Bill Cullen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Kurz wrote: »
    Maybe he'll take up one of those wageless intern schemes now that he advised others should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

wernstrom! wrote: »
    Has anyone said 'Bill you're fired' yet?

'fraid so, 'Cruas' on page 1.
    But you can still say it if you want, in fact I think I'll say it now, so looking forward to this, here goes, I'm sure you'll excuse caps for this one line:

BILL, YOU'RE FIRED.

Really does fell good, try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I watched the video early on in the thread, and tbf, he's not far wrong. He did overdramatise , and I hate that whole we had it harder (even if they did) thing, but it was a lot better then just mentioning the buzz words "Banker" and "Government" with little to do with anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Kurz wrote: »
    Maybe he'll take up one of those wageless intern schemes now that he advised others should do.
    He's not qualified enough! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Anybody know how the hotel in killarney he co-owns with jackie is doing?

any other business interests?

arrogance aside i am not happy to see anyone go out of business, especially someone who worked hard from 13 to become successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Good. I'm glad. Fuck him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

If anyone will bounce back its Bill, he wont sit at home feeling sorry for himself
    Hi Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Cullen would not be my favourite person. But he did well. I'mcertainly not celebrating now that his business has turned. Begrugery and jealously are alive and well in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

3rdDegree wrote: »
    Cullen would not be my favourite person. But he did well. I'mcertainly not celebrating now that his business has turned. Begrugery and jealously are alive and well in Ireland.

Nothing to do with that. This is the guy who told a generation to stop whining because people of his generation fucked everything up. That's why people are happy at his misfortune. So yeah - fuck him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

3rdDegree wrote: »

True.
    I think the current trend is that if someone is in the public eye, then its ok to take pleasure in unfortunate events that happen to them :rolleyes:

I'll be honest, from watching the apprentice I think Cullen comes off as an asshole. But reality is, his success or misfortune doesnt effect any of us. He lives his life, we live ours. Who gives a fuck? Doesnt matter if he has 50 million or 50 cent in his bank account. I care about my own account and everyone likewise.

Of course, on the flip side if he said or done something that angered people - like not paying tax and making thousands, or whatever. Then yeah i'd get it then. Or if you personally knew him and have reasons for disliking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

mauzo wrote: »
    God I wouldnt mind a bit of Bill Cullen!

Well, I just puked. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I think the current trend is that if someone is in the public eye, then its ok to take pleasure in unfortunate events that happen to them :rolleyes:
    A platter of Schadenfreude to table 1, stat! :) [ Never knew what 'calqued' was until I glossed that page...]
    But reality is, his success or misfortune doesnt effect any of us.
    People are affected though, in various ways. Employees lose, the State loses (i.e. we lose) on the double, legal eagles win, the bank loses (sob sob) etc.

The bould William, I would think, does not give a fiddler's about any of that.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Esel wrote: »
    A platter of Schadenfreude to table 1, stat! :) [ Never knew what 'calqued' was until I glossed that page...]
    But reality is, his success or misfortune doesnt effect any of us.
    People are affected though, in various ways. Employees lose, the State loses (i.e. we lose) on the double, legal eagles win, the bank loses (sob sob) etc.

The bould William, I would think, does not give a fiddler's about any of that.

Exactly! So why is everyone so happy he's having such misfortune. Apart from being a bit of a tool, he hadn't tried to get out of not paying a coupler of billion back to the tax payer that he owes like a certain business family. He wasn't responsible for anyone's major misfortune like certain bankers.

People are just petty, bitter and jealous. Delighting in someone else's misfortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Big Toes an alligator though, is he not?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Good. I'm glad. Fuck him.

Did he do something personally to you or is it just jealousy? Does some of what he says or stand for cut a bit too close to the bone perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

after re-watching the front-line I like him again... was that the real Bill or the character from 2fm

BTW his company may have gone under but Bill is a wealthy man be under no illusion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

T-K-O wrote: »
    after re-watching the front-line I like him again... was that the real Bill or the character from 2fm

BTW his company may have gone under but Bill is a wealthy man be under no illusion

Yeah, Bill's no eejit. His company is gone bust but I'd be very surprised if he doesn't still have a personal wealth of multiples of what your average poster here will accumulate in their lifetime.

It's just begrudgery.

yore wrote: »
    Yeah, Bill's no eejit. His company is gone bust but I'd be very surprised if he doesn't still have a personal wealth of multiples of what your average poster here will accumulate in their lifetime.

It's just begrudgery.

For sure - he's a little over the top with his I got up at 4am carry on but he's a self made man, you gotta respect that.

A lot of these guys have several ltd companies and have paid advisers to protect against one company going to the wall

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Fm0Ty_6rgfg&quot; frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

http://youtu.be/Fm0Ty_6rgfg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Latest is that Danske bank is after him for 8.2 millionz squidz. That'z a spicy meatballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Yous are a bollix Bill, we're on to you, yous are fired!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

All this bullsh*t he spouted about 4 hours sleep a night and you'll sleep plenty when you're dead.

Missus was flying home from london a few years ago and who sits opposite her only bill and jackie. She says within 2-3 minutes of sitting down bill was fast asleep. Jackie had to waken him when they got to dublin. Don't mind him with all that crap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

mfceiling wrote: »
    All this bullsh*t he spouted about 4 hours sleep a night and you'll sleep plenty when you're dead.

Missus was flying home from london a few years ago and who sits opposite her only bill and jackie. She says within 2-3 minutes of sitting down bill was fast asleep. Jackie had to waken him when they got to dublin. Don't mind him with all that crap...
    That's a power nap. You're fired! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

:rolleyes: What do you care how long he sleeps for? And maybe this was part of his 4 hours. No one makes you watch the Apprentice or read his book etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Always found him to be an arrogant prat!
    Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

He has put in E10m into his hotel on top of the purchase price and was owed E19m that he invested in the motor company.

Surely he didnt make all that money selling renault cars? What other major business was he involved in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Country is gone done the sh1tter... Shoot bertie, jail the bankers, make the tds half their salaries, break down the gates of leinster house and sell them for scrap metal, take back some of the money from the church as they never fixed the bloody roof, tell the imf to fuk off, where is my nama huh?, someone throw merkel a bone and get her to cheer up, why dont the illegal cigarette sellers flog benson and hedges i mean wtf is red strike, am i going to have to go to london for work and be called a paddy kant by a fat bald focker who has turned green from the moody gold enda, is that your 5 point plan you gombeen?, 600 jobs in paddy power is not a cause for celebration, they are basically state employees... Tax payer>Social welfare>anto>paddy power>IT guy>revenue department> political paddys day 'delegation' to new york.

You cant call yourself, nor can you be considered a millionaire if you owe the million to the bank. Bill Cullen can not be thought to be worth 50 million if he owes 26m to the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Maybe that was part of his 4 hour nights sleep???

What was the point of that post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Anybody know how the hotel in killarney he co-owns with jackie is doing?

any other business interests?

arrogance aside i am not happy to see anyone go out of business, especially someone who worked hard from 13 to become successful.

what is the name of the hotel - i want to make sure I never step foot in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

syklops wrote: »
    Maybe that was part of his 4 hour nights sleep???

What was the point of that post?

I believe the point of the post was ridicule, the best weapon to employ when endeavouring to puncture the pomposity of the smug, self-satisfied, modesty-free, snap-eyed bores of this world.

How do like 'them apples' Bill?