in bank after USC, levys etc prior to any mortgage/bill deductions (but including Overtime, child benefit etc)
    Do you shop in Aldi/Lidl?
    Do you keep a spending diary?
    Do you have smart phones, ipads, flat screen tvs, pc's, laptops, wii, gameboy et al in the house
    What car(s) do you drive?
    Do you have sky/ntl?
    I could go on and on, we aren't getting the full picture and you can be sure Joe won't ask for it. 1400 mortgage salary on that wage is very managable.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

Im sure that with all these sob stories of thieving and corn flakes there are some positive stories and people who are actually doing well in the economy that joe doesnt want to hear about coz that would be a happy story. Listening to 99% of the whingers going about their poor lifestyles they think that because they had it good in the past they are automatically entitled to a good life till they die. I have a €1400 a month mortgage and can pay my bills but not living it up like it was years ago but not gona go letter writting complaining that I cant go on weekends away anymore or buy a nicer car. And as for following the heart as that plonker said yesterday I gave up on that years ago when I realised it wasnt going to happen and got in with reality.